19 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

LG LG KS20, supports both HSDPA and HSUPA

DrWho
post Apr 2 2009, 10:23 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(stutzedward @ Apr 2 2009, 09:37 AM)
DrWho,

One thing I will still do even after I own the iPhone is to continue to customize the KS20, instead of one, I have 2 toys to play with now biggrin.gif
Ditto, I am using my KS20 as a spare, especially when I use a non Malaysian SIM card when roaming at overseas.

DrWho
post Apr 2 2009, 07:33 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(Jt2020 @ Apr 2 2009, 07:17 PM)
HI. New KS20 user here. Just bought 1 second hand 1...

I am new to pda phone and I have some noob question here...

Installing ifonz is just like installing a new program to the phone without flashing the phone or whatever right? So after installing the ifonz the phone is still under win6.0?
ifonz is just a program which you can install and uninstall anytime without changing the OS WM6.0. To change the OS you need to flash the ROM, like formatting your Windows 2000 hard drive and reinstalling Windows XP.
DrWho
post Apr 2 2009, 08:02 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(Jt2020 @ Apr 2 2009, 07:45 PM)
Running ifonz in which OS is better? 6.0 or 6.1?

Mine is second hand phone, so i dun hav the cd for the pc suite for the phone. Wonder can get it from internet or not... I tried google but results are just those freeware but no pc suite.....
Since you are a newbie, stick to original ROM for the time being. Flashing ROM is not that easy unless you are familiar with WM.

ActiveSync

This post has been edited by DrWho: Apr 2 2009, 08:10 PM
DrWho
post Apr 5 2009, 10:25 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

There is new Contacts/Calls application for WM. One of the better ones, doesn't hang or lag. Google Panoramic Phone Genius v1.4.0

This post has been edited by DrWho: Apr 5 2009, 10:25 AM
DrWho
post Apr 5 2009, 06:57 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

Ed,
It is a case of cool people with cool device but not so cool heart or rather warm heart! smile.gif

PS: WM6.5 versus Iphone 3.0

http://wmpoweruser.com/

This post has been edited by DrWho: Apr 5 2009, 07:04 PM
DrWho
post Apr 5 2009, 10:23 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Apr 5 2009, 07:57 PM)
[color=blue]yeah yeah, this place is cooler and friendly. it is like a community here.  'there', i got my backside burnt after only one simple post of asking features of iPhones.  thank god i am not that egoistic .... hahaha .... wait till those big ego babies can build bridges, highways and malls, plus writing thesis, then they are good enough to talk to us. hahaha ....
After reading Ed's and your comments, out of curiosity, I visited the iPhone thread for the first time and made a post there. Might have stirred up a hornet nest. brows.gif
DrWho
post Apr 6 2009, 09:24 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

It appears my contribution was not welcome at the iphone thread. My post was removed without any notice or justification! The person responsible for it should have notified me vmad.gif
DrWho
post Apr 9 2009, 10:08 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(MtV @ Apr 9 2009, 09:22 PM)
anyone got try update to 6.1 windows?
The KISS 6.1 ROM is definitely better than the LG original ROM. Smoother, no lag and seldom hangs.
DrWho
post Apr 10 2009, 09:22 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(MtV @ Apr 9 2009, 11:12 PM)
Dr Who, why not create new LGks20 with all tips and link for new owner and existing owner of LG KS20 smile.gif
Going thru all the pages is a good way to learn. Anyway there are not many new KS20 owners now that the phone is quite "dated". However it is still a good phone.
DrWho
post Apr 10 2009, 10:54 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(MtV @ Apr 10 2009, 10:29 PM)
yea, like no lag at all LOL... 

best way to transfer file is thru usb cable or bluetooth dongle?
USB cable for a safe and uninterruptible connection rclxms.gif
DrWho
post Apr 10 2009, 11:25 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

This is a working WM6.5. rclxms.gif The UI is reported to be as good as iphone

DrWho
post Apr 11 2009, 09:23 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

The WM 6.5 cooked ROM sceenshots above was developed by Davideuck at XDA. V6.1 is almost bug free, fast and stable, unfortunately it is only meant for HTC HD. The WM 6.5 cooked ROM for Omnia is not perfected yet, with some bugs yet to be sorted out. The BAD news is there is no chef cooking WM 6.5 ROM for KS20.
HTC HD is the best WM phone in the market and I hope be an owner soon biggrin.gif ONLY S$1,000
DrWho
post Apr 11 2009, 09:35 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

Version 7 has just been released! drool.gif

DrWho
post Apr 11 2009, 12:39 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

I hope this KS20 UI will revive your interest. Get it from here.
However it requires Spb Mobile Shell to be installed first. Installation instructions from here

This post has been edited by DrWho: Apr 11 2009, 12:42 PM

DrWho
post Apr 11 2009, 05:57 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(stutzedward @ Apr 11 2009, 05:13 PM)
DrWho,

I've seen this before in XDA and yeah, it's cool. In fact, it's very much similar to the existing iPhone UI I have but more radical of cos. The only thing about WinMo is that,  no matter how I customize it, the 'smoothness' is still worlds away from the real iPhone. iPhone has a very powerful 3D processor eventho the CPU is only clocked at 620mhz (underclocked to 412mhz) & the RAM is 128mb.
Only HTC HD processor comes close to that of iPhone, at 528 mhz, that is why a commented that KS20 is "dated"
DrWho
post Apr 11 2009, 10:04 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

Might as well wait for HTC Firestone which will be the best of 2009

P/S Sorry guys, this is posted in a wrong thread. No more HTC stuff here from me.

This post has been edited by DrWho: Apr 11 2009, 10:13 PM
DrWho
post Apr 13 2009, 09:59 PM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(MtV @ Apr 13 2009, 06:52 PM)
After i flash my phone to kiss rom, i found out there is a slight problem on the storage device(8gb sdhc) sometimes it detected and sometimes it doesnt, izzit a common problem?
I don't encounter this problem with KISS ROM. Try this; remove Micro SD Card and use eraser to rub on the SD Card contact, ie clean. This should help.

Added on April 13, 2009, 10:10 pmMAXIS 3G and MMS Settings

3G setting
Scroll to and select Settings.
-Select the Connections tab and press Connections.
-Select the Advanced tab and press Select Networks.
-Press New in the top section.
-Enter Maxis 3G WAP and press OK.
-Scroll to Maxis 3G WAP and press Edit.
-Press New... and enter Maxis 3G WAP.
-In the drop down list Select a modem:,
-Scroll to and select Cellular Line (GPRS).
-Press Next.
-Enter unet.
-Press Next and select User name:.
-Enter maxis.
-Select Password
-Enter wap.
-Press Finish.
-Close the on-screen numeric pad.
-Select Proxy Settings.
-In the textbox Proxy server:, enter 202.75.133.49.
-Press OK twice.
-Make sure Maxis 3G WAP is selected.
-Press OK 3 times.
-Your phone has been configured.

MMS settings
Scroll to and select Settings.
-Select the Connections tab and press Connections.
-Select the Advanced tab and press Select Networks.
-Press New... in the top section and enter Maxis 3G MMS.
-Press OK.
-Scroll to Maxis 3G MMS and press Edit.
-Press New... and enter Maxis 3G MMS.
-In the drop down list Select a modem:,
-Scroll to and select Cellular Line (GPRS).
-Press Next.
-Enter unet.
-Press Next.
-Select User name:
-Enter maxis.
-Select Password
-Enter wap.
-Press Finish. Press OK twice.
-Press the Close button.
-Press Start and Messaging twice.
-Select Menu and press MMS Configuration....
-Select the Servers tab and press New.
-In the textbox Server name:, enter Maxis 3G MMS.
-In the textbox Gateway:, enter 202.75.133.49.
-In the textbox Port number:, enter 80.
-In the textbox Server address:, enter http://172.16.74.100:10021/mmsc.
-Press OK. Select Maxis 3G MMS.
-Press Set As Default. Press OK.
-Press the Close button twice.
-Your phone has been configured.

This post has been edited by DrWho: Apr 13 2009, 10:12 PM
DrWho
post Apr 14 2009, 09:20 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

QUOTE(stutzedward @ Apr 14 2009, 07:54 AM)

DrWho,

Mine still running stock WM6.0 and remember I told you once, after I installed the SDHC hack, I faced the same problem. At times, the Storage Card just went missing and after removing it and putting it back, it came back but not for long. So I uninstall it and everything just worked fine up to date. Prolly the KISS 6.1 uses the same patch, eh?
Original WM6.1 enables Micro SDHC Card to be read. KISS just enables WM6.1 to be used for KS20. I don't think KISS incorporates the SDHC hack. I had the problem of the SDHC card disappearing when I was using the SDHC hack on WM 6.0
DrWho
post Apr 16 2009, 12:37 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

Anyone looking for a previously owned and working perfectly KS20 thumbup.gif I am unloading mine. Just bought a HTC HD
DrWho
post Apr 16 2009, 09:22 AM

Jack of All Trades
967 posts

I got a 2 months old unit for only RM2000 and immediately flashed it with a cooked ROM. Might not have done that if it was a new unit brows.gif

19 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0402sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:46 AM