Unifi Connection Issue to International Server, Occured usually at night 9-11pm

leezhijiang
post Jan 29 2023, 04:15 PM

272 posts

This is my experience regarding slow international connection issue During 2012 - 2014

Slow connection to international sites has been there since Streamyx era where you will face slow downlaod speeds when downloading files from international servers. Movie and video streaming also keeps bufferring.

My expereince is no point contatcing them to lodge reports or even escalating this to higher up because in the end the result is the same

1. Customer service has no idea what you are talking about.
2. Technical guy will come to your house pluck in their equipment to use. As long as Youtube, Facebook, SpeedtTest OK, they will say OK no problem close case.

For my case, I did escalate by bombaring the then Prime Minister Najib Razak qustiojing him why he allow TM to cheat customer by throttling connection speed. I did able to produce evidences to a special offcier that help me on my case. So that special offier did help me to work wit MCMC on that. TM high level technican did came to my house a few times, test this test that and show him how I have proven that TM is throttling connection.

In the end, they have admitted that (They are indeed throtlting connection) openly in the conference call between officer from PMO, MCMC that they are indeed throttling connection because they do not have so much bandwidth allocation from international counterparts and the working relationship is not that great either. This issue is face by everyone throughout the nation.

They said you can try to upgarde to Unifi for an improved expereince or use VPN for now. My connection was smooth for quite sometime and I switched to Unifi a year later. Never face those issues anymore until the past 1 year.

This post has been edited by leezhijiang: Jan 29 2023, 04:18 PM
leezhijiang
post Jan 30 2023, 11:54 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ Jan 30 2023, 02:06 AM)
Just saying, somehow they also having different QoS applied, it is true for Melaka that they have much more throttling going on than others.

For example, I spotted 480kbps throttling on Google(Yes, all google ASN at Malaysia, local server), even search page take 3-5s for loading instead of 1s.
But, after I go to Melaka - UniFi area which just 30M RM 159, the throttle gone, just gone.
Google smooth, Youtube smooth, China server smooth, until free speed upgrade happen.

So yes, they apply heavy QoS on Streamyx, I will guess it take higher cost to maintain than fiber that is passive?
As Streamyx you need to change the cable from time to time too, to fix the noise caused by old cable, also more CS to serve Streamyx users.

Also for extra, I had done some research on TM WiFi which using @biz or something(forget), they did can control the QoS on their side, unsure Biz user gonna get higher QoS priority or not. tongue.gif
----
Anyways, for my Melaka case, it seem like solved 80% after I report about 200ms and crash down of that route point, 20% is confirmed by switching to UniFi Mobile.
For Taobao, I also using JP DNS and confirmed it is indeed the Aliyun MY is worst than Aliyun HK/JP... sweat.gif

Haiz, CDN MY still gonna be xxxx than CDN SG or HK, as no Google/Facebook undersea cable connect to Malaysia... sweat.gif
Currently even with Unifi, streaming from dandanzhan and other streaing sites seems to be slow. However, I didn't see a problem for Netflix. When reach out to TM, they claimed that they can't do anything and said this is instruction from MCMC. I reached out to MCMC for clarifcation and there's no such instruction was given.

Now TM is in hot soup and they need to resolve this as soon as possible.
leezhijiang
post Jan 30 2023, 02:39 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ Jan 30 2023, 12:17 PM)
They can't, lack of the undersea cable direct to point, and gov stop the plan to Google/FB, so how they gonna fix it?
Just give more money to SG for higher speed? laugh.gif
GG lor. Need to tahan slow internet connection for few more years.
leezhijiang
post Nov 24 2025, 10:39 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Sep 27 2025, 02:17 AM)
Short answer: As long as you plug in your network cable and Ookla speedtest (with telco server) give you the speed, you cannot touch them.

That's the agreement they have with MCMC. That's also what is specified in their T&C with you.
No telco will admit they have a congestion issue, forever and ever.
If the technician visit your place, understand your story, he still must buat bodoh and not tell you it is due to congestion.

What you do next is up to you:
Downgrade your package if your usage is only during evening time, where congestion happens. Or cancel your fiber altogether if mobile data serve your needs.

Changing telco is another option, provided you know they are not as shitty.

Use VPN which does not traverse the congested path. This option involves a lot of trial and error. Basically start with any VPN with peering at MyIX and test them first. Try those that offer money back guarantee first in case they don't work.

You can build your own VPN on path that is known to never congest, like PNI towards Google Cloud, Microsoft Azure or Amazon Web Services. You will be billed by data transfer if you use this method so use this selectively for important task. Don't route all your traffic.

Shop for VPS that has direct peering in any of the local data center and try them instead of the big cloud. The downside is that you need one month commitment. Where big cloud like Amazon has spot instances and per second billing granularity.

Layan YouTube or any Meta services which won't congest because they are served directly inside TM. Same goes for all OTT offering from TM.
I faced this issue during Najib era (my college years) where they are very reluctant to look into my issues and pretend everything is ok even after MCMC escalation. They just refused to admit on the congestion and international bandwidth shaping they did. For every evidence I provided on they actually doing throttling, I looped in Najib and the Minister of communication. I also looped in TM, KDN and Ministry of communication in my email to TM upstream provider which are located overseas that highlight why are they bullying Malaysian by not providing enough bandwidth (Even though I know TM didn't pay enough) and say Malaysia got a big army with nukes, so don't bully Malaysian please. I got evidence that TM did revert that say the problem not with us is with the upstream provider, so I attached it as well.

That get escalated extensively as I was looped in email between KDN, PMO, RMA, MOC and TM. I was getting follow up calls every week asking is my connection was good, face any more buffering issues when streaming movies , able to download the software / materials needed for my studies and etc ... From that onwards, there's no more lagging issue until now for the Unifi connection in my parents house Of course, I was invited to the counsellor room and dean office respectively ...

This post has been edited by leezhijiang: Nov 24 2025, 10:40 AM

0.0672sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:16 AM