> How much weight can this support

TSneo_6053
post Jun 1 2021, 02:40 PM, updated 3y ago

642 posts

How much weight can this kind of step/elevated floor support?
I wonder can it support a double decker bed since there's only 4 legs for the bedframe, will it poke the wooden floor =_=

TSneo_6053
post Jun 1 2021, 02:43 PM

642 posts

Will this kind of design distribute weight more evenly? instead of 4 legs

This post has been edited by neo_6053: Jun 1 2021, 02:43 PM
popopi
post Jun 1 2021, 02:46 PM

1,194 posts

identify the stud... make sure the leg is on that, should be fine.
u have the before after of his floor? can see the skeleton inside?

Also that level flood usually mean for tilam only... structure wise cannot gurantee.

This post has been edited by popopi: Jun 1 2021, 02:47 PM
fireballs
post Jun 1 2021, 02:54 PM

5,627 posts

The elevated floor suppose for you to sleep tatami
Zot
post Jun 1 2021, 02:57 PM

7,591 posts

I don't have idea about the load. Depends on how the base was not. More on the wood framing below.

The laminated floor board is not joint at the same row to provide grip but then long end joints between boards could be just floating by itself and that would be the flex point although each board is short thus strong. That is the worry of having 4 legs type of board.

Maybe can put one strip of 1/2" plywood strip to distribute weight as precaution?
mini orchard
post Jun 1 2021, 03:17 PM

13,913 posts

Not sure why anyone wants to raise the floor and have a bed.

Proper planning have to be done during reno then to decide if requires a bed, then the old platform to be dismantle or not constructed.

It also depends on the weight of the person using the bed and the type of mattress. Two small kids will have less pressure on the platform. Cant say for two adults. Foam mattress will be lighter compared to spring type.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jun 1 2021, 03:17 PM
TSneo_6053
post Jun 1 2021, 03:39 PM

642 posts

the design is from previous owner. ya, previously they sleep like tatami, but I got kids and not enough space.. thus wondering can it support ... or i should just dismantle it .. sad.gif
although i like the wooden floor.
TSneo_6053
post Jun 1 2021, 03:42 PM

642 posts

QUOTE(popopi @ Jun 1 2021, 02:46 PM)
identify the stud... make sure the leg is on that, should be fine.
u have the before after of his floor? can see the skeleton inside?

Also that level flood usually mean for tilam only... structure wise cannot gurantee.
unfortunately dont have.. coz I bought the house with it
popopi
post Jun 1 2021, 03:45 PM

1,194 posts

QUOTE(neo_6053 @ Jun 1 2021, 03:42 PM)
unfortunately dont have.. coz I bought the house with it
can try the ketuk ketuk method... but cannot promise 100% accurate. tongue.gif

use it for now. install anything u need.. until the floor start to koyak, then reno again thumbup.gif sweat.gif
popopi
post Jun 1 2021, 03:46 PM

1,194 posts

QUOTE(neo_6053 @ Jun 1 2021, 02:43 PM)
Will this kind of design distribute weight more evenly? instead of 4 legs

this is better bet for the floor to last longer... thumbsup.gif
mini orchard
post Jun 1 2021, 03:54 PM

13,913 posts

QUOTE(neo_6053 @ Jun 1 2021, 03:39 PM)
the design is from previous owner. ya, previously they sleep like tatami, but I got kids and not enough space.. thus wondering can it support ... or i should just dismantle it .. sad.gif
although i like the wooden floor.
B4 you decide to dismantle the platform, if you are buying the 4 legs metal bed, you can cut 4 holes on the platform and insert the legs until it touches the floor.

If you are ok with the design, then maintain it.

If you want it to look neater, cut away the excess length of the leg so that the bottom bed sits exactly on the platform. Do proper measurement. Once you cut too long, then it wont sit on floor anymore.

Decide properly the placement b4 cutting the hole.

Actually is a nice platform and it will be a waste to throw it away.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jun 1 2021, 04:31 PM
Phyarc
post Jun 1 2021, 05:04 PM

142 posts

If haven't bought that double becker bed and open to new idea, can consider this.

TSneo_6053
post Jun 1 2021, 05:20 PM

642 posts

QUOTE(Phyarc @ Jun 1 2021, 05:04 PM)
If haven't bought that double becker bed and open to new idea, can consider this.

i really ever think of that .. LOLOL
except I have to commit to it. coz once it's fixed, no turning back .haha

I was thinking like this.. loteng.. lol .. but turns out quite costly .. like few thousand

Also , problem with the height of the room, because my house is 9ft6 .. now new inch already gone with the step. then making this not sure hv enough height or not

This post has been edited by neo_6053: Jun 1 2021, 05:23 PM
mini orchard
post Jun 1 2021, 05:50 PM

13,913 posts

QUOTE(Phyarc @ Jun 1 2021, 05:04 PM)

Walao eh ! to change the mattress sheet is a monthly challenge.
Phyarc
post Jun 1 2021, 10:01 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(neo_6053 @ Jun 1 2021, 05:20 PM)
i really ever think of that .. LOLOL
except I have to commit to it. coz once it's fixed, no turning back .haha

I was thinking like this.. loteng.. lol .. but turns out quite costly .. like few thousand
Also , problem with the height of the room, because my house is 9ft6 .. now new inch already gone with the step. then making this not sure hv enough height or not
Can lower to normal bunk bed height (1.4m underside) since below is another bed (not for standing). I know it is drastic. Just throwing idea, who knows.
With many options above, you try out one and let us know outcome.

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jun 1 2021, 05:50 PM)
Walao eh ! to change the mattress sheet is a monthly challenge.
lol. my nieces had one loft bed like this, installed wall to wall. no complaints, but theirs had higher headroom at loft.
Michaelbyz23
post Jun 2 2021, 08:07 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,541 posts

Need to see if the joist is sturdy, and how was the subfloor installed.
TSneo_6053
post Jun 15 2021, 01:29 AM

642 posts

QUOTE(Phyarc @ Jun 1 2021, 10:01 PM)
Can lower to normal bunk bed height (1.4m underside) since below is another bed (not for standing). I know it is drastic. Just throwing idea, who knows.
With many options above, you try out one and let us know outcome.
lol. my nieces had one loft bed like this, installed wall to wall. no complaints, but theirs had higher headroom at loft.
Btw, you have any contact to make loft bed? smile.gif
Phyarc
post Jun 15 2021, 12:43 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(neo_6053 @ Jun 15 2021, 01:29 AM)
Btw, you have any contact to make loft bed? smile.gif
Don't have design & built contact that specialise in doing this.
My brother DIY as he is an engineer and contractor, but not in Klang Valley.
Anyhow, can get metalworks contractor to make them. Will PM you.

Do consider:
1) cost
2) load bearing
3) JMB/MC approval

To get quotation, probably just send room photo and dimension you want to do.

If you self design with contractor, then consider the fixing.
Structure+plywood+mattress+human+extra capacity = total load.
Then each wall/ceiling plug take how much divided point load.

Doing on masonry wall should be straightforward. But installing on RC shear wall, may need to inform JMB/MC.

0.0169sec    0.87    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:48 AM