Disney+Hotstar MY is AVAILABLE NOW!, On all supported platform

happyking4ever
post Jun 1 2021, 09:33 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(reed90 @ Jun 1 2021, 08:41 AM)
so netflix can tapau now?
Disney+ is a long way to compete with netflix at this moment. And someone seem to said Disney+ here does not even have the full content of Disney+ in USA.

happyking4ever
post Jun 1 2021, 10:58 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Jun 1 2021, 10:45 AM)
Are you..

A MARVEL die hard fan?
A STAR WARS die hard fan?
A DISNEY CARTOON lover?
An avid DOCUMENTARY fan?
An Astro Movie Pack owner?

If yes to all the Qs above - then it’s worth it.
Else no.
But I want to watch Alias tongue.gif
happyking4ever
post Jun 1 2021, 04:59 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jun 1 2021, 04:18 PM)
will go quarterly till new announcement haha
No need to worry about future price. They can change it anytime anyway. Like last time TVB Anywhere market itself as RM5 per month, then suddenly changed to RM39.95 per month.

happyking4ever
post Jun 1 2021, 05:01 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(coldbasecamp @ Jun 1 2021, 04:31 PM)
the user experience is totally terrible compared to Netflix, no shared-account settings, some movie DON'T EVEN HAVE SUBTITLE IN ENGLISH (BUT GOT SUBTITLE IN TAMIL!!!)

don't get me wrong, I was expecting English subtitle on a English movie, but SURPRISE!

I think Hotstar totally ruin Disney+, sila berambus daripada Malaysian market.
Sounds like iFlix during its early days. I am surprised HotStar launched this service in Indonesia earlier though, expecting Indonesians to read subtitles in Tamil? It should not be difficult for them to employ some cheap kuli to code English subtitles, and HotStar has been around in India for many years. They called it the Netflix for India.

"Hotstar (stylized as hotstar) is an Indian subscription video on-demand streaming service operated by Disney Media and Entertainment Distribution, a division of The Walt Disney Company. This service was launched and owned by Star India for a streaming service carrying content from 21st Century Fox and its local networks, including films, television series, live sports, and original programming, as well as content from third-party content licensed from third-parties such as HBO, Showtime and Sony Pictures. Amid the significant growth of mobile broadband in India, Hotstar quickly became the dominant streaming service in the country.

Following the acquisition of Star India's parent company 21st Century Fox by Disney in 2019, Disney added the content library of its new international streaming brand Disney+ to Hotstar in April 2020, including Disney+ original programming, and films and television series from its main content brands of Walt Disney Studios, Lucasfilm, Marvel Studios, National Geographic, and Pixar. The resulting service was co-branded as Disney+ Hotstar.

Hotstar also operates in Canada, Singapore, the United Kingdom, and the United States. These services target overseas Indians, and focus primarily on Star India's domestic entertainment and sports content (Disney+ operates as a standalone service in these markets). Hotstar has also extended the Disney+-integrated version of its service into other markets such as Indonesia, and Malaysia and plans to launch the service in the Philippines, and Thailand in 2021."

To think that they cannot even provide proper subtitles, while currently owned by Disney. I think some senior management is sleeping. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by happyking4ever: Jun 1 2021, 05:05 PM
happyking4ever
post Jun 3 2021, 11:45 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(jimmychangas @ Jun 3 2021, 10:00 AM)
Ayam very sad and angry because Malaysia ALWAYS gets the shortest end of the stick.

In the U.S.:
- Disney+ with Premier Access
- Hulu (can be bundled with Disney+)
- ESPN+

In Australia:
- Star (which is basically Hulu but for international market, not to be confused with Hotstar which is totally different)

For Malaysia?
- Disney+ WITHOUT Premier Access
- Hotstar (which we all know by now, is hugely inferior compared to even India's own Hotstar, let alone Star in other countries

To rub it in our sad faces, here's Singapork:
- Star
- Hotstar as a standalone service (WTF)

I don't really mind that much if we don't get Star (sedarlah kita 3rd world country), but why the fuck is Premier Access excluded from our Disney+ la??
You can try VPN to US, or Australia, or to Singapore D+ website, you should be able to see Cruella being made available in Premier Access. Ours xde.

That means when Black Widow comes out July 9th, these countries can stream the movie immediately, while us Msians will have to wait between 45 days to 90 days before the movie gets trickled down to the standard Disney+.

Fuck this shit.
Singapore > Malaysia since 1990s. Amazon ships some stuffs to Singapore not Malaysia, even though it is just next to it. Many services are available in Singapore but not Malaysia. Biasa lah. This kind of treatments from western countries.

So answer is Shopee. whistling.gif
happyking4ever
post Jun 3 2021, 11:46 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(terryfu @ Jun 3 2021, 11:44 AM)
Symptom of our country. No competitive advantage and cant compete globally.

Thats why nowadays content is king (not infrastructure or worse distribution service as this is so easily copyable). Why amazon prime, netflix all wanna acquire content companies. Only thing astro can do is provide local content but market is so small. Hence India can still do because of bollywood industry and China will be same as well. Not sure how big is other ASEAN markets.

Anyway i already discon astro since Feb. Ask me to give back the box tapi never come and collect. Save 1800 every year. was waiting for disney+ only and hopefully come with the Fox Sports but looks like have to wait a bit longer.
Market size is not truly the issue. Korea is doing pretty well nowadays. It depends on how you want to market it and how much the government wants to control it.

happyking4ever
post Jun 3 2021, 02:26 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Jun 3 2021, 12:23 PM)
Actually not much difference. Disney+ library is not that big compared to Netflix but they are slowly adding Fox contents. A lot of the Star Wars and Marvel movies are not something we have not watched before.

The main reason I am subscribing is for the new series like Mandalorian and Marvel series. Also the cartoons library for kids are more popular stuff compared to Netflix.
Is the cartoon library dubbed in Malay or in English?

happyking4ever
post Jun 3 2021, 02:31 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Jun 3 2021, 12:08 PM)
What content the US has we dont have?
I saw most Marvel dramas and Star Wars contents are there …
My worry now is the dub. not so much of the content.
happyking4ever
post Jun 3 2021, 02:48 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Jun 3 2021, 02:33 PM)
Why worry about dub?
I always watch with original audio. Dub just feel wrong.

0.0470sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:20 AM