Long lasting gaming mouse.

TSsamftrmd
post Jul 16 2021, 09:04 PM, updated 5y ago

Interface 2037
1,774 posts

I used to play with Microsoft sidewinder, but the wheels always got loose.
Now I use logitech 502 hero, but the right button also becomes non responsive.
I bought 2 to 3 of those mice with exactly the same issue.

Can /k recommend a durable one?
SUSGibeDeMuny
post Jul 16 2021, 09:07 PM

92 posts

planned obsolescence la

why fucking buy 2-3 more new rm100-200 mice if you could just buy the switches and replace / repair on your own for rm10 from taobao etc
vanhoe0
post Jul 16 2021, 09:10 PM

39 posts

My MX518 still working good dunno how many years already.
H3artBreakKid
post Jul 16 2021, 09:10 PM

💔💔💔
455 posts

QUOTE(GibeDeMuny @ Jul 16 2021, 09:07 PM)
planned obsolescence la

why fucking buy 2-3 more new rm100-200 mice if you could just buy the switches and replace / repair on your own for rm10 from taobao etc
this, just buy the switch and replace yourself
terradrive
post Jul 16 2021, 09:11 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

i use deathadder chroma for many years already, whenever double clicking happens every few months or half year, open up the mouse, open up the switch plastic casing, use alcohol swabs to clean the copper switch contacts, works fine everytime.
SUSceo684
post Jul 16 2021, 09:12 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

SteelSeries Rival 100. Use as my office mouse
Doomsday
post Jul 16 2021, 09:13 PM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

QUOTE(samftrmd @ Jul 16 2021, 09:04 PM)

My 502 before hero version still going strong. About 3 to 4 years using liao.

302 already swapped with kailh switch after 2 years usage. Guess Logitech doesn't last long?
Nother
post Jul 16 2021, 09:14 PM

74 posts

Used 3 Razer Death Adders over 10+ years and had to deal with all the double clicking issues and fixes.

Currently using a Logitech G102 for 2 years and no issues.
chroniches
post Jul 16 2021, 09:15 PM

what gaming mouse doesn't have scrolling and double click issue?
stormer.lyn
post Jul 16 2021, 09:17 PM

1,132 posts

I don't think any mouse will "last forever" in the sense you are hoping for. I just opened my Logitech gaming mouse today to service the side button. The left click button was already serviced many months ago. In my opinion, the mouse may physically last forever, but then the internal parts need to be serviced too. Luckily the microswitches for my mouse are cheap and readily available.

I believe the choices would be to buy a cheap mouse and throw it away when it gives problems, or buy a better one and do the necessary servicing (like clean the microswitch contact, or change the microswitch entirely) when it gives problems. Because they all will give problems, it's just a matter of when.
tshin810
post Jul 16 2021, 09:17 PM

1,256 posts

Logitech mx518 is very durable but too big for me. Razer Deathadder is the most comfortable for me. Now got cheap Deathadder Essential rather than Deathadder Chroma.
wotvr
post Jul 16 2021, 09:19 PM

177 posts

Just buy any cheapo Logitech mouse. That one can tahan for 10 years without issues.
khelben
post Jul 16 2021, 09:21 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(chroniches @ Jul 16 2021, 09:15 PM)
what gaming mouse doesn't have scrolling and double click issue?
Logitech MX510, MX518.

These lasts forever the buttons and scroll.
MR_alien
post Jul 16 2021, 09:21 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

i just stock up on multiple RM15 logitech mouse

spoil?...use the new one
PowerSlide
post Jul 16 2021, 09:22 PM

----------
6,035 posts

my mx518 from 2006 or 2007 still working until now only the surface faded

but no mouse guarantee working forever, now using glorious model o wired and wireless so far its ok especially the wired one that have no issue use for 1 year or near 2 years
lopiop
post Jul 16 2021, 09:25 PM

312 posts

my g304 already got double click issue after 3 years
jmas
post Jul 16 2021, 09:26 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

user issue?
I got 2 502 proteus core (earlier version), since 2015 and 2016, both still working fine, just replaced with new shell recently
nazrul90
post Jul 16 2021, 09:26 PM

302 posts

Buy a dozen of cheap Rm10 mouse. Got any problem, just throw away.
taint8
post Jul 16 2021, 09:29 PM

226 posts

Mouse suddenly lost connection issues how to solve? G102
potatobanana
post Jul 16 2021, 09:36 PM

453 posts

these days I just get cheap gaming mouse, can press whatever the fark I want

after it give me issue, throw and get cheaper one...
stormer.lyn
post Jul 16 2021, 09:37 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(taint8 @ Jul 16 2021, 09:29 PM)
Mouse suddenly  lost connection issues how to solve? G102
Are you sure it is not your USB port? If it isn't, your mouse wire might be broken inside due to too much flexing. You could try to change the wire, or shorten the wire past the area where it is broken (normally the breaks happen near the mouse, as that is where it moves the most)
SUSGibeDeMuny
post Jul 16 2021, 09:37 PM

92 posts

i find it's not the millions of repetitive clicks that breaks the switches

yor maus could lasts for years if it's just that, normal clicks

but it's when you hold the buttons for prolonged and repetitive period, pretty much abusing it

like some shooters with hold to aim etc mechanics

microswitches, the copper spring inside those switches nowadays are very very flimsy, easily lose their springiness coz it's too thin

they could handle millions of repetitive clicks but not when you hold them with such pressure that would bend or even break those copper springs inside

it's so annoying that nowadays ayam already accustomed to change the configs in games from hold to toggle
stormer.lyn
post Jul 16 2021, 09:39 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(lopiop @ Jul 16 2021, 09:25 PM)
my g304 already got double click issue after 3 years
The issue will almost certainly go away if you clean the microswitch contacts, or if you change the microswitch entirely.
water_T
post Jul 16 2021, 09:40 PM

294 posts

my razer abyssus..buy 2011..still using it.ayam razerfag
ieatchickens
post Jul 16 2021, 09:42 PM

111 posts

found the best pixart for rm90 and 3360 rm80
dont game anymore
wat do
lopiop
post Jul 16 2021, 09:42 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Jul 16 2021, 09:39 PM)
The issue will almost certainly go away if you clean the microswitch contacts, or if you change the microswitch entirely.
how? need to open the whole thing or just take compressed air and spray inside the mouse
Klesk
post Jul 16 2021, 09:44 PM

3,469 posts

G304 ftw! cheap and durable and wireless, cant ask for more
lopiop
post Jul 16 2021, 09:46 PM

312 posts

go here to check if you have double click issue
https://mousetester.com/

This post has been edited by lopiop: Jul 16 2021, 09:46 PM
ihm11
post Jul 16 2021, 09:47 PM

62 posts

can buy the microswitches n replace if got sharp tip soldering iron
digitalifelesss
post Jul 16 2021, 09:51 PM

238 posts

Still using my G300 bought from 11 years ago... The shape just perfect for my hand.
The key survival feature of this mouse is the optical scroll wheel sensor, not mechanical wheel.
The wheel sensor is virtually immortal, even if clogged with dusts.
Nowadays buying any mouse I will search for tear down picture showing what scrollwheel mechanism it uses first.

Clicks will inevitably broke. There are no switch that is immortal, especially if you play some insanely clicky games.
But replacing them is very easy, just simple soldering works.
Search for 'mouse switch' on Shopee and you will get plenty of them. On average I probably changed switch every year, or 2 years.
Solder tool + solder 'sucker' to remove existing solder easily + mouse switches

This post has been edited by digitalifelesss: Jul 16 2021, 09:56 PM
stormer.lyn
post Jul 16 2021, 09:51 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(lopiop @ Jul 16 2021, 09:42 PM)
how? need to open the whole thing or just take compressed air and spray inside the mouse
Need to open the mouse, and then open the microswitch. There are many YT videos on how to do this, but I haven't linked any because I don't agree with them. They use sandpaper, metal polish, brushes, etc, to clean the contacts but I absolutely don't agree with it. I only use contact cleaner or isopropyl alcohol, with normal paper as the most abrasive thing to clean the contacts.
ieatchickens
post Jul 16 2021, 09:55 PM

111 posts

quote unquote

i can only teach you, you need to melt solder onto the three feet of the micro switch, wait a bit, then only desolder and use sucker or felt.

reason is because its machine soldered, old and porous hence very very hard to desolder without ripping out the board contacts.
Gyazo
post Jul 16 2021, 10:14 PM

20 posts

Logitech G403 (wired)
thexs
post Jul 16 2021, 10:23 PM

202 posts

My G602 is 5 years old and still works perfectly.
SUSslimey
post Jul 16 2021, 10:32 PM

6,914 posts

cheapo logitech b100 still going strong
kamfoo
post Jul 16 2021, 10:39 PM

847 posts

Kailh switch
froz3nnoob
post Jul 16 2021, 10:42 PM

Defeat is not the worst of failures. Not to have tried is the tr
837 posts

QUOTE(samftrmd @ Jul 16 2021, 10:04 PM)

My 1st Razer mouse last me roughly 10 years until last years i change to Razer Viper Ultimate wireless laugh.gif
TSsamftrmd
post Jul 16 2021, 11:29 PM

Interface 2037
1,774 posts

QUOTE(GibeDeMuny @ Jul 16 2021, 09:37 PM)
i find it's not the millions of repetitive clicks that breaks the switches

yor maus could lasts for years if it's just that, normal clicks

but it's when you hold the buttons for prolonged and repetitive period, pretty much abusing it

like some shooters with hold to aim etc mechanics

microswitches, the copper spring inside those switches nowadays are very very flimsy, easily lose their springiness coz it's too thin

they could handle millions of repetitive clicks but not when you hold them with such pressure that would bend or even break those copper springs inside

it's so annoying that nowadays ayam already accustomed to change the configs in games from hold to toggle
Maybe that's the reason, I already change games control to toggle aim wherever possible.
EatSleepWork
post Jul 16 2021, 11:35 PM

48 posts

Same here. 502 Hero. 10 months in right click faulty. I don't even game that much.
daus89
post Jul 16 2021, 11:37 PM

454 posts

mt g402 lasted for 5years,
from dota,ragnarok online and pubg used the same mouse without any issue after millions of click

0.0167sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:20 PM