Buying Advice Canon or Nikon?

TSshogun123
post Sep 1 2007, 05:53 PM, updated 19y ago

Hi all, I want to buy a Digi Camera...
between Canon and Nikon, which will you suggest?
budget around RM1500+- thumbup.gif
ericjeff
post Sep 1 2007, 05:55 PM

236 posts

Canon S5 IS, suit to ur budget. Ur 1500 cant afford a DSLR, go for semi-pro camera........haha
aichiban
post Sep 1 2007, 05:57 PM

pot yia thee keh tai lang!!
1,994 posts

get both rclxms.gif
soulfly
post Sep 1 2007, 06:35 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(ericjeff @ Sep 1 2007, 05:55 PM)
Canon S5 IS, suit to ur budget. Ur 1500 cant afford a DSLR, go for semi-pro camera........haha

those are called prosumer camera

yewkhuay
post Sep 1 2007, 06:55 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

1500 go for S5 IS, get from aceejay, his unit only 3-4weeks, very new...
ericjeff
post Sep 1 2007, 06:59 PM

236 posts

his unit is sold is it? i also wan grab it........

watever prosumer or semi-pro, just not yet a DSLR......

DSLR cannot shoot video ark??
emmeir
post Sep 1 2007, 07:26 PM

1,526 posts

QUOTE(shogun123 @ Sep 1 2007, 05:53 PM)
firstly you must decide the type of camera you want. is it slim, compact, prosumer or dslr?
then we all can suggest you the recommended camera based on brand..

Added on September 1, 2007, 7:27 pm
QUOTE(ericjeff @ Sep 1 2007, 06:59 PM)

adeh...semi pro also included dslr. for example 350D, 400D, D40. D50, still semi pro. not yer expert and pro. doh.gif

This post has been edited by emmeir: Sep 1 2007, 07:27 PM
soulfly
post Sep 1 2007, 07:34 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

DSLR cannot shoot video. Macho man don't shoot video using digicam.
wevilli
post Sep 1 2007, 07:35 PM

noob fella
867 posts

i like canon... but again... i dont understand canon 850IS. the pictures taken worst than my NIkon 4600

NIkon is sharper. But again... Nikon is not so user friendly... Canon is good with their Digic III
yewkhuay
post Sep 1 2007, 07:39 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(ericjeff @ Sep 1 2007, 06:59 PM)

i donno , u ask him n c, worth buying....

QUOTE(emmeir @ Sep 1 2007, 07:26 PM)
firstly you must decide the type of camera you want. is it slim, compact, prosumer or dslr?
then we all can suggest you the recommended camera based on brand..

Added on September 1, 2007, 7:27 pm
adeh...semi pro also included dslr. for example 350D, 400D, D40. D50, still semi pro. not yer expert and pro. doh.gif
erm...those r DSLR entry level....semi-pro is D200.... sweat.gif
kb2005
post Sep 1 2007, 07:49 PM

Yahoo!
17,876 posts

I would suggest Canon thumbup.gif Are you looking for performance or compact type camera ?
aceejay
post Sep 1 2007, 08:58 PM

the wah-wah jimi !
972 posts

lol..u bit late man.. i sold off my 3 weeks S5 for rm1400 all set tongue.gif
ericjeff
post Sep 1 2007, 10:11 PM

236 posts

who has the S5 IS to sell? offer me.......

i know wat u mean by prosumer ad.......semi-pro can be a DSLR.....haha

sorry for my noobness........
yewkhuay
post Sep 1 2007, 11:15 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(aceejay @ Sep 1 2007, 08:58 PM)
lol..u bit late man.. i sold off my 3 weeks S5 for rm1400 all set tongue.gif
pls register urself at D80 counter asap.... whistling.gif laugh.gif
Mavik
post Sep 1 2007, 11:34 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

What is your criteria for a digital camera? Features? Functions? Weight? Size?
kb2005
post Sep 1 2007, 11:37 PM

Yahoo!
17,876 posts

QUOTE(ericjeff @ Sep 1 2007, 10:11 PM)
who has the S5 IS to sell? offer me.......

i know wat u mean by prosumer ad.......semi-pro can be a DSLR.....haha

sorry for my noobness........
So, you decided to go for S5 IS ? biggrin.gif
aceejay
post Sep 2 2007, 02:08 AM

the wah-wah jimi !
972 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Sep 1 2007, 11:15 PM)
pls register urself at D80 counter asap.... whistling.gif  laugh.gif
going to grab it later !!! thumbup.gif

Added on September 3, 2007, 3:19 ams5 is a great camera btw .. worth buying !!
try to get at pertama ( International shop )
find desmond ..he can give u cheap price !!

This post has been edited by aceejay: Sep 3 2007, 03:19 AM
ac98
post Sep 3 2007, 11:19 AM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

QUOTE(wevilli @ Sep 1 2007, 07:35 PM)
i like canon... but again... i dont understand canon 850IS.  the pictures taken worst than my NIkon 4600

NIkon is sharper.  But again... Nikon is not so user friendly...  Canon is good with their Digic III
Sure or not ... or you dunno how to use the camera. As far as I know, the 850IS is far superior in terms of technology and functions.
kb2005
post Sep 4 2007, 06:51 AM

Yahoo!
17,876 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Sep 3 2007, 11:19 AM)
Sure or not ... or you dunno how to use the camera. As far as I know, the 850IS is far superior in terms of technology and functions.
Ya lor! So, far i still think 850IS is better than Nikon 4600. I have compared pic taken from both cameras and 850IS leading all the way. biggrin.gif
andrewng88
post Sep 4 2007, 11:48 AM

Delighting You Always
805 posts

$1500 can get a second hand dslr canon 350D with kit at http://www.mir.com.my/rb/photography/ftz/

This post has been edited by andrewng88: Sep 4 2007, 11:49 AM
ShuUemura
post Sep 13 2007, 11:11 PM

239 posts

Hello. can i know what is dslr? sorry sorry. please do tell me. Thanks
Andy0625
post Sep 13 2007, 11:16 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(ShuUemura @ Sep 13 2007, 11:11 PM)
Digital single-lens reflex camera (digital SLR or DSLR) is a digital camera that uses an automatic mirror system placed between the lens and the image sensor to direct the image from the lens through the viewfinder where it can be viewed by the photographer. The viewfinder includes a matte focusing screen at its focal plane, to allow accurate focusing and to allow the light into the prism that directs the light through the viewfinder.

As in film SLRs, the through-the-lens optical viewing is primarily to support accurate fast view finding with interchangeable lenses.

The basic operation of a DSLR, having the mirror reflecting the image away from the image sensor except briefly during the exposure, precludes the ability to see the image in the LCD display before the picture is taken, a major difference from the way an ordinary digital camera (digicam) works. Some newer DSLR models feature an option generally known as "live preview" that does allow the image to be seen on the LCD display, although with certain limitations and with the optical viewfinder disabled.

In most other respects a DSLR is similar in principle and operation to a standard digital camera; the image captured by the CCD or CMOS image sensor is processed electronically and stored on a removable memory device. The price range and extra features and options available vary widely from model to model, and newer and better models arrive every year.

SAUCE : wikipedia
goldfries
post Sep 14 2007, 02:10 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(ShuUemura @ Sep 13 2007, 11:11 PM)
http://www.goldfries.com/digitalphotograph...-camera-for-me/

szyap
post Sep 14 2007, 04:49 PM

Nobody
748 posts

here's a vr good website bout camera:

http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/nikon-vs-canon.htm

i learn most of my stuff here icon_rolleyes.gif
wlcling
post Sep 22 2007, 01:45 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(szyap @ Sep 14 2007, 04:49 PM)
here's a vr good website bout camera:

http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/nikon-vs-canon.htm

i learn most of my stuff here  icon_rolleyes.gif
well, do remember to read this page as well! biggrin.gif

http://www.kenrockwell.com/about.htm

But i like him anyway... great reads....
anthrax33
post Sep 23 2007, 07:46 AM

244 posts

from what i see from a lot of sample pics from canon and nikon,
canon is more to razor sharp pics which is pretty well suited for sports imaging.
nikon is more to vibrant colors, which is generally well suited for scenery shots.
well, correct me if i'm wrong, i'm just a noob...

This post has been edited by anthrax33: Sep 23 2007, 07:46 AM
spikeyblitz
post Oct 8 2007, 11:30 AM

Hi guys, could anyone who has experience with both Canon and Nikon DSLRs share their views on these 2 brands?
Ive played around with a Canon EOS350D before and i thought the images were really good, camera felt nice in hands although it felt abit cheap cos of the plastic construction... I also had a play with the recent 40D ... thought it was surprisingly heavy, but felt like a meaner piece of equipment
Ive not had any experience with Nikons, so was wondering if Im missing out on notable features of the other brand...
I heard Nikons feel better in hand, canons control noise better, things like that
kevin613
post Oct 8 2007, 12:46 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(spikeyblitz @ Oct 8 2007, 11:30 AM)
Hi guys, could anyone who has experience with both Canon and Nikon DSLRs share their views on these 2 brands?
Ive played around with a Canon EOS350D before and i thought the images were really good, camera felt nice in hands although it felt abit cheap cos of the plastic construction... I also had a play with the recent 40D ... thought it was surprisingly heavy, but felt like a meaner piece of equipment
Ive not had any experience with Nikons, so was wondering if Im missing out on notable features of the other brand...
I heard Nikons feel better in hand, canons control noise better, things like that
u cant go wrong with either brand, both produce good cameras, but beware if u're buying the nikon D40/D40x cause it lacks the AF motor in body, so u're limited to certain lens, otherwise u have to do manual focus.. if u're not worried bout that,then either brand,any model also works fine..
scorgio
post Oct 8 2007, 08:39 PM

4,695 posts

I used both and both equally good.
Canon CMOS give low noise in high iso pic.
Nikon CCD give better color straight out of the camera.

The reason I'm tied to Nikon now is bcos I managed to get hold of a few good lenses at extremely attractive price.
Well, recently tried the CaptureNX RAW processing software, and it tied me closer to Nikon as of now.
ah_heng
post Oct 8 2007, 09:06 PM

505 posts

Although in terms of built quality Nikon is better, I still will go for Canon because of the availability of accessories (both original and not wink.gif and their extensive range of lens (both original and not).

On top of that, they have their manufacturer service center in Malaysia compare to Nikon which if i'm not mistaken is under a dealer (unless they have changed wink.gif.

However, I have to admit also that the auto focus system for Nikon is better than Canon's.

scorgio
post Oct 8 2007, 10:48 PM

4,695 posts

QUOTE(ah_heng @ Oct 8 2007, 09:06 PM)
On top of that, they have their manufacturer service center in Malaysia compare to Nikon which if i'm not mistaken is under a dealer (unless they have changed wink.gif.
Nikon SC is directly under Nikon M'sia.
kevin613
post Oct 8 2007, 11:18 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(ah_heng @ Oct 8 2007, 09:06 PM)
However, I have to admit also that the auto focus system for Nikon is better than Canon's.
i think their flash system works better than canon too... i always envy my friend's D70/D70s that can do wireless flash with their cheap SB600 while my 350D + 430EX need an expensive ST-E2 or another master flash gun to perform the same..
ychwang
post Oct 10 2007, 06:35 PM

Little *
4,607 posts

I would suggest Canon Ixus 860, if you're looking for compact camera. But the size not really compact, compare to my camera phone.
I wonder, why cant camera made the size smaller than hp? now of days 5MP camera phone is smaller size than 5MP digica
wlcling
post Oct 10 2007, 07:07 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(anthrax33 @ Sep 23 2007, 07:46 AM)
from what i see from a lot of sample pics from canon and nikon,
canon is more to razor sharp pics which is pretty well suited for sports imaging.
nikon is more to vibrant colors, which is generally well suited for scenery shots.
well, correct me if i'm wrong, i'm just a noob...
sharpness depends on the lens. Some of nikon's are sharper than canon's and vice-versa

Nikon has maybe more vibrant colors straight-out-of-cam, but that's nothing post-processing can't fix anyway.

something good about canon bodies generally is better ISO performance, but Nikon has the astonishing D3 if you could afford it.

At the end of the day for most 'normal' users like you and me, just take what feels right in your hands... hah! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by wlcling: Oct 10 2007, 07:09 PM
scorgio
post Oct 11 2007, 12:28 AM

4,695 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Oct 10 2007, 07:07 PM)
sharpness depends on the lens. Some of nikon's are sharper than canon's and vice-versa
There's a setting (usually under custom settings) that you can adjust the in-camera sharpening level.

U may adjust it to you taste.
wlcling
post Oct 12 2007, 02:32 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Oct 11 2007, 12:28 AM)
There's a setting (usually under custom settings) that you can adjust the in-camera sharpening level.

U may adjust it to you taste.
i guess i was talking more of through the lens kind of sharpness... without artifacts

0.0198sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:57 AM