Dog Kibbles (Discussion), Which brand do you feed your furkid?

BigBen
post Sep 28 2007, 10:45 AM

115 posts

Hi I new here.... I give Nutri Edge to my GR and JRT ... but now NO more recently Nutri Edge the pellet changed size and the smell was very strong in salt smell and now they have problem with their fur..rough and broken and my JRT skin like having pimple lump in the body. Can one reconmend GR what food the best. have anyone try Avoderm? I have try Canidae is good but diffcult to get cos not many place sell it.
BigBen
post Sep 28 2007, 11:51 AM

115 posts

TQ ...... ya lo... Nutri Edge is commercialize now.. 1 pet shop owner told me they are now local produce to Licence don know how true... Canidae is good i just try a small pack can see the different, i also wanted to try Royal Canin i prefere to have a healthly dog when seeing than strong and with healthly fur so happy.
BigBen
post Sep 28 2007, 01:56 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(iluv2zzz @ Sep 28 2007, 12:28 PM)
I heard it ias a "drug" haha.. once they eat it, they don't want anything else... cause too delicious jor?  rclxub.gif
True i heard it expensive but what to do now my 2 doggie look ugly. now my GR fur like no color very base.... but my JRT still look like bodybuilder with shape... have to try RC first to build them up then slowly change to cheaper food
BigBen
post Sep 28 2007, 02:10 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(won @ Sep 28 2007, 01:57 PM)
Ooh, you have the watery poo problem too? I thought only Crazymouse's chelsea and my GR has it only - but mine is just very soft (lembik)  laugh.gif
Other than that, I am actually ok with it.

I am now trying Innova for my GR. Same company but the poo is firm compare with CN.

I used to give Nutriedge to my GR too. His fur has great and he loves it. However, I stop giving him since I discover one of the packet I bought grow worm very fast.  shakehead.gif
Grow worm very fast?? it that the flies egg worm... yes my GR like it very much also after this pack now he don even bother look at it . like hunger strike sweat.gif
BigBen
post Sep 28 2007, 02:33 PM

115 posts

Hi Won ... how old your GR? and how the weight kg? my GR is going 9 mth and 25kg
U mean worm direct from the plastic container ... cannot be it a dry food how come got worm maybe the container is wet la...
BigBen
post Sep 28 2007, 03:49 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Sep 28 2007, 02:45 PM)
isn't the problem with RC being what goes into it as opposed to how expensive it is?
Hi madmoz
i just bought the RC 15kg pack RM160 maxi junior 32.... well i found the pricing for all brand almost the same, i buy 15 kg pack Nutri Edge RM156. but RC food volume less by quarter compare brand..
if u buy smaller volume like i bought for my JRT 3kg cost me RM64.. this expensive..
BigBen
post Sep 28 2007, 03:53 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(won @ Sep 28 2007, 02:49 PM)
My GR just turn 1 year old. He is about 28.8kg.  smile.gif

The plastic container (with lid) is where we usually store his kibbles. 
It should not be wet and there are lots of worm crawling around the kibbles when i open it.  unsure.gif
wah going 1 yr old.. i think my abit over weight... everthing also eat including slipper reubber, wood funniture, plant all play toy beaten half now going for the iron gate.. rclxub.gif
BigBen
post Dec 7 2007, 12:51 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(won @ Dec 7 2007, 09:28 AM)
I haven't try Natural Balance before, but when i gave some solid gold kibbles from a sample pack to my GR and ckcs, both also poo watery poo.  rclxub.gif Now, don't really dare to simply try dog food already.
I just bought the CN herring and potatoes for shushu  - whew, smell so fishy!  doh.gif
Initially shushu don't want to eat but after i mix other kibbles inside he finished them. Now, he can eat the CN herring without other kibbles.  thumbup.gif Kero is direct opposite of Chelsea. I am giving him innova evo but he keep stealing shushu's CN herring.......dry.gif. I think he likes the fishy smell.
Hmmm, shushu was feed with Nutriedge during his puppy days - I admit the fur was good and he likes it a lot. However, the kibbles really grows worm before we manage to finish (for 15kg ones). I keep buying 3kgs pack almost weekly just to keep the kibbles fresh - quite a hassle. I think the poo stinks more too.  tongue.gif

Hmmm, on container - another suggestion is you can buy those biscuit in the tin and use the tin to store kibbles after the biscuit finished. It is really airtight and keeps the kibbles fresh.  smile.gif  No need to spend extra money on the plastic container too - just buy the biscuit  brows.gif
my dog first take Nutriegde is very good lately kibble change size and heard that is local manufacture but smell very salty then my dog got problem skin the whole body got lump like pimple then stop now on Natural Balance with 4 meal type (chicken, lamp, fish and duck) but he don't like it , first few day poo watery later very hard. i have to mix with eukanuba can food meat he only eat half only. after 1 month try back nurtiedge same thing happen to the skin doh.gif never try again.

This post has been edited by BigBen: Dec 7 2007, 12:53 PM
BigBen
post Dec 8 2007, 09:41 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Dec 7 2007, 04:13 PM)
easy, try Blackwood. NOt too expensive, many place got stock, no serious issues reported, poo less smell, not much improvement on coat. Meaning this kibbles is just so-so, but better than pedigree lah.

Added on December 7, 2007, 4:15 pm

if got skin problem, try nutriedge lamb loh, dun buy chicken lah.
He all the time taking lamb not chicken .... but only recently only have this skin problem.. i suspect the problem is not the chicken ot lamb meat maybe is the type of corn and rice low grade.

Added on December 8, 2007, 9:49 am
QUOTE(cncgirl80 @ Dec 8 2007, 12:34 AM)
Use the Nutriedge lamb lor!!! I was in US recently. Nutriedge is sold there. How can it be a local product????? Barcode also indicates american product.

Added on December 8, 2007, 12:37 am

I agree with that someone of yours. Blackwood really gives lots of poo!!!!
Yes nutriedge is US product... i don't know you realise how the kibble shape and size in US and here? i not saying nutriedge not a good dog food maybe my dog not suitable.
Like Royal Canni product one time china make using sub standard meat and rice causing the down fall of Royal canni so bad..

This post has been edited by BigBen: Dec 8 2007, 09:49 AM
BigBen
post Dec 10 2007, 04:09 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Dec 8 2007, 04:43 PM)
All the talk about kibbles, anyone have any idea where I can find a big container, large enough to keep 10kg of dog food and preferably air-tight? Else, those keep keropok ones will do. I have seen them before, just no idea where people bought it from.
This keropok container you can get it in Tesco Cheras just saw it yesterday..
BigBen
post Apr 14 2008, 03:54 PM

115 posts

Hi all
can somebody tell have you seen any places that sell Royal Canin Maxi Adult Golden Retriever 25 dog food...
i found it in the US wed site but can't find it over here.
BigBen
post Apr 15 2008, 09:10 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(angelgurl_nee @ Apr 14 2008, 07:53 PM)
sry bigben i havent seen it anywhere...
the ones i see are mostly for small breeds ...
but will keep an eye out for u when i go to pet shops smile.gif
Hi andelgurl
Thank You.... only this royal canin GR food is good for dog heart other on fur and etc....
BigBen
post Apr 15 2008, 02:08 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(remymj @ Apr 15 2008, 12:47 PM)
Ben,is it the food only for GR?
other dogs can take it as well? hmm.gif
Yes this is new product by Royal Canin specially for GR..... I think for others dog also can gua.... cos heart, HD are GR heretic sickness carrier

0.0662sec    0.66    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:20 AM