Dog Kibbles (Discussion), Which brand do you feed your furkid?

RealityDreamer
post Oct 18 2007, 12:42 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Oct 16 2007, 09:01 PM)
The protein allergy could be due to the type of protein..... like if my toby takes beef or certain chicken dogfood brands, his skin will break out. That's all I can safely say, some dogs are allergic to the type of protein.... but to some, Orijen memang high protein lah but so far I have never seen my Chelsea go overweight even though she eats 2 meals a day.... just that other brands with lots of fillers, they fillers are the ones that make them go overweight..... but once a dog reaches senior age, it is advisable to feed a low calorie dogfood....

Every dog can react differently to certain dogfoods.... some dogs may be allergic to certain herbs or ingredients in the food, I would say YEAST... quite a number of dogfood includes loads of yeast. What put me off into buying that organic dogfood I saw was that it contains a whole lot of yeast! Sometimes if your dog is prone to skin rashes or itchiness, yeast can make it worst. Some could be the lack of iron and zinc.... so research, and try brands that suit your dog as well high in quality. If your dog is prone to itch skin which leads to sores that never heal, then stay away from yeast. But if your dog is normal, brewer's yeast is quite fine if taken in the right amounts.

Anyway, now ah, I'm trying a supplement known as Zinpro dog biscuit supplements that contain natural zinc. Seems that it can help dogs with sensitive skin, helps with shedding and coat growth, even helps with hotspots on dogs and rashes.... well, my dogs taking the supplement now, wait for 6 weeks see got improvement or not. Toby eating for his skin condition, Chelsea eating to see if can lessen shedding. Large dogs take 2 biscuits, small dogs 1 a day. Hahah... a bit pricey... normally RM35 but the petshop at Plaza Damas sells for RM33 I think.... see how effective it is, if it works, then it will be a must buy item for my dogs liao.
Hey hun, smile.gif

Just a note(if u don't already noe la) , I'm not sure abt dogs but in humans when given Zn, the absorption of iron and copper is compromised as Zn, iron and copper are competing with each other for absorption. Zn will be taken in as a priority, iron or copper are excreted.

But, if your dog( or rather, in humans) is healthy and no problems and on high protein diet...the absorption is compromised, but not to an unhealthy level. But if the dog already lacks iron, do take note ...

Maybe can check if the biscuit is also fortified with iron or copper ??

This post has been edited by RealityDreamer: Oct 18 2007, 12:48 AM
RealityDreamer
post Jul 13 2008, 07:32 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(Doraemon11 @ Jul 13 2008, 04:52 PM)
Since every1 said orijen quite pricey.. 2.5kg Rm50
Found out that actually NB more expensive ler... 2.27kg Rm54!!!

Any1 oso know tis brand "Sigma7"??
3kg cost rm80!!! Walau err..
Yea..I've used it.. I got the Salmon one. Very good ingredients. The dogs love it and their poo has less volume and doesn't stink so much. You pay for what you get lor..

0.8989sec    0.77    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:35 PM