MacBook Pro Alternative

TScorad
post Jun 4 2021, 12:58 AM, updated 5y ago

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,403 posts

so with WFH, the company is providing a new laptop (MacBook Pro 16") OR equivalent by claim if we choose our own machine.

Most important to me are :

1. Display
2. Speaker
3. Battery Life
4. Light Weight

Reason I didn't jump on the MBP is due to MacOS which I have never used before. Most of our applications are web-based anyway, but personally I would prefer to continue using Windows. As there's currently no bootcamp for M1, it's a compromise that I'm not willing to make yet.

I was thinking of the Thinkpad X1 Gen 9, but past experience with Thinkpad is the very bloated software package (ThinkVantage etc etc).

Any suggestions ?
Orzie
post Jun 4 2021, 01:41 AM

335 posts

I would suggest you to try out MBP though, as you said most of the applications you use are web-based anyway, smaller learning curve.

I'm using a Gen 6 X1 Carbon, very satisfied with its exterior and specs.

My only complaint would be the OS though.

Windows being Windows, it has hiccups from time-to-time such as inaccurate mousepad, insensitive fingerprint scanner, sudden freeze/ lag, unstable connection with Type C expansion hub etc.
The laptop had also for a few times, unable to wake from sleep/hibernate, thank god its hard reset button saved the days.

The only reason I have not replaced it with MBP yet is because I can hook it to Razer Core for some gaming lol.
Icehart
post Jun 4 2021, 02:09 PM

14,904 posts

Macbook Pro 16" is using Intel, not M1. There is bootcamp support.
acbc
post Jun 4 2021, 02:11 PM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Jun 4 2021, 12:58 AM)
so with WFH, the company is providing a new laptop (MacBook Pro 16") OR equivalent by claim if we choose our own machine.

Most important to me are :

1. Display
2. Speaker
3. Battery Life
4. Light Weight

Reason I didn't jump on the MBP is due to MacOS which I have never used before. Most of our applications are web-based anyway, but personally I would prefer to continue using Windows. As there's currently no bootcamp for M1, it's a compromise that I'm not willing to make yet.

I was thinking of the Thinkpad X1 Gen 9, but past experience with Thinkpad is the very bloated software package (ThinkVantage etc etc).

Any suggestions ?
ThinkPad with W10 very minimal bloatware. Myself is a ThinkPad collector and restorer for about 2 years.
TScorad
post Jun 4 2021, 02:28 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jun 4 2021, 02:09 PM)
Macbook Pro 16" is using Intel, not M1. There is bootcamp support.
sorry didn't make it clear from my 1st post that we're given 6 months (basically till end of the year) to buy a new machine. So I was looking at the yet to be released 'new' MBP smile.gif

QUOTE(Orzie @ Jun 4 2021, 01:41 AM)
I would suggest you to try out MBP though, as you said most of the applications you use are web-based anyway, smaller learning curve.

I'm using a Gen 6 X1 Carbon, very satisfied with its exterior and specs.

My only complaint would be the OS though.

Windows being Windows, it has hiccups from time-to-time such as inaccurate mousepad, insensitive fingerprint scanner, sudden freeze/ lag, unstable connection with Type C expansion hub etc.
The laptop had also for a few times, unable to wake from sleep/hibernate, thank god its hard reset button saved the days.

The only reason I have not replaced it with MBP yet is because I can hook it to Razer Core for some gaming lol.
QUOTE(acbc @ Jun 4 2021, 02:11 PM)
ThinkPad with W10 very minimal bloatware. Myself is a ThinkPad collector and restorer for about 2 years.
I'm provided with a Thinkpad x250 on WM10 since we used to attend off-site meetings alot. Definitely very survivable, but not great for movies since WFH tongue.gif
Icehart
post Jun 4 2021, 02:35 PM

14,904 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Jun 4 2021, 02:28 PM)
sorry didn't make it clear from my 1st post that we're given 6 months (basically till end of the year) to buy a new machine. So I was looking at the yet to be released 'new' MBP  smile.gif
I'm provided with a Thinkpad x250 on WM10 since we used to attend off-site meetings alot. Definitely very survivable, but not great for movies since WFH  tongue.gif
I look forward to the new MBP too. Few more days. smile.gif
acbc
post Jun 4 2021, 02:38 PM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Jun 4 2021, 02:28 PM)
sorry didn't make it clear from my 1st post that we're given 6 months (basically till end of the year) to buy a new machine. So I was looking at the yet to be released 'new' MBP  smile.gif
I'm provided with a Thinkpad x250 on WM10 since we used to attend off-site meetings alot. Definitely very survivable, but not great for movies since WFH  tongue.gif
X250 is light but comes with a crappy HD display and a lousy short built-in battery. The trackpad with separate left and right buttons is a godsend.
TScorad
post Jun 4 2021, 08:50 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Jun 4 2021, 02:38 PM)
X250 is light but comes with a crappy HD display and a lousy short built-in battery. The trackpad with separate left and right buttons is a godsend.
mine has a 1920 x 1080 screen + 9 cell battery. I use the "nipple" rather than trackpad.

apart from showing it's age (and gets hot easily), really annoyed how I need to use VB-Audio to share system sounds in Google Meet. This small issue has caused me to re-think (pun intended) on getting another Thinkpad.

acbc
post Jun 4 2021, 08:58 PM

9,052 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Jun 4 2021, 08:50 PM)
mine has a 1920 x 1080 screen + 9 cell battery. I use the "nipple" rather than trackpad.

apart from showing it's age (and gets hot easily), really annoyed how I need to use VB-Audio to share system sounds in Google Meet. This small issue has caused me to re-think (pun intended) on getting another Thinkpad.
Lucky yours is BTO top spec model.

0.0186sec    1.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:04 AM