LG LG KS20, supports both HSDPA and HSUPA

jackal_x2005
post Mar 12 2008, 08:31 PM

236 posts

Hi guys, got a noob question here(I'm getting LG KS20 tmrw frm Seaedge tongue.gif )

- how do u use HSDPA? I use Maxis prepaid , n i know Maxis has HSDPA, so does it the same with normal 3G? do i need to register a line (postpaid) in order to use HSDPA?

This post has been edited by jackal_x2005: Mar 12 2008, 08:31 PM
jackal_x2005
post Mar 13 2008, 10:26 PM

236 posts

just got mine from Seaedge tongue.gif

recommended seller!! friendly and gave a lot of useful tips... Thnks bro!!
jackal_x2005
post Mar 15 2008, 09:19 PM

236 posts

Hi guys, do anyone know what's the maximum Micro SD card for this phone? Is it 2 GB or 4 GB? thinking of upgrading the memory card ..
jackal_x2005
post Mar 17 2008, 05:18 PM

236 posts

for 3rd party software for WM5 and WM6 , visit ipmart-forum.com but u have to register first!!!

so far, i have used KS20 for a few days, it's really a nice phone, stable and picture quality considered better than other 2 megapixel phone. My today screen now uses HTC Home -like interface. and the menu uses SPB MobilShell . very nice!! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jackal_x2005: Mar 17 2008, 05:20 PM
jackal_x2005
post Mar 19 2008, 12:53 AM

236 posts

Count me in tongue.gif

3. jackal_x2005
jackal_x2005
post Mar 19 2008, 06:38 PM

236 posts

hi guys, since this phone does not have GPS, how can I use GPS? do I have to use external GPS ? and which external GPS that u guys would recommend?
jackal_x2005
post Mar 20 2008, 05:00 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(corek @ Mar 20 2008, 04:42 PM)
i just want to know how to know that I'm buying the final version of the phone and not a prototype unit....
LOL, it already launched in Malaysia earlier this month, so of course it is final product, not prototype sweat.gif

http://www.lowyat.net/v2/latest/lg-launche...n-phones-2.html

and if u are not sure, buy from trusted seller like Seaedge and cybermick , or can go to any shop(anyway u prefer ) thumbup.gif

IIANM, u can later perform windows update (from the menu ) to check for any update for the OS

guys, got a question here, this phone comes with Windows Mobile 6 Professional right, so how to upgrade to version 6.1? same thru windows update? rclxub.gif
jackal_x2005
post Mar 20 2008, 06:38 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(5zigen @ Mar 20 2008, 05:53 PM)
gsmarena mentioned about the speaker for this fon is kinda bad, how you guys think of it?
by default, it's just decent as it is not a Walkman phone , but u can try to install 3rd party software like WOW SRS HD (sound enhancer) cool2.gif n the result, the sound become more nicer
jackal_x2005
post Mar 21 2008, 04:24 AM

236 posts

for the SRS WOW HD (improves audio for pocket PC), u guys can check in www.ipmart-forum.com(credit to Seaedge for recommending this site notworthy.gif ) , but need to register(free)

. Just check under POcket PC/Palm/Apps/Games u guys can find a lot of 3rd party software for Pocket PC thumbup.gif
jackal_x2005
post Mar 22 2008, 04:30 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(StratOS @ Mar 22 2008, 12:47 PM)
hmm.. see lor.. anyways.. r u used to the jotstick on this phone oredy..? im still a lil not used to the joystick on a touch screen phone.. ahaha..
So far , I think the most useful joystick function is to highlight a file in file explorer so that it is easier for user to delete or edit the file to prevent accidental click using stylus or finger

-just my 2 cents hmm.gif
jackal_x2005
post Mar 22 2008, 11:04 PM

236 posts

yeah , u got the right package , as long as the warranty from Zitron , it is ORI. as LG does not have AP like SE and Nokia

cybermick : u can use normal screen protector that are available at shop but recommend to get screen protector for N95 8GB as it has same 2.8 inches screen which is equal to KS20 screen

my screen oso got few scratches oredi.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by jackal_x2005: Mar 22 2008, 11:05 PM
jackal_x2005
post Mar 23 2008, 10:53 AM

236 posts

if any of u guys planning to put 4GB or 8GB Micro SDHC card, here's a patch that u can try(never tried myself, but will try soon)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...01&postcount=93
jackal_x2005
post Mar 24 2008, 09:41 PM

236 posts

I also have the same problem as yours and have to manually put all the pcitures stored in SD card to a specific folder -any tips or help would be much appreciated icon_question.gif
jackal_x2005
post Mar 25 2008, 06:43 PM

236 posts

HI guys, had a few question over here regarding Active Sync 4.5 for Windows XP a.k.a Windows Mobile Device Center for Vista icon_question.gif

1- My work PC is using XP Pro and I use Active Sync 4.5 to syncronize my contacts and email address in my Outlook. My question is, how do we disconnect Active Sync properly as whenever I took out the USB cable, sometimes the phone will automatically activate Active Sync by itself and this is really annoying as I have to manually close down the program (It also cause battery drain faster) cry.gif

2- SInce I use ACtive Sync, whenever I go to place that have Wifi , I cannot browse the Internet . But I can still browse Internet using normal 3GH/SDPA connection. Do u guys know why is this happening? rclxub.gif

FYI, my work PC is connected to domain and Exchange Server.

jackal_x2005
post Mar 28 2008, 08:25 PM

236 posts

guys, any update on the latest ROM for KS20?
- cos i read somewhere in other forum that the latest one now is v10f whereas the preinstalled ROM in KS20 now is v10c? where can we get it?
jackal_x2005
post Apr 1 2008, 01:17 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 31 2008, 01:45 PM)
I think those cheap ipod accessories also can. Cause they are also using USB cable to charge their ipods. The in-car charger should output to a USB port too. Anyway I'll search around. Thanks
bro, I think u must have forgot that KS20 use proprietary LG usb slot. This is the main disadvantage of this phone. Imagine if u lost ur USB cable or charger . Why la they did not use Micro USB cry.gif

This post has been edited by jackal_x2005: Apr 1 2008, 01:21 AM
jackal_x2005
post Apr 2 2008, 02:15 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(linkeong @ Apr 1 2008, 10:23 PM)
Just bought the LG KS20. What firmware or ROM version did you all get? I got V10c
hi welcome to the club. yes, all of us still using V10c . now waiting for LG to release any update.
jackal_x2005
post Apr 2 2008, 05:47 PM

236 posts

HI guys, I found a 3rd party software -Schap's Advanced Configuration Tools
-this application allows u to : -
1) increase file system cache from 2MB to 8 MB
2) increase file system filter cache from 4096 sector to 131072 sectors
3)increase glyph cache from 32 KB to 128 KB

and many more tweaks
-My Question here, is it safe to do all this tweaks?? will it brick my KS20? any sifus here please help!

jackal_x2005
post Apr 6 2008, 01:19 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(corek @ Apr 6 2008, 12:36 AM)
anybody body knows any free game to play on the ks20???
bro , u can search in ipmart-forum.com under pocket pc/palm section -though you need to register (it's free)
=========================================================================

Yo guys, Windows Mobile 6.1 is officially out!
http://www.gsmarena.com/windows_mobile_61_...ut-news-471.php

-but the sad news is, it is only offered as an update by the manufacturer, hence LG. so we have to wait until LG offer it as a free update sad.gif

This post has been edited by jackal_x2005: Apr 6 2008, 01:31 AM
jackal_x2005
post Apr 7 2008, 07:20 PM

236 posts

HI guys, got a question here,
-since I install most of 3rd party program onto storage card(MicroSD), if I want to upgrade to 4GB, do I just copy everything onto new card?
-or do I have to uinstall and then reinstall again since in storage card there is a folder for Program Files(apps that is installed in storage card)

-any sifus here care to explain ? Thnks smile.gif

0.0214sec    1.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:08 AM