Renovating old house (wooden 1st floor), Bricks or Gypsum? SPC flooring?

TSMichaelbyz23
post Apr 24 2021, 09:46 PM, updated 5y ago

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,562 posts

Hi sifu,

I'm currently looking at an old terrace house (50+ years old), the 1st floor is built of wooden structure, wooden floor and plywood partitions.
Hence the sound proofing is quite bad, and when somebody walks, you can hear footstep sound from downstairs as well. The staircase leading to 1st floor are all fully wooden, with wooden beam and column.

If I were to renovate this with low budget, within RM10-15k, what options do I have?
Hacking down the plywood walls partition, and install with gypsum board + sound proofing?
For flooring, just install 1 layer of 5mm SPC flooring will be sufficient to reduce noise of footstep?

For this type of 1st floor, not able to use bricks as wall partition right? Since might be too heavy and wooden beam beneath may not sustain the weight.

What are your thoughts?

Thank you!

This post has been edited by Michaelbyz23: Apr 24 2021, 09:53 PM
lyt25_1234
post Apr 25 2021, 07:23 PM

1,152 posts

I have used SPC flooring before, 4mm thickness, just don't feel so good when stepping on it. Go for WPC 8mm thickness...u won't regret it.
TSMichaelbyz23
post Apr 25 2021, 08:51 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,562 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Apr 25 2021, 07:23 PM)
I have used SPC flooring before, 4mm thickness, just don't feel so good when stepping on it. Go for WPC 8mm thickness...u won't regret it.
Thanks, 8mm is very expensive right? Should be close to double the price. How much was your 4mm per sq ft include installation?
lyt25_1234
post Apr 26 2021, 08:37 AM

1,152 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Apr 25 2021, 08:51 PM)
Thanks, 8mm is very expensive right? Should be close to double the price. How much was your 4mm per sq ft include installation?
4mm i DIY. Very cheap.
But for 8mm, i ask ppl to do, cuz I don't have the mitter saw. Yup, it's double the price biggrin.gif
TSMichaelbyz23
post Apr 26 2021, 12:58 PM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,562 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Apr 26 2021, 08:37 AM)
4mm i DIY. Very cheap.
But for 8mm, i ask ppl to do, cuz I don't have the mitter saw.  Yup, it's double the price biggrin.gif
Thank you! I dont think I have the expertise to do it, especially if the floor is not entirely even.

0.0463sec    1.82    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:48 PM