Toyota Vios 2007, Open booking + launch on Oct 2007

waif
post Nov 20 2007, 10:03 AM

270 posts

Anyone know why the new Vios is bouncy when traveling at 135- 140kmph in highway ?

Any method available to reduce the bounciness ? (Hope no stupid answer like reducing speed)
waif
post Nov 20 2007, 07:52 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Nov 20 2007, 11:33 AM)
What kind of bouncy do you mean? Soft like fruit cake and bounce like jelly even on flat road? Or too hard until you can feel road pimples?

The new Vios suspension/damper is definitely more solid then old Vios, and less fruity then MyVi.
Quite soft like fruit cake but can be felt compare to a older civic ~!

Any solution to reduce the bounce ?
waif
post Nov 22 2007, 04:16 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Nov 22 2007, 03:25 PM)
New Vios interior is larger than City,
rear floor is flat,
sharper turning radius,
more viewable front area (hence cannot see the car bonnet, might be bad for certain people),
flipping wing mirror,
newer alarm system,
driver seat height uses jack-like mechanism instead of turning dial.

But...
no more remote trunk open vs old Vios. sad.gif 
And it looks like 5-series behind (or Waja):

Is the first photo ur car ?

The color is similar to mine . rclxms.gif

I will test the car this weekend again when I go back to my hometown.

The car has just been sent to the workshop for the first service ~!

Added on November 22, 2007, 4:24 pm
QUOTE(firewir3 @ Nov 22 2007, 02:51 PM)
Thank you so much for your opinion notworthy.gif .Yah,I did a lot of comparison before i made the decision.Sad case is just a lot of ppl keep bashing.
I was thinking is whether they cant afford a Vios so they only can critic on Vios.LoL.I just booked my car on 20/11/07 dont know when only can get my car!Im happy to join this family rclxms.gif
If U r not in a hurry, and plan to change ur car every 5 year.

I suggest U take ur car only on Jan 2008. Bcoz Dec 2007 car, sell on Jan 2008 , is already consider a 1 year old car ~!

The new Vios got a few bits and pieces of surprises that I found out which is nice such as ASL enable audio system, where the speed of ur car is link to ur Audio system. When U speed to a very fast pace, the audio system will adjust the volume automatically higher to cover the wind resistance noise.

After that when U slow down, the volume will readjust itself to a lower volume.

This system is available in other car ?

This post has been edited by waif: Nov 22 2007, 04:29 PM
waif
post Nov 22 2007, 05:09 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Nov 22 2007, 04:52 PM)
Damn, I thought nobody choose that color, hence I take. tongue.gif  Good good. Same color.  thumbup.gif  I almost 1600km milleage already.

Added on November 22, 2007, 4:55 pm
The SA is not entirely wrong either. Manufacture date is important as well - nobody are going to pay you 2008 price if they see your car is 2005 manufactured, eventhough you reg on 2008.

Plus you have to take into account of interest rate and promotion. Nobody knows what the interest rate will be next year, when our Gov screwing up the economy.
Bro, U didn't travel much lar. The car is taken in early November only I think.

I am running to and fro from KL to Johor then back.

The mileage is around 11XXkm already when sending in for servicing.

But somehow, still feel very few new Vios on the road ~!

I prefer this color compare to Gold. Just loving it more and more everyday. laugh.gif

I love the accleration comparing it to Unser and Avanza. Never drive other brand car except for Kancil bcoz need to get the "license to speed". rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by waif: Nov 22 2007, 05:15 PM
waif
post Nov 22 2007, 05:24 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Nov 22 2007, 05:16 PM)
I only travel KL around never outstation, but I got no idea how can clock 1600km so fast? tongue.gif It just makes you wanna keep going...
Bro, U test ur top speed before ?

I haven't really test mine.

I ran it until 140kmph only bcoz got other family member in car when going back Johor.

The wind resistance noise seem very loud at 140kmph.

I rode in a Honda Civic the previous generation before the current one.

140- 160 still silent like nothing at all ~!

Other than that, I found that the Vios is bouncing on some part of the highway when traveling at 140 kmph.
Should I complain to the service centre or just the stupid PLUS highway condition ???
waif
post Nov 22 2007, 05:28 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(firewir3 @ Nov 22 2007, 05:23 PM)
Sorry,i got 1 question.For you all that booked your car earlier before this car was launch did you all entitled for the rm4000 rebate promotion that toyota are giving previously?
Mine don't have any rebate at all ~!

Even some first aid kit items is not available also.

However, the car sales person explain that the thing is not taken by anyone but come in that way ~! doh.gif

The sales person say I need to buy on my own. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by waif: Nov 22 2007, 05:31 PM
waif
post Nov 22 2007, 08:02 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(firewir3 @ Nov 22 2007, 07:07 PM)
I'm shocked you said that the new vios is bouncy when travelling at 140kmph?Is this for real?and the the sound of the wind is loud?
i thought there was ASL right? shocking.gif
It is not loud but noticeable. For example, Avanza is noise level is noticeable above 110kmph.

It is not bouncy all the way but some stretches of road in highway.

I was hoping some other car user or expert may comment on this issue ?
waif
post Nov 22 2007, 08:52 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(mingdynasty @ Nov 22 2007, 08:22 PM)
i didn go 140 b4( no balls) wahahah.. i went 130 tops. no bounce.. enjine still quite.. around 3k rpm.. ^.^..
U drive the S one but drive 130kmph only ah ~! Wasteful ah. hmm.gif

I also didn't feel any bounce when traveling at 110 - 130kmph.

This post has been edited by waif: Nov 22 2007, 08:53 PM
waif
post Nov 23 2007, 07:53 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(thom_chai @ Nov 23 2007, 01:44 AM)
U mean speed limiter? My bro tried 170km/h on his 2006 Vios before, so i don't think it has a speed limiter...
I want to know which stretchers of road he do it on.

I really interested how fast this new Vios is capable of but also very worried on the bouncing when I was driving only 140 ah ~!
waif
post Nov 23 2007, 09:08 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(firewir3 @ Nov 23 2007, 08:53 AM)
Any other guy tried this b4?this made me worried cry.gif
Actually I tried 150kmph on Avanza also but some stretchers the whole car bounces like jelly totally going up and down but it is a very heavy car that's why can totally feel it.
waif
post Nov 23 2007, 03:36 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(firewir3 @ Nov 23 2007, 02:29 PM)
May i know how much each time you all service your car at Toyota service centre is it expensive?Is it compulsory to go back to service your car at toyota any comment?i mean is better service more advantanges if compare to service the car at outside....
The first few times is quite reasonable but after that quite expensive ~!
waif
post Nov 23 2007, 04:13 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Nov 23 2007, 03:41 PM)
My 1st service (I insisted on the ATF change):

Gasket 1.70
ATF Fluid WS (4L) 129.80
Oil Filter 29.15
Toyota Motor Oil (4L) Mineral 59.90

Total: 220.55 (90.75 if stick with original plan - no ATF change).

It is that cheap because labour is free currently. Otherwise, labour is many times more expensive than outside.
I request for using semi synth... but they forget and use Mineral.  mad.gif
What's the different between semi synth and mineral ?

Never really check out the different ~!
waif
post Nov 23 2007, 06:44 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(ahsin @ Nov 23 2007, 06:23 PM)
new vios really have a bad interface
Maybe he is refering to the dashboard which is strangely move to the centre.

I also consider it a bad move.

My family member now can see what speed I am going at easier compare to other model ~! doh.gif
waif
post Nov 23 2007, 10:27 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(tcting @ Nov 23 2007, 08:57 PM)
Very good assumption, dun let the family see the speedo... But i think they can feel...
Actually, for this new Vios, can barely feel anything when going at 130kmph, only reaching 140 then it is more noticeable for me.

My family member very sensitive one, Avanza going at 120kmph already started grumbling saying the car is shaking and all sorts of things. As for new Vios, the family member sleeping soundly at 130kmph.
waif
post Nov 28 2007, 08:41 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(noos @ Nov 27 2007, 11:13 PM)
I see more S spec Vios OTR than G & E....
Which state and area are U living in ?

I didn't see any S spec at all on the road ~!
waif
post Nov 28 2007, 09:04 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Nov 28 2007, 08:48 AM)
The salesman say if you book Vios now you will get in a month, book next year you will get it in 6 months. Why the differences?
The only possibility is that , a lot of buyer book for Vios manufacture on 2008 one, meaning a lot of buyer wanted their Vios in 2008 only ~!

Production cannot meet demand (assumption).

This post has been edited by waif: Nov 28 2007, 09:05 AM
waif
post Jun 22 2008, 09:58 PM

270 posts

Anyone change your Vios stock tires to other type ?

Need recommendation. I heard if buy the original tires or stock tires cost around rm 300 per piece ~!! icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by waif: Jun 22 2008, 10:01 PM
waif
post Jun 22 2008, 10:08 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(firestater @ Jun 22 2008, 10:05 PM)
the stock tires only cost u rm140-150 , i change mine (E type) to XM1 last 2 month after 22 months using stock....
How's the performance and comfort level compare to stock (Potenza) ?

Where U change urs ??
waif
post Jun 23 2008, 05:02 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(dude06 @ Jun 23 2008, 01:44 PM)
I change my tyre from ori 185/60/15 to Michelin MXV8 Japan 195/60/15. Ride comfort and handling improve as well as noise level also lower...Will do soundproofing soon...

Cheers

May I know how much the wheels cost U ? U r driving the newer version of Vios right ?
waif
post Jun 23 2008, 10:17 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(changshen @ Jun 23 2008, 09:36 PM)
errr...new Vios all Bridgestone Potenza mer?...my is Vios E Enhanced....Dunlop ler...
Mine is a G spec and it is using Bridgestone Potenza. Not sure about S spec owner, can anyone confirm ?

0.3213sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:57 PM