pretty bad job market, Is Linked any better ?

malleus
post Jul 25 2021, 11:24 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(Redshelf411 @ Jul 24 2021, 02:13 AM)
Jobs in Malaysia was scarce when I graduated in 2015 and I can feel it back then. Now it's even worst and boleh rasa. Even if I got offered a job, the salary also low... Since I am based in Sarawak a lot of companies offered rm2000 at the most. I once asked for rm2300 and I got told "that's a very expensive salary.. sorry we can only offer 2k, take it or leave it".
That's the reality of Malaysian job market now. You want a job that pays you low salary? Or would you rather not have money at all? Covid really screwed up Malaysia lol.
You wanna know something rather odd? There's also a hiring crunch too in Sarawak, at least for IT.

Back in 2018, we had a visit from ppl from SESCO, where we gave them a tour of how we're digitalising the energy sector over here. And according to them, the biggest hurdle that they have when it comes to having in house software engineers is that they simply cannot find ppl to hire at all.

malleus
post Jul 25 2021, 11:33 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(viole @ Jul 25 2021, 11:28 PM)
Then why were they not try to increase the salary range?

It is a basic supply vs demand case.
this unfortunately is a question that I'm not able to answer. I also didn't get a chance to ask either as I only spent a short amount of time with them as I was busy with other stuff

but apart from the salary related stuff, I won't be surprised if potential candidates from the west will demand a pay premium too, similar to almost expat level pay for them to relocate to Sarawak. I know I would too, despite my home town being in Kuching originally.

as for local grads, the majority are looking to move out of Sarawak anyways, due to the limited opportunities for IT.

0.0179sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:26 PM