QUOTE(LoveDoggY @ May 11 2008, 07:41 PM)
thank you! Added on May 12, 2008, 1:04 pm
QUOTE(LoveDoggY @ May 11 2008, 08:33 PM)
Save money,Save money,Save money! This post has been edited by Chinchillas: May 12 2008, 01:04 PM
Chinchilla- Totoro, All are welcome!
May 12 2008, 01:02 PM
1,380 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(LoveDoggY @ May 11 2008, 07:41 PM) thank you! Added on May 12, 2008, 1:04 pm QUOTE(LoveDoggY @ May 11 2008, 08:33 PM) Save money,Save money,Save money! This post has been edited by Chinchillas: May 12 2008, 01:04 PM |
May 13 2008, 11:18 AM
answer to saramic, Hi.
Chinchillas... I have a few questions out of curiousity.... #1. Where do you get the safe wood to build the cage & as a chewing/gnawing post? I don't build cage using safe wood, if you really wish to build a cage for your chin, I suggest using metal materia. Chin is a super chewer and escape artist. Buying a cage at pet shop will solve you alot of hazard if you only build for 1-3chins. #2. Pumice stones. Is it the same ones used to smooth out the rough skin on the heel of our legs? No. Pumice stones is make from difference materia, some is from shells, some is from pure pumice stone which is very suitable in trimming front and bottom teeth of small animals. #3. Can they chew on those wood chews made for hamsters/guinea pigs? For local supply on hamster and GP wood chew product, some is safe, some is not safe, even some is written for chin, is not safe at all. But you can get bark, some natural make chew toy from most of the pet shop. #4. Is it alright to modify a large cat cage to house chins? As i understand that height & width plays an important role too. Yes, you can. You just need to make sure all the thing you put in will not hurt the chin. for example, no wire bottom,mean should create a flat standing area, you cage must be cover with 1cm x 1cm wire mess, cause chin will escape from the gap on cat cage, save stand platform or jumping platform, if you build it wrongly, chin will fall and get injury or broke their back bone that can be fatal. #5. Where's the nearest vet in case of emergencies? Are you in Selangor? Nearest vet I can locate for you to meet the basic chin need is Animals centre HQ, dr. Siva. Most of the vet will treat chin as it as a rabbit. Yes, I am in Selangor. |
May 13 2008, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(saramic @ May 13 2008, 10:30 PM) Thanks for answering my Q's Chincillas... Eventually wire mess will rust. If your bottom is solid,like plastic solid, it wont rust. That's why still is the best and safe for you to buy a cage rather then make your self, cause you still not familiar with what this animal living lifestyle.Another thing. Won't their urine make the wire mess rust? Reason why I asked if you are in Selangor is hopefully by the time I really made up my mind to get these "furballs", I would really love to get it from you. |
May 15 2008, 03:50 PM
Just shot some photos to share...
![]() Time for bath.... ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
May 22 2008, 06:27 PM
QUOTE(11Jan @ May 22 2008, 06:01 PM) Hi Saramic! Thanks 11jan.Like you, I too am toying with the idea of making my own cage when I get chinchillas in the future... I want a large cage, at least 3 storeys with lots of space for wheels and hammock and ledges As for whether chew toys are safe, this depends on the type of wood from which it is made. Certain types of wood contain toxins, mostly from the tree-sap. However, depending on how the wood is subsequently processed, the toxins can be removed and fungus, bacteria etc destroyed. Certain chew toys are dyed in many attractive colours, this is fine if food/vegetable colouring is used as dye. Chinchillas, nice pics! makes me feel like squishing your chins hehe Well, Martin cage is definatelly a quality cage, but expensive tho. If your have budget on cage, can import one for your pet. Some of my friend from Singapore using Martin cage for their chins, of cause their import in group to save some shipping cost. |
May 22 2008, 10:29 PM
7 of my chins is from Singapore. Of cause in difference time for each chin.
May 23 2008, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(11Jan @ May 23 2008, 11:47 AM) That's nice! I'm considering getting chins from SG, if i can't find them in KL by the time i'm ready for chins Yes, it is expensive for the permit. But if you bring 1 each time or 2, you wont need permit, but need to TALK to them alot.... so you only bought 1 chin each time you went to SG? won't it be cheaper to get more than 1 at the same time? SG export permit is quite pricey Chinchilla from Singapore not neccesary will be quality or better then here, cause too many home breeder simply breed and make those chin drop into pet chin quality. If you want quality chin, let me know, I give my friend's contact, he is a breeder, and you should get discern chin from him WITH a price to pay. I visited 1 pet shop they who claim to be breeder(who ever have 1 male and female animal put in same cage, you are a breeder) and I manage to visit her 'den', my.... I almost want to report SPCA Singapore! So just be careful, many good chin out they, just be watchful when you go over there. Just to remind you that quality chin come with a quality price, if you just want 1, go for the best one you can get, get ready RM1500-RM2000 to get 1 from mutation. How to discern good one, the fur and the shape. Added on May 23, 2008, 4:36 pmThis fellow eat my S$850 ![]() This post has been edited by Chinchillas: May 23 2008, 04:36 PM |
May 23 2008, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(shingin @ May 23 2008, 07:13 PM) Wow your white chin has a very nice fur, I like thick fur chin, not like the one I saw in Ikano, looks like "sheding chin", the fur too loose and not nice to touch. This is something your may like, it is sooooooooooooooooo adorable....I really think chin can be very canggih, I have seen one who stand there without moving for hours then close the eyes and fall asleep... still remain the same pose Not a lot of PETs can do that. Added on May 23, 2008, 7:34 pmI saw one Sg. forum (pet adoption) a few months ago can adopt chin, but I cannot find back the said forum, sorry For those who might think of buying chin in Sg. Why not try to adopt one from Sg. (But I am not sure whether still got or not) Take some effort to search from the Sg. forum 1st, if really cannot find then only look for chin breeder. Please don't misunderstand my meaning... I don't mean to save money or what, I just hope that there are some chin's lover can adopt the "going to be homeless/abandoned chin". >< But the quality/condition of the chin might not be so good lo... if I am a chin lover, I think I won't mind... what I will do is I will put more effort and take good care of it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=97JOgredUcw&feature=related ----------------------------------- I have tried before to adopt from them, but is it very very hard, i even get cheat! I mean cheat is not in money by when i confirm with them to save the chin and make an afford to ask my friend to travel there to get from him, his said he already GIVE TO HIS friend to adopt! imagine if i go down to singapore from KL, how much time and effort waste which this kind of singaporian! Those Singaporian who choose to give up chin, when they choose to do that they will dump to who ever can help them to get rit of the the chin as fast as possible to let them self loose. This is one of the chin i try to save... ![]() ![]() see what the hack this idiot is doing! The owner may have release him in the wild already... Added on May 23, 2008, 8:25 pm QUOTE(11Jan @ May 23 2008, 08:12 PM) the TALK method can work with SG authorities?? I'm afraid they won't let me through or confiscate my chin You wont need to talk to SG custom, but Malaysia custom, cause you bring thing out from singapore not bring thing in to singapore. Singapore custom authorities, nothing can be talk.Don't get me wrong, i'm not saying that chins from SG are of better quality. Its just that i find it hard to find chins for sale in KL. Sometimes I see them in pet shops, but sometimes i dont see any for a long long time. And also, sometimes the ones in petshops seem to have some skin problems, botak here and there. If there is a breeder in Malaysia, i would definitely prefer to get from that person rather than go through the hassle of driving to SG, going through customs, etc. I will definitely only buy from a good breeder, not like that girl you wanted to report to SPCA SG Shingin, I have come across adoption posts before. Sometimes a small fee is required. Sometimes they use the term 'rehoming' because SG AVA is very strict about the sale of pets. I have nothing against adoption, if there is a chin which is going to be abandoned, i'd be more than happy to take it in. This post has been edited by Chinchillas: May 23 2008, 08:25 PM |
May 23 2008, 08:53 PM
QUOTE(11Jan @ May 23 2008, 08:35 PM) to take an animal out from SG, you need a SG export permit. That is the info i got from their AVA website. but i guess in practice its different? so the SG customs saw your chins but didnt ask for any export permit? SG Custom didnt say anything.how is that chin now? poor thing.. luckily you're giving it a good life now! BTW, your friend who is a breeder, is he from SG or Msia? About the chin, as I said, I been cheated by that guys, he didnt even pick up my call when my friend waited in front of his house! so we give up and later I ask my sis to call from singapore, then only he tell that he gave to his friend already. MY! Then don't confirm with me the time and the date! Anyway I hope this chin get someone to take care off too. |
May 24 2008, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(Huey_nee @ May 24 2008, 12:13 AM) OMG!!! this is soooooooooooooo cute!!! Ya, I saw that at Ikano, well they have put some newspaper inside the cage floor, so the chin's leg wont get stuck on the wire bottom. Of cause newspaper is not a good choise, but is better the broken leg. I have suggested few more thing to them, hopefully they apply. Toby pet's boss is very welling to receive the suggestion, you can see it from his attitude, but dont know the stuff ... How can it realise that it has already finish chewing and look for food in the cup while sleeping... Ikano pet shop are selling few chins there, price range around 650-850.. but the cage their using to put the chin is those rabbit cage (wired ground) That chin cute isnt it? I am also get poison by that, never thought of Chin, while sleeping still can be eatting as well! |
May 24 2008, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(Huey_nee @ May 24 2008, 12:40 PM) I read your post about chins quite often, and I noticed at Ikano that the hay they are putting for the chins, almost 90% of the hay fall down to the bottom of the cage, leaving few straws only... The hay? The boss should check on thier staffs and the animals they are selling loh for the sake of responsibility... Few days back I went to taman megah pet shop (beside ming tian food court), there was a dead hamster flesh inside the cage with other alive hamsters!! I can said 100% of the hay they feed them is useless, is completely dead brown. So drop on the bottom of the cage or not , doesnt really matter. |
May 26 2008, 11:05 AM
My chinchilla is fine.
Added on May 26, 2008, 12:03 pm ![]() Don't see the chin, see the wooden house, it suppose to be a square shape edge, not become like that alread... ![]() "I hate flash light!" This post has been edited by Chinchillas: May 26 2008, 12:03 PM |
May 26 2008, 02:13 PM
QUOTE(nicoty_yne @ May 26 2008, 01:22 PM) Cute chincillas..! After this i must ask Sangterap to kidnap ur chins pulak... We'll bring parang+shovel..!! Haha.. thanks for your free Promo. Added on May 26, 2008, 1:30 pmHaaa.. Now OXBOW hay also available for ur chins... Find this brand and ask the petshop to get this brand in. Timothy hay from Chincillas also fresh, sweet-smell and crispy.. I also purchase from him. Get the good quality pet feed only, ok? <---- free promo for Chin! Chin, when will ur baby chins available? Once i'm ready to have a chin, i sure find u... last month a petshop ask me if i want a chin (he knows i'm a pet lover), but i'm not ready to have one at this moment. Plus, i dun have any knowledge about keeping a chin. Must learn first... Betul tak Chin? Ya, must learn first, is good for your chin. I go for quality fresh hay, not much on brand. With the chins I have now, I need lots of hay. They eat about 12kg of timothy hay per months now and increasing. I am very picky on hay. |
May 26 2008, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(sharil_routh @ May 26 2008, 02:57 PM) 19 Added on May 26, 2008, 3:17 pm QUOTE(11Jan @ May 26 2008, 03:10 PM) wow 12kg of hay per mth?? that is a LOT! you must have tons of chins haha my 2 rabbits only take 1kg of hay each mth! They eat lots of hay, is good sign! hmm.. i think next time when i'm ready for a chin, i must ask chinchillas to follow me to the petshops! cos when i saw the chins at ikano, i thought their fur all looked OK. guess my eyes are not expert enough About the selecting of chinchilla on pet shop, not the thick or thin fur, is the fur strenght. You will know how to discern when you see other chinchilla's fur that is better then the other, then you will know. Chinchilla's fur have difference quality as well. This post has been edited by Chinchillas: May 26 2008, 03:17 PM |
May 26 2008, 04:05 PM
Sure.
May 26 2008, 07:29 PM
I did not manage to save that chin, cause the guys didnt let me adopt, he gave it to his friend after telling me to come and pick up.
May 26 2008, 08:35 PM
QUOTE(sharil_routh @ May 26 2008, 08:12 PM) Chinchillas, I think u should do a visit trip for who one to know more about chinchilla especially like me. hehehehe.. Wah.... For me their fur all the same. The softness etc when I hold them. So if u let us visit and show to us in front of us what do u mean the quality of fur, or any others else,we will understand more. Just do research , read from book, website not the same if we get experience by ourself. Maybe if after people visit ur Chinchilla paradise they will think of themself either they ready for it or not. P/S: Please, please buka hati chinchilla to do a visit. I am still learning like all of you, it just I have the chance of holding and touching difference quality of fur AND facing difference problem(more chin more problem will surface). Currently more of our local pet shop sell quite lots young chin, young chin is baby fur, you can only feel the actual texture of the fur when they are adult, 10-15months old. As long as it is a chinchilla, you will be very sure their fur is very very much difference from any others animal you ever touch. |
May 28 2008, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(nicoty_yne @ May 28 2008, 01:25 PM) 12 kg? how many Chin u have? My 4 rabbits also eat 2-3kg hay a month. Hahaha... Added on May 28, 2008, 1:28 pm Go buy from Chincilla la.. he got 19 chins!! Added on May 28, 2008, 1:30 pm What visit trip??! No need visit trip. We just need a group of people with mask and rope. We go to visit Chincilla's house. Kidnap his chins. One chin each people... so we can bring 19 people to kidnap. |
May 28 2008, 05:23 PM
May 29 2008, 11:16 AM
Helena, 11Jan have give you a very good outline of how to choose wood for your pet to chew. I just want to add couple of thing here.
If you using a plastic base cage, no doubt you can't avoid chinchilla will not chew it, chinchilla really chew on anything. For the save wooden house, if that house is make for GP to use, it should be safe for chin to chew on, provided it is imported, local make they using cheap ply wood(toxic). You can also buy some chew block/bark for your chin, that will reduce the chance of them chewing any plastic item in your cage. Chew block at this moment that available locally is Sluis. Go look around you should fine it. How old is your chin? any pictures to share to us? Do you feed them timothy hay? hay is one of the main 'enquiment' to trim their teeth to proper shape. |
| Change to: | 0.0205sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:44 AM |