5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Dog Kibbles (Discussion), Which brand do you feed your furkid?

iluv2zzz
post Jun 19 2008, 12:16 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Jun 19 2008, 09:44 AM)
last time a vet also recommend me royal canin vet choice, but the price is  sweat.gif

end up i din buy.
For picky dogs lah, lamb cannot lah, coz the smell not that strong(told by my groomer).
mayb u can try fish or other meat based.
BW fish, acana fish, regal venison, regal sensi-bite, eaglepack duck.

Only the eaglepack is expensive, others ok.
Ok ok la, around RM50 for 2kg... true is expensive... more expensive then orijen, but if she ngam, then buy big pack cheaper a bit lor... luckily my Sushi is not big eater.

BWfish also not very strong smell to me... really strong smell lamb I smell before is Science Plan!! But I don't recommend it, cause too smelly. I open the container only, whole house can smell the thing. And the poo, cannot tahan the smell even the next second it "comes out".
iluv2zzz
post Aug 14 2008, 07:11 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

QUOTE(insideurheaven @ Jul 14 2008, 09:08 AM)
hello,yesterday i bought canidae lamb and rice for ben and roxy.unfortunately,i couldnt go to the shop i usually go to coz they were closed.but both of them love canidae.only bought small packet for them to try.later will get eagle pack for them....
If your dogs like canidae, stick to it at least 4-6wks then you will only see the effect on your dogs fur.. Canidae claims to improve skin and coat. If they like I dont see a reason for you to change to eagle pack. For me, canidae is better then eagle pack wor.. hmm.gif

Added on August 14, 2008, 7:13 pm
QUOTE(conangirl @ Aug 14 2008, 06:38 PM)
thinking of my silky going to adult soon, i need to do some survey for her kibbles...my house got 2 dogs (the silky and shih-tzu mix poodle)
any suggestions?? i'm thinking of want to feed her the kibbles that suitable for aging dog(the mix) cause i don't want them steal each other food...
Get all life stages food, like canidae, natural balance, evangers.. blackwood 5000 and a few more i dont recall

This post has been edited by iluv2zzz: Aug 14 2008, 07:13 PM
iluv2zzz
post Aug 14 2008, 11:52 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

QUOTE(insideurheaven @ Aug 14 2008, 11:33 PM)
hi guys,i am now feeding my dogs proformance lamb and rice.unfortunately,they dislike canidae.and from what i've heard from other forums,canidae has outsource their supply to Diamonds to produce for them as well.so the quality may be affected lor. my dogs don't like it so i change to proformance and i'll stick to it since they loved it a lot..
My goodness.. where do you get the source saying Canidae made by Diamonds? Diamonds are not good food, contain a lot fillers.. can PM me what's the forum? tongue.gif Just wanna k-poh.

About all life stage, I have no objection to it. IF you look properly into the ingredient of puppy food and adult food of same brand, same flavour, they are exactly the same. Just that % of protein is different. If your puppy needs more protein, just feed more lor laugh.gif
iluv2zzz
post Aug 15 2008, 03:22 AM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

Yeah I also want to know if its really true or not!
iluv2zzz
post Aug 15 2008, 03:37 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

It seems that Canidae really out-sourcing by reading the GR forum.. hmm don't know if its good or not. Just read the ingredient of their new formula, more type of grain is added but they claim the quantity is lower then the previous, and the meat increased. Type of meat also increased.

No comment, I'm not feeding Canidae already, due to the price and availability...
iluv2zzz
post Aug 17 2008, 01:57 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

QUOTE(mako @ Aug 17 2008, 04:20 AM)
Hi there elsie can iknow which acana r u feeding ur dog ? well is ur dog caged or free run ? got enuff of water to drink ? Sometimes it might be due to the weather n also the environment n u must understand that when u give ur dog a high end food make sure that u have enuff water fo them to drink ...well its good u r feeding ur dog with orijen cos its a very high end petfood....
sorry, do you mean that feeding a high end food need more water? So if feed cheap food no need to see if them drinking water? hmm.gif
iluv2zzz
post Aug 17 2008, 03:51 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

QUOTE(insideurheaven @ Aug 17 2008, 03:23 PM)
hey there,js wanna say something.regardless high or low end food,they need lots of water.now the weather is so hot,they tend to get thirsty.my ben keeps drinking water every 2 hours even not on food.dry food is pretty dry and can be heaty as well.so providing clean water will ensure them to be healthy too.
I know lah.. but he say like that, say like eat high end food need more water.. like high end food more salty tongue.gif

Cause as far as I concern, the more good food they eat, the lesser water they take. =)
iluv2zzz
post Aug 17 2008, 11:29 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

can.. just feed lesser for the shihtzu wink.gif
iluv2zzz
post Aug 19 2008, 10:27 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

LOL science plan poo poo really GENG..
iluv2zzz
post Aug 24 2008, 10:29 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

Dogs don't need rice if they are feed with kibbles. Kibbles have enough of carbohydrate, don't need anymore carb intake from the rice!!
iluv2zzz
post Aug 25 2008, 12:08 AM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

If you reduce the kibbles and add in rice, it is more worse thing to do. That means you cut down on their protein and add in more CARB! Dogs are not human, they get their energy from PROTEIN...... PLS STOP, and give only kibbles.

Added on August 25, 2008, 12:08 amunless... you want to give homecook, balance the protein, carb and other vitamin intake.

This post has been edited by iluv2zzz: Aug 25 2008, 12:08 AM
iluv2zzz
post Aug 25 2008, 12:28 AM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

Yes, rice is safe for dogs.. rice in the kibbles provides the carbohydrate for your dog. The kibbles is formulated in that way, that it is balance for your dog. Additional rice means additional carb, which is not necessary, not say bad for your dogs...

Kibbles are a convenient way to provide balance food for your dogs. If you have the time to cook/research, homecook food definately better, or even BARF if you can go with the raw method.

Added on August 25, 2008, 12:30 amBTW mongrel does not get sicks often if you compare to pure breed, is because they get the antibody from their mix gene. Pure breed are prone to certain sickness, and when they are mixed with another breed, it will improve their immune system. That is why you see mongrel are usually healthy.

This post has been edited by iluv2zzz: Aug 25 2008, 12:30 AM
iluv2zzz
post Aug 25 2008, 12:33 AM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

Something to bear in mind, homecook, must prepare in a balance way. Need to measure the amount of protein, carb, and other vitamins.. and the correct portions.... If you are talking homecook once a week like that, its like treat, then no harm if you are just giving boil chicken+rice (for example). But definately no-no to boil chicken+rice everyday because your dog will not have enough vitamins.
iluv2zzz
post Aug 25 2008, 12:47 AM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

QUOTE(jarjar6666 @ Aug 25 2008, 12:37 AM)
Oh no, my dog will have kibbles every meal. Those homecook food is add in. By the way, does any one knows where can i buy California Natural kibbles in KL?
That is better, don't risk with her balance meal tongue.gif nod.gif Just scare she will be very picky, and dont like kibbles anymore.
iluv2zzz
post Oct 22 2008, 05:22 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

1 yr old consider adult dog already.
iluv2zzz
post Oct 22 2008, 07:12 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

QUOTE(ninishim @ Oct 22 2008, 05:51 PM)
hihi.. can i ask izit okie to feed my poodle puppy orijen? when i tell the shop owner, she say orijen will change my poodle to a giant poodle >.< she say i shud just feed 10 kibbles per meal so it wun be oversize izit true?  sweat.gif
Orijen got 40+% protein, so cut down on quantity is recommended because of the high protein. Normally puppy food is only 20+% protein. Can feed 70% of what we usually feed on lower protein kibbles, they will get what they need. Say, last time on low protein food, you feed about 50 biji, then feed 35 biji on orijen. Just that they do not have the "full" feeling because they eat little, and there are no fillers and grains.

10 biji is too little la.. how old is your puppy now and how many meal you feeding per day?

Added on October 22, 2008, 7:15 pm
QUOTE(jarjar6666 @ Oct 22 2008, 06:57 PM)
No...your toy poddle won't change to giant poddle! The worst is just a fat poddle. The size is fixed in the gene, not fixed by food.
Protein taken during puppyhood effects the size too.

This post has been edited by iluv2zzz: Oct 22 2008, 07:15 PM
iluv2zzz
post Oct 23 2008, 02:16 AM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

QUOTE(jarjar6666 @ Oct 22 2008, 10:09 PM)
You have the measuring cup that's for dog food? I got the cup from the breeder when I got my puppy at 2 mths too and he asked me to feed 25g, 2 times a day. But mine is a chow chow la. Never heard of pet university. Do know more, you can go to www.dogfoodanalysis.com.

By the way, anyone of you notice our local vet only selling those brand like Science Diet, Eukanuba, Bil-Jac, IAMS? I wonder why they never recommend us some premium kibbles. Could be they don't wish our dogs to be healthy so they can have more business? My colleague's vet recommend her Eukanuba for her MS sad.gif.
Because those are the brands that sponsors some of their course back in the university. The vets are taught that those food are premium food smile.gif
iluv2zzz
post Oct 23 2008, 12:26 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

QUOTE(KittyKat @ Oct 23 2008, 09:53 AM)
Any problem with chicken fat???
chicken fat is one of the good fat among all kind of fat. However, the chicken that they derived the fat from might be the problem nod.gif Say, if the chicken injected with hormon, then this chicken fat is not good. An organic chicken fat will be better biggrin.gif Chicken fat is the highest of all animal sources in linoleic acid good for skin and coat health.

Added on October 23, 2008, 12:32 pm
QUOTE(KittyKat @ Oct 23 2008, 10:04 AM)
I belive it is not they thought it is "premium" food.  I seldom come across vets that endorses specific pet food. They are not nutritionist, they are "doctors", for pet. Some might reccomend if found that certain brand is doing good to their pups or client's pup. But it might not work out for all.

Anyway, It is also the way market accepts it. Not all people willing to go the real premium way (not the "premium" that most self proclaimed premium, super premium, hollistic, super hollistic brands say they are). Some might even say that they dont need such quality food.

What we can do is visit shops that caters to our needs. Even so, some "high end" shops still carry some lower range variety to diversify their market. Shops can sell anything as long there are customers for it. We can do our homework, choose what we (or rather, our pup's) need, and consume based on requirements. But do remember, at the end of days, the best brand might still not work out. It is based on your pup's acceptance in many ways.

Added on October 23, 2008, 10:10 am
Most kibbles include fat as its ingredient while a handful of them does not. And our pups still need certain proportion of it. It is already good if it can be identified as "chicken" fat (naturally preserved).

By the way, there are alot of other factors in our pups food that contribute to problems mentioned, not only fat in it.

My point of view though. Hope more of us can share on this point so can learn more.
Agree, vets are doctors and not nutritionist. They don't study on the pet food nutrition. What I meant was, they were taught (teach) that those are "premium" by the "lecturers" from those company nod.gif And maybe you haven't come across vets that strongly praise those "premium" food and said all the others are rubbish tongue.gif But couldn't put aside those good vets that will not ask you to buy off their shelf laugh.gif

This post has been edited by iluv2zzz: Oct 23 2008, 12:32 PM
iluv2zzz
post Oct 26 2008, 11:29 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

QUOTE(White Palace @ Oct 23 2008, 06:50 PM)
YES, agree jarjar. It make no sense that the vets can't read the ingredients and they should know how good OR BAD are the ingredients for our pets.

If your vets are recommending Science Plan and you tell them about Addiction, Natural Balance or Orijen, and they say "I never heard about these brands" or "only Science Plan is good, any other brand are rubbish" or anything like that, then I would say this vet is simply ignorance to do more research or just care about their wallet.

But of corse, not all vets are like that, many are good and doing great jobs.
sounds so familiar laugh.gif laugh.gif heard it b4 tongue.gif
iluv2zzz
post Oct 27 2008, 05:35 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

QUOTE(Doraemon11 @ Oct 27 2008, 12:46 AM)
Snowy to try..as bebe was on barf diet de..

Snowy dnt like it much.. too hard, she cant chew. Even for bebe she oso ned to put some efford to chew... hmmm  hmm.gif

Added on October 27, 2008, 12:47 am
Wah..!!! Again so fast u trying on another brand ar... hehe tongue.gif
*edited*

eh sorry.. I thought you said snowy hard time chew on barf =X

This post has been edited by iluv2zzz: Oct 27 2008, 07:57 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0678sec    0.60    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:46 AM