16 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Seeking ways to design & renovate your house?, Happy Learning Together!

TSMy Maison
post Nov 24 2021, 06:00 AM

319 posts

TSMy Maison
post Nov 24 2021, 06:10 AM

319 posts

Project : Green Residence

Topic: Painting as Finishing

One of our previous condominium project, using simple colour to define the space. Different colours will have different impacts in the house, and it somehow affect your mood. Some might think that plain wall is too simple and looks unattractive, however painting is somehow flexible and long lasting in terms of trend in design. It gives you more possibility to make changes in your future changes of mood more easily.

Depending on your needs and design style, the colour choice is very important as it is potential in defining a space. For example, Japanese style are likely more peace and simple in decoration. Thus, we would more prefer to have combination of white/ beige as base. One of the trick when painting is using the masking tape. It is cheap but precise. It somehow helps alot when painting one surface without getting paint on an adjacent surface. It helps to protect surfaces and ensure sharp lines and straight edges.

Do you know that interior paint should always contain low or zero VOC. It is essential in maintaining the air quality in your home.

Hope you like our works!.
rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
TSMy Maison
post Nov 27 2021, 11:38 PM

319 posts

Project: Green Residence

Topic : Protection, Hacking & Formwork

TSMy Maison
post Nov 27 2021, 11:50 PM

319 posts

Topic : Protection, Hacking & Formwork

As usual, we start off every new project with proper protection work before any demolition works start. For this project, the owner requested to remove the wall that eventually split the original layout into two, splitting the kitchen with the yard. The intention to maximise the unit has been translated by relocating the kitchen countertop in new position, with large sink at the side.

Starting off by laying bricks as supporting elements, and start off the formwork construction to get into the shape making. Don't forget to leave the voids for the placement of your sink design. Last but not the least, cast the concrete before any finishing material applied on countertop. Countertops made of concrete really have no limitations in size, depending on the materials and casting techniques used. There are ways to minimize the weight, adding the thickness without increasing the mass it carried.

rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
TSMy Maison
post Nov 28 2021, 12:20 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(chriskk @ Nov 24 2021, 03:43 PM)
Hello Sifu, Referring to your post above on painting, may I ask what is the standard practice for primer usage and also number of coatings? Is this something that I should discuss with the contractor prior to start renovation?

I also have a second question regarding ceiling - I know plaster ceiling is very popular in Malaysia, but I personally prefer ceiling that are as high as possible to increase air circulation and reduce indoor temperature. Are there any good options for this (e.g. vaulted ceiling; exposed beams) in a 1-storey terrace house?
Hi, normally 1 layer of primer+ 3 coats of emulsion paint. And for the ceiling, at least we need to drop for 4 inches. however, if you dont prefer ceiling, your wiring route can be embedded in pvc pipe / hacking parts of soffit / slab
TSMy Maison
post Nov 30 2021, 11:54 PM

319 posts

Topic : Casting & Tiling

TSMy Maison
post Dec 1 2021, 12:06 AM

319 posts

Topic : Casting & Tiling

Some of the simple example of the work over the wet kitchen countertop. For today's let talk about the material consideration and sharing about the properties of stone-type material.
As usual, there is always natural & man-made stone. Some example of natural stone would be granite & marble while man-made stone would be solid surface and quartz type.

For your information, both marble and granite are heat and scratch resistant. They have natural surfaces which can never be replaced. However, marble could be more easily stained as compared to granite. On the other hand, granite colour choice of selection would be lesser.

In terms of man-made stone, solid surface stone has higher flexibility as compared to quartz. It can be formed into curved/flat surface. There is also no gaps for solid surface man-made stone, which eventually brings out its advantages in wet kitchen. However, it is not so resistant to stain, cut, heat as compared to quartz which is vice versa. Normally, people will go for quartz for wet kitchen while solid surface is normally suit to dry kitchen.

Hope u guys can get some idea on the selection of material while doing for your own house. !! rclxm9.gif flex.gif
TSMy Maison
post Dec 4 2021, 12:28 AM

319 posts

Topic : Ceiling Installation

TSMy Maison
post Dec 4 2021, 12:39 AM

319 posts

Topic : Ceiling Installation

Typical height in a unit is 3m, and some units come without plaster ceiling on the selling. So, for those who are intended to install your own ceiling, you could definitely do this as long as the head room space is sufficient for you. Lower down the height in the area could make changes to your room.

Plaster ceiling requires minimum spacing of 1200mm in order to store those looping of lighting ,etc. Some dislike the appearance of beams would prefer installation of ceiling in order to treat the view better. When there is air-cond, yes you may need to consider about the ducting as well, and it definitely affecting your ceiling height.

Above are some of our previous works, from structures to finishing, hope it gives you some ideas and imagination on how it may looks like in your own units!!!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
TSMy Maison
post Dec 5 2021, 09:53 PM

319 posts

Topic : Painting & Final Works

TSMy Maison
post Dec 5 2021, 09:54 PM

319 posts

TSMy Maison
post Dec 5 2021, 10:17 PM

319 posts

Let's talk about some concept & design while selecting colour / paint for your room area. Below are just some scheme of colours for references. However, they are always subjected to change according to the entire mood.

First of all, we should always go for lower saturation colours (10% to 60%). Fully saturated colour will be too over and pure. Higher temperature (warmer) colour will somehow make the entire space looks smaller while lower temperature colours (cooler) work in another way round, not overpowering and recede in space.

When your room area is smaller, we tend to use brighter colour as darker scheme somehow pressurize the entire area, making the space look smaller. Actually, different colours actually have their own function while being applied in the area, for example : purple red in this scenario tend to make the space more vivid, picturesque with slightly striking colours in between as embellishment. We might share the other colours scheme in future. Stay tuned. icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
TSMy Maison
post Dec 7 2021, 11:49 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(daniel2006 @ Dec 8 2021, 12:41 AM)

may i know price for the mirror
Hi, Im sorry but I couldn't give u an exact number due to the project was quite long ago. However, I guess the pricing for pieces of mirror is about the same, depending on the supplier. Hope you understand. notworthy.gif
TSMy Maison
post Dec 8 2021, 12:10 AM

319 posts

Project: Puncak Alam Housing Project

Topic : Works Sharing & Hot Tips

TSMy Maison
post Dec 8 2021, 12:38 AM

319 posts

Topic : Works Sharing & Hot Tips

Hello everyone, we would like to share with you some hot tips based on our previous experience, giving you more options to consider, comparing the pros and cons, while allowing you to cinterprete your own thoughts while making decision.

As we always mentioned before, you can do in whatever way as long as it really satisfy your needs. However, what if sometimes things doesn't go as planned, and you had spent alot of money in doing this, what should you do? This is why we are here to share the tips with you.

1. Is L-box ceiling design really good? Yes, it looks classy, the installation work is not difficult. It creates more options in displaying lights, breaking the conventional way of only using LED downlight. However, there will be more dust taking place in that area, making housekeeping work has to be done more frequently. Why not just doing a simple flat plaster ceiling with pelmet ceiling at side, concealing the curtain track.

2. Not sticker wallpaper but apply simple emulsion paint ( playing with tones of colour) - Cheaper, modern, different moods available, easy transformation in future.

3. Not using heavy bedhead set - Heavy, Takes up alot of space, expensive. Replacing it with simple wood veneer design.

4. Sliding door cabinet can be good or vice versa depending on your needs. We thought that it can somehow save space as it only moves left/ right, however, the track can actually takes up almost 100mm which bigly reduce your storage. Sometimes, the door might not closed up completely due to the track. Using side-hung door can be sometimes much better, however, all of this subjective to person.

5. Not doing too much of split level in your cabinet, try to customised more spaces for hanging clothes, looks more neat. Instead of doing split level, making the operable big drawer to store your clothes can be so much neater as it wont make your whole cabinets clumsy.

6. LED strip lighting can somehow bring your kitchen area to a higher level, giving more ambient feel.

TSMy Maison
post Dec 12 2021, 01:52 PM

319 posts

Topic : Hot Tips on How You Should Design Your Kitchen Cabinet

TSMy Maison
post Dec 12 2021, 01:52 PM

319 posts

Topic : Hot Tips on How You Should Design Your Kitchen Cabinet

Before moving into today's sharing, lets talk about what is Ergonomics Design. An ergonomic design is specially designed to the user's needs, and it helps to achieve comfort and increase usage efficiency. After discussing with your designer on what types / quantities of storage you need in your kitchen, lets start designing your own customized cabinets.

Firstly, there is always a standard formula to go with, in order to achieve ergonomics.
1. The bottom cabinet would normally go around 800mm height. The height of washing basin/tray, and the countertop always suit to the height of users ( Taking height of users divide by 2 with extra 5 to 10 cm added)
2. For the top hung cabinet, the depth would go around 350 to 400mm. This is the suitable size to place all your stuff, and at the same time prevent your head from knocking to it.
3. For the bottom cabinet, we would go around 550mm while the countertop is slightly larger than the cabinet (600mm) in order to cover the whole area. At the same time 600mm is the standard measurement as if you apply tiling on top, there is no wastage of it as standard tiling size is either 1 by 2 or 2 by 2.
4. The overall height of the top hung cabinet is around 700 to 800mm , and is set around 650 to 700mm above the countertop. However, we would normally make box-up all the way up to the ceiling, looks more neat and reduce dust accumulation.
5. For the washing tray, if your countertop is large enough (more than 4m), can choose one big single tray / double tray. If small, just go for one big single tray is more than enough as long as it can fit the big wok and other kitchen appliances.

TSMy Maison
post Dec 18 2021, 12:41 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(ahchun @ Dec 12 2021, 03:13 PM)
hi
if new house want to add on alot of electrical power point and light point.
is it possible without plaster ceiling ?

or must have plaster celling to hide all the wires?
Hi, for your information, with or without plaster ceiling design is depending on your own selection. If there is no plaster ceiling, your lighting conduits will be exposing, and it will more to industrial feel like what you see in cafe, for example. ( If this is your intention). However, it is not recommended if you are looking for a clean and sleek design in home (typical design), and with plaster ceiling, it minimizes alot of work. However, if you go for industrial mood, yes it is definitely possible

This post has been edited by My Maison: Dec 19 2021, 08:59 PM
TSMy Maison
post Dec 18 2021, 12:48 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(vicky.max @ Dec 15 2021, 11:38 PM)
Sorry, I can't attach or link any images in my post. Here's the floor plan:

hxxps://pictr.com/images/2021/12/15/BYrZvO.jpg (Replace xx with tt)
Yes. Definitely possible, and with further developed on space integration, things work better. flex.gif
TSMy Maison
post Dec 18 2021, 01:18 PM

319 posts

Project: Midfield Condominum

Topic :Preparation Work + Lighting Installation