hmm... true. but it worked like a charm for me kids, how old is casper?
Dog Kibbles (Discussion), Which brand do you feed your furkid?
Sep 13 2007, 07:32 PM
4,250 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
hmm... true. but it worked like a charm for me kids, how old is casper?
Sep 15 2007, 11:25 PM
about the icecubes... blending apples and carrot only ok? anything else to add? watermelons?
Sep 16 2007, 11:34 AM
i went food shopping yesterday... seapark pets recommended something called evangers.
orijen chicken (which looks very impressive ingredient wise) was RM46. orijen 6-fish (which looked even better) was ata staggering RM66. Both for 2.5kgs. Orijen also sold at Pets Wonderland, but perhaps White Palace can give us a better deal! As for Acana, the packaging looks very similar to Orijen but it contains chicken fat and beet pulp which isn't that big an upgrade from my current kibbles. Guess I'll be trying orijen after all once my kids finish the current packet of food... |
Sep 16 2007, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 16 2007, 03:29 PM) Avenger is a natural dog food too. No artificial preservatives and quite natural. I think quite good too but then how much is it? Only available in canned food? They do have dry food but this is the 1st time I hear we got Avenger here. Yes, avenger's chicken with brown rice dog food sample was what i was given... kibbles look kinda odd... not roundish like normal but kinda flat, like cooking chocoloate bits.If got dry food, is worth a try. Avenger's Chicken with Brown Rice Dry Dog Food ---snip snip--- |
Sep 16 2007, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(ataris @ Sep 16 2007, 04:07 PM) Tak nakkk!!!Noooooooo!!! Added on September 16, 2007, 4:18 pmerr... did not ask for the price lor... but kibbles smell kinda good... This post has been edited by madmoz: Sep 16 2007, 04:19 PM |
Sep 16 2007, 11:47 PM
Sep 17 2007, 11:43 AM
small update...
Siu Kat (who's never been a fussy eater, eats everything) doesn't like Evangers kibbles... He will eat them. but will give you this really fu-hin look... |
Sep 17 2007, 12:07 PM
that's the thing, he is NOT a picky eater, but he doesn't seem to like the sample evanger kibbles... instead of running up to his bowl as he normally does, he trudges slowly... then when i tried again with his normal eagle pack, fuuyooh super fast ler!
Sep 19 2007, 09:15 AM
actually blackwood is also in the not recommended category, 3 stars IIRC... but a lot of ppl seem to be doing fine with it...
I have been thinking about to switching to orijen once i finish my current food, so my two adult, indoor, not very active furkids will be the 'pak lou shi'... Not sure about the protein content... all grainless food protein 40% and above so the 20% ish ones due to grain and fillers? Not sure if dogs naturally eat grains (but mine love durian) so how come they are sensative to high protein? BARF will give a much higher protein % no? Added on September 19, 2007, 9:17 amceaser not rated... either not sold in the US or terrible This post has been edited by madmoz: Sep 19 2007, 09:17 AM |
Sep 19 2007, 12:44 PM
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Sep 19 2007, 10:47 AM) I kinda agree with joannalooidog, some of us are being too dependent on the review of the website. If you ask me, I would say buy whatever we can afford. If we have more money this month, eat better food. When we have less money, eat moderate food. When we are broke, then eat grass lor. It applies to humans too. Welcome to the harsh realities of life. Sponsorship = $$$I agree the website will help to a certain extend like educating us which ingredient is not too healthy for dogs but somewhere in the world is a human feeding that particular brand with no problems throughout the dogs lifetime. Decide what's best for your dog and your pocket. This advise was given to me by the Seapark Pet Supplies uncle. Many people say Eukanuba not good but yet it sponsored so many dog show and competition, same goes for Pedigree~! All the professional wont know they sucks meh? Same goes to why Science Diet is so well known. It's all about clever marketing... I disagree about the buy what we can afford part though... methinks we should already set aside an amount to buy food for our babies... but that's just me. You can ask my fiancee, I'd rather starve myself than have my furkids eat 'lower quality' food... although me no expert in determining quality either... This post has been edited by madmoz: Sep 19 2007, 12:46 PM |
Sep 19 2007, 01:31 PM
well, i fed my other dogs (lovely mongrels they were) pedigree pal for all their lives, and they all went when they were about 13 years old too, and they appear as healthy as can be until the day they checked out, but there is this nagging feeling at the back of my mind that perhaps they were not in the best of health, and merely surviving...
my mother in law feeds her dog table scraps, and aside from a few bouts of vomitting, he seems to be doing ok too. mute point, really - we should all just do what we think is best for our furkids. |
Sep 19 2007, 02:21 PM
maybe mongrels are hardier than 'pedigree' dogs...
Sep 19 2007, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Sep 19 2007, 04:10 PM) after u got a puppy then talk lah, haha........... how true. IIRC, Eukanuba and/or Science Plan has a sponsorship programme for registered (MKA?) breeders, for every pup you get a certain amount of kibbles.and i can 99% sure the 1st pack u buy is not orijen. Coz the 1st pack u need to buy is the kibbles which the puppy is taking before u can change to Orijen slowly. And i can assure that most of them(not all) are not feeding Orijen. this is why so many breeders use Eukanuba/Science Plan, and seing that changing puppy food isn't exactly easy... well you get my drift. |
Sep 19 2007, 08:24 PM
orijen puppy large is for large breed puppies, not a puppy that is larger
orijen puppy(as with any puppy food) you can use for up to one year... not too sure if i've seen it sold here though, orijen adult price you can pm white palace This post has been edited by madmoz: Sep 19 2007, 08:24 PM |
Sep 19 2007, 08:35 PM
Sep 19 2007, 08:48 PM
sudden food changes can lead to avoidable vet visits...
Sep 21 2007, 05:46 PM
Sep 21 2007, 05:58 PM
zeist, please... it is not <dog breed> pups are cute, it is <dog breed> is cute!
otherwise we will get hundreds of unwanted adult dogs that are no longer cute This post has been edited by madmoz: Sep 21 2007, 05:59 PM |
Sep 21 2007, 06:29 PM
just help us spread the word then...
Sep 22 2007, 01:56 PM
aiks, why would you consider yourself 'weak'? the fact that you are here and willing to learn means that you are well on your way to being a responsible owner!
i may sound harsh, but it really is because i've seen too many a dog end up at the dog pound, some no thanks to my own friends Added on September 22, 2007, 1:57 pmbtw, methinks that silky is not silver either... This post has been edited by madmoz: Sep 22 2007, 01:57 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0738sec
8 queries
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:50 PM |