TM pricing for fibre into home, need advice

TSpopopi
post Aug 5 2021, 02:13 PM, updated 5y ago

1,197 posts

Hi All Sifu,

I applied for Unifi Fibre. and said to be coming within this or next week to install.

I have questions here:-

If I want the cable to go thru roof and to the stairs area. TM guys can do?
I reserved a location for the modem but the wiring side all unsure yet. There is a wiring pipe done during renovation.

my house have the original fibre cable, but during renovation, i think the cable already wasted. cracked.
Now if want tarik new cable. TM can do?

also have pricing guide on above 2?

and what more I need to know? please feel free to advice.

Finally after 3 years, that only now my taman have fibre.. tongue.gif

HonMun
post Aug 5 2021, 02:27 PM

Professor
1,052 posts

Maybe you can buy a mid-range Wifi 6 router and install it at Ground Floor, if still not strong maybe you can use TM router at 1st floor as a repeater. Hopefully this can reduce all hassle by installing cables here and there.

This post has been edited by HonMun: Aug 5 2021, 02:27 PM
Hades76
post Aug 5 2021, 02:33 PM

680 posts

I have never heard of Unifi installer go into roof to pull cable and all. You have to ask the installer but he can refuse as its not his job to beautify the cables for you.

If coverage is an issue, then a stronger router or mesh is the best.
slaveone
post Aug 5 2021, 02:36 PM

1,231 posts

here's some info on cabling rate

https://community.unifi.com.my/t5/Installat...uide/ta-p/12649

also their list of contractors. dunno if updated or not

https://community.unifi.com.my/t5/Product-a...unifi/m-p/25793
TSpopopi
post Aug 5 2021, 02:40 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(HonMun @ Aug 5 2021, 02:27 PM)
Maybe you can buy a mid-range Wifi 6 router and install it at Ground Floor, if still not strong maybe you can use TM router at 1st floor as a repeater. Hopefully this can reduce all hassle by installing cables here and there.
yaya, this is what i worry,, later they say dont want do.. then now i need find new location.

QUOTE(Hades76 @ Aug 5 2021, 02:33 PM)
I have never heard of Unifi installer go into roof to pull cable and all. You have to ask the installer but he can refuse as its not his job to beautify the cables for you.

If coverage is an issue, then a stronger router or mesh is the best.
i am not planning for mesh, i have a good antenna router later can use as wifi booster.

QUOTE(slaveone @ Aug 5 2021, 02:36 PM)
here's some info on cabling rate

https://community.unifi.com.my/t5/Installat...uide/ta-p/12649

also their list of contractors. dunno if updated or not

https://community.unifi.com.my/t5/Product-a...unifi/m-p/25793
Thanks!!! this is great information... thanks alot.. i think this links pretty much answers the questions. notworthy.gif
acbc
post Aug 5 2021, 02:42 PM

9,052 posts

TM fella can pull to any location u want but need to pay.

Last time I paid around RM 800 to pull from the fiber box outside to the 3rd floor. Took them 3 hours to do it. Only if they are free. Those days, not many subscribers so they can do it for extra money. Nowadays, 1 day easily 6-7 sites.
TSpopopi
post Aug 5 2021, 02:43 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Aug 5 2021, 02:42 PM)

Last time I paid around RM 800 to pull from the fiber box outside to the 3rd floor. Took them 3 hours to do it. Only if they are free. Those days, not many subscribers so they can do it for extra money. Nowadays, 1 day easily 6-7 sites.
got it... maybe tapao kopi o for them will get them excited and help abit tongue.gif
WaCKy-Angel
post Aug 5 2021, 02:47 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(popopi @ Aug 5 2021, 02:13 PM)
Hi All Sifu,

I applied for Unifi Fibre. and said to be coming within this or next week to install.

I have questions here:-

If I want the cable to go thru roof and to the stairs area. TM guys can do?
I reserved a location for the modem but the wiring side all unsure yet. There is a wiring pipe done during renovation.

my house have the original fibre cable, but during renovation, i think the cable already wasted. cracked.
Now if want tarik new cable. TM can do?

also have pricing guide on above 2?

and what more I need to know? please feel free to advice.

Finally after 3 years, that only now my taman have fibre..  tongue.gif
1. Anything u want to do also can, provide u willing to pay for it. Any "custom" wiring min RM300 (or ikut installer suka hati charge) excluding wiring (free 30 metres iinm)

2. As above

3. Nope.
SUSpfizer
post Aug 7 2021, 11:22 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Aug 5 2021, 02:42 PM)

Wah RM800 very good side income.for them.

0.0168sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:13 PM