Renovation on Landed Property during MCO 3.0

TSBlackPen
post May 24 2021, 04:17 PM, updated 5y ago

GOD Hand
867 posts

Hi all,

Purchased a landed double story at Puchong Area under MPSepang area and not guard and gated like Ecoworld.

Recently just get my key and wanted to start the renovation. Today just started to hack floor tiles and there is a problem occur.

One of the neighbor asks us to stop hacking because she is a school teacher who want to do online classes and the same goes for her children need to attend online classes.

Anyone facing such issues before? my Contractor did have a Miti letter to work.

Here is the few question wanna ask:
1) Do she have the right not to giving me to do a renovation works?
2) Recently MCO 3.0 any restriction rules that mention it?
3) Do I need to get a police surat?
4) Only renovate internally and without changes/amend on the existing structure, do I need to get a license to renovate?

notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by BlackPen: May 24 2021, 04:35 PM
mini orchard
post May 24 2021, 04:25 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(BlackPen @ May 24 2021, 04:17 PM)
Hi all,

Purchased a landed double story at Puchong Area under MPSepang area and not guard and gated like Ecoworld.

Recently just get my key and wanted to start the renovation. Today just started to hack floor tiles and there is a problem occur.

One of the neighbor asks us to stop hacking because she is a school teacher who want to do online classes and the same goes for her children.

The question here:-
4) Only renovate internally and without changes/amend on the existing structure, do I need to get a license to renovate?

notworthy.gif
1. No

2. No.

3. No.

4. No.

Mon to Sat .... 9am to 6pm.

Sun ... No work to be done.
TSBlackPen
post May 24 2021, 04:27 PM

GOD Hand
867 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ May 24 2021, 04:25 PM)
1. No

2. No.

3. No.

4. No.

Mon to Sat .... 9am to 6pm.

Sun ... No work to be done.
Thank you, the most headache part is the relation with the neighbor. If I don't care and continue renovation next time will doh.gif doh.gif
mini orchard
post May 24 2021, 04:33 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(BlackPen @ May 24 2021, 04:27 PM)
Thank you, the most headache part is the relation with the neighbor. If I don't care and continue renovation next time will  doh.gif  doh.gif
Have a friendly chat with her and assure her you will try to finish quickly. Apologise for any inconveniences.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: May 24 2021, 08:44 PM
Michaelbyz23
post May 24 2021, 04:57 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,558 posts

Actually I faced similar situation as yours, but its about the neighbor pouring their sand and bricks on my unit.
My unit has been vacant since VP, but I was not staying there, so I just leave it.

Perhaps, you may just speak to your neighbor and give her a commitment that you will get the project done within a set time frame.
Phyarc
post May 24 2021, 08:48 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(BlackPen @ May 24 2021, 04:17 PM)
Hi all,

One of the neighbor asks us to stop hacking because she is a school teacher who want to do online classes and the same goes for her children need to attend online classes.

Here is the few question wanna ask:

notworthy.gif
FYI, some internal works require MINOR WORKS PERMIT/Permit Kerja Kecil, without plan approval.
Definition differs slightly from authority to authority.

Works which does not require permit:
1. painting
2. panel ceiling without plastering
3. AC
4. factory ready items (grille, pond, lights)

Works which requires permit:
1. wall and floor tiling / plastering / rendering
2. ceiling with plastering
3. plumbing/electrical
4. grille with site weld
5. sometimes, built-in cabinet too
In short, for more invasive works and which cause more nuisance (noise, dust, vibration, waste).
MPSJ start implementing since 2 years ago. https://www.thestar.com.my/metro/metro-news...from-next-month
MP Sepang form attached here for your perusal. Most authorities have similar form. Because the works are minor, ,most people is unaware, couldn't be bothered or the authority do not come until someone complain.

If you can resolve by soft approach with your neighbour would be best or else you may pay a bit of money and apply that permit for your peace of mind.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  8_UKKB_MINOR_REPAIR.pdf ( 125.07k ) Number of downloads: 65
TSBlackPen
post May 24 2021, 08:57 PM

GOD Hand
867 posts

QUOTE(Phyarc @ May 24 2021, 08:48 PM)
FYI, some internal works require MINOR WORKS PERMIT/Permit Kerja Kecil, without plan approval.
Definition differs slightly from authority to authority.

Works which does not require permit:
1. painting
2. panel ceiling without plastering
3. AC
4. factory ready items (grille, pond, lights)

Works which requires permit:
1. wall and floor tiling / plastering / rendering
2. ceiling with plastering
3. plumbing/electrical
4. grille with site weld
5. sometimes, built-in cabinet too
In short, for more invasive works and which cause more nuisance (noise, dust, vibration, waste).
MPSJ start implementing since 2 years ago. https://www.thestar.com.my/metro/metro-news...from-next-month
MP Sepang form attached here for your perusal. Most authorities have similar form. Because the works are minor, ,most people is unaware, couldn't be bothered or the authority do not come until someone complain.

If you can resolve by soft approach with your neighbour would be best or else you may pay a bit of money and apply that permit for your peace of mind.
Yea, just talk to neighbor, he is ok if informed earlier. Btw, it's my mistake did not inform them earlier.

I gonna change all the tiles, required hacking existing tiles, still consider minor works?
nexona88
post May 24 2021, 08:59 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,579 posts

QUOTE(BlackPen @ May 24 2021, 04:27 PM)
Thank you, the most headache part is the relation with the neighbor. If I don't care and continue renovation next time will  doh.gif  doh.gif
Slow talk .. nego & says u would do it fast possible without disturbing as possible....
Because it's go long...
U fight with them... Then good luck...
Every single thing they complain to local council...your life would be hell....
SUSceo684
post May 24 2021, 09:19 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Anyhow also the endgames are not in sight.
U need to reno.
They need to WFH.
Both side also cannot "work when ppl are WFO" or "stop WFH and go outside lepak" anytime soon.

So its a matter of working out a compromise on timing that dont affect them too much esp for the noisemaking hacking. Try to do win win solution.
Phyarc
post May 24 2021, 09:20 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(BlackPen @ May 24 2021, 08:57 PM)
Yea, just talk to neighbor, he is ok if informed earlier. Btw, it's my mistake did not inform them earlier.
Good then.
I gonna change all the tiles, required hacking existing tiles, still consider minor works? Yes...tile replacement produce waste/rubbish too. Just ensure waste is temporarily kept within your compound and not at roadside if no permit. You know la, if at roadside, your rubbish is both unsightly and may occupy "parking space" of neighbour.
TSBlackPen
post May 25 2021, 11:12 AM

GOD Hand
867 posts

QUOTE(Phyarc @ May 24 2021, 09:20 PM)

Yes, totally agreed..My contractor will have roro bin, so no worries on the rubbish notworthy.gif
kuchaikway
post May 26 2021, 09:30 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(BlackPen @ May 25 2021, 11:12 AM)
Yes, totally agreed..My contractor will have roro bin, so no worries on the rubbish  notworthy.gif
I would advise that you tell your contractor to be more efficient by doing all heavy hackings in one go and inform your neighbors the day and time of doing such that they can address it.

I have a stupid neighbor now that is doing a damn renovation for months and it is like hacking almost every other day! This is during MCO and a g&g community!
amduser
post May 26 2021, 03:28 PM

5,542 posts

try to watch this video, he addressed the similar the issue with you, and the answer is you can carry out renovation work as long as is approved

but still the best is talk to neighbor about it

Jaclow
post May 26 2021, 03:32 PM

171 posts

Comfirm u going to get annoying neighbour.

TSBlackPen
post May 28 2021, 02:06 PM

GOD Hand
867 posts

Thanks for all the reply, been to MPSepang to apply for a permit and paid rm110, settle within 2 hours. Gonna stick the renovation sticker given by MPSepang at the door there.

2 department involved which is OSC & Building Control Department.

This post has been edited by BlackPen: May 28 2021, 02:09 PM
joeblow
post May 28 2021, 03:31 PM

1,147 posts

QUOTE(BlackPen @ May 28 2021, 02:06 PM)
Thanks for all the reply, been to MPSepang to apply for a permit and paid rm110, settle within 2 hours. Gonna stick the renovation sticker given by MPSepang at the door there.

2 department involved which is OSC & Building Control Department.
Actually according to my contractor, MITI stated no renovation is allowed according to their SOP. So I am a bit surprised your MPSepang actually issued you the renovation sticker.
mini orchard
post May 28 2021, 04:18 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ May 28 2021, 03:31 PM)
Actually according to my contractor, MITI stated no renovation is allowed according to their SOP. So I am a bit surprised your MPSepang actually issued you the renovation sticker.
This mco over almost all business activties allowed. If yours is condo, then refer to jmb.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: May 28 2021, 04:18 PM
gordonchin
post Jun 15 2021, 06:18 PM

110 posts

Hi fellow owners.

With this announcement, Phase 2 is expected to cover July and August.
I'm sure there are fellow owners who are stranded with their reno now.

Mine is at finishing stage including painting and furnishing.
Already contacted my contractor saying that I will finish up the remaining interior painting DIY, and move in some appliances in July so that it is inhabitable at the very least.

Curious to know what's everyone's plan.
mini orchard
post Jun 15 2021, 07:00 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(gordonchin @ Jun 15 2021, 06:18 PM)

Hi fellow owners.

Already contacted my contractor saying that I will finish up the remaining interior painting DIY, and move in some appliances in July so that it is inhabitable at the very least.

Condos, highly unlikely to be allowed.

Landed non strata, try your luck if your suppliers willing to take risk. I have seen neighbours doing repair works and servicing ac. As neighbours, we just close eyes as we understand the inconveniences of a faulty ac or plumbing.

Many are wfh now and the noise your contractors churned out may irritate them and hence might lodge a police report.
TSBlackPen
post Jun 16 2021, 11:09 PM

GOD Hand
867 posts

QUOTE(gordonchin @ Jun 15 2021, 06:18 PM)

Hi fellow owners.

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jun 15 2021, 07:00 PM)
Condos, highly unlikely to be allowed.

Landed non strata, try your luck if your suppliers willing to take risk. I have seen neighbours doing repair works and servicing ac. As neighbours, we just close eyes as we understand the inconveniences of a faulty ac or plumbing.

Many are wfh now and the noise your contractors churned out may irritate them and hence might lodge a police report.
Yes, really bad..just started hacking works 1 day and announced FMCO..

Better don't do any renovation works as i saw there is some news in fb saying kulim continue renovation and ignore FMCO. Get saman 20k for owner, 20k for contractor and who working in the house 2k each person.

Landed non strata, a lot of people working at home. Hence, kena complaint % is very high (Not all neighbor is friendly & ignore. You see one of my neighbor doh.gif doh.gif ). If you're plumbing or electric servicing works then acceptable.

Patiently wait government announcement on which sector able to work, nothing can do much.

This post has been edited by BlackPen: Jun 16 2021, 11:14 PM

0.0297sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:27 PM