Sugar Glider V4, Pocket Marsupials

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 5 2007, 12:58 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(silverwineus @ Dec 4 2007, 09:38 AM)
What i know is sugar gliders can contract aflatoxicosis, ingestion of the aflatoxins, by eating crickets who have been fed contaminated corn or feeds.

Added on December 4, 2007, 7:13 pm

Haha, you are most welcomed to be my honored guest. But there's really nothing remarkable aboout my pets.. i have some fishes, bird, marsupials, chelonians, rodents..

During my badminton game yesterday, my friends noticed that i was scratching my hands. Both hands were marked with red rashes. They asked me why.
Then today, another friend asked me what were those scratches on my hand.

Do you guys have these scratches and rashes associated with gliders? Just want to know.
Still a lot of pets hahah.

Oh, my hands are scared with scratches..... some from my gliders, some from a civet cat that I worked with when at the Sunway zoo.... people think I harm myself LOL.

Added on December 5, 2007, 1:00 am
QUOTE(hackerzx @ Dec 4 2007, 11:54 PM)
ya..long journey..tired oso..huhu..

anyone see enchanted movie? lol ~ wanna tame my sg like the chipmunk in movie haha..so cute oso XD
LOL, that chipmunk is computer generated wan hahahah. But cute.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Dec 5 2007, 01:00 AM
hackerzx
post Dec 5 2007, 06:17 PM

Hackerzx Prime
929 posts

ya la..~ hahaha..so funny suddenly remember sg in home haha..
buttercup07
post Dec 6 2007, 08:54 AM

119 posts

guys...

issit true that dominant female is harder to train?

and for us to know wether its a dominant one is ; the female glider which

are dominant will try and groom other gliders by forcing grooming, and those

dominant one will try and actually like so called show off?

i gave abu and ally, yakult ace..issit okay? but sikit oni lah...the yakult

straw i fill it up twice..thats the only amount...

Added on December 6, 2007, 8:55 amanother thing...how do u guys intro crickets to ur glider?

feed them alive or dead? and how to actually put insde the food place?

the cricket will jump off and run rite? or patahkan the jumping leg?

and the amount? hehe

Added on December 6, 2007, 8:58 ami got this statement from a website..

insects in general, are low in calcium, so they should be gut loaded with a high quality diet containing additional calcium. This means that insects, such as crickets, must be fed a special supplement prior to feeding them to the sugar gliders...

how?

This post has been edited by buttercup07: Dec 6 2007, 08:58 AM
misa
post Dec 6 2007, 09:02 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Dec 3 2007, 10:01 AM)
Ahahah... welcome back. Yah, you had not been in here for such a long time, now already V4.

Gliders are smart. They know.... now my Kiah and Kapi never let me cut their nails properly. They would struggle and jump away when they see the nail clipper.

Yup! That sounds like BabyBoy alright. They're very smart indeed. tongue.gif I'll need to get more mix from you one of these days. Hee hee. I will SMS you.
buttercup07
post Dec 6 2007, 09:08 AM

119 posts

i found a way to halau the small lalat...saw it in a site...forgot where already..

:- is to pour a little dark cider vinegar, red wine, or beer into the bottom of a jar. Then cover it with plastic wrap, securing with a rubber band and poke 6 - 10 fruit fly sized holes in it. The fruit flies climb in but can't get back out..

maybe u guys can try.... smile.gif
vincent09
post Dec 6 2007, 09:15 AM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

wa.. like that also can ??
But i got my own way to catch those small fruit fly there, but abit ......
The way to catch those small fruit fly is, ( my own way, maybe don't follow ) use vacuum biggrin.gif, Catch them when morning those fruits fly stay on those fruits there. But this way just kill them, not anti them come back again.
krynzpeaches
post Dec 6 2007, 06:45 PM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

QUOTE(buttercup07 @ Dec 6 2007, 08:54 AM)
guys...

issit true that dominant female is harder to train?

and for us to know wether its a dominant one is ; the female glider which

are dominant will try and groom other gliders by forcing grooming, and those

dominant one will try and actually like so called show off?

i gave abu and ally, yakult ace..issit okay? but sikit oni lah...the yakult

straw i fill it up twice..thats the only amount...

Added on December 6, 2007, 8:55 amanother thing...how do u guys intro crickets to ur glider?

and the amount? hehe

insects in general, are low in calcium, so they should be gut loaded with a high quality diet containing additional calcium. This means that insects, such as crickets, must be fed a special supplement prior to feeding them to the sugar gliders...

how?

All training or bonding takes time, never heard of training a dominant one will be harder.

If force grooming shows dominance, then my Iggy is just that, but he's the sweetest suggie I've ever had.

Yes, Yakult is okay, but very little amount only, I give mine sometimes too smile.gif

Crickets you hold and give to them, not leave in a bowl or in the cage, ofcourse it will run away. Unless you put it to sleep first by putting it in the freezer for a few mins, they will sleep almost immediately.

I think 2-3 crickets is already filling enough.

About gut loading, no need a statement from the web, I have already mentioned about it in the diet section in the 1st page. Gut loading also has been discussed several times, try looking it up.

KP

silverwineus
post Dec 6 2007, 06:51 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(buttercup07 @ Dec 6 2007, 08:54 AM)
guys...

and the amount? hehe

how?
I use a forcep to snap the live crickets into a transparent plastic container with a perforated lid, those sold in aquarium shop, and then i put the gliders in. Save time on catching one by one for them.
The thought of disjointing their legs is rather displeasing.

Crickets have low calcium phophorus ratio. that's why additional calcium supplement is to be added to the sugar glider's diet. Why need to add to the crickets' diet instead?
I gut load my cricket with carrots and greens, source of vitamin. But haven't tried with the bunga raya, this flower has a high Ca/Ph ratio. It's the staple food for my tortoise.

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Dec 6 2007, 06:55 PM
misa
post Dec 6 2007, 08:49 PM

327 posts

Just to add to the list of fruits you can give to a glider.

Persimmon. My dad gave my glider some a few days ago and it's turned out to be a fast favorite with BabyBoy.

I've also given him apricots, nectarine, passion fruit, and strawberries from time to time.

As for veggies, I used to only feed him with frozen vegetables which I microwave before serving. But these days, I give him fresh carrots, cauliflower (boiled), cucumber (without skin), pumpkin, tofu (steamed), tomato, watercress (boiled).

I tend to serve him with a variety of different stuff everyday just so he doesn't get bored. Before feeding your glider with whatever fruit/vegetable you have though, be sure to Google it up to make sure that it's safe for your glider to eat.

<3

Edit: hmm.gif Tofu should not be fed to suggies! Apparently, it's bad for their health. I just found out thanks to crazymouse! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by misa: Dec 7 2007, 02:53 AM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 6 2007, 08:55 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(misa @ Dec 6 2007, 09:02 AM)
Yup! That sounds like BabyBoy alright. They're very smart indeed.  tongue.gif  I'll need to get more mix from you one of these days. Hee hee. I will SMS you.
Yah.... gliders are smart and they can learn from mistakes and experience. But they won't do tricks like a dog hahahah....

QUOTE(buttercup07 @ Dec 6 2007, 09:08 AM)
i found a way to halau the small lalat...saw it in a site...forgot where already..

:- is to pour a little dark cider vinegar, red wine, or beer into the bottom of a jar. Then cover it with plastic wrap, securing with a rubber band and poke 6 - 10 fruit fly sized holes in it. The fruit flies climb in but can't get back out..

maybe u guys can try.... smile.gif
That's not halau, that is tangkap. It is quite disgusting if you leave the beer overnight..... I tried before, it really attracts the flies but you will find them laying eggs inside.... then if never clean properly, all the maggots swim in the beer LOL....

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Dec 6 2007, 06:45 PM)
All training or bonding takes time, never heard of training a dominant one will be harder.

If force grooming shows dominance, then my Iggy is just that, but he's the sweetest suggie I've ever had.

Yes, Yakult is okay, but very little amount only, I give mine sometimes too smile.gif

Crickets you hold and give to them, not leave in a bowl or in the cage, ofcourse it will run away. Unless you put it to sleep first by putting it in the freezer for a few mins, they will sleep almost immediately.

I think 2-3 crickets is already filling enough.

About gut loading, no need a statement from the web, I have already mentioned about it in the diet section in the 1st page. Gut loading also has been discussed several times, try looking it up.

KP
I think very scared and timid gliders would be slightly more challenging to bond coz we need to earn their trust.... The older glider would always groom the others, family tree lah.

I hold the crickets and feed them too. I think my gliders take about 5 to 6 crickets eat hahahh... they just love them. I gutload with sawi, spinach and dogfood. You can used canned dogfood, mix it with calcium powder... or I think Reanne's way is make the dogfood into powder, then mix with water till mushy then add calcium into the mix. The crickets would eat it, have enough calcium and then sure glider would get all the nutrition.

QUOTE(silverwineus @ Dec 6 2007, 06:51 PM)
I use a forcep to snap the live crickets into a transparent plastic container with a perforated lid, those sold in aquarium shop, and then i put the gliders in. Save time on catching one by one for them.
The thought of disjointing their legs is rather displeasing.

Crickets have low calcium phophorus ratio. that's why additional calcium supplement is to be added to the sugar glider's diet. Why need to add to the crickets' diet instead?
I gut load my cricket with carrots and greens, source of vitamin. But haven't tried with the bunga raya, this flower has a high Ca/Ph ratio. It's the staple food for my tortoise.
Mine eat the legs like we take chicken drumsticks hahahah.... but then for my leopard gecko hatchlings, I have to use a pair of scissors to cut the head and all the legs away, just feed them headless and legless bodies....

Added on December 6, 2007, 9:02 pm
QUOTE(misa @ Dec 6 2007, 08:49 PM)
Just to add to the list of fruits you can give to a glider.

Persimmon. My dad gave my glider some a few days ago and it's turned out to be a fast favorite with BabyBoy.

I've also given him apricots, nectarine, passion fruit, and strawberries from time to time.

As for veggies, I used to only feed him with frozen vegetables which I microwave before serving. But these days, I give him fresh carrots, cauliflower (boiled), cucumber (without skin), pumpkin, tofu (steamed), tomato, watercress (boiled).

I tend to serve him with a variety of different stuff everyday just so he doesn't get bored. Before feeding your glider with whatever fruit/vegetable you have though, be sure to Google it up to make sure that it's safe for your glider to eat.

<3
Yah, most gliders like persimmons. Mine like ciku too.... Today I can't believe I spent RM8.90 on 2 large Honey Jambu Air and 6 little Cherries.... sigh.... so expensive...

Oh.... soya base products aren't good for gliders.... so I think you should stop giving tofu. I actually bookmarked an article on soy base products and what it does to gliders... but now it has been removed... sigh.... I'll see if I can get hold of it again.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Dec 6 2007, 09:02 PM
silverwineus
post Dec 6 2007, 09:37 PM

514 posts

hi there, is it safe for gliders to eat unboiled or uncooked vegetables?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 7 2007, 12:53 AM

12,047 posts

Yah, it is safe like say carrots, peas, veggie... no problem. Unsafe to give them uncooked meats.... unsafe to give any sort of beans.... but some veggies need to be cooked to gain the optimum nutrition out like broccoli, collard greens.... just to name a few.
misa
post Dec 7 2007, 02:52 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Dec 6 2007, 08:55 PM)
Yah, most gliders like persimmons. Mine like ciku too.... Today I can't believe I spent RM8.90 on 2 large Honey Jambu Air and 6 little Cherries.... sigh.... so expensive...

Oh.... soya base products aren't good for gliders.... so I think you should stop giving tofu. I actually bookmarked an article on soy base products and what it does to gliders... but now it has been removed... sigh.... I'll see if I can get hold of it again.

Fruits are so expensive. Especially the ones they happen to like a lot!

Hey, thanks for letting me know! I'll be sure to take tofu out of his diet from now on. nod.gif I checked it on this website and it said that tofu is a-okay to be fed. sad.gif Can't trust everything you see.
broken_string
post Dec 7 2007, 03:05 AM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

ya u better ask hun first
she is our walking encyclopedia tongue.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 7 2007, 09:58 AM

12,047 posts

Some websites said ok.... but then when I read that article, then I only know what is the cause.... it said that soy had away of not absorbing properly, also not letting calcium get adsorbed too.... aiyah, I really forgot what it said.... why why they take it off? LOL.....

Like avacado also..... so.... since all these infos are not 100% correct, I think better not feed. Gliders are still very new to the pet industry, so we are always still learning about gliders.
krynzpeaches
post Dec 7 2007, 04:27 PM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

Misa,

Persimmons was an immediate favourite to Iggy & Luna (especially Iggy!) It's sooo crunchy & sweet!

There are many-many websites created about sugar gliders, but not all gives out the correct info. Some are just simply created and never been maintained.

The best info to choose is from a site which is maintained regularly and the owner has years of experience keeping/breeding sugar gliders.

I have heard of people feeding their glider bread because he saw it on a website... doh.gif When I asked for the link and checked on the website, it was a totally crappy site, with so many shortage of info...

For reference, most of the best suited sites are listed in the 1st page smile.gif

You can read thru a few and decide which one suits you best...

Personally for me, I will always refer to - suncoast, petsugargliders, thepetglider and ofcourse sugarshack smile.gif

KP
vincent09
post Dec 8 2007, 12:17 AM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

Now i still thinking, don't know Ah Pit got running on the wheel or not. But just now i know for it biggrin.gif

Eh... Master, you havn't sleep yet ??

Oh no ~~ Master know I didn't run on the wheel for keep fit.

wub.gif wub.gif

hooverbell
post Dec 8 2007, 03:28 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Dec 8 2007, 12:17 AM)
Now i still thinking, don't know Ah Pit got running on the wheel or not. But just now i know for it biggrin.gif

Eh... Master, you havn't sleep yet ??

Oh no ~~ Master know I didn't run on the wheel for keep fit.

wub.gif  wub.gif
wahhh... so cute! drool.gif and that is the silent wheel rite? hahaha, i got it for my hamsters... laugh.gif
buttercup07
post Dec 8 2007, 07:51 AM

119 posts

guys..im going to langkawi this 18th to 21st..

should i bring my gliders ? or leave it home and ask someone to take care ?
vincent09
post Dec 8 2007, 08:50 AM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

hooverbell , ya that is silent wheel, but Ah Pit won't run at there. Just go up there sleep awhile, stone there or eating... Just like special chair for her. biggrin.gif

125 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:49 AM