Kancil battery light flashing during drive,, Rpm also increase randomly but not affec

TSssiapf
post Apr 26 2021, 04:57 PM, updated 5y ago

483 posts

Hi, driving kancil sometime the battery flashing and the car seems cannot drive normally. Location miri sarawak
Is there anything I can do by myself, I am not a mechanic.
thenazek
post Apr 26 2021, 05:06 PM

566 posts

You mean the battery indicator? That means something is wrong with your charging system, alternator.

Better get it checked ASAP.
SUSslimey
post Apr 26 2021, 06:26 PM

6,914 posts

check battery terminal.

if got corrosion, use brush and contact cleaner clean.

tighten if loose.

check battery voltage with multimeter when engine off and while engine is running.

resting voltage should be about 12.4v or higher while engine off.

voltage while engine is running should be around 14 volt plus minus 0.3 volt

steady bro
post Apr 26 2021, 07:50 PM

75 posts

most likely alternator
Roman Catholic
post Apr 27 2021, 08:02 AM

3,520 posts

The only thing you must do immediately is to get a Battery Conductance & Electrical System Test done. The printed test result ought to indicate to you what is the problem.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Apr 27 2021, 01:54 PM
kevinlim001
post Apr 27 2021, 08:19 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

very likely it would be your alternator.. get it check before your battery fails you and you left stranded at roadside
ktek
post Apr 27 2021, 04:45 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

open bonet see belt & all device along the loop.
empire
post Apr 28 2021, 01:52 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Apr 26 2021, 06:26 PM)
check battery terminal.

if got corrosion, use brush and contact cleaner clean.

tighten if loose.

check battery voltage with multimeter when engine off and while engine is running.

resting voltage should be about 12.4v or higher while engine off.

voltage while engine is running should be around 14 volt plus minus 0.3 volt
Use BOILING water and pour onto the battery terminals.
Roman Catholic
post Apr 28 2021, 10:34 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Apr 28 2021, 01:52 PM)
Use BOILING water and pour onto the battery terminals.
I wouldn't do it either on my cars or my clients cars. 😀

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Apr 28 2021, 10:52 PM
kdr93
post Apr 29 2021, 10:18 AM

554 posts

QUOTE(ssiapf @ Apr 26 2021, 04:57 PM)
Hi, driving kancil sometime the battery flashing and the car seems cannot drive normally. Location miri sarawak
Is there anything I can do by myself, I am not a mechanic.
Just bring you car to any battery shop, and ask theem to check alternator and battery.

They can check voltage output of the alternator, from there can see if it is faulty or not

Most likely its your altenator. Under normal driving, most of your cars electrical power comes from alternator and not from battery. So, if your alternator is on its last leg, power is most likely being pulled from the battery.

Sooner or later, you car wont be able to start.
TSssiapf
post Apr 30 2021, 10:30 PM

483 posts

Alternator was change one year ago
Roman Catholic
post May 1 2021, 02:10 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(ssiapf @ Apr 30 2021, 10:30 PM)
Alternator was change one year ago
I have not even change my Kancil alternator since I bought the car 24 years ago.

Question #1. When you changed your alternator was it an original new unit from Perodua Service Center or did you get a reconditioned unit from outside ?

Question #2. Do you always wait for the battery to fail completely like cannot start the car and then only chnage out the battery ?

0.0198sec    1.06    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:26 AM