Maxis charges for retrieving voicemail

TSziling60
post Jun 1 2021, 08:23 PM, updated 5y ago

523 posts

I only wanted to enable miss call notification (which is a free of charge service), however Maxis miss call notification service comes with voicemail altogether. Voicemail is not something i favour hence I asked them to terminate the voicemail but keep the miss call notification service active, they told me they cant do it. Both has to be active or inactive at the same time.

The issue is - I never wanted voicemail, but when others called me and could not reach me, they will always be led to voicemail which some of them left the voicemail. In order to know whose call I have missed, I have to dial 121 to retrieve the voicemail, then Maxis will again charge me $0.20 per minute for retrieving the voicemail. That would be unfair isnt it? What a tactic for Maxis to earn extra income from voicemail retrieval itself. Should they have provided this service for free since I'm paying monthly fee? Bloody money sucker.

Has anyone encounter same issue as me and successfully brought this case up to MCM for complaint etc? Would love to hear your thoughts.
fireballs
post Jun 1 2021, 08:25 PM

5,650 posts

Call them to disable voicemail
mengsuan
post Jun 3 2021, 01:01 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Of course free is good but voicemail had been a chargeable service since the decades ago and it is the same practice for all telco.
Disabling voicemail or ignoring voicemails will be the way to go.
p4n6
post Jun 6 2021, 08:11 PM

5,974 posts

Missed Call Notification is just a sms to inform you that you have a missed call with the phone number.

It has nothing to do with voicemail - voicemail is chargeable only when u retrieve the voicemail. If you dun call the 121 number, you will not be charged.
JLA
post Jun 8 2021, 08:45 AM

2,795 posts

celcom and mvno disable voicemail will also disable Missed Call Notification SMS

depend of telco setup

0.0191sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:28 AM