Enquiries/Recommendations Laptop ram upgrade acer E5-476G-50WA, help/ advice needed for ram upgrade

TSakhito
post May 10 2021, 05:58 PM, updated 5y ago

752 posts

Hi guys I am planning to upgrade my laptop ram by adding 1 more 8GB ram. Will there be a problem if the two channel ram size no equal? hmm.gif
I know the current ram is ADATA 4GB 2400MHZ and 1.35 V based on wmic it show 1200 should be 1.2V right (ok confirmed already cpu Z show 1.2 volt)
I plan to buy kingstone 8gb 2400MHZ ram ? This one here Will it be alright? Or sifu got recommend other better brand or must get back ADATA?

Furthermore, if I order the ram myself and ask laptop repair shop help me mount the ram usually how much will they charge? Not sure if I got the correct tool to DIY.
Updated cpu z screen shoot showing 4GB 2400 ADATA ram

This post has been edited by akhito: May 10 2021, 08:01 PM
acbc
post May 10 2021, 06:00 PM

9,051 posts

Depends.

Most new laptops can support different voltages. However, some may not and will cause instability when running.

Best to remove the 4GB and sell it awal and the money plus top up for another 8GB.
TSakhito
post May 10 2021, 06:03 PM

752 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ May 10 2021, 06:00 PM)
Depends.

Most new laptops can support different voltages. However, some may not and will cause instability when running.

Best to remove the 4GB and sell it awal and the money plus top up for another 8GB.
Nvrmind sort that out ald. Main question here is can I use two ram with diffferent ram size eg. 4GB+8GB and must the manufacturer be the same?
Also usually how must will be charged I go to shop and ask them to install for me?
Thanks in advanced.

This post has been edited by akhito: May 10 2021, 07:06 PM
TSakhito
post May 10 2021, 07:39 PM

752 posts

After thinking, I think my best bet is buying DDR4 2400 sodimm 8GB ram just in case cannot dual ram just swap out old. Any recommendation on best deals can post lazada or shoppee link. Thank you sifus.

0.0173sec    1.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:11 AM