Anyone used/using air-cooler?, As per title

TSMR 8925
post Jun 8 2021, 02:40 PM, updated 5y ago

118 posts

Anyone here using/used air-cooler? Mind if I ask for your feedback? I just googled some info, so far I got is:

- capable of reducing "wet bulb temperature" by 3-4 'C although I have no understanding on the wet bulb temperature part as it involves humidity reading (any sifus care to explain the term?)
- saves electricity cost vs air-cond by at least 1/4th ( but I think can't compare with air-cond as it can bring down the temperature to a targeted reading)
- from my understanding, getting a >130watt power consumption unit is most effective in doing the task?

I'm keeping an eye on this device and got me thinking " If i get it, I can reduce the air-cond usage and maybe reduce the overall electricity consumption in the long run? like this thing can also replace a fan right?

havuk
post Jun 8 2021, 02:50 PM

181 posts

Swamp cooler is only useful in arid climate.
Humid climate like Malaysia we need dehumidifier to bring down humidity to 40%-60%.
You can use your existing aircon in dry mode or buy a dehumidifier.
lawrencesha
post Jun 8 2021, 02:51 PM

882 posts

It is a blower/fan that also evaporates water. The air that comes out is humid/wet. Technically, it should drop the temperature a little but don't expect it to work like an air-con la - cannot compare.

ezze22
post Jun 8 2021, 02:59 PM

85 posts

There's a thread in Kopitiam section with regards of using air cooler quite recently. basically the conclusion was using air cooler in humid climate like Malaysia is useless.

You will be better off using portable air conditioner unit if installation of split unit air conditioner troubling you.
miyakochan89
post Jun 8 2021, 03:40 PM

Wut?
6,725 posts

You will end up having a lot of humid/moisture in your room/house. And you will start to see the effect on your walls first.

This post has been edited by miyakochan89: Jun 8 2021, 03:41 PM

0.0166sec    1.10    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:26 AM