[2021] macOS Monterey Discussion Thread

TSwestlife
post Oct 30 2021, 09:50 AM

12,310 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Oct 30 2021, 09:37 AM)
2018 mac mini also don’t get airplay? sweat.gif so only the latest ones does?
Yes Mac mini does not get this but surprisingly 2018 Intel based MBP or later supports it.

2018 MacBook Pro and later
2018 MacBook Air and later
2019 iMac and later
2017 iMac Pro
2019 Mac Pro
2020 Mac mini

Even my 2017 MBP does not support it. 🤣

However, I just upgraded my 2017 MBP from high hiera to this and 2018 Mac mini from Catalina to this.

I would say it is more responsive than the previous macOS。

and I discovered way to improve my mac mini 2018’s performance now. I used to find that my 2018 Mac mini is damn hot. Now I managed to use fan control app to increase the fan speed. It was always running around 1xxx rpm which it does not help in cooking the mac. Now I adjusted to max 4400 rpm. The fan noise is still quite low even at full blast. and my Mac mini remains so cool that eve the performance has improved quite significantly.

This post has been edited by westlife: Oct 30 2021, 09:57 AM
dikae
post Oct 30 2021, 10:02 AM

an apple a day
8,733 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Oct 30 2021, 09:50 AM)
Yes Mac mini does not get this but surprisingly 2018 Intel based MBP or later supports it.

2018 MacBook Pro and later
2018 MacBook Air and later
2019 iMac and later
2017 iMac Pro
2019 Mac Pro
2020 Mac mini

Even my 2017 MBP does not support it. 🤣

However, I just upgraded my 2017 MBP from high hiera to this and 2018 Mac mini from Catalina to this.

I would say it is more responsive than the previous macOS。

and I discovered way to improve my mac mini 2018’s performance now. I used to find that my 2018 Mac mini is damn hot. Now I managed to use fan control app to increase the fan speed. It was always running around 1xxx rpm which it does not help in cooking the mac. Now I adjusted to max 4400 rpm. The fan noise is still quite low even at full blast. and my Mac mini remains so cool that eve the performance has improved quite significantly.
strange even 2017 mbp support but no love for mac mini 2018 dry.gif

do you turn on your mac mini 24/7?
quadcube
post Oct 30 2021, 10:10 AM

1,771 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Oct 30 2021, 04:44 AM)
cannot be. I have Mac mini 2018. airplay to Mac does not work.
QUOTE(dikae @ Oct 30 2021, 09:37 AM)
2018 mac mini also don’t get airplay? sweat.gif so only the latest ones does?

technically any Mac with T2 chip support airplay receiver on Monterey

This post has been edited by quadcube: Oct 30 2021, 10:15 AM
TSwestlife
post Oct 30 2021, 10:28 AM

12,310 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Oct 30 2021, 10:02 AM)
strange even 2017 mbp support but no love for mac mini 2018 dry.gif

do you turn on your mac mini 24/7?
MBP 2017 also does not support. must be 2018 and above.

yes, my mac mini is on 24x7. tongue.gif
TSwestlife
post Oct 30 2021, 10:29 AM

12,310 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Oct 30 2021, 10:10 AM)

serious? then i must try. haha. thanks.
TSwestlife
post Oct 30 2021, 10:51 AM

12,310 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Oct 30 2021, 10:10 AM)

it really works. cool man. tongue.gif

now I can cast video to my dell monitor that is linked to my Mac mini 2018 from my iPhone. nice. last time, I still need to use Chromecast to do so, or even Apple TV. now without these hardware I can also cast videos. damn nice. biggrin.gif

quadcube
post Oct 30 2021, 12:23 PM

1,771 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Oct 30 2021, 10:51 AM)
it really works. cool man.  tongue.gif

now I can cast video to my dell monitor that is linked to my Mac mini 2018 from my iPhone. nice. last time, I still need to use Chromecast to do so, or even Apple TV. now without these hardware I can also cast videos. damn nice.  biggrin.gif
Yea, the only annoying thing is the all blacked out screens for multi-monitor users
TSwestlife
post Oct 30 2021, 12:36 PM

12,310 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Oct 30 2021, 12:23 PM)
Yea, the only annoying thing is the all blacked out screens for multi-monitor users
ic. haha. so far so good the Monterey to me. tongue.gif
dick1971
post Oct 30 2021, 06:49 PM

21 posts

Hi.. anyone manage to install Monterey on Macbook Pro mid 2015 using samsung ssd?..
bcoz couldnt find ori apple ssd that i swap..
Error msg..
Lego Warfare
post Nov 5 2021, 11:21 AM

4,303 posts

Monterey on MBP 16" 2019 really gives it a breath of new life. Big Sur was horrible, slow and laggy.
Ziet Inv
post Nov 11 2021, 05:46 PM

644 posts

Not sure if it is just me, but my M1 Macbook Pro seems:

1. to be having lots of Airdrop issue (unable to see other device), and when I reset the Bluetooth it just won't turn on again (until I restart)

2. occasionally the sound on Safari goes haywire (e.g. the music that I hear off the browser from YouTube/Epidemic Sound etc. will go into super-deep demon voice) until I restart the computer

Anyone?

This post has been edited by Ziet Inv: Nov 11 2021, 05:47 PM
piscesguy
post Dec 14 2021, 08:05 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,940 posts

Did anyone get 12.1 update this morning?
13th
post Dec 14 2021, 09:17 AM

rakshaha
403 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Dec 14 2021, 08:05 AM)
hellfried
post Dec 15 2021, 10:25 AM

382 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Dec 14 2021, 08:05 AM)
Have been trying to update my MBA 2020 since yesterday but the update is not showing up. Lots of people are experiencing this and it is not specific to any one model. My MBP 14" M1 Pro had no problems. The update showed up early yesterday morning on its own. But not so for the MBA.
piscesguy
post Dec 15 2021, 10:29 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,940 posts

QUOTE(hellfried @ Dec 15 2021, 10:25 AM)
Have been trying to update my MBA 2020 since yesterday but the update is not showing up. Lots of people are experiencing this and it is not specific to any one model. My MBP 14" M1 Pro had no problems. The update showed up early yesterday morning on its own. But not so for the MBA.
I downloaded the full macOS Monterey 12gb from the apple store and installed this morning.

Now I m on 12.1, decided not to wait for the system update to come up.
hellfried
post Dec 15 2021, 10:34 AM

382 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Dec 15 2021, 10:29 AM)
I downloaded the full macOS Monterey 12gb from the apple store and installed this morning.

Now I m on 12.1, decided not to wait for the system update to come up.
Tried that route too. But the installation got stuck at "52 minutes left" for hours. So I gave up finally.
dikae
post Dec 15 2021, 04:28 PM

an apple a day
8,733 posts

QUOTE(Ziet Inv @ Nov 11 2021, 05:46 PM)
Not sure if it is just me, but my M1 Macbook Pro seems:

1. to be having lots of Airdrop issue (unable to see other device), and when I reset the Bluetooth it just won't turn on again (until I restart)

2. occasionally the sound on Safari goes haywire (e.g. the music that I hear off the browser from YouTube/Epidemic Sound etc. will go into super-deep demon voice) until I restart the computer

Anyone?
Didn’t get this issue on my M1 mbp…have you tried a fresh reset?

This post has been edited by dikae: Dec 15 2021, 04:28 PM
Ziet Inv
post Dec 15 2021, 04:50 PM

644 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Dec 15 2021, 04:28 PM)
Didn’t get this issue on my M1 mbp…have you tried a fresh reset?
I have no idea why too, it occurs like 2 to 3 days a week, enough to make me go subscribe the largest iCloud tongue.gif

I've tried resetting the bluetooth module as some angmoh forum suggested, still didn't work thou.

This happened with my old 13" M1 MBP and my iPhone 11 too, so now that it happened again on my 16" M1 Max MBP with my iphone, i dont know if there's anything to do with my iphone

Separately, my 13" MBP was "migrated" from my 13" MBA which consists of all of the old files.
However, my new 16" MBP was installed from a fresh start, so it's safe to assume the bluetooth/settings whatever isn't affected by any old files.

I also don't know what to do, thought of visiting Machines to ask but then this thing is on and off (totally unpredictable bangwall.gif )
sp6068
post Dec 15 2021, 09:41 PM

Lights Out and Away We Go!
1,604 posts

Those unable to get 12.1

1.) Open System Preferences > Software Update. Confirm that no update is available, and leave the window open.
2.) Open Applications > Utilities > Activity Monitor.
3.) Go to View > All Processes
4.) Search for 'com.apple.MobileSoftwareUpdate.UpdateBrainService' . Select it and click Force Quit.
5.) The 12.1 Update should appear in System Preferences. Click Update Now.
6.) The update may not download - force quit the com.apple.MobileSoftwareUpdate.UpdateBrainService again using Activity Monitor to start the download.

SUSWahlberg
post Dec 17 2021, 07:49 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(Ziet Inv @ Dec 15 2021, 04:50 PM)
I have no idea why too, it occurs like 2 to 3 days a week, enough to make me go subscribe the largest iCloud  tongue.gif

I've tried resetting the bluetooth module as some angmoh forum suggested, still didn't work thou.

This happened with my old 13" M1 MBP and my iPhone 11 too, so now that it happened again on my 16" M1 Max MBP with my iphone, i dont know if there's anything to do with my iphone

Separately, my 13" MBP was "migrated" from my 13" MBA which consists of all of the old files.
However, my new 16" MBP was installed from a fresh start, so it's safe to assume the bluetooth/settings whatever isn't affected by any old files.

I also don't know what to do, thought of visiting Machines to ask but then this thing is on and off (totally unpredictable bangwall.gif )
U think older macbook 2007 can update ? Seeing your post ... chances are slim to none

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0187sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:27 PM