Dog Kibbles (Discussion), Which brand do you feed your furkid?

clementcpteh
post May 7 2008, 08:59 AM

Find the business that's right for you.
2,439 posts

babymiki,
You are welcome, the relationalship dog food company with dog magazine very close, they the one get the first news, at USA and Canada everyone knew this news. Thanks to my HQ magazine inform us.
clementcpteh
post Jun 8 2008, 11:32 AM

2,439 posts

crazymouse_yyh,
Innova Evo dog food is on of great dog food in usa top list. Any command about it, please let me know. I give a contact to you.
clementcpteh
post Jun 8 2008, 01:23 PM

2,439 posts

Nutritional- Proteins

Still many people still doubt what is proteins and how it help your dog? Every dog food have own proteins contain, see at the label. I would like share some information with you.
Here is the basic knowledge of Proteins, are the foundations for building muscle and connective tissue, They also assist in enzyme and hormone functioning. Proteins are obtained mostly from animal- basic ingredients.
There are high-quality proteins and low-quality proteins. High- quality proteins are those that are used better by the body, and include beef, poultry and lamb. Poorer-quality proteins are those from vegetable sources or meat by products. Though higher is better, more is not, excess proteins in filtered though the kidneys and excreted, and too much proteins make the kidneys work overtime.
Puppy foods should contain about 25 percent protein. Adult dogs need less by % and volume. You will see the stated on the bag of food you buy, the amount may be determined by the growth and activity level of your individual dog.
go consult with you vet or dog food company. You can ask the pet shop who are selling those brand. They cannot give you a right answer, Let Lowyat forum member find the answer of it.
If the person sell dog food cannot give you a right information. Dont buy from them. Report to dog food HQ.

This post has been edited by clementcpteh: Jun 8 2008, 01:54 PM
clementcpteh
post Jun 10 2008, 12:06 AM

2,439 posts

Here some information about One of the biggest health concerns facing dogs today is obesity.
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

One of the biggest health concerns facing dogs today is obesity. Obesity is responsible for creating and aggravating serious problems in dogs. The good news is obesity is preventable and (mostly) reversible. The bad news is that owners have to change their habits because a dog's weight problem is not his fault, it's his owner's!

Overweight dogs that have conditions such as arthritis, hip dysplasia and over-angulated joints, (pasterns, hocks and stifles) suffer greater pain, which causes a greatly reduced quality of life. Obesity in dogs can cause stroke, diabetes, shortness of breath and heart attacks. Obesity can aggravate epilepsy. Many people with epileptic dogs feed them a no or low fat diet and can more easily manage their condition this way. Obese dogs get pressure sores from supporting too much weight on their elbows and hocks when they are laying down (which is most of the time). Young overweight dogs are prone to ligament and tendon injury when playing too hard; for example -- going to the park once or twice a week to chase the tennis ball or Frisbee. Obese dogs cannot easily control their own movements and are extremely prone to injuries caused by twisting and turning sharply and jumping; blown cruciate ligaments (knees) are the most common. The worst condition caused by obesity is simply this, a greatly reduced life-span and unnecessary suffering.

Like humans, dogs should check with their doctors before beginning a weight loss program. A thorough veterinary examination, including a thyroid function test, will reveal whether a dog is suffering from any medical problems. (Many overweight dogs suffer from low (hypo) thyroid function. This can be remedied with an inexpensive prescription costing $10-$12 per month). An overweight dog may have certain conditions that would be exacerbated by exercise. Severely dysplastic dogs may need to diet to get the weight off before they can begin gentle exercise to gain muscle support on their hip joints.

All other dogs may be fed a reduced amount of a high quality diet and exercised more!! Dogs should be fed twice daily. Feeding the same amount once daily can actually cause a dog to gain weight due to the starving\stuffing effect. The metabolism of a dog with an empty stomach twenty three hours out of the day slows, and then his system processes the food too efficiently when he finally does eat. Food must always be measured, and you should feed by “eye” not by what it says on the dog food label. The feeding instructions for most dog foods only guarantee that the food will keep laboratory (bred) dogs alive in a cage. Trust what you see, not what you read. Feeding a dog by “eye” means that you should always see a clearly defined waist (imagine an aerial view of your wet dog) and, while you should not see ribs, they should be easily felt when you press your hands against his sides. You need to be aware of his daily activity and be flexible in adjusting his food slightly up or down as needed. If you've been sick a week and you've only been letting your dog out to potty, subtract a small handful of food out of each meal. If you're hiking with him in the mountains for a week, add a little extra to each meal.

Overweight dogs, like people, benefit from consistent sustained aerobic activity. Sporadic hard exercise like chasing sticks or balls should be reserved for fit dogs. Fat dogs benefit most from power walking. Start slowly with a good strong ten-minute walk on flat terrain. Add a minute a day until you're up to half an hour. Once you get to that level begin adding different terrain, little hills or long gentle grades. (Remember that in the summer or hot climates, the best time to exercise a dog is in the morning, before the ground heats up. Dogs’ unprotected feet and tummies are close to the ground and the dog overheats faster.) As your dog's tolerance for exercise increases (of which you must be the careful judge) and his weight decreases, you can increase the time out walking or the difficulty of the terrain.

Always feed the highest quality food you can afford. Good food costs more, but there are benefits. You will feed less due to its quality ingredients. Less food “in” means less poops “out” to pick up. Most importantly, you will have an overall healthier dog. Stay away from “lite” foods. Most contain ingredients to add bulk without adding calories. Your dog would never eat “cellulose” (wood pulp!) or peanut hulls, given the choice. Do not use “fat burning” additives.

The following is a tried and true weight reducing diet used for many different breeds. For ease of writing I'll assume the dog is an average size Lab cross.

Buy him a smaller bowl.
After a.m. exercise, feed him 1/2 cup adult dog food with one of the following mixed in: 1/2 cup green beans, 1/2 cup carrots, 1/2 cup pumpkin, 1/2 cup zucchini
Noon, feed him an apple or big carrot
Evening, repeat a.m. meal
Veggies should be fresh or frozen and never canned (too much salt). You can experiment to find what your dog likes best, any high fiber low calorie veggie will do. The trick is to keep the dog ‘full’ without giving him any extra calories. This will keep his metabolism up and help him burn more calories. This is what “Lite” dog food attempts to do, often by using peculiar ingredients (when was the last time anyone you knew went on the ‘sawdust diet’?) or resorting to carbohydrates which don't contain fat but will eventually turn into fat in an inactive dog. Once your dog has achieved his goal weight, you need to find his feeding/exercise balance point. If you find both you and your healthier, fitter dog enjoy the amount of exercise you're currently doing, you can gradually add dog food and subtract veggies until the dog ‘holds’ his weight. If you want to exercise your dog less, you may have to feed lesser amounts of dog food long term.

We all regret that our pets never live quite long enough. If we really love our dogs we must, as their custodians, do everything we can to make sure they are healthy and comfortable during the time that they have. The proof of our love needs to come in the form of care. A dog needs to have a lifetime of the best food, health care, exercise and grooming in exchange for his lifetime of uncomplaining unconditional love. It is our duty and his right.

Note About Exercise: Some school track surfaces are spongy for humans wearing shoes, but they are very abrasive for dog paws. If your dog jogs or walks on one with you, be careful and check his paws frequently for abrasions.

By Sue Averill
clementcpteh
post Jun 11 2008, 11:21 PM

2,439 posts

QUOTE(pitinn @ Jun 11 2008, 11:11 PM)
I juz but a 3kg pack of Back to Basic today.....How u guyz think about it?Good?
The result will gets not in short term. Need time for it. Is not said well or not, it considers suitable for you dog or not,your dog will show the result later. All the dog food manufacturers spend millions of dollars researching dog's nutritional needs so that their products are nutritionally complete and balanced.

This post has been edited by clementcpteh: Jun 11 2008, 11:26 PM
clementcpteh
post Jun 12 2008, 10:12 AM

2,439 posts

QUOTE(remymj @ Jun 12 2008, 08:59 AM)
can u all comment about the royal canin kibbles??
will heaty for dog??
currently i feeding orijen,just wana know more about the other brands!
thanks~
How good of orijen? would you describe?remymj

clementcpteh
post Jun 12 2008, 04:44 PM

2,439 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jun 12 2008, 11:57 AM)
Royal Canin, believe to be the best smelling dog kibbles in the market. Most people avoid feeding their dogs this brand because after feeding, its difficult to get your dog to eat other brand cause not as strong smell.
I think you should direct this question to White Palace. He can describe more about Orijen as he also sells them.
I asking remymj how she feel the dog food? why need to ask them?
clementcpteh
post Jun 12 2008, 05:32 PM

2,439 posts

Pennywise,
you still didnt get what my question, the question was the dog food bought by remymj to her dog, how she feel about it? . It is no asking like you said knowledgeable and trustworthy. and I not interested for review about it. If any question I can contact local Champion Pet Supplies Sdn Bhd. Anyway Thanks your advise.Yang I knew him. sure no problem contact him.

This post has been edited by clementcpteh: Jun 12 2008, 05:33 PM
clementcpteh
post Jun 12 2008, 07:19 PM

2,439 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jun 12 2008, 07:10 PM)
Oh I see... I was thinking does it matter how she felt about the dog food? I mean, whats the purpose of you asking right? Unless you want to know about the food itself. Yea, surely you can ask your contacts. Dont have to get offensive and caps the sentence is red, you know? If you have no purpose in asking, why ask in the first place, right?

So, share with me - what's the purpose of the question if you are not interested for the review about it.
You going aggressive the question, I needn't take this devil and all trouble to explain matters to you. By the way I never have question ask you to answer it. I dont care what you try to said and this is forum should not try to aggressive.
Need more support just press above REPORT SIGN call for forum administrator.

This post has been edited by clementcpteh: Jun 12 2008, 07:30 PM
clementcpteh
post Jun 12 2008, 09:48 PM

2,439 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jun 12 2008, 08:21 PM)
Dogfood reviews is more towards ingredient qualities. To me, take the reviews as a guide, and go with what you can afford and what you think is suitable for your dogs. Now I'm starting Evo, only day 3, along with BARF. Morning meal about 50g of Evo and at night 150g of BARF. Seeing good results as in fur, body odour and teeth when on BARF. Even shedding is not so bad liao. Evo, need to feed my dog for a month to see if it works for my dog or not. Orijen recently did not do good for my dog.
Yea, That's what I don't personally care for about these sites. Someone has used whatever method they feel is appropriate to make claims about which food is better than another, and that method may or may not be appropriate for your dog. It's best to learn as much as you can and make your own decisions, not simply accept what someone else says. But that's just my opinion.

clementcpteh
post Aug 18 2008, 01:07 AM

2,439 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Aug 17 2008, 09:58 PM)
If she is ok, then follow on. I mean, it is up to you but then if you see your dog doing good with the current brand, then there is no need to switch.
Crazymouse is right, That's what I don't personally care for about these sites. Someone has used whatever method they feel is appropriate to make claims about which food is better than another, and that method may or may not be appropriate for your dog. It's best to learn as much as you can and make your own decisions, not simply accept what someone else says. But that's just my opinion.

Good news to all, the blackwood have coming new fomula. The holistic fomula, coming soon to malaysia market. To who support blackwood check with your nearby Blackwood dealer.
clementcpteh
post Aug 18 2008, 10:34 AM

2,439 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Aug 18 2008, 10:14 AM)
eheh, BW got holistic formula..........good good.
Nutro got the holistic formula not long ago, now BW. more choices.
Nutro isnt nutro choice? if yea, You have read the USA dog food news?
clementcpteh
post Aug 18 2008, 01:55 PM

2,439 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Aug 18 2008, 11:49 AM)
yup, nutro choice holistic.
Regarding the USA dog food news.........wat news? is it the old news for the dog food recall?
I not like much discuss the recall, it might make the malaysia sold agent loss business. It also no benefit to me too. The holistic fomula very differ with other. It adding natural amino( very expensive Nutrition) acids and omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids. absolutely no chemical preservatives—no BHA, BHT, ethoxyquin or propyl gallate. Now many popular brand is “"Private-label" (sometimes also referred to as "own label" or "store brand") means products that are commissioned, marketed and owned by a retailer, as opposed to a manufacturer.

clementcpteh
post Oct 18 2008, 08:50 PM

2,439 posts

Members,
Remember, the only true way to judge the quality and performance of any Dog food products is to let your dog tell you, not a salesman. Below are basic dog owner should know.

Ingredients to be aware of: Pet foods

salt
Used to cover up rancid meat and fat, can cause kidney and heart disease, hypertension -- used to encourage cats to drink, source of sodium chloride.

corn syrup
A "sugar" that causes diabetes, weight gain, hyperactivity, fearful behavior, ill health.

corn
Inexpensive feed-grade can include moldy grain or fungus which has cause death.

rice hulls
Cheap filler, can be harsh on intestines.

rice gluten
Can encourage diabetes, a poor protein source/filler.
rice flour Cheap filler causes bowel distress and can lead to diabetes in dogs.

rice bran
Cheap filler can lead to digestive upset.
rice Cheap filler can cause diabetes in dogs, often indicates poorest quality possible.

sugar
(1 stars) found in 3% of pet food products analyzed. Sugar Leads to diabetes, hyperactivity and obesity. Can feed arthritis. BAD.

egg product
(1 stars) found in 6% of pet food products analyzed. Cheap source of protein, waste product of egg industry, free of shell.

dried animal digest
(1 stars) found in 1% of pet food products analyzed. Flavor enhancer. Is non-descriptive, digest is rendered animal tissue, including rancid or diseased parts.

soy flour
(1 stars) found in 8% of pet food products analyzed. Cheap source of grain protein, filler, can cause bloat/death in dogs.

iodized salt
(1 stars) found in 7% of pet food products analyzed. Used to cover rancid meats and fats, get cats to drink more - causes kidney dysfunction, hypertension.

onion extract
(1 stars) found in 1% of pet food products analyzed. Onions can be deadly to dogs.

meat and bone meal
(natural source of calcium) (1 stars) found in 4% of pet food

products analyzed
Non-descriptive indicates 4-D meat, cheapest source, can include diseased tissues plus bone meal can not be digested and assimilated as calcium!

natural and artificial flavors
(1 stars) found in 5% of pet food products analyzed. Poor quality of flavor additive, artificial flavors can be carcinogenic.

meat by-products
(1 stars) found in 18% of pet food products analyzed. Non-descriptive indicates 4-D meat, cheapest source, can include diseased tissues (tumors) and organs.

poultry by-products
(1 stars) found in 3% of pet food products analyzed. Ground up carcasses, can include dead, diseased foul, all internal parts void of healthy meat, includes feet and beaks.

ground corn
(1 stars) found in 3% of pet food products analyzed. Is not "whole ground," this is misleading, often indicates poor quality, can cause allergies.

ground rice
(1 stars) found in 17% of pet food products analyzed. Filler -- has been linked to diabetes, always indicates white rice, not whole grain but usually floor sweepings from rice industry.

caramel
(1 stars) found in 9% of pet food products analyzed. Sugar-based adds to hyperactivity, or can be prepared by ammonia process associated with blood toxicity in lab rats.

beef by-products
(1 stars) found in 3% of pet food products analyzed. Can include any internal part of the cow other than the meat, often from 4-D, rancid sources.

wheat gluten
(1 stars) found in 28% of pet food products analyzed. Poor protein source, used as a cheap, non-nutritive filler -- causes allergies.

wheat flour
(1 stars) found in 18% of pet food products analyzed. Poorly digested filler, can cause allergies and bowel problems.

brewer’s rice
(1 stars) found in 31% of pet food products analyzed. Waste product from breweries, cheap, non-nutritive filler can be harsh on intestines and lead to diabetes.

water sufficient for processing
(1 stars) found in 10% of pet food products analyzed. Robs protein from can food since it is used as non-nutritive filler instead.

corn gluten meal
(1 stars) found in 31% of pet food products analyzed. Waste product, cheap, non-nutritive filler but used as protein source -- can cause allergies and sugar imbalance.

animal digest
(1 stars) found in 13% of pet food products analyzed. Rendered, by chemical and/or enzymatic process, non-descriptive animal tissues used for flavor.

corn grits
(1 stars) found in 5% of pet food products analyzed. Poor source of protein and carbohydrates, filler.

chicken flavors
(1 stars) found in 1% of pet food products analyzed. Indicates artificial flavor which can be a carcinogen.

artificial flavor
(1 stars) found in 1% of pet food products analyzed. Can become carcinogenic. Produces allergies.

chicken by-product meal
(1 stars) found in 23% of pet food products analyzed. Ground up carcasses, internal organs, beaks, feet. Concentrated.

*1 Star indicates the grade of the food that most commonly uses the ingredient

clementcpteh
post Feb 21 2009, 08:20 PM

2,439 posts

QUOTE(cottonkandy @ Feb 21 2009, 03:50 PM)

i heard from petsmore they say the fur will not be nice if given to much food. true?
this answer for those sale person with low knowledge about nutritional.

clementcpteh
post Apr 20 2009, 04:32 PM

2,439 posts

QUOTE(ShaolinTiger @ Apr 20 2009, 12:31 PM)
If your dog isn't eating the Kibble there could be a number of reasons.

1) They could be teething, the kibble is too hard for them to chew without it being painful
- Solution soak the kibble in warm water for a couple of minutes before serving
2) The kibble you are giving them is not tasty
- Solution I suggest you try Artemis every dog I tried so far loved it.
3) They have had human food (which is much more salty) and they don't want kibble
- Solution bad luck you just gotta keep trying the above methods, I recommend mixing in some water and buy some canned food (Evangers or Artemis) and mix in 1/2 a tablespoon with the kibble and water. This makes a nice 'gravy' taste.

If your dog still isn't eating after 2-3 days I suggest you go to the vet, he might be having some problem.
where you learn that?
clementcpteh
post Apr 25 2009, 10:00 PM

2,439 posts

Latest news, FDA Confirms Probe of NUTRO Pet Food Deaths, Illne, Pet foods news (Health)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1008522

This post has been edited by clementcpteh: Apr 25 2009, 10:00 PM

0.0687sec    0.37    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:22 AM