122 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Chinchilla- Totoro, All are welcome!

TSChinchillas
post May 26 2008, 03:12 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(sharil_routh @ May 26 2008, 02:57 PM)
Actually how many chin do u have now?
19 blush.gif

Added on May 26, 2008, 3:17 pm
QUOTE(11Jan @ May 26 2008, 03:10 PM)
wow 12kg of hay per mth?? that is a LOT! you must have tons of chins haha my 2 rabbits only take 1kg of hay each mth!

hmm.. i think next time when i'm ready for a chin, i must ask chinchillas to follow me to the petshops! cos when i saw the chins at ikano, i thought their fur all looked OK. guess my eyes are not expert enough  sad.gif  how do you tell if the fur is nice, chinchillas? it should be thick rite?
They eat lots of hay, is good sign! biggrin.gif Chinchilla love to eat timothy hay.

About the selecting of chinchilla on pet shop, not the thick or thin fur, is the fur strenght. You will know how to discern when you see other chinchilla's fur that is better then the other, then you will know. Chinchilla's fur have difference quality as well.

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: May 26 2008, 03:17 PM
11Jan
post May 26 2008, 03:31 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ May 26 2008, 03:12 PM)
Chinchilla's fur have difference quality as well.
yea i know there are different quality, but i dont really know how to see as i've never really felt a good chinchilla coat. all i know is from what i read, which is sometimes not easy to put into practice, esp like how the fur should feel.. well next time before i buy, hopefully i can get some input from you biggrin.gif
TSChinchillas
post May 26 2008, 04:05 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

Sure. biggrin.gif
sharil_routh
post May 26 2008, 04:18 PM

(~Penentangan adalah sia-sia~)
1,356 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ May 26 2008, 03:12 PM)
19 blush.gif

Added on May 26, 2008, 3:17 pm
They eat lots of hay, is good sign! biggrin.gif Chinchilla love to eat timothy hay.

About the selecting of chinchilla on pet shop, not the thick or thin fur, is the fur strenght. You will know how to discern when you see other chinchilla's fur that is better then the other, then you will know. Chinchilla's fur have difference quality as well.
DAMN!!! cry.gif So many chin. sweat.gif
abang brother
post May 26 2008, 04:51 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ May 26 2008, 11:05 AM)
My chinchilla is fine.smile.gif But currently I don't have any chin available yet, all get book. If planning get chin from Ikano,I suggest get the Standard grey, the other mutation doesnt look good(fur and health) to me.

I mean the chinchilla u tried to save.
TSChinchillas
post May 26 2008, 07:29 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

I did not manage to save that chin, cause the guys didnt let me adopt, he gave it to his friend after telling me to come and pick up.
sharil_routh
post May 26 2008, 08:12 PM

(~Penentangan adalah sia-sia~)
1,356 posts

Chinchillas, I think u should do a visit trip for who one to know more about chinchilla especially like me. hehehehe.. brows.gif

For me their fur all the same. The softness etc when I hold them. So if u let us visit and show to us in front of us what do u mean the quality of fur, or any others else,we will understand more. Just do research , read from book, website not the same if we get experience by ourself. blush.gif

Maybe if after people visit ur Chinchilla paradise they will think of themself either they ready for it or not. brows.gif

P/S: Please, please buka hati chinchilla to do a visit. rolleyes.gif
TSChinchillas
post May 26 2008, 08:35 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(sharil_routh @ May 26 2008, 08:12 PM)
Chinchillas, I think u should do a visit trip for who one to know more about chinchilla especially like me. hehehehe.. brows.gif

For me their fur all the same. The softness etc when I hold them. So if u let us visit and show to us in front of us what do u mean the quality of fur, or any others else,we will understand more. Just do research , read from book, website not the same if we get experience by ourself.  blush.gif

Maybe if after people visit ur Chinchilla paradise they will think of themself either they ready for it or not.  brows.gif

Wah.... laugh.gif Very glad you are interested to know about chinchilla, but at till this moment I am not ready to open for visitation yet.

I am still learning like all of you, it just I have the chance of holding and touching difference quality of fur AND facing difference problem(more chin more problem will surface). Currently more of our local pet shop sell quite lots young chin, young chin is baby fur, you can only feel the actual texture of the fur when they are adult, 10-15months old.

As long as it is a chinchilla, you will be very sure their fur is very very much difference from any others animal you ever touch. smile.gif
nicoty_yne
post May 28 2008, 01:25 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ May 26 2008, 02:13 PM)
Haha.. thanks for your free Promo. rclxms.gif

Ya, must learn first, is good for your chin. I go for quality fresh hay, not much on brand. With the chins I have now, I need lots of hay. They eat about 12kg of timothy hay per months now and increasing. I am very picky on hay.
12 kg? how many Chin u have? My 4 rabbits also eat 2-3kg hay a month.

Added on May 28, 2008, 1:28 pm
QUOTE(11Jan @ May 26 2008, 03:10 PM)
wow 12kg of hay per mth?? that is a LOT! you must have tons of chins haha my 2 rabbits only take 1kg of hay each mth!

hmm.. i think next time when i'm ready for a chin, i must ask chinchillas to follow me to the petshops! cos when i saw the chins at ikano, i thought their fur all looked OK. guess my eyes are not expert enough  sad.gif  how do you tell if the fur is nice, chinchillas? it should be thick rite?
Go buy from Chincilla la.. he got 19 chins!!

Added on May 28, 2008, 1:30 pm
QUOTE(sharil_routh @ May 26 2008, 08:12 PM)

For me their fur all the same. The softness etc when I hold them. So if u let us visit and show to us in front of us what do u mean the quality of fur, or any others else,we will understand more. Just do research , read from book, website not the same if we get experience by ourself.  blush.gif

Maybe if after people visit ur Chinchilla paradise they will think of themself either they ready for it or not.  brows.gif

What visit trip??! No need visit trip. We just need a group of people with mask and rope. We go to visit Chincilla's house. Kidnap his chins. One chin each people... so we can bring 19 people to kidnap.

This post has been edited by nicoty_yne: May 28 2008, 01:30 PM
TSChinchillas
post May 28 2008, 02:01 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(nicoty_yne @ May 28 2008, 01:25 PM)
12 kg? how many Chin u have? My 4 rabbits also eat 2-3kg hay a month.

Added on May 28, 2008, 1:28 pm

Added on May 28, 2008, 1:30 pm

What visit trip??! No need visit trip. We just need a group of people with mask and rope. We go to visit Chincilla's house. Kidnap his chins. One chin each people... so we can bring 19 people to kidnap.
Hahaha... flex.gif I have strong CCTV!!! thumbup.gif
11Jan
post May 28 2008, 05:01 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(nicoty_yne @ May 28 2008, 01:25 PM)

haha, i wish he will sell to me. the 19 chins are all his, not for sale tongue.gif

btw, chinchillas, how long have you been keeping chins?

JonYeap
post May 28 2008, 05:04 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

i wanna get one.... but it cost a bomb. hahhaa... cute animal
TSChinchillas
post May 28 2008, 05:23 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(11Jan @ May 28 2008, 05:01 PM)
haha, i wish he will sell to me. the 19 chins are all his, not for sale  tongue.gif

btw, chinchillas, how long have you been keeping chins?
2yrs+. smile.gif
Helena1509
post May 28 2008, 06:44 PM

Validating
124 posts

can i ask a question...
wat stuff can i put inside the cage of chinchilla..
the material like which is made of wood, iron, plastic.
i scare they might bite it.. and spoilt their teeth or even their health..
plz advice!!
11Jan
post May 28 2008, 11:44 PM

584 posts

never ever use plastic, chins chew a LOT and you wouldn't want them to ingest plastic.

Steel, ideally should be stainless steel.

Wood, depends on what type of wood. generally, natural pine is safe. there are other safe woods as well. you can google for that.

Chinchillas, correct me if i'm wrong hehe smile.gif
Helena1509
post May 29 2008, 01:41 AM

Validating
124 posts

hmmm the wooden block of house is actually mean for guinea pig
but i put it in the cage so she can hide inside and sleep or maybe
she can jump on the wooden house.. as the top is flat..
she really like it.. but sometime she might bite it.. scare she might swallow it or wat..
i dont know is natural pine or wat.. i dont know how to identify it..
11Jan
post May 29 2008, 09:44 AM

584 posts

on your wooden house package, does it state what type of wood is used?

also, the wood should be untreated (i.e. no chemicals etc applied to it) one way to tell whether or not the wood has been treated is to scrape the surface with ur finger nail, see if there anything comes off.. if its treated, most likely you will see some transparent plastic-like flakes when u scrape the wood.
TSChinchillas
post May 29 2008, 11:16 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

Helena, 11Jan have give you a very good outline of how to choose wood for your pet to chew. I just want to add couple of thing here.

If you using a plastic base cage, no doubt you can't avoid chinchilla will not chew it, chinchilla really chew on anything. For the save wooden house, if that house is make for GP to use, it should be safe for chin to chew on, provided it is imported, local make they using cheap ply wood(toxic). You can also buy some chew block/bark for your chin, that will reduce the chance of them chewing any plastic item in your cage. Chew block at this moment that available locally is Sluis. Go look around you should fine it.

How old is your chin? any pictures to share to us? Do you feed them timothy hay? hay is one of the main 'enquiment' to trim their teeth to proper shape.
JonYeap
post May 29 2008, 12:54 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

wah... finally.... finish reading 16 pages and some website in 2 hours 40 mins. haha.... woo hoo... so tempted to get one.

but i am not ready. will never be coz no air cond. wakkakak... money can find, air cond... zzzzzzzzz.... well, i will visit here often and hope to get poisoned. nobody in melaka keeping? sad sad...
TSChinchillas
post May 29 2008, 01:48 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

You will definately get poison Jon, hope you get your chin soon! biggrin.gif

122 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0254sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:51 PM