6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Dog Kibbles (Discussion), Which brand do you feed your furkid?

crazymouse_yyh
post Jan 22 2008, 11:11 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(White Palace @ Jan 22 2008, 01:43 AM)
Anyone tried Addiction?
I tried on my dog both the normal one and the Kangaroo and apple.... well, the normal vegetarian one sucks as none of my dogs like it. The Kangaroo and apple not bad lah, but it gets boring coz the smell is not really appetizing as smells like apples. Soon my Chelsea became picky with Addiction.

QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ Jan 22 2008, 10:42 AM)
ah i tried Addiction, the dehydrated food. rm75++?
can oni last for about 5dinners for my 2dogs and they din really like it. wasted my money!!!!!
LOL.... you really tried it? Suppose to soak in some water rite?

There is this dogfood called Abady in Singapore.... my friend swears that it is the best dogfood he has ever used but freaking expensive.

http://www.waggintails.com/store/Search.ph...x=43&Search.y=7

We don't get this here.... when I went to Singapore and saw that brand.... and the price.... wow hahaha.
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 13 2008, 02:48 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Feb 13 2008, 12:51 AM)
anyone tried pinnacle? I need feedbacks on it pls.
I just replied in some other thread.... Why wanna change meh? Current kibble not good?
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 13 2008, 03:23 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(White Palace @ Feb 13 2008, 03:00 AM)
Haha, becoz Orijen previously can say almost totally out of stock, she can't get it anywhere. But now new stock had arrived, thing is 2.5kg puppy still not available.

BTW, Orijen price will increase starting March, so you guys better stock up!
Aiyah, all petfood increase loh..... about 20% price increase I think..... but B2B is high, 15kg was RM156, now is RM180+.....

Pinnacle has this funny smell.... picky dogs won't like loh.... vacuum cleaner dogs like labradors will eat.... but picky dogs may not like the smell after eat it a few times....
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 25 2008, 07:13 PM

12,047 posts

All imported dog foods have increased 10% to 20% starting this month.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 2 2008, 12:30 AM

12,047 posts

Topic merged. Dogfood discussions should be in this thread.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 5 2008, 01:04 PM

12,047 posts

Every dog food brand is different. Choose one that is right and good quality. Those brands like Alpo, Pedigree, Golden, Trusty, Bebo... those are commercial brands that are low quality. They do not use much good ingredients. Alot of fillers, colouring, flavourings, by-products.... so judge the food yourself.

If you can't find BlackWood or whatever brand we recommend, then you go and search for each dogfood that is available in your area, read the ingredients... if the ingredients have stuff like colouring, by product, flavourings, corn, wheat... then turn away and look at others.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 5 2008, 01:29 PM

12,047 posts

Alot of people do not read lables... that is why now must teach them the right way to buy dogfood. If I was staying at an area with little choices, and it leads down to Eukanuba and Nutro, I would choose Nutro.... coz the ingredients are better.

I agree, this forum got all the info already... but then many newbies fail to read back. Thinking it is a hassle to read and lazy to scan.... I think we should not be lazy if we love our dogs rite?

I stay at Setapak but I travel to PJ and Hartamas to get my dogfood.... coz I only trust those brands and do not want to try out the cheap commercial brands available around my area.

crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 25 2008, 10:16 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(arieliss @ Mar 24 2008, 01:52 AM)
any recommendation for dogfood tats suitable for sensitive skin??my dog's fur keen to drop easily,my clothes is full of fur everytime i hug him...plus,his skin is quite sensitive,always lick his paws n bites his tail!! last time was in blackwood but currently out of stock,i saw innova in tat petshop too,bt is in a big pack,supersize 15kg!i dun dare to buy it...get a sample pack to try n mix with fitness fish n potato,bt my dog dun seems to like it(he is picky..)or maybe da fish smells nicer than it does blink.gif ...so any recommend?? biggrin.gif

Added on March 24, 2008, 8:42 pmAnyone tried Blackwood 5000 catfish meal & potato before??izzit good??
Blackwood is not bad. They got small packs so go on and try. You can also try California Natural herring and potatoes.... erm, a bit fishy smell but it is very good for skin problems.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 25 2008, 05:57 PM

12,047 posts

Canned food is not good for dogs if taken plainly without dry dogfood. Firstly, canned food has little protein and nutritional value. Your dog would need to eat alot in order to be full. It's more like a side dish.... like some flavourings or different texture to normal dry food to make the usual food tempting and appetizing.... but then it causes tooth decay. Real bad too in the long run. Teeth will rot and breath would stink IF the dog doesn't get to chew and crunch on normal biscuits and chewing bones.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 26 2008, 09:18 PM

12,047 posts

Canola oil is a good thing.

California Natural is good.... I think you can try to buy it online, they do deliveries. Just Google Buddy Pet Wagon Malaysia. We cannot provide sales links here so you Google and find the site. Easy.

Anyway, switching canned food to dry food. You have to do it slowly. But if you feed Pedigree and Alpo, since these dog food do not taste good, hard for you to change fast too since not so tasty. The right way is to lessen the amount of canned food each feeding. From say half a can, go to 1/3 can.... then a tablespoon, then a teaspoon, then a pinch..... of course you have to rub all over the dry food.... later on as you move to a pinch, the dry food would overcome the smell of the canned food.... then the dog would have an easier time in switching foods than to starve completely and cause stomach upset. Dogs can go on for 2 days without food but they will vomit out bile coz of the emptiness and gastric juices.... so that is not really good. Normally when my dogs do not eat their food, I let them go hungry for 24 hours, then they will start to eat.

Shih tzus are picky eaters, it may take longer to train.

Also, this is from experience lah.... shih tzus that do not get their teeth cleaned yearly and do not get their teeth brushed by their owners after a meal, would have teeth decay when they reach senior age. This is when a shih tzu eats canned food and rice.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 26 2008, 11:57 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(arieliss @ Mar 26 2008, 09:32 PM)
Thanks,i have go through the website,but they didn't sell California Natural...sad....nvm,i see if i can get it in another way,last time went to Pet's Wonderland in MidValley..but i din see california natural,just saw Canidae,Acana and Orijen! I'm so tempted to try Orijen,but scared it is too much protein for my dog since he is an indoor dog...
Pets Wonderland doesn't stock California Natural. Only certain petshops that bring in holistic dogfood. Canidae and Acana are good too. Since your dog is sensitive, better not try Orijen.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 30 2008, 02:25 PM

12,047 posts

Not all dogs can tolerate high protein dogfood. Some dogs got very sensitive skin and bodies, taking Orijen could cause more harm than good.

I use Orijen but only on 1 dog, the others on California Natural.
crazymouse_yyh
post Mar 30 2008, 06:48 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(andyfriends @ Mar 30 2008, 06:38 PM)
How do i know if the dog doesnt suite certain type of dog food?

California NAtural? the vegetarian dog food?
You will only know after you try it out. To be on the safe side, California Natural, Addiction.... these 2 brands are quite good for dogs with skin problems.
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 2 2008, 02:25 AM

12,047 posts

It is safe. Almost every food be it for animals or humans can still be consumed within 4 months from the expiry date. As 15 March is still not even a month ago, still can be given.

Not every dog likes California Natural, it doesn't have a strong taste like some dog foods coz it is very natural with no salt. Other dogfoods contains sea salt or some sort of different sodium.

Natural Balance is good too. There are actually many good brands, in Singapore, way more and way better than what we have here.
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 19 2008, 03:07 AM

12,047 posts

Pepper is better than chili when it comes to training them not to eat poop.
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 19 2008, 03:26 PM

12,047 posts

It's not cruel coz it is not scaring them. I think someone mention he scares his dog using fire cracker so they can be quiet.... now that is just not right lah.

The pepper method works pretty well on most dogs. I do this after I bury a pet, my dogs won't dare touch the grave.

Some dogs eat their poo out of habit, some eat coz they feel they lack of some crucial nutrient from their diet. Some dogs won't eat their own poo but eat other dog's or animal's poo. So to stop them, you must give them an unpleasant experience. Pepper is harmless, just make the dog sneeze only.
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 24 2008, 10:01 PM

12,047 posts

Orijen may affect dogs with sensitive skin. So you must check if your dog has sensitive skin such as rashes.... So far my dogs no problem with Orijen. Only a few dogs have negative results so far.
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 26 2008, 12:07 AM

12,047 posts

Pinnacle smells weird... but for dogs that are not picky, it is good.
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 28 2008, 09:48 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(remymj @ Apr 27 2008, 04:37 PM)
just now i eat 1biji of orijen..
the taste so so only...ahaha!!
duno how to describe it...@@
LOL.... I have tried many dogfood brands myself and the taste of Orijen is better than brands. Of course to human is like no taste lah coz there is very very little salt. Enough for dogs but for our tongue, we can't detect.

QUOTE(elsie2602 @ Apr 27 2008, 08:44 PM)
any comment on addiction wild kangaroo and apples?
It is a good food. Especially good for dogs with bad skin and dull fur. Some dogs may not like the taste for long. My dog ate 2 small packs... when wanted to finish the 2nd pack, can see she got bored with the taste. I guess my dog missed Orijen.
crazymouse_yyh
post May 23 2008, 10:45 AM

12,047 posts

Most kibbles contain salt because animals need a bit of sodium. Some use different types of sodium or mineral. If there is excessive shedding when on a particular food, it is normally the dog is allergic to something in the food.

My dog cannot take Nutro Choice coz once she ate it, she became botak.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0799sec    0.26    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:09 AM