17 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Hisense 2021 TV range - something for everyone.

TSwritesimply
post Sep 4 2021, 02:21 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(sunnyK @ Sep 4 2021, 01:34 PM)
You are resourceful. Decent Malaysia pricing for the 65 U800. I didnt realise its only a 60Hz panel until i saw your previous post. Might be a letdown and need to demo the set first.
If the U800QF is a 120Hz panel TV, Hisense would sell a lot more than they have. For movie and TV watching, 60Hz panel is more than enough. 60Hz gaming is good too.

ntc3freak
post Sep 5 2021, 06:18 PM

2,347 posts

Just pulled the trigger on a display set 65U800QF from Harvey Norman. This stock from January 2021, but considering the months of shutdown, I figured not too bad. Looks great and no physical defects to note. Only thing is no box, but not a big deal for me.

Price was RM4,2xx with free 5 years warranty and delivery in KV.

Was tempted to get the 55-inch Sony X90J for around RM3xx more, but would have had to top up another RM8xx to match the 5 years warranty period. The 65-inch X90J was expectedly gorgeous, but out of my current budget.

Also considered the TCL C716 for slightly cheaper, but U800 has FLAD and a much higher peak brightness. In the end the other major difference for users is Vidaa vs Android TV. Either way doesn't matter at all to me, I'm hooking it up to an nVidia Shield TV Pro (2019).

U7G was also in consideration, but the Malaysian model is lacking a bit with no HDMI 2.1 and no 120Hz panel. Peak brightness is also worse than the U800.

Hope I've made the right decision to last for a few years. Should be arriving tomorrow, excited to experience my first 4K TV smile.gif
sunnyK
post Sep 6 2021, 09:33 AM

663 posts

QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Sep 5 2021, 06:18 PM)
Just pulled the trigger on a display set 65U800QF from Harvey Norman. This stock from January 2021, but considering the months of shutdown, I figured not too bad. Looks great and no physical defects to note. Only thing is no box, but not a big deal for me.

Was tempted to get the 55-inch Sony X90J for around RM3xx more, but would have had to top up another RM8xx to match the 5 years warranty period. The 65-inch X90J was expectedly gorgeous, but out of my current budget.

Also considered the TCL C716 for slightly cheaper, but U800 has FLAD and a much higher peak brightness. In the end the other major difference for users is Vidaa vs Android TV. Either way doesn't matter at all to me, I'm hooking it up to an nVidia Shield TV Pro (2019).

U7G was also in consideration, but the Malaysian model is lacking a bit with no HDMI 2.1 and no 120Hz panel. Peak brightness is also worse than the U800.

Hope I've made the right decision to last for a few years. Should be arriving tomorrow, excited to experience my first 4K TV smile.gif
Great . Pls provide a review ya.

I wonder if this U800 support HDR10. Cant see it at the official specs. Is it a Semi Gloss panel ? How does it handle reflection and flickering?
Pls let us know how was it watching movies in the dark and dim light condition as i fear its supreme brightness might scorch the eyes.

I am contemplating between buying the U800 , Sony X900H/X90J and the Oled TV.

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by sunnyK: Sep 6 2021, 09:44 AM
ntc3freak
post Sep 6 2021, 10:19 AM

2,347 posts

QUOTE(sunnyK @ Sep 6 2021, 09:33 AM)
Great . Pls provide a review ya.

I wonder if this U800 support HDR10. Cant see it at the official specs. Is it a Semi Gloss panel ? How does it handle reflection  and flickering?
Pls let us know how was it watching movies in the dark and dim light condition as i fear its supreme brightness might scorch the eyes.
I am contemplating between buying the U800 , Sony X900H/X90J and the Oled TV.

Thanks in advance.
I think if I had more budget, I would have gone for the 65-inch X90J. On paper and in person, without question it is the better TV. At that price point might also top up a bit to get OLED, but for me OLED not viable with my TV placement beside sliding door and balcony, so brightness will be an issue during the daytime.

The only worrying aspect for U800 is reports of the backlight shutting down in really dim scenes (resulting in a black screen), as well as reports of motion issues. Will have to wait and see when my unit arrives.
TSwritesimply
post Sep 6 2021, 02:18 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Sep 5 2021, 06:18 PM)

Good price with the extra two years warranty.

Some people seem to forget that most people must stick to a budget when buying anything. At this price with its size and feature, it's a good buy.

Would be interested to see how the AI Upscaler on the Shield would look like. Supposed to be very good.

The built-in Media Player of the TV can play Dolby Vision MP4s, FYI. I don't know if Kodi could.

Here is the Demolandia download page of Dolby Vision clips you can test. Of course, some Netflix movies and series are also in Dolby Vision.

At 700+ nits, it's a bit of a drop-off from the U800QF's 1000+ nits. But I was surprised to learn that below RM3,000 Dolby Vision TVs have peak brightness below 400. That's the FALD advantage.

QUOTE(sunnyK @ Sep 6 2021, 09:33 AM)
I wonder if this U800 support HDR10. Cant see it at the official specs.
HDR10 is the basic HDR standard. It supports HDR10+. I'm not sure about HLG but the UK version does support it.

Any LCD TV can have their backlight adjusted. There's Dolby Vision Bright and Dark mode as well, if you don't want to meddle with the backlight.

QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Sep 6 2021, 10:19 AM)
The only worrying aspect for U800 is reports of the backlight shutting down in really dim scenes (resulting in a black screen), as well as reports of motion issues. Will have to wait and see when my unit arrives.
Fortunately most films and TVs are not made with really dim scenes. There are certainly test scenes that TV reviewers use as a torture test. But most content doesn't fall under that.

Hopefully the delivery goes as planned.
sunnyK
post Sep 6 2021, 08:30 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Sep 6 2021, 10:19 AM)
I think if I had more budget, I would have gone for the 65-inch X90J. On paper and in person, without question it is the better TV. At that price point might also top up a bit to get OLED, but for me OLED not viable with my TV placement beside sliding door and balcony, so brightness will be an issue during the daytime.

I kinda fancy less the Sony X900H/X90J as both uses Pulse-Width Modulation (PWM) . A bit letdown by this and my eyes are quite sensitive to flickering.
eltaria
post Sep 8 2021, 09:50 AM

GO GO GO
1,040 posts

seems like no u8g for malaysia?
Aih, hisense malaysia really kinda sucks, malaysia could be one of their key demographics for them to gain market share actually.

Really bad foresight/marketing team they have here
ntc3freak
post Sep 8 2021, 02:28 PM

2,347 posts

Hello. TV was delivered yday evening and I have set it up on my TV console (Ikea Besta with Ikea Uppleva mount). Some first impressions :

1) 65-inch is incredibly big! Viewing distance is about 2.5 meters. Will take some time to get used to, but it's nice to be this immersed into the content. Context, I was coming from a basic LG 43-inch Full HD TV from 2016. This is a massive step up in size and everything else.

2) IT LOOKS AWESOME! I mean, I might not have the sharpest eyes to detect blooming, ghosting, motion blurs and all that. I'm also not the kind of person to throw up a bunch of test videos on this TV to find its flaws. I plugged it in, and straight away started to enjoy my usual content on Netflix, Plex, and Youtube. It's an incredibly enjoyable experience IMO.

3) HDR content really pops! The screen gets really bright to the point that gun muzzle flashes (sp?) and things like lightning get shockingly bright. Never having had a HDR TV before, I don't have anything to compare to. Regardless, I'm impressed by the dynamic range it is able to display in the shadows and highlights.

4) Full-array local dimming is great. I've been watching Night on Earth (Netflix) a lot, and the effect is just stunning, even with the subtitles on. Shots with the lit moon on one half of the screen and complete darkness on the other blows my mind away. Even when subtitles are on, I have not noticed issues with blooming around the text, at least not to my untrained eyes. The black levels really impress me, and I'm not sure it gets much better than this other than going full OLED.

5) Motion is a bit iffy with some settings. With smooth motion disabled, motion is quite juddery and stuttery. I also notice it sometimes struggling a bit with dark areas. I have played around with it, and so far am settling with the 'Film' setting, and it seems to have fixed those issues. 'Smooth' is a bit too buttery and Soap Opera for me, and I don't like it (maybe later for football or F1), but definitely not movies and shows. I will continue to experiment with this, but so far I am happy with 'Film'.

6) Speakers are okay, better than most TVs, but definitely more garbage than any average sound bar. Doesn't matter to me, I don't use the TV speakers at all other than the initial testing while the TV was set on the floor.

Overall, I am really surprisingly impressed by this TV. It looked great in the store, but I feel it looks even better at home. Even watching 1080p content is really enjoyable (mind you, I am using the upscaling from my nVidia Shield Pro 2019, so it might just be the Shield's excellent upscaling). For the price I paid, I am really happy with it. No TV is perfect, and this one certainly is not either, but the price-to-performance ratio hits the sweet spot for me smile.gif
sunnyK
post Sep 8 2021, 06:50 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Sep 8 2021, 02:28 PM)
Hello. TV was delivered yday evening and I have set it up on my TV console (Ikea Besta with Ikea Uppleva mount). Some first impressions :

1) 65-inch is incredibly big! Viewing distance is about 2.5 meters. Will take some time to get used to, but it's nice to be this immersed into the content. Context, I was coming from a basic LG 43-inch Full HD TV from 2016. This is a massive step up in size and everything else.

2) IT LOOKS AWESOME! I mean, I might not have the sharpest eyes to detect blooming, ghosting, motion blurs and all that. I'm also not the kind of person to throw up a bunch of test videos on this TV to find its flaws. I plugged it in, and straight away started to enjoy my usual content on Netflix, Plex, and Youtube. It's an incredibly enjoyable experience IMO.

3) HDR content really pops! The screen gets really bright to the point that gun muzzle flashes (sp?) and things like lightning get shockingly bright. Never having had a HDR TV before, I don't have anything to compare to. Regardless, I'm impressed by the dynamic range it is able to display in the shadows and highlights.

4) Full-array local dimming is great. I've been watching Night on Earth (Netflix) a lot, and the effect is just stunning, even with the subtitles on. Shots with the lit moon on one half of the screen and complete darkness on the other blows my mind away. Even when subtitles are on, I have not noticed issues with blooming around the text, at least not to my untrained eyes. The black levels really impress me, and I'm not sure it gets much better than this other than going full OLED.

5) Motion is a bit iffy with some settings. With smooth motion disabled, motion is quite juddery and stuttery. I also notice it sometimes struggling a bit with dark areas. I have played around with it, and so far am settling with the 'Film' setting, and it seems to have fixed those issues. 'Smooth' is a bit too buttery and Soap Opera for me, and I don't like it (maybe later for football or F1), but definitely not movies and shows. I will continue to experiment with this, but so far I am happy with 'Film'.

6) Speakers are okay, better than most TVs, but definitely more garbage than any average sound bar. Doesn't matter to me, I don't use the TV speakers at all other than the initial testing while the TV was set on the floor.
Overall, I am really surprisingly impressed by this TV. It looked great in the store, but I feel it looks even better at home. Even watching 1080p content is really enjoyable (mind you, I am using the upscaling from my nVidia Shield Pro 2019, so it might just be the Shield's excellent upscaling). For the price I paid, I am really happy with it. No TV is perfect, and this one certainly is not either, but the price-to-performance ratio hits the sweet spot for me smile.gif
Great on you mate.

Obviously , the blacks are great and with less blooming too compare to other LCD maker except Samsung Neo series.
Did you notice any flickering , I heard its very much contained which is good. Panel finished , is it semi glossy ?
HDR 10 , support ? But i reckon DV is more than sufficient.

ikhwandayne
post Sep 8 2021, 10:19 PM

27 posts

Selling my Hisense U7G 55” 4K ULED

Anyone interested can PM

azerak
post Sep 9 2021, 12:45 PM

805 posts

QUOTE(ikhwandayne @ Sep 8 2021, 10:19 PM)
Selling my Hisense U7G 55” 4K ULED

Anyone interested can PM
Is it not good enough? I'm actually looking at this model right now.
ntc3freak
post Sep 9 2021, 03:45 PM

2,347 posts

QUOTE(sunnyK @ Sep 8 2021, 06:50 PM)
Great on you mate.

Obviously , the blacks are great and with less blooming too compare to other LCD maker except Samsung Neo series.
Did you notice any flickering , I heard its very much contained which is good. Panel finished , is it semi glossy ?
HDR 10 ,  support ? But i reckon DV is more than sufficient.
Flickering I believe is very subjective from person to person. Personally, I never noticed any but YMMV. Panel is definitely not matte, but it handles direct reflections quite well from natural light coming in from the side of the TV. Haven't experienced any moment where I felt that glare or reflections were negatively noticeable.

Can't say much about HDR10, have not tried it personally.
TSwritesimply
post Sep 9 2021, 04:04 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(eltaria @ Sep 8 2021, 09:50 AM)
seems like no u8g for malaysia?
Aih, hisense malaysia really kinda sucks, malaysia could be one of their key demographics for them to gain market share actually.

Really bad foresight/marketing team they have here
Hisense Malaysia's marketing is pretty bad. But the blame can't be on them entirely.

Hisense HQ aka Hisense China did not procure enough 120Hz VA panels for worldwide production of 2021 U series. Whatever they have bought, it all went to Hisense Mexico, which made all TVs for the North American market. The rest of the world got VA or IPS panels and not 120Hz either.

In terms of features, there's a bunch of differences between the U800QF and the Asian U8G. The main thing is the U8G has eARC via HDMI 2.1 on ONE port. That's only useful if you want lossless audio. Since the Asian U8G doesn't have 120 Hz panel, having all ports to be HDMI 2.1 is a moot point.

The U800QF doesn't have eARC but you can get Dolby Atmos via Dolby Digital Plus through HDMI 2.0. So not a big problem with that.

QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Sep 8 2021, 02:28 PM)
I'm surprised you came up for air to post on this forum so soon. biggrin.gif

Glad that it all worked out for you.

I don't know. I was a meter away sitting in front of the Mi Q1 75" at the Xioami showroom. My first thought was, "This seems small." sweat.gif

I would recommend re-watching all the Netflix-owned content that you liked before you got the TV.

Series: Kingdom, Stranger Things, Dark, Star Trek Discovery and The Witcher.
Movies: My Octopus Teacher, The Old Guard, Mank, Rising Phoenix and Kate (September 10).

And maybe built a 4K UHD Blu-ray collection? heheh...

For film and series, Film mode is usually the go-to. Smooth can be used for wildlife documentaries or reality series.

Maybe a future home theater upgrade? hehe...

This makes me want to buy an Nvidia Shield just for the AI upscaling.

QUOTE(sunnyK @ Sep 8 2021, 06:50 PM)
HDR 10 ,  support ? But i reckon DV is more than sufficient.
HDR10 is baseline HDR. 4K TVs that advertise as having HDR would have that. Read the HDR10 and HDR10+ primer here.Maybe you mean HDR10+, which the U800QF does too. I don't know about HLG.

luminaryxi
post Sep 9 2021, 04:07 PM

584 posts

sorry noob, u7g and u800qf what difference?
GuyM
post Sep 9 2021, 05:39 PM

1,787 posts

Looks like a promising alternative in Android not vidaa

This post has been edited by GuyM: Sep 9 2021, 05:41 PM
ikhwandayne
post Sep 10 2021, 12:50 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(azerak @ Sep 9 2021, 12:45 PM)
Is it not good enough? I'm actually looking at this model right now.
I think it is bangs for your hard earned bucks. Dolby Vision-Atmos, HDR10, Full Array, Local Dimming at this price is a bargain. The only thing that is wrong for me is the size as I'm looking for the 65" or higher.
TSwritesimply
post Sep 10 2021, 02:43 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(ikhwandayne @ Sep 10 2021, 12:50 AM)
I think it is bangs for your hard earned bucks. Dolby Vision-Atmos, HDR10, Full Array, Local Dimming at this price is a bargain. The only thing that is wrong for me is the size as I'm looking for the 65" or higher.
Hmmm. Hopefully it's not a costly mistake for you.

Below RM5,000, both 65" version of the U7G and the U800QF are viable options. After Hisense, the price goes up above RM6,000. The Mi Q1 75" can be found for RM6,000 I think.

Beyond RM6,000 and 75", a projector is the only way to go. You can choose either an Ultra-Short Throw projector like the BenQ V70501 or a mini projector like the XGimi Horizon Pro. Both have true 4K resolution.

@r3|4^2
post Sep 14 2021, 06:38 PM

188 posts

Greetings to all sifus here..
I'm considering hisense A6500G 50" (budget limited la tongue.gif) soo any opinion here? My budget about 2k laa..

I also looked into models below.. :-
TCL P715 (but 2.4ghz wifi)
Prism+ (emmm too hype with d influencers..takut de)

TQ in advance ya..
TSwritesimply
post Sep 14 2021, 07:56 PM

933 posts

QUOTE(@r3|4^2 @ Sep 14 2021, 06:38 PM)
Greetings to all sifus here..
I'm considering hisense A6500G 50" (budget limited la tongue.gif) soo any opinion here? My budget about 2k laa..

I also looked into models below..  :-
TCL P715 (but 2.4ghz wifi)
Prism+ (emmm too hype with d influencers..takut de)

TQ in advance ya..
I have not seen the Hisense A6500G nor the TCL P715 so I got no opinion there. But I think by now some shops may have display sets of both so you can go have a look.

The 50" A6500G is RM2,200 according to Hisense shop on Shopee. If that's the hard budget, you might want to look at TCL or other brands that can give you a 55" for the same price and for about the same feature - Android OS, Dolby Vision - that you want. A one-year old model is still okay to buy. A bigger screen gives you a better impact so take that into consideration.

Of course, if your constraints are budget AND space, then 50" is the TV for you.

@r3|4^2
post Sep 15 2021, 05:54 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ Sep 14 2021, 07:56 PM)
I have not seen the Hisense A6500G nor the TCL P715 so I got no opinion there. But I think by now some shops may have display sets of both so you can go have a look.

The 50" A6500G is RM2,200 according to Hisense shop on Shopee. If that's the hard budget, you might want to look at TCL or other brands that can give you a 55" for the same price and for about the same feature - Android OS, Dolby Vision - that you want. A one-year old model is still okay to buy. A bigger screen gives you a better impact so take that into consideration.

Of course, if your constraints are budget AND space, then 50" is the TV for you.
Thanks alot for the insights bro thumbsup.gif

17 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.3036sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:38 AM