Import duty at customs?, How much is it?

TSPhantomThief
post Sep 6 2007, 01:53 PM, updated 19y ago

I'm folding. Are you?
696 posts

I intend to buy an electric guitar from the United States and have it mailed here. Anyone have any idea how much the tax or import duty would be?
RustReaver4D1
post Sep 6 2007, 02:02 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(PhantomThief @ Sep 6 2007, 01:53 PM)
I intend to buy an electric guitar from the United States and have it mailed here. Anyone have any idea how much the tax or import duty would be?
There's actually no import duty/tax on electric guitars, but you have to pay a 10% sales tax.

It's supposed to be calculated based on the sales price of the guitar, so make sure that the shipper lists the shipping charges separately.

Just out of curiosity... what axe are you importing? icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Sep 6 2007, 02:02 PM
TSPhantomThief
post Sep 6 2007, 02:04 PM

I'm folding. Are you?
696 posts

10% eh? If the shipper did not list shipping charges seperately, how will they estimate the price?

I'm still not sure, since I'll have to budget this all in before I can choose a good axe. Probably something from ESP or Dean if possible.

This post has been edited by PhantomThief: Sep 6 2007, 02:05 PM
Everdying
post Sep 6 2007, 02:11 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

if the shipper didnt list the charges seperately...
then the 10% tax will be based on whatever total they see, ie. guitar + shipping...
TSPhantomThief
post Sep 6 2007, 02:12 PM

I'm folding. Are you?
696 posts

I can see how they would be able to get the price of shipping, but how would they get the price of the guitar? Surely they won't take my word for it? Would I have to bring a receipt or a credit card slip or similar?
johnkor
post Sep 6 2007, 02:21 PM

Level 2 Mainboard Repair Specialist
4,237 posts

if u import in bulk more import duty
RustReaver4D1
post Sep 6 2007, 02:22 PM

1,100 posts

Like if you buy from Ishibashi (Nipponland), they will list the price separately from the shipping charges, plus they'll also give you the invoice which will state what the sale price is.

Wow... Dean or ESP, ganas... cool2.gif

Added on September 6, 2007, 2:26 pm
QUOTE(johnkor @ Sep 6 2007, 02:21 PM)
if u import in bulk more import duty
Actually no. Because if you check the Customs tariff book, there's no import duty on musical instruments, just a sales tax. So if you buy 10 guitars, you'll still be charged 10% tax on all 10 guitars.

This post has been edited by RustReaver4D1: Sep 6 2007, 02:26 PM
TSPhantomThief
post Sep 6 2007, 02:30 PM

I'm folding. Are you?
696 posts

Heh, I already have a Mex Strat, so I'm trying to go for something a little more heavy. If I can get a good price for a guitar, the total cost will just be 10% extra, right? No other excessive charges, I hope? Otherwise I would be better served buying locally than trying to bring one in from the States.
Party2DMax
post Sep 6 2007, 02:41 PM

party2dmax
1,092 posts

If you ship though courier (e.g. DHL), they'll call you up when the stuff arrives and quote you the customs duty payable. You can settle the dispute, if any, at this point. You'll pay the duty when they deliver it to your doorstep.

I haven't had a dispute so far so I'm not sure how the process goes.
supercolossal
post Sep 10 2007, 10:55 AM

620 posts

Is it possible that they would exempt the tax in any case?
Everdying
post Sep 10 2007, 11:05 AM

30,735 posts

only if you're a hot chick willing to get down on your knees tongue.gif

but uhhh, this is malaysia boleh land.
10% of cos can be exempted with duit kopi.
but theres no point really if 10% of your guitar is like RM100 only.

blacktrix
post Sep 10 2007, 12:11 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

But if I'm ordering in a Razorback 255..... yeah.... 10% is going to come up STEEP
RustReaver4D1
post Sep 10 2007, 02:32 PM

1,100 posts

Usually there will be several Customs officers hanging around the area where they process your tax... so offer duit kopi at your own risk! sweat.gif

Ok, that method aside, I've heard that sometimes they won't tax you at all and sometimes, if it's 2nd hand, they'll give a discount on the 10% tax... they probably roll a d20 dice first to see what they'll do... doh.gif

blacktrix
post Sep 10 2007, 02:42 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

they probably roll a d20 dice first to see what they'll do...

I was ROTFOL when I read this!!!

But I REALLY REALLY want that 255...... And it's too bulky to carry it back from the states me thinks.

Everdying
post Sep 10 2007, 02:59 PM

30,735 posts

the shipping for the 255 im sure is definitely very close to or more than RM1000.
my friend's US dime with hardcase also is damn heavy already, for sure at least 1.5x the weight of LP w/ case.
gapnap
post Sep 10 2007, 03:19 PM

1,782 posts

how much is your guitar worth ?

i can get 5% off tongue.gif but i want 2% in my pocket ...so ..7% .. tongue.gif if your guitar is like USD4000 ..whoa..i am in
Everdying
post Sep 10 2007, 03:25 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Sep 10 2007, 03:19 PM)
how much is your guitar worth ?

i can get 5% off tongue.gif but i want 2% in my pocket ...so ..7% .. tongue.gif if your guitar is like USD4000 ..whoa..i am in
translated.
i actually dont have to pay sales tax, so i just simply say i get 5% off.
actually im getting 7% clean profit tongue.gif
fatboythin
post Sep 10 2007, 05:02 PM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

^ haha, pwned.
RustReaver4D1
post Sep 10 2007, 06:26 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 10 2007, 03:25 PM)
translated.
i actually dont have to pay sales tax, so i just simply say i get 5% off.
actually im getting 7% clean profit tongue.gif
nah.. he can probably get 6% discount on the tax but if it wasn't 5% + 2% = 7%, it just would not be so epic. tongue.gif
TSPhantomThief
post Sep 12 2007, 11:19 PM

I'm folding. Are you?
696 posts

Heh, okay, thanks guys. If anyone's interested, I'll come back and post up whatever I order.

Cheers!

0.0191sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:19 PM