question on charging a NDSL, a question that has been bothering me.

TSKellicros
post Sep 2 2007, 12:18 AM, updated 19y ago

1,028 posts

Is it safe to leave my NDSL charging always? I mean when playing or not, so that the battery is always full and I don't worry about it running out when I need to bring it outside. I usually quickly unplug the adapter as soon as I found it is fully charged, it has an auto un-charge thing right? is it safe if I just leave it there plugged? Any comment would be appreciated. Thanks!
omnimech
post Sep 2 2007, 12:28 AM

DaFuQ
1,441 posts

I dunno abt the ds . but for my psp i just charge until its full and take it off.

Even when i leave it on standby the battery dosent go down , say abt 1 to 2 percent per few hours ?

If i turn it completely off then um, i can leave it there for a few days and have a more or less full power psp . definitely > 90%
TSKellicros
post Sep 2 2007, 12:32 AM

1,028 posts

Hmm, there are a few times that I forgot to unplug it after it was fully charged for a few hours, like when i have gone to bed or something, got me worried. Also, another question, is it safe to recharge the battery when it is not depleted? And also playing with the cable on? So that the battery always remain charged.
omnimech
post Sep 2 2007, 12:35 AM

DaFuQ
1,441 posts

Most of the time at home , i just leave it charged over night then i go to uni the next day. So far my psp batt life shows no problems.

And yeah, when im playing the psp alot at nite, i normally plug it in so tml ill have a fully charged psp for uni . XD .

Normally, my rule of thumb is , dont charge it unless its below 50% . I dont know if it works but so far like i said my batt life shows no problems. =D
hafez13
post Sep 2 2007, 12:50 AM

excited nintendo switch fanboi
1,274 posts

it will drain ur battery life..
so do not leave ur ds charged after fully charged..
SWATwolf
post Sep 2 2007, 01:03 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(hafez13 @ Sep 2 2007, 12:50 AM)
it will drain ur battery life..
so do not leave ur ds charged after fully charged..
are you sure? when a ds lite is fully charge, it will automatically discharge from ur ds. try it at night and next day when u wake up, ur ds and charge are not hot at all.
James_yka
post Sep 2 2007, 07:55 AM

kNight
1,372 posts

Its ok to leave the DS plugged in even after charge, it will automatically disconnect the power when its fully charged...

Bcos its using Lithium ion battery which doesnt leave any memory effect.
That means that its ok to play while charging or charge even when it still have a lot of power...
hafez13
post Sep 2 2007, 01:06 PM

excited nintendo switch fanboi
1,274 posts

QUOTE(SWATwolf @ Sep 2 2007, 01:03 AM)
are you sure? when a ds lite is fully charge, it will automatically discharge from ur ds. try it at night and next day when u wake up, ur ds and charge are not hot at all.
i'm quite sure ..
becouse i also leave my DS charged when i sleep..
later my baterry life when short..
for instnace : my battery life:5 hours
become 4 and a half hours..
like tat..
so advisable do not leave ur DS charge when it was fully charged
James_yka
post Sep 2 2007, 06:19 PM

kNight
1,372 posts

How long is have u been using ur NDSL ?

Lifespan of the battery certainly will be less in a period a time,
For your symptom, would it be 6 months usage already ?
darquarma
post Sep 2 2007, 10:56 PM

83 posts

Having the battery fully charged at all times is healthier for the battery. So charge when not in use.
amirsubhi
post Sep 3 2007, 05:59 AM

The Power Is IN Your Hand!
1,472 posts

i must say beware of third party charge as they dont have any overcharge protection unless stated
nub
post Sep 3 2007, 07:17 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(amirsubhi @ Sep 3 2007, 05:59 AM)
i must say beware of third party charge as they dont have any overcharge protection unless stated
I thought the circuit breaker would be inside the DS unit itself. The "charger" is merely a transformer, eh?
amirsubhi
post Sep 3 2007, 07:24 AM

The Power Is IN Your Hand!
1,472 posts

aahaha..maybe my bad in this misleadin info[it juz on my ipod,sum third party charger act kill my battery becoz of overcharging!]
porkchop
post Sep 3 2007, 11:52 AM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

nope no problem with my ds..but mine is not the lite version....already 8 mths so long already the batt is still sufficient to play till i am bored..........

i leave it charge even if got play or dun play.....unless goout of course...but when come home dun care 1% or 90% left still charge it ..lazy ......
Chrono|Exe
post Apr 28 2008, 10:53 PM

593 posts

hye,sorry if i barge in wif out of topic question...my nds charger died on me last nite...so now im crying to know where cud i buy only nds charger in KL area, or anywhere nearby..and how much wud it cost..cud anyone help me please~ huhu so sad seeing my nds is juz lyk a dead ...nds..haha.. T_T
PhoenixByte
post Apr 29 2008, 04:14 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

nds charger are quite cheap, below rm50. Just like hp charger. Most shops that sell ds will probably sell the charger.

0.0282sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:00 PM