125 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Sugar Glider V4, Pocket Marsupials

krynzpeaches
post Oct 1 2007, 12:22 PM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Oct 1 2007, 12:19 PM)
no ppl plan to save that little sg from danau kota petshop?

Sad as it is, if we want to save the SG,

1- We need find the money.

2- We need a proper home that is willing to care for the SG forever (No point getting him out of that junk, just to be placed in another junk right?).

3- It will somehow encourage the shop owner to sell more SG since a skinny one like that also can get sold off easily sad.gif

KP

kayz1e
post Oct 1 2007, 05:17 PM

- nEwbiE ^^"V -
1,408 posts

i've been scouting around on where 2 buy SGs.. it came to my surprise when i actually found a shop that sells it for RM120ea..

so my main question is, could it be that cheap ? WHY ?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 1 2007, 05:35 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Oct 1 2007, 12:22 PM)
Sad as it is, if we want to save the SG,

1- We need find the money.

2- We need a proper home that is willing to care for the SG forever (No point getting him out of that junk, just to be placed in another junk right?).

3- It will somehow encourage the shop owner to sell more SG since a skinny one like that also can get sold off easily sad.gif

KP
Yups, agree. No matter how pitiful we find a glider at a shop, we must think of the consequences.... 1st, it would be supporting the shop. Cruel as it may seem, we have to let the SG be. If we buy, the shop will just go find another poor SG and put it for sale again till someone pity it and buy it. The circle will go on and on. Why? Because we are giving them demand and supporting them.

QUOTE(kayz1e @ Oct 1 2007, 05:17 PM)
i've been scouting around on where 2 buy SGs.. it came to my surprise when i actually found a shop that sells it for RM120ea..

RM120? Should be adult lah..... if not adult, untame juvi. Shop won't sell joey at that price. It is normal for shops to sell adults below RM150. Which shop was it?
hackerzx
post Oct 1 2007, 06:24 PM

Hackerzx Prime
929 posts

the danau shop la yg sell 120 tu han..
kayz1e
post Oct 1 2007, 09:07 PM

- nEwbiE ^^"V -
1,408 posts

the shop that sells SGs for rm120, their size is quite big.. should be adult size, cos when i went there, all of them were sleeping...none could be seen loitering around

the shop is at petaling street... do u think its posible for me 2 purchase 2 of it, then try taming them ?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 1 2007, 09:08 PM

12,047 posts

Really? Wah.... nanti I pergi spy sikit hahhah.... as I know, last them the Qi Qi petshop sell glider joey at RM400..... that is normal price lah kalau petshop.

Added on October 1, 2007, 9:22 pm
QUOTE(kayz1e @ Oct 1 2007, 09:07 PM)
the shop that sells SGs for rm120, their size is quite big.. should be adult size, cos when i went there, all of them were sleeping...none could be seen loitering around

the shop is at petaling street... do u think its posible for me 2 purchase 2 of it, then try taming them ?
Ah, that shop ah... I know the owner.... better not loh. I have checked their health, not worth it. They are adults, meant for breeding purpose.

It is much better for you to save up some money, purchase 1 joey first.... or at least a sub-adult.....

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Oct 1 2007, 09:22 PM
kayz1e
post Oct 1 2007, 09:50 PM

- nEwbiE ^^"V -
1,408 posts

purchase 1 joey ?

i thought they live in at least a pair ?

i read somewhere stating that its not advisable to have 2 males and 1 female as the males will fight for mating rights, so do u think its advisable for 2 females and a male instead ?

This post has been edited by kayz1e: Oct 1 2007, 09:51 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 1 2007, 10:35 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(kayz1e @ Oct 1 2007, 09:50 PM)
purchase 1 joey ?

i read somewhere stating that its not advisable to have 2 males and 1 female as the males will fight for mating rights, so do u think its advisable for 2 females and a male instead ?
They need to be in a pair for life lah but if you were to purchase adults, you won't be able to tame them at all if in a pair coz they won't trust you since got each other. Joeys, you can purchase a pair at once or single 1st.... normally I prefer to get 1 joey 1st, after 2 months then get another joey coz this would make the taming and bonding process faster and easier.

Why want males with females together? Just get either 2 males or 2 females lah..... don't make them breed coz they need lots of space and also your time. Also, it is not easy to breed as sometimes will have complications.... and if you have a male around females, the smell would be terrible since the male would musk to put his smell all over his territory....

One thing we must always keep in mind, animals are not like humans... we humans can do family planning, we got money, a roof and knowledge to have children and safe sex. Animals? No.... they breed only on instinct coz God made them have this instinct in them so that there won't be extinction in the species.... they got no family planning, they do not know family love once the babies mature into adults.... if the cage is not big enough, it can be very stressful for a colony.... so better think 1st before breed. Some of us already planning to do neutering on our male gliders so they won't simply breed with our females. Have 2 to 3 gliders in a household is enough, having more is gonna be a headache.... Some people would say can sell, get some money but then for gliders, they can live for 10 to 15 years, if sell to wrong person, very kesian also.... if good home then lucky lah but if not good home.... it would be a miserable life for the gliders.
broken_string
post Oct 1 2007, 10:42 PM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

hey kp how much u paid to have ur suggy little bro cut tongue.gif
kayz1e
post Oct 1 2007, 11:32 PM

- nEwbiE ^^"V -
1,408 posts

i agree with you, i actually intend to learn more deeply about SGs, about their daily lives, since the male SG my fren is gonna give me comes with a 3ft cage, all accessories, so i guess it would be much easier for him and me, ill only have to work on the bonding part, after he's not afriad of me, ill proly get another male OR fmale..

i spend most of my off-working hours at home, so i guess spending time with it shouldnt be a problem
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 1 2007, 11:38 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(kayz1e @ Oct 1 2007, 11:32 PM)

i agree with you, i actually intend to learn more deeply about SGs, about their daily lives, since the male SG my fren is gonna give me comes with a 3ft cage, all accessories, so i guess it would be much easier for him and me, ill only have to work on the bonding part, after he's not afriad of me, ill proly get another male OR fmale..

i spend most of my off-working hours at home, so i guess spending time with it shouldnt be a problem
Ah, good good. Research never stops. I still learn new things about SGs everytime I research about them.

Yah, bond with it first. Once you get used to it, then think of another. Well, you would have a problem at bonding an adult male with a younger male.... so you gotta double check 1st. Normally males that have been with females won't accept new males easily.... but if you do get a female, it would be wise to neuter the male so you won't have problems with extra gliders popping up and also the smell. I got an matured male.... he is stinky LOL... I will neuter him too when the time is right.
jaswwp
post Oct 1 2007, 11:46 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

Ah I also didnt realise when you got another male, lol... how does Kiah like him? ok or not? haha
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 1 2007, 11:52 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Oct 1 2007, 11:46 PM)
Ah I also didnt realise when you got another male, lol... how does Kiah like him? ok or not? haha
AHhaah.... Jarrah.... can say quite some time liao, Jarrah should be 6 or 7 months now, I can't remember hahahh.... at first didn't get along.... Kiah did alot of marking, peeing and crabbing and barking at him.... then later ok. They became a cosy couple....

Now I got Kiah.... Kapi.... Jarrah hahahh.... 2 females and 1 male but will neuter Jarrah once I got cash for the surgery. I don't want any of the females to keep breeding on and on.... once is ok if it happens but never never for life.
krynzpeaches
post Oct 2 2007, 09:14 AM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(kayz1e @ Oct 1 2007, 05:17 PM)

Like Hun said, that would definitely be an adult and untamed.

QUOTE(kayz1e @ Oct 1 2007, 09:07 PM)

Ofcourse they wont be loitering around, they're nocturnal, so they spend their day sleeping.

I have no restriction on people buying an adult glider, because they need a good home too... But only if you trust yourself for having a lot of patience in taming and bonding with them. And only if you are clear of the consequences you are getting yourself into.

Taming and bonding with an adult glider takes a LOT of time, a LOT of patience and persistancy. It could take months or even years to tame them.

For all I know, NOT many of our local people are willing to do that. Somehow we seem to have less patience and give up easily.

QUOTE(kayz1e @ Oct 1 2007, 09:50 PM)
purchase 1 joey ?

They're colony animals, they live best in pairs of any sex or groups. They thrive on companionship.

Yes, 2 males will fight over 1 female unless both the males are neutered.

2 female and 1 male will only encourage breeding (again, unless you have the male neutered) plus there are chances when 1 female has joeys in the pouch the other will attempt to steal or kill the joey. It happens even in the wild, but they can run all they can since the wild is such an open space, however, they can't if they're in a cage and most likely injury or death can happen.

Sorry Hun, I am not against people getting 2 gliders at once, infact I would now prefer it that way because I have seen that companionship is really important to them and also that taming 2 gliders takes the same effort as taming one, but with a slight one to one at a time.

Taming and bonding with 2 gliders CAN be achieved successfully and almost at the same rate of taming 1 glider with the right method wink.gif

QUOTE(kayz1e @ Oct 1 2007, 11:32 PM)

Yes, do learn more about suggies and understanding atleast the basics before getting one.

Feel free to ask if you are unsure of any of your findings smile.gif

KP
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 2 2007, 09:57 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Oct 2 2007, 09:14 AM)
Like Hun said, that would definitely be an adult and untamed.
Ofcourse they wont be loitering around, they're nocturnal, so they spend their day sleeping.

I have no restriction on people buying an adult glider, because they need a good home too... But only if you trust yourself for having a lot of patience in taming and bonding with them. And only if you are clear of the consequences you are getting yourself into.

Taming and bonding with an adult glider takes a LOT of time, a LOT of patience and persistancy. It could take months or even years to tame them.

For all I know, NOT many of our local people are willing to do that. Somehow we seem to have less patience and give up easily.
They're colony animals, they live best in pairs of any sex or groups. They thrive on companionship.

Yes, 2 males will fight over 1 female unless both the males are neutered.

2 female and 1 male will only encourage breeding (again, unless you have the male neutered) plus there are chances when 1 female has joeys in the pouch the other will attempt to steal or kill the joey. It happens even in the wild, but they can run all they can since the wild is such an open space, however, they can't if they're in a cage and most likely injury or death can happen.

Sorry Hun, I am not against people getting 2 gliders at once, infact I would now prefer it that way because I have seen that companionship is really important to them and also that taming 2 gliders takes the same effort as taming one, but with a slight one to one at a time.

Taming and bonding with 2 gliders CAN be achieved successfully and almost at the same rate of taming 1 glider with the right method wink.gif
Yes, do learn more about suggies and understanding atleast the basics before getting one.

Feel free to ask if you are unsure of any of your findings smile.gif

KP
For me I think taming 2 wild adults at the same time would be very hard coz they would not trust easily.... seen this happen to many people... but when they bond with 1 adult first, it is easier. Of course this case would be when the person is very dedicated... but say if that person just wanna get gliders as normal pet, means always in a cage, never interact or bond much, then it is better to get a pair.

I know companionship is important, I've seen that with my gliders but as you know, many do not do it the right way.... for me, having 1 first to bond is easier than 2. This is how I feel lah coz now got experience in getting 1 glider at once and also getting 2 gliders at once.....If we get them at 1 or 2 months apart, it is alright, but if we do not get them a companion for a year or 2, that would be hard for them.
krynzpeaches
post Oct 2 2007, 11:03 AM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Oct 2 2007, 09:57 AM)
For me I think taming 2 wild adults at the same time would be very hard coz they would not trust easily.... seen this happen to many people... but when they bond with 1 adult first, it is easier. Of course this case would be when the person is very dedicated... but say if that person just wanna get gliders as normal pet, means always in a cage, never interact or bond much, then it is better to get a pair.

I know companionship is important, I've seen that with my gliders but as you know, many do not do it the right way.... for me, having 1 first to bond is easier than 2. This is how I feel lah coz now got experience in getting 1 glider at once and also getting 2 gliders at once.....If we get them at 1 or 2 months apart, it is alright, but if we do not get them a companion for a year or 2, that would be hard for them.

Oh yeah, taming 2 gliders at once does not apply for the adult ones, sorry forgot to mention that. Cuz adult gilders need more attention and care, they need to be separated and gain their trust one by one.

I know what you mean by people not doing it the right way, I've seen and know some of these people.

Actually it is very easy. When you get 2 gliders at once, they can be kept in the same cage and have each other companionship, but when it comes to bonding or interacting with them, you must concerntrate one at a time, not with both at once.

And yeah, you've had both types in hand, getting 1 or 2 at once.

I guess it still depends on the new owner-to-be punya effortlah... With gliders it's all about the effort, patience and persistance wink.gif

KP

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 2 2007, 11:06 AM

12,047 posts

With 2 joeys at once is not as bad as 2 adults which are untame lah..... but aiyoh, my 2 joeys very very naughty hahahah....
krynzpeaches
post Oct 2 2007, 11:15 AM

2,047 posts

I think 2 untamed adults is way worse lah...

They will definitely need to be separated to gain their trust.

However, if you have 1 tamed adult and another untamed adult, most likely the tame one will help you teach or tame the untamed one wink.gif

Haha, sounds like a tongue twister pulak...

KP
broken_string
post Oct 2 2007, 11:41 AM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

weh kp u havent tell me how much it cost to neutered ur suggy leh tongue.gif
krynzpeaches
post Oct 2 2007, 11:58 AM

2,047 posts

Eh, sorry-sorry, I pm you tongue.gif