Tax Question on Writing for Medium.com, Handling 30% Withholding Tax Revenue

TSm1rot1c P
post Jul 20 2021, 05:55 PM, updated 3y ago

Probation

Has anyone of you tried writing on Medium.com?

The platform has been great (good SEO, nice UI, easiest to get paid) but the 30% withholding tax is horrendous as your blog becomes larger.

Can Sifus recommend what I can do?

After some research, most people would recommend switching to another blogging platform and run AdSense instead.

While that might be my last straw, I am curious what you guys have on mind.

Thank you!

lowlowc
post Jul 28 2021, 02:08 AM

918 posts

Not sure what is medium. I am running Adsense and after setup adsense will bank in after income reaches 100usd. Adsense also sent out US tax form recently for fill up, failing which will withold certain % for tax too.
melvinlimmy
post Oct 18 2021, 11:07 AM

QUOTE(m1rot1c @ Jul 20 2021, 05:55 PM)
Has anyone of you tried writing on Medium.com?

The platform has been great (good SEO, nice UI, easiest to get paid) but the 30% withholding tax is horrendous as your blog becomes larger.

Can Sifus recommend what I can do?

After some research, most people would recommend switching to another blogging platform and run AdSense instead.

While that might be my last straw, I am curious what you guys have on mind.

Thank you!
I started posting my first article. Not too concern about 30%, current goal- reach 100 followers first then b eligible for medium paid partner program.
https://melvinlimmy.medium.com/
abmawie
post Oct 20 2021, 12:11 AM

62 posts

I guess it's all about what niche you are writing for and whether you can produce great content.
Redshelf411
post Oct 23 2021, 01:20 PM

800 posts

Can try Patreon

0.0271sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:21 AM