Chinchilla- Totoro, All are welcome!
Jun 13 2008, 12:37 AM
1,380 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
GREAT! Hope lessilly will be our new CHIN group members soon!!!!!!!!!!!
Jun 13 2008, 12:22 PM
Jun 14 2008, 11:30 AM
I think pet safari members card dont have expiry date.(I think)
If you want to get chinchilla from Chinchillas.com U.S, it will cause you a bomb with just the air fair for the chin, US$900. 1-10chins, not included the chin cost itself. Above the amount, each extra chin(more then 10) will charge extra air fair. FOR NOW your chinchilla will be quarantin for 3-4 weeks in our LOCAL CUSTOM before begin release to you. 3-4weeks also need to pay to custom. For Chinchilla, I will be VERY WORRY to let custom take care of them. Some chin will die in custom due to the poor care and enviroment. |
Jun 14 2008, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(lessilly @ Jun 14 2008, 12:58 PM) na...i mean buy a US breed...not importing from US.. Not really. No doubt U.S have some bigger size chin, but Europe have better fur quality chin then U.S. i know it will cost a bomb to import from US... US breedo ne is bigger n nicer than holland breed chinchilla. U.K and Canada also have great chin both in size and fur. Added on June 14, 2008, 2:56 pm QUOTE(bebee @ Jun 14 2008, 01:24 PM) o.... better go buy more before my card expire! This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jun 14 2008, 02:56 PM |
Jun 14 2008, 10:23 PM
Those in the market you can just go with what you think is ok, the only thing is you not sure is their background. Background for weather their are inbreed, have any genatic teeth problem, etc. Look for the active, proper fur, bright eyes if you buy from pet shop.
Jun 17 2008, 07:10 PM
Ya, last time also purchased more then 80, they give me free member card.
Jun 17 2008, 09:15 PM
QUOTE(heng84 @ Jun 17 2008, 08:39 PM) i just got a chin, a cinnamon chin Hi hengdid some research liao now wanna try out. want to ask, i request for timothy hay in pet safari, they din sell, they gave me alfalfa hay instead, is it the same?. bought its food pellet, and some safewood for him to chew, a water bottle and dustbath, seems like my chin does not like the wood, does not eat the alfalfa, and didnt see him drink, only see him eating the chin pellets, is it because the chin is still new to the environment?. but he likes the dust bath that i bought. Welcome to chinchilla world. First, you need to continue to read on care fact of chinchilla, cause it will benefit very much on you and especially on your chin, you sound still very raw on basic. About the afalfa hay, I think the pet safaru even blur then you, if PS doesnt sell timothy hay that is a big laugh to me. Yes, there is difference from Alfalfa Hay and timothy hay, for your young chin you need to feed both in 50%/50% mixture to your chin daily. About drinking, you cannot use hamster bottle to feed your chin, they wont get enough water from the bottle and will dehydrate and die. Go get a dog use bottle which is a tube head ONLY and can fix on any mineral water bottle. For any chin/pet, when reaching a new place you need to give them sometime to settle before it get use to your enviroment. I will encourage you to read all the conversation in this thread and especially the first page links. That will cover a lot of thing you need to know EVEN AFTER you get your chin. Make sure you give pellet that is PLAIN pellet, no other colouring stuff or nuts thing in it, so far a brand call Kaytee Forti Diet for Chinchilla is your best choise. Monitor your room temperature, too hot they will get heat stroke, they can't expose to direct sunlight, they dont like noisy place, they SLEEP at day and play at night after 9pm. So just let him sleep at day in a quite place with no body disturb, you will hv a happy chin. Dont hold him now for 5 days, until his is settle. Share to use your little guy. Added on June 17, 2008, 9:29 pm ![]() This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jun 17 2008, 09:29 PM |
Jun 18 2008, 10:48 PM
His name call VioletStar!
Jun 19 2008, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(heng84 @ Jun 18 2008, 11:56 PM) i bought my timothy hay in taman megah, hehe, i got the biggest water bottle available in the shop (stated for guinea pig) but did not find anything for dog, previously pet safari gave me tiny hamster one. saw in taman megah there sell the grey chinchilla for 850. what so special bout it ? or whats the diff from those rm 650 grey selling in pet safari Great to hear you get a bigger bottle, just make sure the head is bigger too not only the bottle.The price is due to the store make up. Added on June 19, 2008, 10:39 am QUOTE(bebee @ Jun 19 2008, 09:29 AM) Ya lor. Get hay immediately when it restock. Or get from below, SURE GREEN! This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jun 19 2008, 10:39 AM |
Jun 20 2008, 03:28 PM
Chocalten!
![]() ![]() |
Jun 20 2008, 04:03 PM
Won't poison la, you got "23 Pets In Total, 6 Cats, 6 Gerbils, 3 Syrians Hammies, and 4 Rabbitsuser posted imageuser
15+X5+7Y Pets In Total Died, X(5) Cats, 4 Rabbits, 3 Kalois, Y(7) Goldfishes, 1 Gerbil, 2 Syrian, 1 Campbell, 2 Robo, 2 Fancy Mices.user posted imageuser " |
Jun 20 2008, 07:41 PM
Congratulation to kevin for his new 8 babies girbils, that's totally alot!
Actually pet shop 'usually' allow customer to hold or touch the animal they ask for, cause it will 'stimulate' the customer to buy it. They will be very happy if you want to touch or hold, just make sure dont cause them die.... Today I just drop by PS toby, seem like the 2 chin left over there does not look good 'anymore'. 2 weeks ago when I visited there, the standard grey look really healthy and ready to go home, now is getting hunch! that's a sign of poor feed and living condition. Added on June 20, 2008, 7:44 pm QUOTE(bebee @ Jun 20 2008, 05:07 PM) Save money, save more money soon you will hv 1. This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jun 20 2008, 07:45 PM |
Jun 20 2008, 10:50 PM
Chocalten is a medium tan(maybe the screen, he should be look like brownis). Is a he. 11days old.
Added on June 20, 2008, 10:51 pm ![]() This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jun 20 2008, 10:51 PM |
Jun 21 2008, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(bebee @ Jun 21 2008, 09:19 AM) To judge the condition of a healthy chin is very simple. (But chinchilla is good in hiding sickness due to protect them self to become prey). This is just a simple guide line to buy from Pet shop.1. See the chin eyes, must be bright and not watery. Any soft poo. 2. Active in the cage. He should be running around or eating.(Maybe when you see him he is sleeping, wait then) 3. Not skinny, not greasy fur.(Usually hard to get without this problem especially their in the stupid pet shop) 4. Go by your instinct. Yes, chinchilla price affects by the colours for pet shop. If from me, colour, fur and shape. |
Jun 21 2008, 11:26 AM
At this moment I hv few type of colour, like Black Velvat, White, Biege, Dark Ebony, etc. About the fur and shape, you need to see it and feel it only you know, in words hard to tell. You can visit chinchillas.com to see the chin there and the colours variation.
If you want to get a chin, first thing is to check your house temperature, is it too warm. Some houses is too hot to have chin, some is tolerate-able. You will see a very very big difference on chin's health and fur quality when you create the enviroment from where they come from. |
Jun 21 2008, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(heng84 @ Jun 21 2008, 12:53 PM) i want to ask, how old is my chin. its about 5.5-6inches from head to toe without the tail in a standing position (salesperson told me 1month), and how big can it grow and takes how long?? if assume all petshop import from same country. at night i bring the cage to my room at 18c not direct blow is that ok or too cold?. but working hours i bring it down to the living room with airconditioned in open area i assume about 25c cos my mom will be at living room watching tv most of the time during afternoon. is that ok? (i read that its recommended to keep the chinchilla in one spot, yes i know but i cannot afford to on aircond when the area is not occupied so is that ok for me to give him 2 spots one morning and one night? i have no choice family sure complain waste electricity summore now tnb wanna increase bills) I didnt see your chin, it is very hard to tell, and IT IS IMPOSSIBLE to hv a chin 1 month all at your home. I assume should be 3 months now. |
Jun 22 2008, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(heng84 @ Jun 22 2008, 12:36 AM) yes for the first day i got the chin and it make sound during night when i was asleep, after that no sound already, yes doin the same routine everyday hehe, 10-12months reaching adult, but size sometime about 15 months. Since you got your chin lately, is good you do more reading on the net, it will be very helpful for you and your chin over all. ok so how long it take to reach adult size or full size, so i don need to worry max all the way lor hehehe. |
Jun 22 2008, 05:18 PM
Jun 23 2008, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(heng84 @ Jun 23 2008, 01:00 PM) mr chin, do u know where is the most suitable or experienced vet in klang valley for chinchillas?. i read on a website, regarding most common disease that a chinchilla might get, like fungus, sore eyes, red ears pneunomia, uneven teeth. like you have teach us in forum fungus can be treated by buying anti fungus powder from pharmacy, i already got one standby. Red ear is due to heat, too warm or they just wake up from sleep(even in air con). You just need to make sure your room temperature is tolerate-able, if not your chin will be very suffering. You will see red vien on the ear appear if too hot.sore eyes i read from website is not to give them dust bath for few days to see whether it improves. uneven teeth buy some calcium stuff for them to bite, how bout red ears or pneunomia? this one must bring to vet? cos my friends chinchilla i see ear got abit reddish veins his chin is beige colour. For uneven teeth, dont use calcium chew block, use chew wood or chew toy or apple stick or chew block or HAY. Calcium is not something can be given freely, it will cause the chin body to 'think' too much calcium and become calcium lose. So calcium block is not good choise to use for uneven teeth. We have not see your chin picture, can you show us? we been waiting for sometime.... |
Jun 23 2008, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(heng84 @ Jun 23 2008, 04:29 PM) no probs give me few days, snapped pic with my bros camera but im waiting for memory card reader now. OK! WE WILL BE WAITING ANCIOUSLY!apple stick u mean is the apple tree branch is it?. i bouight it but my chin dont like it, i oso bought lava bites, my chin bite it for first 2days then completely ignored it hahaha, gave him empty toilet paper roll and cardboard oso dun like it, now i duno what to give him, when i set him free he go and bite my door and wire ur tips and info given are always the best, haha hope u can list down ur own malaysian chin faq in the first page so that can help the new comers as well. cos most of the website weve seen like chinchilla health, fungus = take ur pet to the vet, diarrhea = take ur pet to the vet, constipation = take ur pet to the vet, swollen eyes or tearing = take ur pet to the vet hehhee. i wish if only malaysia vets are expert in chinchillas Ya lor. Oversea Vet have more exposure to exotic pet compare to our. So all the vet page you visit will be everything also go vet. Most of the vet is thinking of money, but ours vet is even worst... Is good suggestion, I will write a simple treatment guideline for chin owner, since most of the website is "GO TO THE VET"! |
| Change to: | 0.0531sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:31 PM |