Space-saving PC for regular home & gaming usage
TSrmput
Jul 31 2021, 11:41 PM, updated 5y ago
Hi sifus,
Any recommendations for space-saving PC for regular home & gaming usage?
I'm consider my option is either AIO PC or mini PC
[Budget] RM1k - RM3k (can consider to stretch my budget a bit)
[Purpose] PDPR for next year & for gaming occasinally
Thanks in advance!
TristanX
Jul 31 2021, 11:55 PM
Where is my stars?
QUOTE(rmput @ Jul 31 2021, 11:41 PM) Hi sifus, Any recommendations for space-saving PC for regular home & gaming usage? I'm consider my option is either AIO PC or mini PC [Budget] RM1k - RM3k (can consider to stretch my budget a bit) [Purpose] PDPR for next year & for gaming occasinally Thanks in advance! Terrible time to buy a gaming rig. Graphic card prices are insane. And small is even more expensive.
nite_eif
Aug 1 2021, 12:47 AM
suggestions:
- microatx pc, can fit full size gpu and microatx mobo, full size psu, also many fans, good ventilation, upgradability very good..
- find any good SFF cpu, for eg dell optiplex 7010, im using one..can find one with i7..can put up to 32gb ddr3 ram, ssd, hdd and low profile gpu 1050 ti...drawbacks less choice on gpu and ventilation not so great..
other than that..no idea..maybe others have experience..
BOTAK_WAI
Aug 1 2021, 12:48 AM
QUOTE(rmput @ Jul 31 2021, 11:41 PM) Hi sifus, Any recommendations for space-saving PC for regular home & gaming usage? I'm consider my option is either AIO PC or mini PC [Budget] RM1k - RM3k (can consider to stretch my budget a bit) [Purpose] PDPR for next year & for gaming occasinally Thanks in advance! Asus PN51
chocobo7779
Aug 1 2021, 01:37 AM
QUOTE(rmput @ Jul 31 2021, 11:41 PM) Hi sifus, Any recommendations for space-saving PC for regular home & gaming usage? I'm consider my option is either AIO PC or mini PC [Budget] RM1k - RM3k (can consider to stretch my budget a bit) [Purpose] PDPR for next year & for gaming occasinally Thanks in advance! What games though? Your budget won't be enough for anything decent really (especially with skyrocketing PC parts right now)  Also, I don't recommend AIO PCs due to limited upgrade paths
chocobo7779
Aug 1 2021, 01:39 AM
QUOTE(nite_eif @ Aug 1 2021, 12:47 AM) suggestions: - microatx pc, can fit full size gpu and microatx mobo, full size psu, also many fans, good ventilation, upgradability very good.. - find any good SFF cpu, for eg dell optiplex 7010, im using one..can find one with i7..can put up to 32gb ddr3 ram, ssd, hdd and low profile gpu 1050 ti...drawbacks less choice on gpu and ventilation not so great.. other than that..no idea..maybe others have experience.. QUOTE - find any good SFF cpu, for eg dell optiplex 7010, im using one..can find one with i7..can put up to 32gb ddr3 ram, ssd, hdd and low profile gpu 1050 ti...drawbacks less choice on gpu and ventilation not so great.. While this is a good option, do note that some older Optiplex machines may not support TPM 1.2/2.0, which means you cannot upgrade to Windows 11 officially This can be an issue as Windows 10 will cease support in 4 years
uskimaski
Aug 2 2021, 05:43 PM

QUOTE(rmput @ Jul 31 2021, 11:41 PM) Hi sifus, Any recommendations for space-saving PC for regular home & gaming usage? I'm consider my option is either AIO PC or mini PC [Budget] RM1k - RM3k (can consider to stretch my budget a bit) [Purpose] PDPR for next year & for gaming occasinally Thanks in advance! as what many people mentioned here, that budget is a bit difficult to get a PC that can support high level games. if you can stretch ur budget by around 10-15%, can consider acer's nitro 50: https://www.lazada.com.my/products/acer-nit...AyABEgLygvD_BwEvalue-for-money, and should be able to run most games on mid-tier settings decently.
Breaktru
Aug 4 2021, 09:20 PM
Straight buy a gaming laptop? Acer Nitro with Ryzen 5600H and GTX1650 for rm3.5-3.6k
Or just hunt for used desktop if you want to keep budget low
This post has been edited by Breaktru: Aug 4 2021, 09:23 PM
yimingwuzere
Aug 5 2021, 01:57 PM
Used desktops for now.
If you want only brand new PCs and are only gaming at 1080p, perhaps you can consider a cheap B450/B550 ITX board with a Ryzen 5600G - the Ryzen CPU has integrated graphics onboard. Should be manageable within the 3K budget limit.
myway1985
Aug 5 2021, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(rmput @ Jul 31 2021, 11:41 PM) Hi sifus, Any recommendations for space-saving PC for regular home & gaming usage? I'm consider my option is either AIO PC or mini PC [Budget] RM1k - RM3k (can consider to stretch my budget a bit) [Purpose] PDPR for next year & for gaming occasinally Thanks in advance! msi amd 4700s desktop gaming kits msi amd 4700s kit/16gb/samsung evo 860 250gb/rx 550/montech air 100 argb/zalman 650w psu RM2390
chocobo7779
Aug 5 2021, 07:28 PM
QUOTE(myway1985 @ Aug 5 2021, 02:56 PM) msi amd 4700s desktop gaming kits msi amd 4700s kit/16gb/samsung evo 860 250gb/rx 550/montech air 100 argb/zalman 650w psu RM2390 Wouldn't bother with the 4700S as its basically a slower 4750G with non upgradeable RAM and limited I/O (the PCIe slot only runs at PCIe 2.0 x4, which is very slow and will limit the graphics card choice)  Probably better to stick with the 4650G/5600G over the 4700S, and you have much more flexibility rather than dealing with a 'faulty' PS5/Series X silicon  ...also low quality PSU
cstkl1
Aug 5 2021, 08:34 PM