Energy rating for refrigerator/washing machine/TV, How important?

TScontestchris
post May 23 2021, 07:37 PM, updated 5y ago

5,564 posts

I'm in the midst of buying appliances for my new home. I see that TVs, refrigerators, washing machines and air conditioners have got energy ratings.

I get it that these are very important for aircond and fridge that may be used a lot...but what about things like washing machine. Does it really matter if it is 2** or 5***** if I use it at most once a day, sometimes two days once?

Is there a comparison as to the different kind of electrical consumption per day/month/year?

Same thing for TV, most of the entry level 4K TV from Samsung/LG/Sony are 2** rated only.

How to decide, from a power consumption standpoint, when to get a higher rated device (assuming for my needs, the 2** device already works and is sufficient)?

Thanks!

This post has been edited by contestchris: May 23 2021, 07:38 PM
thefryingfox
post May 23 2021, 07:52 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

Buy max star(5) and make sure warranty is very long
SUSceo684
post May 24 2021, 02:26 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ May 23 2021, 07:37 PM)
I'm in the midst of buying appliances for my new home. I see that TVs, refrigerators, washing machines and air conditioners have got energy ratings.

I get it that these are very important for aircond and fridge that may be used a lot...but what about things like washing machine. Does it really matter if it is 2** or 5***** if I use it at most once a day, sometimes two days once?

Is there a comparison as to the different kind of electrical consumption per day/month/year?

Same thing for TV, most of the entry level 4K TV from Samsung/LG/Sony are 2** rated only.

How to decide, from a power consumption standpoint, when to get a higher rated device (assuming for my needs, the 2** device already works and is sufficient)?

Thanks!
You can check the ST rating at https://edik.st.gov.my/publicenquiry/search.aspx
Its malaysia boleh website, u see MEPS appliance, what device, filter by brand. The list can be downloaded by brand but not entire device type (eg all sharp fridges can, but not all brands of fridge).

Annual usage kwh (AEC) is on the ST sticker and being malaysia boleh wont be on the ST edik. U can check AEC based on SG NEA website if u have the translated SG model.

Per day u can just times the device rated power x hours run in a day to get the daily usage. Per month times this by 30d.

Usually determination is also based on pricepoint and ROI based on rated power wattage delta between say 2star and 5star device. Heavier appliance like fridge and AC u can ROI faster. But for ceiling fan the price delta between AC vs DC fans may need many many yrs to even recover in ROI OPEX savings from the power wattage delta.

Washing machine as long as it works OK already.
If you wanna use the hot water mode then it may matter.
Cold water wash any star also can, doesn't matter.

TV if small TV won't take much power anyhow; but when you get to 55/60in and above it should be power saving type (LED rather than old LCD) coz they have more screen area to light up - see https://www.batteryequivalents.com/off-the-...s-a-tv-use.html for rough estimate

This post has been edited by ceo684: May 24 2021, 03:10 AM
Agent 45
post May 24 2021, 09:26 AM

934 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 24 2021, 02:26 AM)
You can check the ST rating at https://edik.st.gov.my/publicenquiry/search.aspx
Its malaysia boleh website, u see MEPS appliance, what device, filter by brand. The list can be downloaded by brand but not entire device type (eg all sharp fridges can, but not all brands of fridge).

Annual usage kwh (AEC) is on the ST sticker and being malaysia boleh wont be on the ST edik. U can check AEC based on SG NEA website if u have the translated SG model.

Per day u can just times the device rated power x hours run in a day to get the daily usage. Per month times this by 30d.

Usually determination is also based on pricepoint and ROI based on rated power wattage delta between say 2star and 5star device. Heavier appliance like fridge and AC u can ROI faster. But for ceiling fan the price delta between AC vs DC fans may need many many yrs to even recover in ROI OPEX savings from the power wattage delta.

Washing machine as long as it works OK already.
If you wanna use the hot water mode then it may matter.
Cold water wash any star also can, doesn't matter.

TV if small TV won't take much power anyhow; but when you get to 55/60in and above it should be power saving type (LED rather than old LCD) coz they have more screen area to light up - see https://www.batteryequivalents.com/off-the-...s-a-tv-use.html for rough estimate
Hi, if want to calculate energy consumption, i need to refer to the device rated power in W then times with total hours of usage or annual usage kwh on the star sticker divided by 12? hmm.gif
SUSceo684
post May 24 2021, 02:18 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Agent 45 @ May 24 2021, 09:26 AM)
Hi, if want to calculate energy consumption, i need to refer to the device rated power in W then times with total hours of usage or annual usage kwh on the star sticker divided by 12? hmm.gif
It depend on which reference method u use.
If kwh annual from ST it follow reference pattern of usage, so all things in same devixe type (TV, fridge) will be tested with same exam paper across diff model.

In your own case lets say ur TV only run for exactly 1hr this may be diff from ST reference test ie lets assume all the TV run 4 hrs a day in ST test.
So u can calculate the daily based on ur TV rated power x 1hr. In actual fact maybe lower than TV rated coz that power rated on max power drain (full white screen); in practical term if u watch dark movie then maybe lesser LED dots used.

ST one probably they calc based on standard set of movies for all model.

This post has been edited by ceo684: May 24 2021, 02:19 PM
empire
post May 25 2021, 01:22 PM

2,549 posts

believe it or not, Fridge dont use as much energy as you think...unless you buy those Hotels' super big Commercial fridge la. Washing Machines also dont use a lot.

The heavy energy devices are Water Heater, Hair Blower and Air Con. Even the cerek air you use to boil water to make Coffee uses a LOT of energy!
empire
post May 25 2021, 01:25 PM

2,549 posts

dont bathe too long cos the Water Heater uses a lot of energy...sometimes even more than Air CON!
SUSceo684
post May 25 2021, 06:43 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(empire @ May 25 2021, 01:22 PM)
believe it or not, Fridge dont use as much energy as you think...unless you buy those Hotels' super big Commercial fridge la. Washing Machines also dont use a lot.

The heavy energy devices are Water Heater, Hair Blower and Air Con. Even the cerek air you use to boil water to make Coffee uses a LOT of energy!
If old dino fridge with leaky insulation then yes it can suck up 100 bucks electricity by itself..I replaced a leaking dripping water chest freezer bill dropped 100 and sustained.

I would be skeptical of hot/cold water heaters like Kowei, Kakcoo, NK Magic and the likes..

Also desktop PC does contribute some power usage if always max performance mode.

Heating like cooking appliances, kettle etc at residential size tong (subsidised) gas always cheaper than TNB.

QUOTE(empire @ May 25 2021, 01:25 PM)
dont bathe too long cos the Water Heater uses a lot of energy...sometimes even more than Air CON!
Hahaha true, but i think a normal 5-10 min shower should be usual..1hr hot water is not.
Phyarc
post May 26 2021, 11:00 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 25 2021, 06:43 PM)
If old dino fridge with leaky insulation then yes it can suck up 100 bucks electricity by itself..I replaced a leaking dripping water chest freezer bill dropped 100 and sustained.

I would be skeptical of hot/cold water heaters like Kowei, Kakcoo, NK Magic and the likes..

Also desktop PC does contribute some power usage if always max performance mode.

Heating like cooking appliances, kettle etc at residential size tong (subsidised) gas always cheaper than TNB.
Hahaha true, but i think a normal 5-10 min shower should be usual..1hr hot water is not.
Ms CEO, comparing Solar Water Heater system with Instant Hot Water System, which is a better investment?
A sanitary supplier used to say, it is better to put the money in the bank to earn interest than invest in a solar water heater system.
From what I see, the Solar Water Heater System about 10 x the price of instant type.
SUSceo684
post May 27 2021, 12:02 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Phyarc @ May 26 2021, 11:00 AM)
Ms CEO, comparing Solar Water Heater system with Instant Hot Water System, which is a better investment?
A sanitary supplier used to say, it is better to put the money in the bank to earn interest than invest in a solar water heater system.
From what I see, the Solar Water Heater System about 10 x the price of instant type.
Equipment cost of solar water heater is rather high and not able to really ROI even in 10yrs, even if you install 5 units electric instant WH (280/ea for Pana push start models) costs about 1400 bucks only. The difference in terms of equipment costs alone, is a lot left over which can pay for many years' worth of electricity to take showers.

0.0169sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:07 PM