Has anyone registered their marriage through the chinese association?
Do you still need to go to JPN?
Marriage registration at chinese association, Still need to go to JPN?
May 19 2021, 10:56 AM, updated 2y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
4,697 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
Has anyone registered their marriage through the chinese association?
Do you still need to go to JPN? |
May 19 2021, 10:59 AM
1,182 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
yes u still need to go JPN
May 19 2021, 11:09 AM
222 posts Joined: Apr 2011 From: Petaling Jaya |
My experience. Wanted to book at chinese temple & found out it would cost me RM300 bcoz of the big auspicious date. JPN just RM40. Then later found out bcoz of the special date it will be a mass ceremony like moonies at temple. No thanks. JPN can still have private gathering family members
May 19 2021, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(underworld @ May 19 2021, 10:59 AM) QUOTE(Dr.Drool @ May 19 2021, 11:09 AM) My experience. Wanted to book at chinese temple & found out it would cost me RM300 bcoz of the big auspicious date. JPN just RM40. Then later found out bcoz of the special date it will be a mass ceremony like moonies at temple. No thanks. JPN can still have private gathering family members Bcos if i read correctly from some website, if register at JPN, need to change IC address and need to go back to our original state to submit the form (impossible due to MCO or CMCO).Hence, i believe less hassle if registering at the chinese association. I thought I have seen pictures of ppl registering at the chinese association with small private gathering only (with their parents only) (not the Mass gathering). |
May 19 2021, 10:51 PM
118 posts Joined: Jun 2020 |
QUOTE(Blofeld @ May 19 2021, 10:56 AM) Has anyone registered their marriage through the chinese association? Yes you need to get the form from JPN (the one for marrying outside of JPN office), then fill up the form, get it stamped by a commissioner of oaths and then submit the form together with your partner at the JPN closest to either one of your addresses. Do you still need to go to JPN? Once that is done, bring the form over to your association, temple or Church. |
May 19 2021, 10:55 PM
QUOTE(deedeee @ May 19 2021, 10:51 PM) Yes you need to get the form from JPN (the one for marrying outside of JPN office), then fill up the form, get it stamped by a commissioner of oaths and then submit the form together with your partner at the JPN closest to either one of your addresses. Thanks.Once that is done, bring the form over to your association, temple or Church. If do it that way, still need to change IC? and still need to submit application in a separate state? i read somewhere that if register through association, then no need to do that. |
May 20 2021, 01:02 AM
76 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(Blofeld @ May 19 2021, 10:55 PM) Thanks. @deedeee is right, you need to go JPN first and fill up some borang (can't remember). Need passport photo(but please check what colour the passport photo needs to be in, I can't remember too, sorry). Then, will need to get a stamp from commissioner of oath, cost a little bit of money, I think a few ringgit? I went to the one near Hartamas last time and they do have commissioner oath there so I can settle one shot. Sometimes he/she may not be there so it really depends on your luck too.If do it that way, still need to change IC? and still need to submit application in a separate state? i read somewhere that if register through association, then no need to do that. And yes, register through association DOES NOT need to change IC, but for temple, at least one of you must be Buddhist (as per IC). Believe church wedding is the same too. |
May 20 2021, 07:54 AM
1,924 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Yokohama, JP |
QUOTE(kambingkoh @ May 20 2021, 01:02 AM) @deedeee is right, you need to go JPN first and fill up some borang (can't remember). Need passport photo(but please check what colour the passport photo needs to be in, I can't remember too, sorry). Then, will need to get a stamp from commissioner of oath, cost a little bit of money, I think a few ringgit? I went to the one near Hartamas last time and they do have commissioner oath there so I can settle one shot. Sometimes he/she may not be there so it really depends on your luck too. this is particularly true whether it is thein hou gong, or Chinese commerce association, they require one of the couple to be Buddhist, same with Church.And yes, register through association DOES NOT need to change IC, but for temple, at least one of you must be Buddhist (as per IC). Believe church wedding is the same too. had a lot of problem going through this last year to arrange the ROM right after MCO 1.0 This post has been edited by quadcube: May 20 2021, 09:35 AM |
May 20 2021, 09:14 AM
QUOTE(quadcube @ May 20 2021, 07:54 AM) this is particularly though, whether it is thein hou gong, or Chinese commerce association, they require one of the couple to be Buddhist, same with Church. Why? The IC stored as "Tiada Ugama"? At least that was what my IC states.had a lot of problem going through this last year to arrange the ROM right after MCO 1.0 |
May 20 2021, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(kambingkoh @ May 20 2021, 09:14 AM) oh? not sure about that one, both of us were christian by IC, but Chinese association was the easiest to deal with when it comes to ROM, just pay..but during document check only realized that none of us are Buddhist and they wouldn't process it as they mentioned that JPN will reject the application based on their past experience.church on the other hand was difficult to work with as they require u to be their church member it came to the point where I was under one of their "branch" church for almost 20+ years, and only the mother church pastor can do ROM, and mother church side told me that I'm not their church member and wouldn't do the ROM..topkek |
May 20 2021, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(quadcube @ May 20 2021, 09:41 AM) oh? not sure about that one, both of us were christian by IC, but Chinese association was the easiest to deal with when it comes to ROM, just pay..but during document check only realized that none of us are Buddhist and they wouldn't process it as they mentioned that JPN will reject the application based on their past experience. Aduh. Lolol. Nvm la. Settled dy.church on the other hand was difficult to work with as they require u to be their church member it came to the point where I was under one of their "branch" church for almost 20+ years, and only the mother church pastor can do ROM, and mother church side told me that I'm not their church member and wouldn't do the ROM..topkek |
May 21 2021, 05:28 PM
QUOTE(quadcube @ May 20 2021, 09:41 AM) oh? not sure about that one, both of us were christian by IC, but Chinese association was the easiest to deal with when it comes to ROM, just pay..but during document check only realized that none of us are Buddhist and they wouldn't process it as they mentioned that JPN will reject the application based on their past experience. In the end, which one did you proceed?church on the other hand was difficult to work with as they require u to be their church member it came to the point where I was under one of their "branch" church for almost 20+ years, and only the mother church pastor can do ROM, and mother church side told me that I'm not their church member and wouldn't do the ROM..topkek How come chinese association also require either one to be buddhist? They are religious-based association? |
May 21 2021, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(Blofeld @ May 21 2021, 05:28 PM) In the end, which one did you proceed? Thatâs the logic I was arguing, doesnât make any senseâŠif tian hou gong I understand, but those Chinese chamber something, itâs not even related to religion How come chinese association also require either one to be buddhist? They are religious-based association? In the end church lo..with a letter that states Iâm going back to JP soon, so either now or never |
May 23 2021, 08:05 PM
Not sure if this helps, seems news to me:
https://viralcham.com/must-learn/jpn-daftar-kahwin-eh070521/ |
May 25 2021, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(Blofeld @ May 21 2021, 05:28 PM) In the end, which one did you proceed? JPN's default is that you should marry at JPN premises unless it is for religious purposes, so that is why churches, temples and associations can only register people where one of the parties is in the religion that they register with at JPN. - In the case of Chinese associations that would be Buddhist.How come chinese association also require either one to be buddhist? They are religious-based association? |
Oct 9 2021, 05:20 AM
1,063 posts Joined: Apr 2020 |
QUOTE(deedeee @ May 19 2021, 10:51 PM) Yes you need to get the form from JPN (the one for marrying outside of JPN office), then fill up the form, get it stamped by a commissioner of oaths and then submit the form together with your partner at the JPN closest to either one of your addresses. Once that is done, bring the form over to your association, temple or Church. QUOTE(kambingkoh @ May 20 2021, 01:02 AM) @deedeee is right, you need to go JPN first and fill up some borang (can't remember). Need passport photo(but please check what colour the passport photo needs to be in, I can't remember too, sorry). Then, will need to get a stamp from commissioner of oath, cost a little bit of money, I think a few ringgit? I went to the one near Hartamas last time and they do have commissioner oath there so I can settle one shot. Sometimes he/she may not be there so it really depends on your luck too. Can we go jpn submit form in nov 2021 for marriage in feb or march 2022?And yes, register through association DOES NOT need to change IC, but for temple, at least one of you must be Buddhist (as per IC). Believe church wedding is the same too. Got control within how long? Then after submit to jpn if the Buddhist society no slot, how to proceed? I mean then need to approach jpn or chinese Buddhist soxiety first? |
Oct 9 2021, 05:22 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(LA773 @ Oct 9 2021, 05:20 AM) Can we go jpn submit form in nov 2021 for marriage in feb or march 2022? Can't recall already. If I remember correctly, I approach the temple for guidance on what to do. They are able to guide me accordingly. Perhaps you can check with the temple you engaging.Got control within how long? Then after submit to jpn if the Buddhist society no slot, how to proceed? I mean then need to approach jpn or chinese Buddhist soxiety first? |
Oct 14 2021, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(LA773 @ Oct 9 2021, 05:20 AM) Can we go jpn submit form in nov 2021 for marriage in feb or march 2022? After submitting the form to JPN you have a 6 month window of validity, I submitted end of September for my ROM date at the end of November, so your timeframe is possible. Got control within how long? Then after submit to jpn if the Buddhist society no slot, how to proceed? I mean then need to approach jpn or chinese Buddhist soxiety first? You can check with the association first to see if there is a slot, the slot won't be confirmed till after the JPN submission is done, based on my experience. |
Oct 14 2021, 04:56 PM
Oct 14 2021, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(deedeee @ Oct 14 2021, 01:20 PM) After submitting the form to JPN you have a 6 month window of validity, I submitted end of September for my ROM date at the end of November, so your timeframe is possible. I will check it out.. Thanks againYou can check with the association first to see if there is a slot, the slot won't be confirmed till after the JPN submission is done, based on my experience. But actually is there service where we go Association register, then they include everything eg jpn rep registration etc.? . đ |
Oct 14 2021, 05:00 PM
Oct 18 2022, 03:45 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
26,498 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Delete
This post has been edited by Human Nature: Oct 18 2022, 05:15 PM |
Nov 15 2022, 09:51 AM
212 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
im a pahangness and my fiancee is a penang lang, so we decided to have our ROM at temple, Buddhist Maha Vihara
1. prepare passport size photo (both need to be either blue or white background) 2. go to jpn get the borang Fxx01 (if i remember right) for non-muslim registration 3. go straight to makhamah for pesuruhajaya sumpah (im dont recall it is RM4 or RM8, but no cash accepted in bukit mertajam makhamah) awaiting time about 15min until the JPN form is STAMPED, quite fast 4. go to jpn with those document ăborang jpn (capital letter+uniform pen ink chosen)/ surat beranak original +photocopy (JPN bukit mertajam insisted )/photocopy of both groom and bride's witnesses IC/photocopy of bride and groom's IC + IC of both bride and groomă 5. ASK the temple for their code and write down the ROM date on the JPN borangăBM JPN insist me to write the ROM dateă 6.after jpn done, pay RM20 for the registration fee and make sure the invoice attached and stapled with the borang jpn 7. bring borang JPN to the temple, book the date and pay the ROM fee (Buddhist Maha Vihara charges RM120) prepare alsoă photocopy of both groom and bride's witnesses IC/photocopy of bride and groom's IC + IC of both bride and groomă im left my surat beranak at my home in pahang, so JPN lady want to to do the CABUTAN , fill in the form they provided and waited around 10 min and also pay RM5, all done! just bring your surat beranak and all essential documents to go , just bring it in case JPN officer insisted to check on !!!! theam hou temple is not in my list since it easily fully booked and it felt too commercial, i just want a simple ceremony without crowd of people, this Buddhist temple is a good choice! also got a blessing ceremony before the ROM started!! i like it This post has been edited by hotNcool: Nov 15 2022, 09:56 AM |
Feb 29 2024, 05:13 AM
2,115 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(Blofeld @ May 19 2021, 10:56 AM) Has anyone registered their marriage through the chinese association? Did you register your marriage through Chinese association in the end ?Do you still need to go to JPN? I am thinking to register my marriage in the Chinese association in KL, just wondering as I live in Selangor , can I just go to any JPN branch in Selangor to apply for the form (KC01) or I must to go JPN branch in KL? |
Feb 29 2024, 08:17 AM
QUOTE(adam1190 @ Feb 29 2024, 05:13 AM) Did you register your marriage through Chinese association in the end ? no i did notI am thinking to register my marriage in the Chinese association in KL, just wondering as I live in Selangor , can I just go to any JPN branch in Selangor to apply for the form (KC01) or I must to go JPN branch in KL? bcos still need to go through JPN, so i might as well do all together at JPN. u can take the form from any branch in selangor and let them display your name at the selangor branch for 21+1 days. https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...8742&hl=blofeld adam1190 liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0188sec
5 queries
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 10:11 PM |