Windows 11, To be announce on 24 June 2021

Andrewtst
post Jul 9 2021, 10:26 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,763 posts

QUOTE(frantic912 @ Jul 8 2021, 09:23 PM)
any commend for windows 11 if daily use....
They is still some bugs and unfinished implementation.
One serious bugs is on right click the documents will flashing and sometimes unable to choose the function you want to continue, currently this can be solve by changing to double click instead of single click.

But for stability wise, it is unbelievable stable in 1st dev. beta.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jul 9 2021, 10:29 AM
Andrewtst
post Jul 9 2021, 10:57 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,763 posts

New Windows 11 Build 22000.65 is release. Now it look much better and solving some glitch in previous build. biggrin.gif

Changes
  • New Start with Search Bar and you can direct key for search at Start.
  • Icon missing at Search is solved.
  • Glitches animation at Toggle and Notification is fixed.
  • Added transparency effect at Desktop selection.
  • Better look on Keyboard Layout Selection.
Bugs not solved
  • Right click on documents still glitches if using single click.
New Start with Search Bar.

Added Transparency effect at Desktop Selection

Better look on Keyboard Layout Selection. The Windows icon need to change though.

Here is the New Microsoft 365 with rounded corner design new ribbon release today as well.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jul 9 2021, 11:23 AM
SUSlife5tyle
post Jul 9 2021, 06:31 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(frantic912 @ Jul 8 2021, 09:23 PM)
any commend for windows 11 if daily use....
Wait for official release. I tested a few bugs and some software won't work properly in Windows 11.
frantic912
post Jul 9 2021, 07:39 PM

~ Demn ~
711 posts

i just update from dev channel..i impress not to much bugs so far...
so far office work no problem
programming oso passed
audio/video editing not test yet
10 days before restore back to win 10
if no problem then i continue with win 11
Andrewtst
post Jul 9 2021, 10:06 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,763 posts

QUOTE(frantic912 @ Jul 9 2021, 07:39 PM)
i just update from dev channel..i impress not to much bugs so far...
so far office work no problem
programming oso passed
audio/video editing not test yet
10 days before restore back to win 10
if no problem then i continue with win 11
Agreed! It is surprisingly stable compared with previous Windows beta, off course they is still some bugs but it is very minor bugs and not so impact to usage.

I am going to keep it and continue the beta test. Haha!
SUSKarl Jung
post Jul 10 2021, 08:41 PM

56 posts

Does Windows 11 use a lot of CPU and ram?
Andrewtst
post Jul 10 2021, 10:23 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,763 posts

QUOTE(Karl Jung @ Jul 10 2021, 08:41 PM)
Does Windows 11 use a lot of CPU and ram?
Should be similar with Windows 10.

Here is the usage of without opening anything but only Snipping Tools with 130+ Background Processes.

Edit: The RAM usage will increasing based on your actual physical RAM.
For example, around 4 ~ 5 GB RAM usage for 16 GB System and around 7 ~ 8 GB RAM usage for 32 GB RAM system.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jul 10 2021, 11:27 PM
PJng
post Jul 10 2021, 10:34 PM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 10 2021, 10:23 PM)
Should be similar with Windows 10.

Here is the usage of without opening anything but only Snipping Tools with 130+ Background Processes.

What? No open anything use 7GB? My windows 10 no open anything about 2.0, 2.2GB
Andrewtst
post Jul 10 2021, 10:35 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,763 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Jul 10 2021, 10:34 PM)
What? No open anything use 7GB? My windows 10 no open anything about 2.0, 2.2GB
The RAM usage is based on your total RAM. It increase a lot if your RAM is more <-- this is Windows RAM management style.
If you not believe, take out one of your RAM and you will notice you use even less of RAM, or insert more RAM and later you will notice Windows use more RAM.
I got 32GB RAM, no surprise it occupied more.

Also I don't care background running processes. I had 130+ background running processes.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jul 10 2021, 10:38 PM
PJng
post Jul 10 2021, 10:44 PM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 10 2021, 10:35 PM)
The RAM usage is based on your total RAM. It increase a lot if your RAM is more <-- this is Windows RAM management style.
If you not believe, take out one of your RAM and you will notice you use even less of RAM, or insert more RAM and later you will notice Windows use more RAM.
I got 32GB RAM, no surprise it occupied more.

Also I don't care background running processes. I had 130+ background running processes.
My pc max out 8GB RAM,
Currently cannot test as my pc got problem cannot on, lazy troubleshooting now
Will see if buy new pc with 16GB RAM
Andrewtst
post Jul 10 2021, 10:45 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,763 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Jul 10 2021, 10:44 PM)
My pc max out 8GB RAM,
Currently cannot test as my pc got problem cannot on, lazy troubleshooting now
Will see if buy new pc with 16GB RAM
I notice this as I was testing the Windows 10 RAM usage at company few years ago and notice same PC with increasing of RAM will use more RAM in Windows 10.
Windows auto adjust the RAM usage based on your actual RAM capacity.

I use this to show my ex boss we cannot relied on Windows RAM usage as it is different based on your RAM capacity. Haha!

You will get around 4 ~ 5 GB RAM usage for 16 GB RAM system.

Here is my another system with 16 GB RAM running Windows 10 and it use around 4.8 GB RAM.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jul 10 2021, 11:00 PM
SUSKarl Jung
post Jul 11 2021, 01:42 PM

56 posts

Hhmn,,, looks pretty high RAM usage. 8GB really GG.
Andrewtst
post Jul 11 2021, 04:42 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,763 posts

QUOTE(Karl Jung @ Jul 11 2021, 01:42 PM)
Hhmn,,, looks pretty high RAM usage. 8GB really GG.
As I explain already, that is due to my system had 32 GB RAM. The RAM usage is similar as Windows 10. The RAM management pattern also same as Windows 10.

When without opening anything, the RAM utilize should be around as following if your system is
  • 32 GB, RAM usage will be around 8 GB
  • 16 GB, RAM usage will be around 5 GB
  • 8 GB, RAM usage will be around 3 GB
  • 4 GB, RAM usage will be around 2 GB

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jul 11 2021, 10:17 PM
1024kbps
post Jul 11 2021, 05:10 PM

李素裳
6,010 posts

Mine almost half of utilization from 48GB, if the ram is not used then it's wasted, a program run faster when it's cached on ram than on SSD/HDD,

Ram has the highest bandwidth in typical pc, only second to CPU static ram,
so by logic the program or process would be cached in ram and restored upon request, this is much faster than relaunching from hdd.
1024kbps
post Jul 12 2021, 01:02 AM

李素裳
6,010 posts

Finally installed W11 dev build, no hiccup encountered yet, but good thing is my system is much more quiet, probably r7 3700x boosting much less frequent than stable W10 build which is very annoying, even the pc is on idle mode.
sol_badguy
post Jul 12 2021, 08:40 AM

192 posts

I have a question on the snapping feature.

so does the snapping feature only allow for a maximum of 4 windows to be fitted on a screen at a particular time?

does tab browsing also enabled. if I have a maybe 10 windows, and they be tabbed or stacked side by side, ala Groupy

bzbody
post Jul 12 2021, 07:03 PM

64 posts

did u guys experience slow or sometime hard to connect viewing facebook or youtube after switching to W11? it seems i am having a hard time, my desktop and my surface is having the same issue, surface is better abit in youtube, but other website is smooth as butter

gengstapo
post Jul 12 2021, 08:06 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

I dont think u guys are newbie in computer.. Zzz
1024kbps
post Jul 12 2021, 09:01 PM

李素裳
6,010 posts

QUOTE(bzbody @ Jul 12 2021, 07:03 PM)
did u guys experience slow or sometime hard to connect viewing facebook or  youtube after switching to W11? it seems i am having a hard time, my desktop and my surface is having the same issue, surface is better abit in youtube, but other website is smooth as butter
try to use custom HTTPS-over-DNS, such as opendns, adguard or cloudflare.
https://www.howtogeek.com/660088/how-to-ena...-google-chrome/

Cloudflare for example can reduce path hopping as much as 50%
left is normal connection, right is Cloudfare WARP
petrofsky77
post Jul 12 2021, 09:47 PM

Temet nosce
1,691 posts

If I do a clean install of Win11 using ISO compiled from the Insider Program version, will it be able to update itself to a future stable release, or will it just stuck in that version and I will need to do another clean install once the RTM version comes out?

95 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:39 PM