Why Chinese are so hardworking, and materailistic?

hellothere131495
post Jul 8 2021, 03:58 PM

473 posts

Chinese people adore money. When we bless someone, we also bless his financial well-being.

The Chinese were genetically predisposed to work diligently to earn money. This has historically been the case. However, when it comes to other aspects of life, such as education and position, the Chinese also diligently achieve goals while neglecting their mental health.

It is a way of life. Japanese is also like that.

hellothere131495
post Jul 9 2021, 08:28 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(Archemedia @ May 16 2021, 06:45 PM)
IMO fear & anxiety affects chinese more than malays/indians. Probably why.
It’s true. They are making comparisons to their peers. The Chinese are fierce competitors. They desire to attend better schools, earn more money, and acquire additional property. The pressure to keep up with society and, if possible, exceed some people is causing them anxiety and depression when things do not go as planned or easily.

Because not everyone has the good fortune or talent to succeed, the rest must work extra hard.

hellothere131495
post Jul 9 2021, 07:15 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(ChaosXP @ Jul 9 2021, 06:58 PM)
Yeap, there's nothing wrong with good ol money and there is nothing sweeter than some semblance of financial independence !
Also, inb4 working smart means being unethical and sociopathic. I lol.
Yus!!
hellothere131495
post Jul 9 2021, 07:19 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(DannyMc @ May 16 2021, 10:54 AM)
I think it is not about race, it is your environment growing up affecting each individual. Most kids grew up in middle class family might not understand on day-to-day struggle to get food on table, instability in life.

Those in TARC,UTAR or local U usually from middle class and below. My wife's team consist of 90% of this co-worker, some don't event have money for own transportation when they first come to work. However, they are best of the best in their batch, CGPA >3.9 or i would say 4.0 most of them.

The instruction from my wife is simple, "if you can fight, i will reward you". Simple yet powerful, they are the best performer in their team(globally) for so many years until now.
Yes, this is quite accurate in general. However, the environment is typically constructed by culture, and culture is inextricably linked to race.
hellothere131495
post Jul 9 2021, 09:16 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Phyarc @ Jul 9 2021, 08:01 PM)
if run your own race then no ...
loser is for those kiasu, insecure or comparing one to another.
there will always be someone more ambitious/successful, or someone doing worse.
You are correct. The losers are kiasu and enjoy making comparisons. When I was a student, the majority of my classmates were geniuses. They consistently earn high marks, and when the spm results were released, many of us received straight A's. When I was pursuing my engineering degree, the competition was fierce. Everyone desired to be a genius, which is somewhat childish.

I already have a new perspective on things. I recognize that academic and job excellence is not as critical as they once were. Peace of mind and physical health are more important. Those things have ceased to be significant. Anyway, I'm still young. Kek.

hellothere131495
post Jul 10 2021, 09:19 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(malleus @ Jul 10 2021, 08:48 AM)
I'll give a different perspective, based on what a friend at MIT had observed during his time there.

He didn't go through the undergrad program, as he was sent there for his MBA sponsored by his employer at that time, but he had worked there as a part time tutor while doing his MBA, and had interacted with the undergrads a lot.

The very first day where a new undergrad intake was welcomed, they were congratulated on among the best as they have qualified for entry into MIT's undergrad programme. However unfortunately no matter how good they are, a full 1/3 will drop out by the end of the first year, due to the bell curve. So, imagine the pressure and competition.

Another perspective on when you were  doing your engineering degree. Ever considered that there will be those who will need to consistently achieve those marks in order to continue to qualify for the scholarships they are under, as such scholarships are actually evaluated yearly, and without it, they will have to just drop out as they can no longer afford the fees?

Sure, peace of mind and physical health is important, but what if a person putting themselves through such stress is the only way for them to get out of a situation where they will have even less peace of mind in the first place? like figuring out how to help their parents pay for the school fees of their younger siblings?
Hi. Thank you for responding. I'm not sure why you'd want to give me two different perspectives. Perhaps you're attempting to say that there are times when situations are more difficult, and we must deal with them and that prioritizing mind peace and health must be temporarily sacrificed?

According to the first point you made, you appear to be comparing my situation to an example from one of the world's top universities. Yes, the situation there could be more difficult, and many excellent students dropped out, leaving only a few to survive and graduate. However, those who dropped out chose to prioritize their own well-being over the stress of the situation. In my opinion, this is a respectable decision because they are aware of their own limitations, and it is acceptable to drop out of school if they truly cannot handle it. However, if you're pointing this out to say that my situation isn't as bad as I thought it would be and that there are worse situations out there, I appreciate your clarification.

Regarding your second point, you stated that some people need to consistently achieve certain marks to continue qualifying for the scholarships they are under, and they will drop out if their scholarships are terminated due to their family's poverty, in which case I can recommend that they apply for a PTPTN loan. Consider attending a less expensive university, such as UTAR, and obtaining a PTPTN loan that is affordable to repay one day. There is no reason to push yourself to achieve something that only talented people can do.

In my opinion, the most important aspects are mental and physical health. It's as if food is the most important thing as well. We cannot do more things that require more money and effort unless we first meet our basic needs. School fees should be affordable because government primary and secondary schools are free with a few minor charges to pay. If the children are accepted to a public university, it is a blessing because they will apply for PTPTN, covering their living expenses, hostel fees, and tuition fees. PTPTN now even gives you advanced money to buy a flight ticket and books before studying at university.

There is no reason for a child not to continue his studies unless he failed his exams, his family is poor enough that they cannot afford a school uniform, in which case they can seek assistance from bantuan B40.
hellothere131495
post Jul 10 2021, 04:13 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Maria Takagi @ Jul 10 2021, 03:57 PM)
Chinese here very toned down already lah

I.worked with Hong Kong n China people

Our Chinese no match compared to their materialistic and hardworking culture

Hk a bit diff lah...but China people die die must make money
Yes, very agree. We are Chinese who have been Malaysianized. To the mainland, we are considered to be slothful and less diligent than they are.

0.0176sec    1.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:19 AM