iPod The iPod Touch Discussion Thread, All About iPod Touch

zc_squash
post Sep 19 2007, 03:01 AM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(Zavier18 @ Sep 19 2007, 01:19 AM)
There's already a few Apple stores in the US already started selling them, please google it up. Cheers.
That's weird because the release date is really on the 28th this month. Hmm...

This post has been edited by zc_squash: Sep 19 2007, 03:04 AM
Zavier18
post Sep 19 2007, 09:51 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(zc_squash @ Sep 19 2007, 03:01 AM)
That's weird because the release date is really on the 28th this month. Hmm...
That date is only estimated and not all stores carry them yet so they put on that date. LINK. Read up, and it's already on sale a few days ago.

This post has been edited by Zavier18: Sep 19 2007, 09:52 AM
jaxon4sure
post Sep 19 2007, 12:41 PM

33 posts

No ipod style and feel d. It's a pda more to music gadget to me, summore it's only 16gb max.. Gantung kick...
strangex2
post Sep 19 2007, 06:09 PM

79 posts

Won't be such a hit lah, come on, it's costs nearly 50% of most young graduate's starting pay. Whereas in US it just costs 1/4 of their starting pay. So it won't be selling out like Transformers Movie Deluxe Bumblebee Camaro 08.
abang brother
post Sep 21 2007, 08:05 AM

4,967 posts

Who cares? At least its looks nice~!
wei
post Sep 21 2007, 08:57 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Apple confirm the bad quality iPod Touch's screen are faulty.

You see, I did said it's just this batch.
stringfellow
post Sep 21 2007, 09:33 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Now the question is, would the Apple Store you buy here the iPod Touch here locally, allow you to sync a test movie onto the iPod Touch you're about to buy, to test so that you dont get a messed-up screen? I have that perfect video, the very video that's on the iPhone welcome page that is a guided tour of the features of the iPhone. Lots of black, and that will show it point-blank if the black level inversion to film negative problems of the screen exists on our locally available iPod touch .
wei
post Sep 21 2007, 10:03 AM

6,496 posts

well, the problem with many local retailer is, they refuse to let you test unless you bought it.
stringfellow
post Sep 21 2007, 10:07 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Would they allow a return, or exchange once you find out that your screen is messed up? Otherwise, Malaysian consumers are screwed, that ability to simply return the item , and get a new one, no questions asked, or return the item and get refunded back, are both the things i missed from my days back in the States. Consumer is God there, it's the other way round here.
wei
post Sep 21 2007, 10:10 AM

6,496 posts

Return is highly possible if the flaw or issue are very dominant & obvious. But I'm not sure if they will refund, most probably they will replace it, or you have to spend the credit on other item.
stringfellow
post Sep 21 2007, 10:16 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Replace to another iPod Touch only to have it exhibit the same flaw? Rinse and repeat, customer temper level flaring up.

Does anyone have any info on how much the 16Gb iPod Touch would cost here? From the Singaporean Apple Store site, the conversion PLUS the 22% price hike we love so much, i'd put it around RM1799.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 21 2007, 10:25 AM
wei
post Sep 21 2007, 10:37 AM

6,496 posts

Now you understand why local store are opening up fast... and slowly will close down.
morgan
post Sep 21 2007, 10:41 AM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Sep 21 2007, 10:37 AM)
Now you understand why local store are opening up fast... and slowly will close down.
I dont get this rclxub.gif care to explain?
wei
post Sep 21 2007, 10:50 AM

6,496 posts

Well,
- Gallant IT store, closed and taken over.
- Apple Experience Center in Ikano, now become general IT store.
- Apple store in Hartamas closed (to confirm).

If business is good, service is excellent. I don't see why they're clossing one after another.
morgan
post Sep 21 2007, 10:55 AM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Sep 21 2007, 10:50 AM)
Well,
- Gallant IT store, closed and taken over.
- Apple Experience Center in Ikano, now become general IT store.
- Apple store in Hartamas closed (to confirm).

If business is good, service is excellent. I don't see why they're clossing one after another.
General speaking, retails/stores always run with da high risk if they dont have well-trained staff.
wei
post Sep 21 2007, 11:20 AM

6,496 posts

yeah lar. like the other day i went into an apple retail, ask if they have any demo unit for ipod camera connector. NO
Can I test to makesure my camera is support. No we don't allow that, you have to buy it.
Then I said, so meaning you asking me to buy something I'm not sure will work. Most camera are supported.

Luckily I did my research before I went there. I'm quite confident that my cam are supported. So I went ahead to buy the connector and tested on the spot. If I never do any in-dept research, I'll definitely walked off. At lease he can offer me to check on the matter, see if my camera model are supported.

Anyway, back to the topic, don't want this to turn into another bad retailer ranting thread.

This post has been edited by wei: Sep 21 2007, 12:02 PM
stringfellow
post Sep 21 2007, 11:27 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I had the same experience, as well. The most these stores have are flyers and pamphlets, not unlike Apple Stores in the US, or even in Singapore, where you can testdrive the latest model yourself. Bloody store employees we are all crooks or something.

Went to ask if i could try the iPod Classic. Dont have one opened, only the new iPod Nano. The one other store in KLCC (as if there are any other store in KLCC tongue.gif), dont even have any units for field test, and they still displaying the old Nano! The only indication that the new iPods are there are those photocopied flyers.....pathetic! Malaysian consumers are subconsciously taught to buy their products without trying it , and forced to live to like it, even if it doesnt fit their needs after purchasing it. Looking it up on the web and trying it on a firsthand basis makes a whole lot of difference, especially with products with known defects like the new iPod Touch.
d3vilzzzz
post Sep 21 2007, 02:03 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

but the store in 1utama looks like its here to stay..

another thing with the ipod range is that any faults on the device..
u send it bk to dem..dey will replace the item for u..

hmm..but hw can v try before buying..most ipod range items are in sealed boxes untill v open it ourself..

does it mean..v buy edi..den on the spot test??
morgan
post Sep 21 2007, 02:13 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Sep 21 2007, 02:03 PM)

hmm..but hw can v try before buying..most ipod range items are in sealed boxes untill v open it ourself..

i believe one Apple retail at Lowyat is available for spot test. Actually, when you called up to Apple hotline, they will tell you there's no official Apple Store in Malaysia, only authorized reseller. Only Hongkong and Singapore are the main asia regional sales/distribution terrority.
stringfellow
post Sep 21 2007, 02:39 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Sep 21 2007, 02:03 PM)

Your response is the best example to show how Malaysian consumers have been preconditioned(read:brainwashed) to take this practice as the norm, rather than being entitled to a product playtest and hands-on experience that's available everywhere else. Malaysian consumer rights are a joke to begin with.

Do you know that everywhere else, outside of Malaysia, you are invited to try out the products and see if it fits your required needs? That means, yes....*gasp* an open box unit! shocking.gif Such concept is blasphemously alien here. Apple (outside Malaysia) takes it further, they complement this free "testdrive" with Genius Bars and complimentary hands-on personal training, technical support and in-depth workshops. That way, you wont have customers buying iPods, but coming in here discussion forums, blind with no clue whatsoever on how to put songs, photos, ...even videos on their iPods. I can imagine the confusion when, or IF, iPhone lands here.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 21 2007, 02:41 PM

126 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0315sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:32 AM