45 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Chinchilla- Totoro, All are welcome!

TSChinchillas
post Jun 5 2008, 04:19 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

Difference country have their difference unique look of chinchilla, but due to chinchilla hv 2 species, so it will hv a bit of difference in look, shape and fur.

separate species: Chinchilla lanigera and Chinchilla brevicaudata.(Note from chincare.com)

Chinchilla Brevicaudata, The Short-Tailed Chinchilla
Brevis, as they are often referred to, were once plentiful in the high altitudes of the Andes Mountains, where they occupied very barren and inhospitable areas such as those that the remaining brevis still inhabit in the north of Chile: Llullaillaco Volcano, Salar Punta Negra. C. brevicaudata, besides having a short tail, is distinguished from C. lanigera by having smaller and rounder ears, a puggish face and broader head, thick neck, and a body shape that is blocky, stout, and usually larger and heavier than C. lanigera (photo of brevi traits in domestic chin). The coat of purebreds was said to have a brownish cast and wavy texture. The gestation period of brevis is slightly longer than that of lanigeras, lasting 128 days.

Chinchilla Lanigera, The Long-Tailed Chinchilla
C. lanigera once commonly populated the mid and lower range of the Andes. They are presently known to reside only in Chile, populations exist both in and near the Las Chinchillas National Reserve. Lanigeras have a long tail, longer and larger ears than C. brevicaudata, a face that is more pointed and a body shape that is narrow, slender, and usually smaller and lighter than C. brevicaudata (photo of lanigera traits in domestic chin). Their coat is said to have ranged in color from deep bluish hues to brown. The gestation period for lanigeras is 111 days, this is also the usual gestation period for domestic chinchillas, which are a result of cross-breeding between C. brevicaudata and C. lanigera.

I found that Holland or Europe chinchilla fur texture is better then South American, I may wrong. Size is definately South American, cause bigger in size, nice to whole, touch, play with. Hand will be faster tired... biggrin.gif

Actually, if you getting a chin, first thing you must know weather you can provide the air con or not, if cant then you need to get those is thiner in coat, or even is thick coat at begining stage, after you hv that chin few months, the coat will become thiner and change of fur strenght due to release of the heat. BUT no matter how, chinchilla in nature is lots of fur, can growth up to 60-100 per hair single Follik, human hair only have 1-4 hairs in single follik. Chinchilla can reach an extremely dense coat - with more than 20,000 hairs per sq. cm.

So you can imagine if you place them in so call our comfortable temperature, for them it may be very hot. Due to that you wont hv thick fur chin if you are having it in room temperature, but you will hv a chinchilla in or climate.

Added on June 5, 2008, 4:21 pm
QUOTE(11Jan @ Jun 5 2008, 04:16 PM)
Chinchillas, you mean you asked the petshop to help you import? they are so nice??
Ya, cause they import to sell as well.

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jun 5 2008, 04:21 PM
TSChinchillas
post Jun 5 2008, 05:53 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

So your have visited all the store that have chins recently? Any photos to show? I hv no time to go... sad.gif
TSChinchillas
post Jun 7 2008, 09:56 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(Helena1509 @ Jun 7 2008, 05:36 PM)
Here's my chin's photo,as i promised biggrin.gif

Being notty
[attachmentid=491609]
Get ur hands off from me!
[attachmentid=491608]
I hate the flash!
[attachmentid=491606]
Presenting u ms blossom!
[attachmentid=491605]

It's so damn hard for me 2 chase after her up n down in da room jz to take some pics.LOL
You chin finally appear to us, lovely! biggrin.gif

Added on June 7, 2008, 9:58 pm
QUOTE(shingin @ Jun 7 2008, 07:26 PM)

Added on June 7, 2008, 7:27 pm

wow... so nice you put your chin on your bed/in your room. your chin got poopoo on ur bed ar? my housemate's chins keep on poopoo here and there when I put them outside the cage >< so u mange to get a new cage for your chin? Btw, what is ur chin's name?
A good sign of chinchilla health is the chin MADE A LOT OF PELLETED POO, the much the better, it show that your chin digestive system is working normally. Digestive system 1 of the more important part of chin.

Added on June 7, 2008, 9:58 pm
QUOTE(sharil_routh @ Jun 7 2008, 07:53 PM)
uwah.. cry.gif

Why u poison me...
Chinchillas help me, give me ur chin so i can stop crying rolleyes.gif
Give you my chin, how about my self! cry.gif

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jun 7 2008, 09:58 PM
TSChinchillas
post Jun 7 2008, 10:59 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

[quote=shingin,Jun 7 2008, 10:07 PM]
Wah... I so so so jeolous... your chin so nice rclxms.gif din poo on ur bed.

Blossom is a very lovely name...

hope your dream will come true "Power Puff Chins" flex.gif haha

[quote=Chinchillas,Jun 7 2008, 09:56 PM]
A good sign of chinchilla health is the chin MADE A LOT OF PELLETED POO, the much the better, it show that your chin digestive system is working normally. Digestive system 1 of the more important part of chin.
today I told my housemate that may be we need to get a hand held vacuum cleaner when we got money (to vacuum the poopoo). The two chin poopoo and weewee a lot... nearly everyday or 2 days have to change the news paper once, now my house is lacking of newspaper.

now 1 chin staying upstair and 1 chin staying downstair, if two of them staying together... wah... I think they will end up sleep on their poopoo and weewee. blush.gif

Today is the 1st time we intro treats to the chins. Each one got half a grape... we so excited & happy to see (more like can't stop staring) the chins holding the grape and makan and dowan to let go. We even try to steal the grape away (buat kacau abit)... but they end up grab the grape and run into their house. Chin are soooooooooo cute and adorable when they holding their food wub.gif ... they are so different from other kind of pet.

[/quote]

A big NO to this action. Grapes/dried grapes/other sweety contain to much of sugar, and is not suitable at all to feed adult chin, somemore your chin is just a baby chin. Chin's diet is LOW fat, LOW sugar, HIGH energy food. Hay provided the energy, pellet is the best for them. You no need anything extra to feed your chin. Chinchilla cannot digest sugar, so all the extra sugar will easily store in kidney, in a short moment of time, your chin will start have health problem and can be fatal. Your pocket also will become fatal.

They also cannot take fresh vege as other pet can. Just remember, simple diet make a healthy happy chin. Chinchilla is a junk food freak!
TSChinchillas
post Jun 8 2008, 02:46 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(GMC @ Jun 8 2008, 01:34 PM)
Yo bro Chinchilla..

I need your help..

I bring my pet to see a vet in Jln Tun Razak - Met up with Dr. Sivan..
The vet name is Animal Medical Centre..

Problem: Ringworn/Fungus on nose and tail..

After checking my chinchilla, the doctor asked the male nurse to wash the face(nose area) and the tail..
After waiting for like 30 minutes.. outside..
We went in to check out the chinchilla and found out that he CANT EVEN STAND on its HIND legs..
He keep on choking and it seems to be like FAINTING..

I saw him using a hair dryer to blow the chin dry..
I dont know what to do.. the chin is still at the vet..

I am very afraid that he might be gone..

If you are free today.. would you mind calling me @ 016-9876823 .. ?
I am from Kepong btw and if you are free, we can met up at the vet.. *sigh*

Btw, im Andy here..
Thanks alot.. sad.gif
Yo Bro GMC,
Ringworm/Fungus NO NEED VET. You just make an step that put your chin life in danger in unneccesery way.

I meet Dr. Sivan before in AMC, he is a exotic vet 'there' BUT he does not know a lot of of treating exotic pet, expecially chinchilla, he treating chinchilla using rabbit method. Your chin "CANT EVEN STAND on its HIND legs.." is because they give him anesthetic. Another word, the vet give your young chin a mild poison air to be uncontious , so he can FREELY do anything with chin not moving at all, that is wrong to apply on fungus treatment, very very wrong.

You have own the chin for sometime, actually is very very easy to get all this simple information from the net or here. If you have browse through this thread, your chin will not suffer unneccesery.

Treating fungus of ringworm ON ANY PART OF THE BODY.
1. Buy a chinchilla dust bath, remeber is dust.
2. Go to the pharmacy, ask for ringworm powder or anti fungus powder for human at counter, you may need to visit few store to get the powder type anti fungus.
3. mix 1 cup of dust bath with 1 teaspoon of anti fungus powder
4. using this medicated mixture to let your chin bath for everyday for 2 week. Fungus should go in no time.
5. After that, give your chin bath every once 2 days for maintainance
6. If you not putting your chin in Air con room, give you chin dust bath every once 2-3days to avoid fungus problem.

I hope your chin will make it, but if you chin is a young chin, is very very little chance from what you descripe.

Do read more on care fact of chin, post question here if you can
't find anything you need, no one can help your chin except you, cause you are the owner, he life is counting on you forever.

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jun 8 2008, 02:51 PM
TSChinchillas
post Jun 8 2008, 07:32 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

As GMC told me, he's chin is begin blow dried by hair dryer... So If your chin begin blow by hot heat, pls get ready to accept anything going to happen. Secondly, once you get you chin home, first thing you need to do is, get him in a air con WITHOUT any body disturbing her. Then, syringe feed her with some water(should use those water is filter water for human consumption), it maybe be hard and very careful will you doing it, feeding to fast or drip water into chin nose will chock her and die on the spot.

Syringe Feeding method.
1.Buy syringe from Pharmacy, 2ml or 1ml syringe.
2. Feed with plain water.(without water your chin will be dehydrated and dead) If she not respond to your plain water, make some fresh apple juice mix with water50/50 to feed her. Use hand to squice some out for apple.
3. If your chin doesnt eat for whole night, crash the some pellet, soak in a bowl for 5-10mins with water, syringe feed her. If she is eating, there is hope, if she is not, spend the rest of your time with her.
4. PLACE THE SYRINGE IN FRONT OF HER TEETHNOT INSIDE THE MOUTH AND GENTLELY RELEASE A DROP OF WATER TO HER, IF SHE LICK IT, REPEAT AS NEEDED TILL SHE DONT WANT OR 2-4ML OR MORE IF YOU SEE HER DRINKING. FEED EVERY 2-3HOURS. To make easy for yourself to feed her, wrap her up with a towel and only showing out her head, just like making a 'poh pia'.
5. Let your chin have a cold, quite and dark place to sleep within this few day, she should be recover soon if she start eating and drinking. Meet all her enviroment need, she will recover very fast with your care.

Do update for us.

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jun 8 2008, 07:34 PM
TSChinchillas
post Jun 9 2008, 10:45 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Jun 9 2008, 10:42 AM)
[attachmentid=492825]
Size: 28" x 21" x 51"H

Is this cage OK for a chinchilla???
For 1-2 adult chin consider ok, but for young chin is too high, cut half of the cage should be useful for young chin. Cage bottom should be solid or anything that can make it into flat ground standing.

Added on June 9, 2008, 10:46 amI want to know how is GMC chinchilla, he should update us.

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jun 9 2008, 10:46 AM
TSChinchillas
post Jun 9 2008, 02:18 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

GMS's Chinchilla passed away already, at 710am.

I will said, please seriously do research and reading before all owner attend visiting our local vet! From now, I will banned AMC for treating Chinchilla.

Added on June 9, 2008, 2:19 pmNo more Animal Medical centre for treating small animals!

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jun 9 2008, 02:53 PM
TSChinchillas
post Jun 9 2008, 02:31 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

It is so sad to see treating a tiny fungus, skin irritation problem can lead to DEAD BY A VET!!! I AM SO MAD!
TSChinchillas
post Jun 9 2008, 04:45 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

Chinchilla infected with fungus look like this:

Level 1

Level 2

Level 3
Still looking. blush.gif

Fur CHEWING Look like this :

I am showing the fur chewing photos is because I wish to share this to all chin owner or future chin owner, so they have an ideal what is fur chewing and why you can't buy from this type of chin from pet shop(1 Utama->Inside Jusco->lower ground Pet shop)

Fur chewing 1 of the main reason is OVER STRESS of enviroment, mal-nutrition and genatic PROBLEM. Whenever you try to breed this type of chin, in result it will create another fur chewer. Ugly right?

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jun 9 2008, 07:06 PM
TSChinchillas
post Jun 9 2008, 07:04 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

Fur slip and fur chewing is 2 difference thing. Have not see their chin yet, can't tell. smile.gif
TSChinchillas
post Jun 9 2008, 11:21 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(11Jan @ Jun 9 2008, 08:55 PM)
omg!! its awful that GMC's chin had to die just because of fungus!! the vet is a disgrace!!  vmad.gif

if anyone knows of any vet who has better knowledge of chins, pls share the information. and also share info on vets who don't know anything about chins! hopefully we can avoid such unnecessary loss in the future.

but most importantly is.. research research research

Added on June 9, 2008, 9:17 pm

where did you find this cage?
Can't fully blame the Vet even the vet is not skillful in this matter. GMC should have know certain basic information about chinchilla health and illness, he had another chinchilla for more then a year. From a pet owner who own a pet more then a yr treating fungus is a very simple task that no need to involve vet for he circumstances(unless is serious bad that begin to effect chin health). This simple problem is just a like kacang putih to treat IF HE had spend time(less then few hours will do) of study how to care for chinchilla. Fungus is very very commen happened in non air con envioment.

Since thing already happen, we just take note of what our local vet KNOWLEDGE level are, EXTREME LOW! Let's move on.

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jun 9 2008, 11:22 PM
TSChinchillas
post Jun 10 2008, 11:28 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

Kevin_faye, you going to get a chinchilla soon?
TSChinchillas
post Jun 10 2008, 01:35 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(nicoty_yne @ Jun 10 2008, 01:23 PM)
I'm so sad about GMC's lost. I know how he feels.. Plus, AMC admition fee is not cheap. I sent my hamster for RM300 fee deposit. I dont pay the rest surgical fee after i know about its death.  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
So pissed off and sad.  cry.gif

btw, can GMC sue them?
If I am him, I will. Not sue them, but ask for compensation. But you need to know from A-Z of why your chin die before you attend.
TSChinchillas
post Jun 11 2008, 10:16 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

KF: O... the cage is bough for your sugar glider, I thought you planning to buy a chin. biggrin.gif

AB : Even the title begin remove, the animal already dead.
TSChinchillas
post Jun 11 2008, 02:00 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Jun 11 2008, 11:12 AM)
Chinchilla : u wanna sell a chin to me meh?? huhu tongue.gif but one day i will get one from u k.. coz u r a reputable breeder so far dat i can find in malaysia.. no need pai seh la... wub.gif deal?
Sure.... blush.gif
TSChinchillas
post Jun 11 2008, 03:05 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

hahaha.... sure. September is good time to see my babies "Show". smile.gif) Very CUTE!!!!!!!

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Jun 12 2008, 03:02 PM
TSChinchillas
post Jun 11 2008, 03:16 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

Just few la, still developing smile.gif

TSChinchillas
post Jun 11 2008, 06:56 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

Chinchilla is my only pet! biggrin.gif Love them! Very adorable pet... Don't know how to explain untill you experience yourself by owning one. biggrin.gif
TSChinchillas
post Jun 12 2008, 06:49 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

Ya, research is very important, if not you will facing something you not expected.

45 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0497sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:09 PM