6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Dog Kibbles (Discussion), Which brand do you feed your furkid?

crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 15 2007, 08:50 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

I get Adult wor..... Get from Pets People at Plaza Damas.

Hahaha... I don't go into Economy pets, in fact, never step inside before coz quite smelly.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 16 2007, 03:29 PM

12,047 posts

Avenger is a natural dog food too. No artificial preservatives and quite natural. I think quite good too but then how much is it? Only available in canned food? They do have dry food but this is the 1st time I hear we got Avenger here.

If got dry food, is worth a try.

Avenger's Chicken with Brown Rice Dry Dog Food

GUARANTEED ANALYSIS: Crude Protein, not less than . . . . . 26.0%
Crude Fat, not less than . . . . . 15.0%
Crude Fiber, not more than . . . . . 4.0 %
Moisture, not more than . . . . . 10.0%

Ingredient List:
Chicken, Ground Brown Rice, Chicken Meal, Potato Product, Pearled Barley, Chicken Fat (Preserved with Natural Mixed Tocopherols (Vitamin E)), Carrot, Celery, Beet, Parsley, Lettuce, Water Cress, Spinach, Oat Meal, Catfish Meal, Brewers Dried Yeast, Natural Chicken Flavor, Flax Seed Meal, Egg Product, Monosodium Phosphate, D/L Methionine, Lecithin, Fish Oil, L-Lysine, Salt, Kelp Meal, Potassium Chloride, Natural Yucca Schidigera Extract, Vitamin E Supplement, Ascorbic Acid, Biotin, Niacin Supplement, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin A Acetate, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin B-12 Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Citric Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Sulfate, Zinc Proteinate, Iron Proteinate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate, Manganese Sulfate, Manganese Proteinate, Copper Proteinate, Manganous Oxide, Sodium Selenite, Calcium Iodate.

Feeding Directions:
Dog Weight (lbs) . . . . . Daily Feeding amont (cups)
3 to 15 . . . . . ¼ to 1
16 to 25 . . . . . 1 to 2
26 to 50 . . . . . 2 to 3 ¼
51 to 75 . . . . . 3 ¼ to 5 ½
76 to 100 . . . . . 5 ½ to 7
Over 100 . . . . . Add ½ cup for each additional 15 lbs. of body weight
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 16 2007, 04:17 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Sep 16 2007, 04:05 PM)
Yes, avenger's chicken with brown rice dog food sample was what i was given... kibbles look kinda odd... not roundish like normal but kinda flat, like cooking chocoloate bits.
OHhhh... they really sell that? How much is it? 2kg pack rite? Hmmm..... wondering should I try 1 bag.... in US, 1 pack of 2kg is only USD7.35.....
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 16 2007, 04:47 PM

12,047 posts

No wonder I never see before.... I have never been to Seapark hahaah....
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 16 2007, 05:00 PM

12,047 posts

OK, I guess I'll try and head there next weekend. If price is alright for the big pack, may think about it.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 16 2007, 09:18 PM

12,047 posts

Acana is much more natural, well, the ingredients do tell.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 17 2007, 05:51 PM

12,047 posts

Oranges.... the seed is toxic to dogs.... and also it can cause them to have diarrhea coz acidic.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 19 2007, 09:31 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Sep 19 2007, 10:47 AM)
I kinda agree with joannalooidog, some of us are being too dependent on the review of the website. If you ask me, I would say buy whatever we can afford. If we have more money this month, eat better food. When we have less money, eat moderate food. When we are broke, then eat grass lor. It applies to humans too.

I agree the website will help to a certain extend like educating us which ingredient is not too healthy for dogs but somewhere in the world is a human feeding that particular brand with no problems throughout the dogs lifetime.

Decide what's best for your dog and your pocket. This advise was given to me by the Seapark Pet Supplies uncle. Many people say Eukanuba not good but yet it sponsored so many dog show and competition, same goes for Pedigree~! All the professional wont know they sucks meh?
Review acts only as a guide.... Actually, dogs can tolerate alot of different kinds of kibbles. Why Science Plan is doing well? One, it was the 1st brand of dogfood that meets Vet standards in terms of nutrition and also for certain dietary problems. Also, it is an official brand brought in by the Animal Medical Center and they do encourage people to use SP when your dog has some ailment. Say your dog has a heart and kidney ailment, Science Plan is one of the very very few dogfood brands that list down the sodium % in their food and it is also the lowest in the market so far.

As time changes, more dogfoods pop up. Eukanuba, Pedigree, Purina.... all these brands were the earlier brands of dogfood.... alot of sponsorship they did for dogshows, competitions, pet magazines and such.... they want to promote themselves. Alot of breeders know other brands are much much better but some want to get a good bargain and also maybe appear in an ad, so they support those brands lah. Also, because they were the earlier brands, their names are well known. Purina and Eukanuba I won't mind using if I could not find other brands.... I did use before but then my dogs didn't do well on it.

Now more breeders and dog owners are aware that feeding a much natural diet to dogs is infact healthier for them. So some feed BARF. Because it is troublesome to prepare, companies now provide Holistic diets. Many super premium and premium dogfoods use a food preservative and food conditioner that actually can cause cancer in long term usage.... well, I'll find out about it later, I forgot what the preservative is called. As we become more aware of what is included into the dogfoods, companies know that they must do something. So all come up with "natural ingredient diets". Well, I would not mind using these brands but then it really is up to my dog. If he or she can tolerate, then why not?

Most expensive can mean nothing... the most important thing, is you read the ingredients and YOU be satisfied with what your dog is eating. For me, I'd stay away from dogfood that has filler gluten and by-products..... All is individual preference.

Pennywise, there is another brand which may be ok for most dogs.... Back to Basics.... it has pork in it and smells quite nice. Currently trying this on my boxer.

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Sep 19 2007, 01:26 PM)
Science Diet, we say no good - but my gf's sister husband feed his dog for 15 years with Science Diet... now the dog age 16+ year, still healthy ok?

Does it mean it's bad? I told my gf its bad, she disagree.
Science Plan, it won't kill a dog or make it have a short life. It's just that the ingredients are not really high quality, just pet grade.... so some of us if we can afford better quality, we would move on to other brands.

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Sep 19 2007, 01:32 PM)
eukanuba not a good dog food? the packaging look nice to me.
Packaging is nothing lah. The most important is look at the ingredients. Packaging means nothing. It is just a bag to hold the food. Of course the colour and images would make it attractive but that is not how you choose dogfood.

crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 22 2007, 06:59 PM

12,047 posts

From dog food, now silkies? I think this thread has gone out of topic. Please, discuss silkies in the silky terrier thread.

This is a thread with a poll for kibbles.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 24 2007, 09:29 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Sep 24 2007, 06:16 AM)
Ok, I think its my mistake but I dont think they wrote that for all the brands that have chicken fats as content. For example: Innova Evo.
Ok, make sense also la - in the wild, they dont pick their food like that but could it be the people who create food knows whats better for them, shinier coat? protect teeth? Possible ah?

Added on September 24, 2007, 7:06 amI woke up at 6.00am because Casper woke me up. He was sleeping in a tub in my room.

At 6.30am, I brought him out for his morning walk. I come to realize his poo is still greenish ever since Acana came into the picture. This is even with the regular transition of changing dog food. But due to poor light at so early hours, I am not sure but I know the poo is shiny which means wet.

I will monitor more closely in the evening poo.

Anyone here feeding Acana has the same findings? Hun, you feed your boxer Acana, right?
Greenish? No.... the poo is lighter in colour compared to dog on Orijen. So far no problems. Poop that is moist is considered ok, it should never be watery or dry like cake coz watery as you know means diarrhea and dried poop means got some constipation.
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 28 2007, 10:55 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(BigBen @ Sep 28 2007, 10:45 AM)
Hi I new here.... I give Nutri Edge to my GR and JRT ... but now NO more recently Nutri Edge the pellet changed size and the smell was very strong in salt smell and now they have problem with their fur..rough and broken and my JRT skin like having pimple lump in the body. Can one reconmend GR what food the best. have anyone try Avoderm? I have try Canidae is good but diffcult to get cos not many place sell it.
Must be the commercializing of NutriEdge.... well, try out California Natural. It really helps when it comes to skin and fur condition.... Avoderm is not bad too but my family prefer CN, we tried alot of dogfood on our dogs and still CN gives us the best results among all.... only drawback with CN is some dogs can have extra moist and soft poo, this is not diarrhea, just the poo is softer only.
crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 12 2007, 09:56 PM

12,047 posts

Yah, will merge it madmoz. It is true, we have discussed about this in great detail already.....
crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 13 2007, 08:24 PM

12,047 posts

Get puppy food. That's the best for growing pups. Also, if possible, find one which is for large breed dogs.
crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 15 2007, 08:09 PM

12,047 posts

If you look around, there are many brands that cater to large breed dogs.... Eukanuba, I think Acana also have.... all it involves is a bit of research to find the right food suitable for our dogs.
crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 16 2007, 01:28 PM

12,047 posts

Aiyah, the internet rating is mainly as a guide. You do not need to follow it. Each dog has different needs. Now my boxer changed food to Back To Basics.... looking at the ingredients, Acana is better but then B2B doesn't give my Boxer red skin..... but my lab and CKCS eat Acana ok.... Summore B2B won't be my choice of dogfood since it contains loads of corn as filler....

So it depends lah. Nutro choice can be good for certain dogs but it wasn't good for mine, shed alot hahhah.... so I stay away from Nutro....

If given a choice, Acana is much better than Nutro too.

Innova and Innova Evo.... well, 1 is a super premium and another is a holistic.

Eagle Pack also the same, they got super premium and Holistic.

Yesterday I saw a new type of dogfood, I forgot the name.... but it is in a light brown bag, fully organic ingredients and the protein % and fat % is not bad, average... but the price.... I think it was something like RM120 something for only 6.8kg.... crazy price for such a little amount.... Orijen 7kg already Rm96.

If you still dunno which food to use, get sample packs.... Then try them as treats for your dog and see the reaction.

If you dog is choosy, then just ignore it. Chelsea was very very choosy till I trained her that if she don't eat, no food for 1 day.... now she licks her bowl clean. If I forget to feed her in the morning on time, she would bark at me.

NutriEdge, well, it really made my dog put on weight. The taste is so far appetizing for dogs lah. The brand is considered holistic but then not the high end kind, the ingredients to me was ok ok only. Nothing much to jump about. Right now they are being quite commercialized.... I think it did effect the quality of the food.... their sample packs are the 1kg bags.... less than Rm20 1 bag if I remember correctly. Poop smelly but it did give nice results in my dogs till I changed food coz found better brands that suit them better.
crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 16 2007, 03:14 PM

12,047 posts

I get it from Plaza Damas.... I think after discount become Rm96. Can't remember hahaha... coz my dad use card, I didn't see price tag. Maybe you can get from White Palace, see how much he offer you lah.

No, protein doesn't make the fur shinier.... it has more to do with fat and oils.... the fat content is high, thus the skin won't dry easily, also it has alot of Omega oils in it. Anyway, I'm ok with the price of Orijen and even my dad coz if calculate, 1kg is only Rm13 plus.... still affordable lah if it is small dog. If large dogs, goodness.... for me 15kg can only last like 3 weeks only.... and my boxer can't tolerate high protein so nevermind lah, feed my Chelsea would do.

Why Innova Evo more expensive? The ingredients used is higher quality than Orijen lo, that's why.... also closer to a natural diet in a way.

If Hepy takes Orijen, he would need to exercise a bit. For me, weekly walks and also everyday play fetch many times with Chelsea keeps her fit. But be warned.... if you 1st start Orijen, the poop can be watery the 1st week.... then later it will be firm but the smell bearable lah.... Not very very stinky but you will notice the smell if you are in a enclosed room. Sometimes Chelsea makes mistakes in my room during the night, so I wake up in the morning to find a slight smell and see a pile of poo on the floor hahah.
crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 16 2007, 09:01 PM

12,047 posts

The protein allergy could be due to the type of protein..... like if my toby takes beef or certain chicken dogfood brands, his skin will break out. That's all I can safely say, some dogs are allergic to the type of protein.... but to some, Orijen memang high protein lah but so far I have never seen my Chelsea go overweight even though she eats 2 meals a day.... just that other brands with lots of fillers, they fillers are the ones that make them go overweight..... but once a dog reaches senior age, it is advisable to feed a low calorie dogfood....

Every dog can react differently to certain dogfoods.... some dogs may be allergic to certain herbs or ingredients in the food, I would say YEAST... quite a number of dogfood includes loads of yeast. What put me off into buying that organic dogfood I saw was that it contains a whole lot of yeast! Sometimes if your dog is prone to skin rashes or itchiness, yeast can make it worst. Some could be the lack of iron and zinc.... so research, and try brands that suit your dog as well high in quality. If your dog is prone to itch skin which leads to sores that never heal, then stay away from yeast. But if your dog is normal, brewer's yeast is quite fine if taken in the right amounts.

Anyway, now ah, I'm trying a supplement known as Zinpro dog biscuit supplements that contain natural zinc. Seems that it can help dogs with sensitive skin, helps with shedding and coat growth, even helps with hotspots on dogs and rashes.... well, my dogs taking the supplement now, wait for 6 weeks see got improvement or not. Toby eating for his skin condition, Chelsea eating to see if can lessen shedding. Large dogs take 2 biscuits, small dogs 1 a day. Hahah... a bit pricey... normally RM35 but the petshop at Plaza Damas sells for RM33 I think.... see how effective it is, if it works, then it will be a must buy item for my dogs liao.
crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 17 2007, 07:16 PM

12,047 posts

You will be feeding less when you feed Orijen or Innova coz of the protein, it takes some time to digest it. It's like us humans.... if I went to a rice and corn buffet, I think I can eat many many plates but once I ate at a meat buffet..... after 2 plates very full lioa....

Of course, follow the direction of the packaging, give the proper amount first and see. If your dog just eats half of that amount, then the next time just give half lah. Feed according to how much your dog can it without exceeding the right amount to be given.
crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 19 2007, 09:15 PM

12,047 posts

Homecooked is indeed better.... Jaunty using BARF method a bit...

Anyway, there are rules to home cooking.... use very little oil to no oil if possible lah. Never include salt or any kind of seasoning.

No fatty parts included. Only lean meat. There is no need to make gravy and all.

Well, one thing you can do is this. Buy mince meat and some meat pieces(any sort of meat) and boil or lightly cook with very little olive oil. Put aside. Then later boil some potatoes or rice(the best is brown rice)... You can also give a bit of boiled pasta too. Make sure all this no salt. Then you can lightly boil some carrots. Peas, broccoli, leafy veggies can be blended fresh until pulpy like a puree, add a small drop of oil coz the oil helps absorb the nutrients into the body. You can add some apple into the puree too. Mix it with the meat, boiled carbs and you got yourself a good meal for your dog. A few times a week, introduce some boiled liver, boiled heart and lightly cooked tripe. A hard boiled egg is also good.

You also need to supplement some minerals and vitamins so get hold of a good bottle of multivitamins and minerals for dogs. Try and not use human ones coz we do not know what a dog needs, sometimes human vitamins can overdose.

If you are unsure about the diet, write down your ideas, then ask your vet about his thoughts, if he agrees it is a good diet then go right ahead.
crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 20 2007, 09:32 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(blessedfin @ Oct 20 2007, 11:13 AM)
is a 7 weeks old ACS pup can eat homecooked food too??
my mum usually give homecooked food for my dogs back in Indonesia..
and is it true that beef is better than chicken?
my vet said that a lot of dogs are allergic to chicken meat??
Well, what White Palace said is true.... you won't know if your home cooked is balanced or not. That's why I said, list your ideas and check with a vet first. Alot of people think "Just give the dog what we eat is enough" But this is so wrong.

I won't suggest homecooked meals for puppies coz they are at a growing stage, they need the proper nutrients to grow properly and develop fully. Dog food companies hire food nutritionist to come up with a balance diet for dogs, but we do not have such people doing it for us....

You can switch home cooking when your pup is any adult as they have finished growing and you can check with your vet about a balance diet but really, most vets would tell you just stick to dog kibbles coz easier. I mean, are you really willing to slave away at a stove and super market, getting the best ingredients and all for your dog every day or weekly? You may say yes at first but after the 1st year, if you are working or a student with lots of assignments, you may start to neglect the diet and end up feeding an unbalance meal to your dog.

Some dogs are allergic to beef, some chicken, some lamb..... that's why we got so many different meat base dog kibble. Got the pork kind, fish or salmon kind, even vegetarian coz there are some dogs that are allergic to any animal protein.

Beef can cause a dog to develop body odour that attracts ticks.... so many dog kibble actually use chicken coz chicken is easier to digest...

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0670sec    0.51    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:35 AM