Apple Music Lossless/ Spatial/ ATMOS Discussion, Strictly NO plan sharing request or post
TSwei
Jun 14 2021, 10:15 AM, updated 5y ago
Since I notice there are no topic related to this, let's start one.  Official TechNote: https://support.apple.com/en-my/HT212183 Right now most ppl would stuck at the dilemma where they have the source (music), but there are no way (or easy way) to output/ playback on better devices. Let's share your experience on this. Please stick to discussion on Apple Music Lossless/ Spatial Audio/ ATMOS, strictly NO plan sharing request or post. Welcome to share your playlist & hardware setup. Q&A on setup or even review on devices you using to get the best experience. My personal test songBOOM by Tiesto & SevennTest if you can tell Lossless vs CompressedPlug in your gear and try turn the ATMOS/ Spatial on/ off to feel the difference. This post has been edited by wei: Jun 14 2021, 11:46 AM
isr25
Jun 14 2021, 10:33 AM
I tried and downloaded the apple lossless for all my songs. Most of the songs on my playlist are not Dolby Atmos. Played them on my Airpod Pro, but not I'm not an audiophile so can't really discern the difference.
Nauts
Jun 14 2021, 10:50 AM
Tried on MacBook Pro this morning with Chord Mojo & Shure 1540 headphones.
3 Settings on Music preference.
Not all tracks are available with Loseless.
TSwei
Jun 14 2021, 11:05 AM
QUOTE(isr25 @ Jun 14 2021, 10:33 AM) I tried and downloaded the apple lossless for all my songs. Most of the songs on my playlist are not Dolby Atmos. Played them on my Airpod Pro, but not I'm not an audiophile so can't really discern the difference. Sadly you won't able to enjoy the hires lossless over bluetooth. QUOTE(Nauts @ Jun 14 2021, 10:50 AM) Tried on MacBook Pro this morning with Chord Mojo & Shure 1540 headphones. 3 Settings on Music preference. Not all tracks are available with Loseless. Yeah, they are still adding them. But there are few official playlist that gather those tracks. Anyway, nice setup you have there.
miyakochan89
Jun 14 2021, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(isr25 @ Jun 14 2021, 10:33 AM) I tried and downloaded the apple lossless for all my songs. Most of the songs on my playlist are not Dolby Atmos. Played them on my Airpod Pro, but not I'm not an audiophile so can't really discern the difference. lossless only for wired and also need tons of other hardwares and etc. Anyway, it doesn't really make a differences unless you have super good hardwares and very critical hearing. Most of us cannot discern the differences cause the audio compression these days are pretty good.
The~Joker
Jun 14 2021, 04:25 PM
People with Airpods Pro or Pro Max
listen to I feel it coming - The Weeknd and BOOM - Tiesto (Explicit) with Dolby Atmos on.
These songs really show off the atmos + spatial audio feature the best, quite insane when the beat drops.
andrewtho
Jun 19 2021, 03:34 PM
Okay so I’ve recently upgraded my Audio ‘rig’ thanks to Apple.
Source: iPad Pro Cans: Beyerdynamic DT1990 Pro AMP/DAC: iFi Micro iDSD Black Label
Hi-Res Lossless is very applaudable, the difference between ALAC and AAC is a huge difference and with a good hardware, you will be able to reap the benefits of this. Amazing stuff.
This post has been edited by andrewtho: Jun 19 2021, 03:39 PM
andrewtho
Jun 20 2021, 06:54 PM
QUOTE(hafiziza @ Jun 20 2021, 06:15 PM) It's not really the 'best way' but it's a convenient / portable way instead. But I do have some qualms over the Dragonfly - it's that ESS DAC chip. Not a fan and those Dragonfly are pricey - I'd suggest the THX Onyx instead, better in terms of design, cheaper and it's by default a USB-C - so you can just plug into the iPad Pro directly without additional dongle.
vivakarna
Jul 10 2021, 09:42 PM
Currently my setup to enjoy apple lossless and Hi-Res lossless are as follow:
iPhone XR > Apple lightning to USB 3 camera adapter > Topping D70s DAC > Emerald physics 100.2SE power amp > Xls Encore bookshelf speaker.
IMO apple lossless & Hi-Res lossless are better than Tidal.
TSwei
Jul 13 2021, 09:52 AM
I have to agree it is better than TIDAL. At lease when there are track issue (static noise), Apple Music will skip to next track. TIDAL will just play the whole thing.
joshhd
Jul 27 2022, 01:38 AM
QUOTE(The~Joker @ Jun 14 2021, 04:25 PM) People with Airpods Pro or Pro Max listen to I feel it coming - The Weeknd and BOOM - Tiesto (Explicit) with Dolby Atmos on. These songs really show off the atmos + spatial audio feature the best, quite insane when the beat drops. Besides this 2 songs? What other Dolby Atmos Music you guys would recommend that really shows off the Dolby Atmos effect
shaktiv8
Jul 27 2022, 01:41 AM
QUOTE(joshhd @ Jul 27 2022, 01:38 AM) Besides this 2 songs? What other Dolby Atmos Music you guys would recommend that really shows off the Dolby Atmos effect  If you have Dolby Atmos sound system and Apple TV 4K , I really recommend heat waves All of Olivia rodrigez songs also great on it
XxLCxX
Aug 9 2022, 12:14 PM
Is Airpods Pro worth it for the Dolby Atmos? Or need to get the Airpods Max for the full effect?
Tried the Beats Studio Buds but the effect is not really impressive for Atmos, seems quieter too 😕
miyakochan89
Aug 11 2022, 01:40 PM
QUOTE(vivakarna @ Jul 10 2021, 09:42 PM) Currently my setup to enjoy apple lossless and Hi-Res lossless are as follow: iPhone XR > Apple lightning to USB 3 camera adapter > Topping D70s DAC > Emerald physics 100.2SE power amp > Xls Encore bookshelf speaker. IMO apple lossless & Hi-Res lossless are better than Tidal. Mine is fiio dac and bayerdynamics headphone for all my high res and lossless music. So happy!
duckcom9 P
Sep 15 2022, 11:10 AM
There seems to be a problem with the airPod pro 1st generation. I've taken it back for the second time for repairs. Inspection fee RM80, single replacement RM480. haizzzz....
first time is crack sound free replace both airpod second time is right airpod connected with 100% battery but no sound.
engseng
Sep 25 2022, 01:38 PM
QUOTE(The~Joker @ Jun 14 2021, 04:25 PM) People with Airpods Pro or Pro Max listen to I feel it coming - The Weeknd and BOOM - Tiesto (Explicit) with Dolby Atmos on. These songs really show off the atmos + spatial audio feature the best, quite insane when the beat drops. These two songs already so good on my speakers! That stereo effect coming from both of the speakers is beautiful.
joshhd
Sep 26 2022, 12:30 AM
Since this thread talks about Spatial Audio (Dolby Atmos Music)... What you guys think about this song that is recently released in Dolby Atmos? 🤭  I Love It - Icona Pop ft. Charli XCX
Dozz
Nov 30 2022, 11:30 PM
Anyone know how to change the song title to original language?
I listen to chinese song, but in apple music.. many chinese song in english title. that kinda annoying and make it difficult to search.
Anyone can advise on this?
isr25
Dec 7 2022, 08:31 AM
QUOTE(Dozz @ Nov 30 2022, 11:30 PM) Anyone know how to change the song title to original language? I listen to chinese song, but in apple music.. many chinese song in english title. that kinda annoying and make it difficult to search. Anyone can advise on this? It is localised based on your phone & apple store language 1. Ensure you have your desired language set in appleid.apple.com 2. Set your iPhone to the desired language 3. Log out of AppStore and iTunes: iPhone settings > iTunes & App Store > tap your apple ID at the top and tap sign out 4. Force close Music app 5. Sign it back 6. Open Music app Also: Karaoke Mode on Apple Music https://www.engadget.com/apple-music-sing-k...-160939731.html / https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2022/12/appl...ple-music-sing/