thoughts on slotted / drilled rotor?, planning to upgrade but alot of myths

cyapd
post May 31 2021, 03:10 PM

Who am I?
1,489 posts

Get a set of higher temp brake pads will give you better braking. Your caliper and brake pads are the same but change rotors. Wouldn’t help much, the diff would be very minimal. Swap a set of SS brake hose would do better than just a rotor swap.
cyapd
post Jun 3 2021, 03:43 PM

Who am I?
1,489 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 3 2021, 02:52 PM)
thats not how u go about it. u should look at the 3 components as a kit and do everything all in 1 go. has a lot to do with fitment (gotta make sure ur wheels also has the clearance for the upgraded brakes). if u only upgrade rotor now, u will be stuck with the stock size rotor and dimensions. caliper choices will most likely be limited to just 1 - ur original (unless ur car has a massive aftermarket for PnP caliper for the stock rotor, which i doubt. coz even Hondas has minimal aftermarket for this)
it doesnt help in braking distance. thats what people tend to get confused about. even if it does, its likely negligible.

slotted and drilled rotors are more for removal and dispersion of the gas build up during HARD USE. not town use. and that oso, this gas build up is more to asbestos based brake pads.....and asbestos based brake pads no longer exists these days.

supposedly better for heat management as well but then again... especially with cross drilled rotors, you have lesser surface area for heat dissipation...so this part cant say much
as many have said, for ur use and also ur stated priorities. stick to original and just upgrade the pads. the pads will give u MUCH more benefit than a rotor change. and depending on the pad, it can be cheaper than the rotor change but still give u MUCH better braking than the rotor ever will. u can install a supercar brake system in ur car with a massive cross drilled and slotted rotor and gajillion pot caliper, but if u pair that with lousy pads, ull still get lousy braking. the pad upgrade will help more in lowering braking distance than the rotor.

ive had stock brakes upgraded to custom slotted rotors.... no diff. i then upgraded the caliper from single pot to a custom 4pot kit....not much difference... the absolute biggest change ive ever had was when i was on single pot, and upgraded to better brake pads. when i went 4pot i used the same pads as well and seriously, not much diff in terms of bite even on track.
now, if the actual real reason ur interested in slotted n cross drilled is for the looks. just go for it... if thats the case then be honest to urself.....ur just here to try n justify ur purchase. which as u can see from the posts, is not really justifiable based on ur stated priorities and usage. but if looks is what ur after, no need to justify and just go get it.
Sadly many mod their car parts without weighing the safety aspects. Especially fake BBK. If wanna go for both looks and performance, just go for the brembo refurbished/recond 18z or f50. Pricey? Yes, but definitely better than a set of fakes from Thai, Taiwan or even China.
cyapd
post Jul 24 2021, 11:15 PM

Who am I?
1,489 posts

QUOTE(darkdevilrey @ Jul 24 2021, 10:04 PM)

hi sifus

came across these 2 rotor at shopee

plain to upgrade to my Perodua

which is better
Neither. Get the trw xps instead and pair with their dtec ceramic brake pads.

0.0171sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:28 AM