emino
post Feb 16 2008, 03:54 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(malowie @ Feb 16 2008, 03:50 PM)
hey.. that interesting...

what u feed it?

does ur glider mark or not?
Dont think he do that yet. I dunno how to detect whether he mark or not tongue.gif. Hehe
I feed him apples, mini tomatoes and carrots, and some honeydew.
And about 15 mealworms per day.

This post has been edited by emino: Feb 16 2008, 03:55 PM
Reanne
post Feb 16 2008, 04:10 PM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

You mean cherry tomatoes and baby carrots? lol

Tried some Japanese Rock melon and Royal Mango, both were so sweet! Gliders polished the bowl by morning, but Miko doesn't seem to be putting on weight. Gave a little cashewnuts but she wouldn't take. Only Billie liked the cashewnuts.

Ppl must think I'm weird, smelling each fruit and getting sap on my nose. Hahaa... Actually, one way to see if the fruit will be sweet is to smell it. Fruits like melons and mangoes will smell quite fragrant. Out of most melons, only 1 I found smelled nice and out of a whole stack of mangoes, only managed to find 2 that smelled good. A little extra effort for sweeter fruits. biggrin.gif

Tried to look for that yummy papaya KP posted, but couldn't find any. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Reanne: Feb 16 2008, 04:13 PM
ayiesz
post Feb 16 2008, 04:29 PM

Selamat Hari Raya
2,778 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Feb 16 2008, 04:10 PM)

Tried some Japanese Rock melon and Royal Mango, both were so sweet! Gliders polished the bowl by morning, but Miko doesn't seem to be putting on weight. Gave a little cashewnuts but she wouldn't take. Only Billie liked the cashewnuts.

Ppl must think I'm weird, smelling each fruit and getting sap on my nose. Hahaa... Actually, one way to see if the fruit will be sweet is to smell it. Fruits like melons and mangoes will smell quite fragrant. Out of most melons, only 1 I found smelled nice and out of a whole stack of mangoes, only managed to find 2 that smelled good. A little extra effort for sweeter fruits. biggrin.gif

usually for mangoes i'll keep them in fridge for few days before feeding them. most of the time i found they aren't ripe enough. they prefer softer fruits tongue.gif papayas is still no 1 in the rank but the poo a bit smelly doh.gif
krynzpeaches
post Feb 16 2008, 05:34 PM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Feb 16 2008, 01:09 PM)
so darn cute..how do u guys overcome the pee smell?

I find that their pee don't normally smell.

Hamster pee is way different and worst.

Only their marking pee smells.

There's a difference between normal pee and marking pee.

The marking does smell and can stink like burning paper...

QUOTE(emino @ Feb 16 2008, 01:27 PM)
Weirdly enough, their pee doesnt smell. At all. I've been peed on many times now and it feels and smells like a clear water.

Yeah, normally it doesn't smell.

QUOTE(ayiesz @ Feb 16 2008, 04:29 PM)
papayas is still no 1 in the rank but the poo a bit smelly doh.gif

The Golden Papaya doesn't make their poo smelly rclxms.gif

Cool huh!

KP

Reanne
post Feb 16 2008, 05:42 PM

2,903 posts

Actually, all 3 of my gliders' pee, all really stink. sweat.gif And they're females.

This post has been edited by Reanne: Feb 16 2008, 05:42 PM
ayiesz
post Feb 16 2008, 05:44 PM

Selamat Hari Raya
2,778 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Feb 16 2008, 05:34 PM)
I find that their pee don't normally smell.

Hamster pee is way different and worst.

Only their marking pee smells.

There's a difference between normal pee and marking pee.

The marking does smell and can stink like burning paper...
Yeah, normally it doesn't smell.
The Golden Papaya doesn't make their poo smelly rclxms.gif

Cool huh!

KP
the name is golden papaya?
where to find rclxub.gif
zaenez
post Feb 16 2008, 05:52 PM

38 posts

cute...wonder if can get one in kuching here...argh..i forgot bout my cats...
krynzpeaches
post Feb 16 2008, 05:57 PM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Feb 16 2008, 05:42 PM)
Actually, all 3 of my gliders' pee, all really stink. sweat.gif And they're females.

Haha, see, females can stink too tongue.gif

Boys can rock! flex.gif

Hehehe laugh.gif

QUOTE(ayiesz @ Feb 16 2008, 05:44 PM)
the name is golden papaya?
where to find  rclxub.gif

It's either golden or fragrant papaya.

Smaller than normal papaya and smells really-really-really sweet!

Pix I've posted before wink.gif

I got from Carrefour. They say most Carrefour now got smile.gif

KP

malowie
post Feb 16 2008, 07:03 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Feb 16 2008, 04:10 PM)

HaHA... i do the same thing.. smell fruits.. weird eh???

lols... but i think that its ok if you dont do it on the dining table in front of everyone..yeah.. mangoes smell great..
have you tried durians? lols....

hey try going to midv carrefour... i saw it last time..

Added on February 16, 2008, 7:06 pm
QUOTE(emino @ Feb 16 2008, 03:54 PM)
Dont think he do that yet. I dunno how to detect whether he mark or not tongue.gif. Hehe
I feed him apples, mini tomatoes and carrots, and some honeydew.
And about 15 mealworms per day.
haha.. when they mark, ull faint when u first smell it.. but i think that if u spend loads of time with ur glider, and it is properly bonded to u, it wont mark.

This post has been edited by malowie: Feb 16 2008, 07:06 PM
Reanne
post Feb 16 2008, 08:50 PM

2,903 posts

I went all over Carrefour and Jusco. Can't find. I guess finished already.
malowie
post Feb 16 2008, 09:09 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Feb 16 2008, 08:50 PM)
I went all over Carrefour and Jusco. Can't find. I guess finished already.
o.. haha.. sorry to hear that.
spel'it
post Feb 17 2008, 11:13 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Feb 15 2008, 01:23 PM)
wait wait,i'm confused...treat or staple?
feed everyday in large amount to make them full or as treats?
Hehehe...sorri....i was out by the time u are confused. Hehehe...Luckily KP answered it for u...
I meant, its staple food for cats...but can be treat for gliders la...

Added on February 17, 2008, 11:17 amReanne, sorry...my hp goes haywire that day la...
I cant wait for u at Hand n paws coz got an interview to catch.
Anyway...thank u so so much...

Yeah Dr Jenny was very helpful. Heheh....
Anyway, can sumone tell me whether soybean oil is safe for gliders?
Bcoz Jenny had given me a shringe of sum nutrien supplement for puppies. N it contains soy oil. Afraid to give to Cheekoo yet until get sum confirmation from sumone that soy bean oil is ok.
Jenny herself not so sure, thats y she ask me to check 1st n just give me a shringe of the supplement. She said bcoz this contains only the oil, not the protein...So? Anyone?

Footnote: From www.glideruniversity.org:
Dangerous or Lethal Food List: Soy based products: May be a problem for sugar gliders. This has not been proven.

This post has been edited by spel'it: Feb 17 2008, 11:32 AM
bonai
post Feb 17 2008, 11:32 AM

1,254 posts

Reanne,

Last month bought that papaya at a fruit booth in Plaza Alam Sentral and yes they still got it there.
The booth is in Plaza Alam Sentral right in front of Kenny Rogers, can't miss it..
jitshiong
post Feb 17 2008, 12:40 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(spel'it @ Feb 17 2008, 11:13 AM)
Hehehe...sorri....i was out by the time u are confused. Hehehe...Luckily KP answered it for u...
I meant, its staple food for cats...but can be treat for gliders la...

hehe, thanks.
Got it
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 17 2008, 09:09 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

My gliders are like balloons! The way they eat.... till belly become bloated. I'm surprised that my gliders can finish all their fruits and still want to eat more hahahah. Now 4 gliders (3 are mine and 1 is boarding) are fat chubby monsters.

Anyway, take advantage of local fruits.... jambu and jambu air is full of calcium. Ciku and mangoes are well loved, same as rambutan, papaya and sugar apples....

Kapi is just plain greedy. In her left paw was a piece of honey dew, and her right paw a piece of ciku. She took 1 bite of the honey dew, then another bite of ciku, and she kept alternating her left and right paw. Sigh, so cute. Kiah prefers to munch on ciku and sun melon.

If you guys can afford RM5, just go to Cold Storage and find imported yogurt. I think gliders would love it since it is full fat and full of flavours. Full fat yogurt is much better than low fat.

About the pee thing..... gliders do have 2 types of pee.... but with 1 glider, I don't think much marking is done. Teddy has not started marking yet..... his bald spot still not prominent yet. I've seen gliders mark their owners too, the males do it in such a cute way hhahah.

Added on February 17, 2008, 9:11 pmSoy oil should be fine.... I just stay away from the soy protein, coz there was an article on soy protein being bad for gliders. Somehow the article is missing from the website, it was also on lima beans and avocado.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Feb 17 2008, 09:11 PM
jitshiong
post Feb 17 2008, 09:15 PM

1,868 posts

crazymouse_yyh, ur inbox is full...
can't PM u

krynzpeaches
post Feb 17 2008, 09:21 PM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Feb 17 2008, 09:09 PM)
About the pee thing..... gliders do have 2 types of pee.... but with 1 glider, I don't think much marking is done. Teddy has not started marking yet..... his bald spot still not prominent yet. I've seen gliders mark their owners too, the males do it in such a cute way hhahah.

I remember before Iggy was neutered he used to mark other people when he hops onto them. One time he jumped onto one of my male colleague and I was quickly about to pick him up and my colleague said never mind he's cute when Iggy mark peed on him sweat.gif

He was like, "What the..."

Then he said never mind he'll go wash it... But unfortunately mark pee cannot just wash a bit on one spot, best is to wash the whole baju! After a few mins he was complaining about the smell and cannot tahan it that he had to change his shirt... doh.gif

Lucky he just went shopping during lunch time and wore the new shirt he bought immediately... laugh.gif

tongue.gif
KP

emino
post Feb 17 2008, 09:24 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

Hehe... You makes me scared lor... Better go and neuter Teddy fast la gini...
jitshiong
post Feb 17 2008, 09:28 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Feb 17 2008, 09:24 PM)
Hehe... You makes me scared lor... Better go and neuter Teddy fast la gini...
Hehe, the male marking is really really smelly.
way different from the female.
Sure cannot tahan wan.
I used to keep them in my room,the whole room including me smells lkike his pee
but i'm too used to it so i dun smell it, my friends will faint
haha

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 17 2008, 09:29 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Yah.... I remember 1 male peed on me when he jumped onto my shoulder, it was the marking pee.... wahhhh... damn stinky, but then I didn't change my shirt lah heheheh....

My inbox full, wait ar..... need to clear some stuff.

125 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:23 AM