> Waterproof balcony, Without removing tiles

TSSnoy
post Jun 12 2021, 10:36 PM, updated 3y ago

~SIMPLE~
1,199 posts

Any good diy way of waterproofing balcony tiled floor?
Neither awning nor re-tiling are preferred.

Does grout sealer + PU paint work?

Note: The balcony is at low human traffic.
The main enemies are rain and sunlight.
mini orchard
post Jun 12 2021, 10:51 PM

13,913 posts

QUOTE(Snoy @ Jun 12 2021, 10:36 PM)
Any good diy way of waterproofing balcony tiled floor?
Neither awning nor re-tiling are preferred.

Does grout sealer + PU paint work?

Note: The balcony is at low human traffic.
The main enemies are rain and sunlight.
Your workmanship matters how long it last.
enduser
post Jun 12 2021, 11:01 PM

1,185 posts

Try epoxy

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5130818/+80
popopi
post Jun 12 2021, 11:17 PM

1,194 posts

the sealer stuff will need redo every few years.

My kampung house no roof... just concrete floor... have to seal when the sealer start cracking up... the concrete will crack as well...
TSSnoy
post Jun 13 2021, 12:10 AM

~SIMPLE~
1,199 posts

QUOTE(enduser @ Jun 12 2021, 11:01 PM)
Epoxy does not work with UV.
Not recommended for outdoor with exposure to sunlight.

QUOTE(popopi @ Jun 12 2021, 11:17 PM)
the sealer stuff will need redo every few years.

My kampung house no roof... just concrete floor... have to seal when the sealer start cracking up... the concrete will crack as well...
I knew how to handle when it is concrete.
That could be done with sika top, sika coat or even membrane.
However, this time it’s about porcelain tiles with likely leaking grout.

mini orchard
post Jun 13 2021, 07:48 AM

13,913 posts

QUOTE(Snoy @ Jun 13 2021, 12:10 AM)
Epoxy does not work with UV.
Not recommended for outdoor with exposure to sunlight.
I knew how to handle when it is concrete.
That could be done with sika top, sika coat or even membrane.
However, this time it’s about porcelain tiles with likely leaking grout.
Remove the old filler grout b4 apply new.
TSSnoy
post Jun 13 2021, 11:23 AM

~SIMPLE~
1,199 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jun 13 2021, 07:48 AM)
Remove the old filler grout b4 apply new.
One of the reasons why I don’t prefer retiling is because hacking existing tiles will generate huge amount of noise and dust. This is not acceptable in my community during fmco.

Grinding out existing grout has similar noise pollution too.
And my balcony is rather big (~150sf) with small tiles (1x’ x 1’). I would prefer to hire professional for this tedious solution but again not permitted during fmco.

mini orchard
post Jun 13 2021, 11:46 AM

13,913 posts

QUOTE(Snoy @ Jun 13 2021, 11:23 AM)
One of the reasons why I don’t prefer retiling is because hacking existing tiles will generate huge amount of noise and dust. This is not acceptable in my community during fmco.

Grinding out existing grout has similar noise pollution too.
And my balcony is rather big (~150sf) with small tiles (1x’ x 1’). I would prefer to hire professional for this tedious solution but again not permitted during fmco.
Share some photos ?
handyboy
post Jun 13 2021, 11:55 AM

88 posts

the most practical and efficient is remove the existing tiles and screeding, apply new cementitious waterproof coating, new screeding and tiling
Phyarc
post Jun 13 2021, 12:22 PM

142 posts

Came across Nano waterproof but never used. It seals cracks. No hacking or grouting removal. Maybe you can check it out.

Products such as Seeproof or NanoG. Checkout youtube for demo.

lyt25_1234
post Jun 14 2021, 02:18 PM

1,152 posts

Torch on membrane.

0.0184sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 06:53 PM