Sugar Glider V4, Pocket Marsupials

Pennywise
post Jan 26 2008, 11:15 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Jan 26 2008, 03:59 AM)
Welcome to the world of Sugar Gliders. You don't have to own one to love 'em, so it's no problem to have you around. smile.gif

They are nocturnal, so they sleep away most of the day but doesn't mean they can't wake up. Our glider owners here usually bring them out in their pouches all day, but we don't constantly play with them, allowing them to sleep in the pouch. Once they get used to the motion of being in the pouch while we do our daily routine, it's not easy to wake them unless you take them out. Like I can run, walk, or even jump and Billie will stay fast asleep in her pouch.

They do wake up themselves when they need to pee and/or poo, or even play. Billie is a pouch destroyer because when she wants to pee, means she wants to pee, so have to secretly take her out during class for her to pee. But sometimes she wants to play, which will result in the process of destroying the zipper because I can't leave her out too long. But usually if you do not take them out for a long period of time and they stay asleep in the pouch, the next time you do, they will usually automatically pee and/or poo right after you take them out.

That kind of routine to bond to 2 is okay for short periods of time, preferably not over a day, but once in a while let them rest, like don't bring them out for alternate days. Its recommended to have a strong bond to the first one though, then only get a second. And also, bringing both out at the same time is better than leaving one at home, unless you have no confidence when it comes to handling 2 at once. It does have a negative effect if you do it too often and separate them for too long.
Thanks for your kind reply, Reanne. I would like to ask how much do we need to spend on a pair of sugar gliders if we were to give it a luxurious good life? I know they need a lot of time bonding with their safest tree, their human. But I never asked, how much of financial commitment does it take to own a pair.

Anyone can answer me your monthly expenditure on your pair of sugar gliders? Please break down the amount to each items. THank you!!
broken_string
post Jan 26 2008, 11:20 AM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jan 26 2008, 11:15 AM)
Thanks for your kind reply, Reanne. I would like to ask how much do we need to spend on a pair of sugar gliders if we were to give it a luxurious good life? I know they need a lot of time bonding with their safest tree, their human. But I never asked, how much of financial commitment does it take to own a pair.

Anyone can answer me your monthly expenditure on your pair of sugar gliders? Please break down the amount to each items. THank you!!
dun say living in luxury, living normally oledi cost over 1k

2xglider = 550 - 600
good cage = 250 - 300
accessories = 50 - 100
food = 50 - 100
Reanne
post Jan 26 2008, 01:49 PM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

I don't spend much on accessories, so it's

1.The glider RM300 for one.

2.A nice spacious cage, RM200+, or the smaller, more budget friendly cage, RM100+. So the basic for glider and cage is already RM400 to 500.

3.Basic food per month RM15 to RM17, fruits around RM 5 or so every other day.

4. Crickets and mealworms, RM8 for mealies and RM4 for crickets will last awhile.

This post has been edited by Reanne: Jan 26 2008, 01:54 PM
Pennywise
post Jan 26 2008, 02:17 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Jan 26 2008, 11:20 AM)
dun say living in luxury, living normally oledi cost over 1k

2xglider = 550 - 600
good cage = 250 - 300
accessories = 50 - 100
food = 50 - 100
Hi... I am not talking about buying the sugar gliders and cages. That is sort of like a one-time-fee and once the house is setup and the sugar gliders are brought home, how much would it cost monthly? Thanks for the informative feedback though. Appreciated.

QUOTE(Reanne @ Jan 26 2008, 01:49 PM)
I don't spend much on accessories, so it's

1.The glider RM300 for one.

2.A nice spacious cage, RM200+, or the smaller, more budget friendly cage, RM100+. So the basic for glider and cage is already RM400 to 500.

3.Basic food per month RM15 to RM17, fruits around RM 5 or so every other day.

4. Crickets and mealworms, RM8 for mealies and RM4 for crickets will last awhile.
Reanne, thanks for replying. Buying the sugar gliders and the cage is probably a one time event unless one of them dies somehow, then we'd need another partner. If I were to buy a pair, it would be from Hun, KP or you if anyone of you has a joey, else it would be nobody else. You three are the people who have been here long enough and knowledgable enough for me to trust if I were to want a healthy pair.

If I were to go for cages, I would get one posted by KP. Else, there is another two cages which I posted here belong long ago, a yellow triangle roof one and a big black one that can even keep a bear inside, both going for RM450 at Pet Safari. I'm not a sting when it comes to a pet's life. I will try to give it the best or above average - I just want to calculate my monthly expenditure and commitment for 12 - 15 years.

Money is easy to pay out but time is a bigger problem for me. That's why right now, I'm still undecided and my gf + my sister is against the idea. Also, my new home is currently under renovation so me living in a double storey now has no place to put the cage. I wanted to put in the balcony like someone here does but since you guys advise against it, I might as well listened.

Thanks for reading and replying to my post. What's basic food? Is it the tupperware thing from Hun??
Reanne
post Jan 26 2008, 03:03 PM

2,903 posts

Oh, then yea, for a single glider, about RM90+ per month for food. The rest would be a one time thing or once in a while thing, but the living cost would be that.
NewbieBetta
post Jan 26 2008, 04:08 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

wow..the food so exp huh?
Reanne
post Jan 26 2008, 04:14 PM

2,903 posts

It's the fruits. Unless you buy from the supermarket, then it's cheaper. I buy ready cut fruits as I want to give them variety so I can buy 3 types a day without wasting. My fridge got problem and is almost always full, can't keep so much.

QUOTE(malowie)
thanks KP. yes i have googled. just wanna know what malaysian suggie keepers feed.

Jambu air, guava, mango, kiwi, water crest, water melon, sun melon, honeydew, custard apple, apple, pear, persimmon, papaya, dragon fruit, ciku, blueberries, cranberries, strawberries, figs etc.

This post has been edited by Reanne: Jan 26 2008, 06:58 PM
broken_string
post Jan 26 2008, 07:05 PM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

hi all

here is the update on my glider condition
to those who wish for his health and recovery, thanks alot, appreciate it notworthy.gif

the condition gone from worse to worst
i thought he is recovering as the interval of his crabbing reduce significantly however it turns out tat its getting worst, despite crabbing lesser, everytime he crab, he will chew on the wound like mad until the flesh comes off.

my observation tells me tat he only chew on them when he poo / pee. he lose quite abit of blood as the fur surrounding the area is all red and its really heart breaking to see his condition and hears his screams. his condition is even worst than the pic attach as the wounded area is now at least 2mm deep and as big as a corn. the unfortunate thing is the wound is exactly or near the cloacal, tats why he feel so painful when he poo.

despite this, he is still very active and his useless owner still unable to attach the collar to him properly.
mayb i am not a good pet owner myself, should have jus stick to keeping hedgehog sad.gif
this is the first time i feel so useless in my entire 24 years as a human.

i apply hydrogen peroxide to his wound adi and he is sleeping now, hopefully he stays asleep till tomolo morning so that i can bring him to the vet again to fix the collar.

i hope no suggy will have to face this kinda shit in the future, reason why i continue posting this updates so tat if really so unlucky it happens, future owner will know about the progress and know wat to do best, pls fix the collar right from the start. dun wait till it become worst like mine. condition can turn bad in a short period of time.

buttercup, thanks alot, unfortunately my glider dint manage to recover, however ur post keeps me going till now. appreciate it smile.gif

now i can only put my hope on the collar, if it fails then i will consider to put him to sleep cry.gif
i cant bear to see him self mutilated himself till death sad.gif

NewbieBetta
post Jan 26 2008, 07:39 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

wish u luck pal
rafiqos
post Jan 26 2008, 08:40 PM

464 posts

broken_string. I've been reading your previous posts. You're really committed to get your suggie well again. Don't give up hope just yet! Make your way to a trustworthy vet (i.e. Dr. Yeoh) ASAP.

Do keep us posted. Your suggie's situation, tho unfortunate, can be a good reference for other owners in the future.

Hope all turns out well for your little one!
Jamien
post Jan 26 2008, 09:15 PM

2,647 posts

broken_string, jia you! You should not give up until the very end. he still has hope for recovery right?? It was simply bad luck...

Try on the collar for a few days, maybe it will be better. If not... Let's hope it doesn't come to that.

Anyway, your suggie is counting on you. It might seem cruel but if it can survive, wouldn't you give him a fighting chance? Your suggie can only depend on you, so don't give up! He needs you. And we're all rooting for you and him!
Pennywise
post Jan 26 2008, 09:20 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Jan 26 2008, 04:14 PM)
It's the fruits. Unless you buy from the supermarket, then it's cheaper. I buy ready cut fruits as I want to give them variety so I can buy 3 types a day without wasting. My fridge got problem and is almost always full, can't keep so much.

QUOTE(malowie)
thanks KP. yes i have googled. just wanna know what malaysian suggie keepers feed.

Jambu air, guava, mango, kiwi, water crest, water melon, sun melon, honeydew, custard apple, apple, pear, persimmon, papaya, dragon fruit, ciku, blueberries, cranberries, strawberries, figs etc.
Oh I see... because your fridge is not working well, thats why you cannot store fruits in it? Well, I think things will be considerably cheaper if we bought fruits and store in fridge, right? Correct me if I'm wrong because I eat fruits but seldom have them at home, usually is also road side stalls so we never keep before.

QUOTE(broken_string @ Jan 26 2008, 07:05 PM)
hi all

here is the update on my glider condition
to those who wish for his health and recovery, thanks alot, appreciate it notworthy.gif

the condition gone from worse to worst
i thought he is recovering  as the interval of his crabbing reduce significantly however it turns out tat its getting worst, despite crabbing lesser, everytime he crab, he will chew on the wound like mad until the flesh comes off.

my observation tells me tat he only chew on them when he poo / pee. he lose quite abit of blood as the fur surrounding the area is all red and its  really heart breaking to see his condition and hears his screams. his condition is even worst than the pic attach as the wounded area is now at least 2mm deep and as big as a corn. the unfortunate thing is the wound is exactly or near the cloacal, tats why he feel so painful when he poo.

despite this, he is still very active and his useless owner still unable to attach the collar to him properly.
mayb i am not a good pet owner myself, should have jus stick to keeping hedgehog  sad.gif
this is the first time i feel so useless in my entire 24 years as a human.

i apply hydrogen peroxide to his wound adi and he is sleeping now, hopefully he stays asleep till tomolo morning so that i can bring him to the vet again to fix the collar.

i hope no suggy will have to face this kinda shit in the future, reason why i continue posting this updates so tat if really so unlucky it happens, future owner will know about the progress and know wat to do best, pls fix the collar right from the start. dun wait till it become worst like mine. condition can turn bad in a short period of time.

buttercup, thanks alot, unfortunately my glider dint manage to recover, however ur post keeps me going till now. appreciate it  smile.gif

now i can only put my hope on the collar, if it fails then i will consider to put him to sleep  cry.gif
i cant bear to see him self mutilated himself till death  sad.gif
Hi, I wasnt following so I'm not sure - mind I ask how did your sugar glider come in tact with such injuries? Please dont pour negativity on yourself by calling useless and yada yada because that's where you will start feelings weary, tiresome and etc. I think you're doing a great job and hold up high responsibility for your friend the sugar glider. I am proud of you and am sure many others are. Keep up the good job, surely he will recover soon.

Somehow, just have to stop him from biting the wound. Poor thing.
hackerzx
post Jan 26 2008, 09:29 PM

Hackerzx Prime
929 posts

hmm like human kena buasir ~
Jamien
post Jan 26 2008, 09:34 PM

2,647 posts

^^" Human kena buasir won't scratch and bite wan ma... This wan more serious a bit.

Try to get the collar on ASAP. And really, I think you shouldn't be pessimistic and call yourself all sorts of negative names. smile.gif You have to be strong enough for you and your suggie. There's hope till the very last second. Gambateh.
Reanne
post Jan 26 2008, 09:56 PM

2,903 posts

We will be rooting for you, so don't let your mind be shrouded in doubt. He is still active and eating, that is the part that keeps us going. As long as he has enough energy to do all that, despite the wound, I'm sure he's doing his best too.
sharil_routh
post Jan 26 2008, 10:24 PM

(~Penentangan adalah sia-sia~)
1,356 posts

today my friend told me that he went to pet safari, and he saw three dead sugar glider in that shop and they put inside glass cage (where before this there put racoon) and my friend said the dead sugar glider look dry, I feel really sad, why they must do to animal like this. and the one in cage at the counter look tremble. vmad.gif
malowie
post Jan 26 2008, 10:26 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Jan 26 2008, 04:14 PM)
Thanks reanne.
Jamien
post Jan 26 2008, 10:43 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(sharil_routh @ Jan 26 2008, 10:24 PM)
today my friend told me that he went to pet safari, and he saw three dead sugar glider in that shop and they put inside glass cage (where before this there put racoon) and my friend said the dead sugar glider look dry, I feel really sad, why they must do to animal like this. and the one in cage at the counter look tremble.  vmad.gif
vmad.gif All those people only know how to cakap besar but dunno how to care for suggies... How can... The poor suggies... cry.gif
huh?
post Jan 26 2008, 11:29 PM

eh? ada 4 stars? lol
533 posts

broken_string = be strong and support your sugar glider.. i hope your suggie will get well soon..

jamien = certain people.. haih.. you know what i mean..

i have another question to ask here, is it a good idea to have my suggie cage inside my room?

issit okay if i cover the cage with fleece blanket so that i can keep my room clean from poo and pee?

is the poo and pee has a strong odor? cause since it is going to be inside my room, i want to keep everything smells fresh and near to odorless

rafiqos
post Jan 26 2008, 11:36 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(huh? @ Jan 26 2008, 11:29 PM)
is the poo and pee has a strong odor? cause since it is going to be inside my room, i want to keep everything smells fresh and near to odorless
That would be a difficult one..haha.

125 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Top

0.0283sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:24 AM