Total Votes: 345
Guests cannot vote 

TSiverice
post Apr 19 2021, 10:21 AM, updated 5y ago

43 posts

almera looks the best
vios got full adas
city look kinda bulky, most powerful, but no adas not counting RS.

So is the almera gooding? any real owner here can give some cons of the car?
reed90
post Apr 19 2021, 10:24 AM

Road to the End
1,552 posts

isn't almera have the shittiest resale value out there?
ketupatlazat
post Apr 19 2021, 10:25 AM

555 posts

takyah pening takyah susah

angkat je sudah
pretty23
post Apr 19 2021, 10:26 AM

1,791 posts

al-merah wheel bearing issue settle?
duperam
post Apr 19 2021, 10:29 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(iverice @ Apr 19 2021, 10:21 AM)
almera looks the best
vios got full adas

pobox
post Apr 19 2021, 10:30 AM

551 posts

yaris
TSiverice
post Apr 19 2021, 10:31 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(pobox @ Apr 19 2021, 10:30 AM)
yaris
currently eyeing for sedan only so Yaris is not in the consideration.
pobox
post Apr 19 2021, 10:33 AM

551 posts

The Vios here is actually Yaris sedan. You can see this everywhere in Thailand
soul78
post Apr 19 2021, 10:33 AM

938 posts

city has came a long way since their previous models...
I borrowed from my brother and drove for a month and didnt have much expectations around the car but later found out it was quite smooth and the best thing is that it is really fuel saving..
emburrar
post Apr 19 2021, 10:35 AM

14 posts

vios je
MR_alien

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

old one has a/c problem
new one...that engine bay
Stirmling

291 posts

I tot even Persona a better buy than Almari lol
zairee2580
post Apr 19 2021, 10:36 AM

385 posts

The best practice now is to ask how long is the waiting period. Quality wise, about the same
gn655198
post Apr 19 2021, 10:39 AM

224 posts

my fren asked me to stay away from almera model due to a/c issue (old gen). repair many time at sc still cant fix.

i drove 2012 city and im not enjoying it. the engine was ok but rattling sound is everywhere.

i prefer vios. the drive was comfort and nothing much to complain other than the ugly dashboard.

This post has been edited by gn655198: Apr 19 2021, 10:40 AM
TSiverice
post Apr 19 2021, 10:43 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Apr 19 2021, 10:33 AM)
city has came a long way since their previous models...
I borrowed from my brother and drove for a month and didnt have much expectations around the car but later found out it was quite smooth and the best thing is that it is really fuel saving..
Is is that much of a difference between the current City and the last gen City?
Does the new city ride better? more powerfull?, though on paper it's number does not chg all that much.
19 Degree South
post Apr 19 2021, 10:43 AM

1,684 posts

Budget category! U can’t be fussy! Serve it’s purpose.
adriankan
post Apr 19 2021, 10:45 AM

78 posts

for me vios really tak boleh lah, i cannot tahan how tight and unpractical the space is in the car, the shoulder length is too tight (literally shoulder to shoulder for the driver and front passenger), and not much space around the driver to put stuff. arm rest also is placed weirdly, its protruding at the back, and you cant really rest your arm on it.

on a sidenote i went to pauline event yesterday and enquire almera also, actually alot of gooding deals for it now, for almera now got:

sales tax exemption + 2k discount for middle & high spec (low spec is 6k off lol) + 3k additional discount if you trade in your old car directly with them + 5.5k worth of free accessories (the urban package i think) + 3 year free service.

so if you want almera now is good time to buy, got ready stock as well.

This post has been edited by adriankan: Apr 19 2021, 10:46 AM
Dineesh
post Apr 19 2021, 10:46 AM

619 posts

Main problem with Almera + Tan Chong
SUSDezs
post Apr 19 2021, 10:46 AM

623 posts

almera looks the best
vios got full adas

adas only useful for retards, so..
zuozi
post Apr 19 2021, 10:47 AM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 19 2021, 10:35 AM)
old one has a/c problem
Engine bay problem? engine bay too empty?
achong09
post Apr 19 2021, 10:47 AM

1,280 posts

QUOTE(gn655198 @ Apr 19 2021, 10:39 AM)
my fren asked me to stay away from almera model due to a/c issue (old gen). repair many time at sc still cant fix.

i drove 2012 city and im not enjoying it. the engine was ok but rattling sound is everywhere.

i prefer vios. the drive was comfort and nothing much to complain other than the ugly dashboard.
i driving almera 2017 make.. i dont see any aircon issue also... so far i like nissan car aircon very cold enough.... i did regular maint of my car via nissan service center.. i rather change ori parts then sent outside dont know what parts they give... anyway almera new version with turbo so tempting but my car i bought in 2019 still new leh.. so now change also not worth it... cry.gif cry.gif tempting... doh.gif
adriankan
post Apr 19 2021, 10:48 AM

78 posts

almera looks the best
vios got full adas

mind you almera full spec also got adas and all the passive safety feature like blind spot monitor, lane departure etc.

new city look disproportionate to me, like persona the tyre too small. previous gen city look nicer to me
_Zephyre_
post Apr 19 2021, 10:49 AM

Serial Lurker
331 posts

You should probably look up reviews or ask in the Almera thread in F&F. Most opinions here will likely be shaped by the prevailing perceptions around the previous generation Almera.
adriankan
post Apr 19 2021, 10:49 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(achong09 @ Apr 19 2021, 10:47 AM)
i driving almera 2017 make.. i dont see any aircon issue also... so far i like nissan car aircon very cold enough.... i did regular maint of my car via nissan service center.. i rather change ori parts then sent outside dont know what parts they give... anyway almera new version with turbo so tempting but my car i bought in 2019 still new leh.. so now change also not worth it...  cry.gif  cry.gif  tempting...  doh.gif
i test drive the almera yesterday, the seat so comfy, the ride and nvh feel like c segment car. best part is the acceleration, i was so surprised at the engine sound the note it produce sounds damn nice not like my myvi now sound like dying whale
danabu
post Apr 19 2021, 10:50 AM

419 posts

Yes for me best looking among the 3. Huge improvement compared to previous almera in many area. Support TS go for almera.
otai_g
post Apr 19 2021, 10:52 AM

623 posts

almera 1.0 turbo come with tyre 215/55/16.

what else u want?

u got power, cheap road tax, space and big tyre smile.gif
SUSpot-8-O's
post Apr 19 2021, 10:55 AM

P O T A T O E S
662 posts

you must be feeling special since you're the only one driving the latest gen almari OTR compared to all the new gen city and vios OTR
bereev
post Apr 19 2021, 10:57 AM

257 posts

1,0 litter + turbo and 3 cyclinder u get same power as 1.5liter car only the turbo kick in give u power acceleration but feeling.
it was the most silence car amoung vios and city , engine bay damm messiy u dun wanna go outsode to service foremen will angry 😂

This post has been edited by bereev: Apr 19 2021, 11:05 AM
adamhzm90
post Apr 19 2021, 11:05 AM

1,389 posts

heart says almera

brain says vios

new city burukkk
blmse92
post Apr 19 2021, 11:07 AM

603 posts

Ada H ada Awek.
Ada BMW ada mistress.
Oklahoma
post Apr 19 2021, 11:08 AM

-
878 posts

HokkienMee_Lover
post Apr 19 2021, 11:10 AM

157 posts

Toyota geng check in
Zoo Howl
post Apr 19 2021, 11:10 AM

White Fang
1,822 posts

QUOTE(Dezs @ Apr 19 2021, 10:46 AM)
adas only useful for retards, so..
So many sohai otr , domt have this...... susah la

dickybird
post Apr 19 2021, 11:11 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(otai_g @ Apr 19 2021, 10:52 AM)

what else u want?

big tyre expensib
blanket84
post Apr 19 2021, 11:14 AM

1,521 posts

Myvi
otai_g
post Apr 19 2021, 11:14 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Apr 19 2021, 11:11 AM)
big tyre expensib
expensive but look sports bro.
if u want cheaper i suggest u buy viva 660.
ssmui
post Apr 19 2021, 11:17 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(otai_g @ Apr 19 2021, 11:14 AM)
Almera got apple car play ,but tade android auto
clockpulses
post Apr 19 2021, 11:18 AM

386 posts

Wait for 2021 MC2 Persona. But only buy it if they get rid of the stupid penumbuk CVT
ihavenoidea
post Apr 19 2021, 11:20 AM

1,301 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Apr 19 2021, 10:57 AM)
1,0 litter + turbo and 3 cyclinder u get same power as 1.5liter car only the turbo kick in give u power acceleration but feeling.
it was the most silence car amoung vios and city , engine bay damm messiy u dun wanna go outsode to service foremen will angry 😂
You forgot new almera is cvt.
Old almera was reliable cause it had a 4 speed
TSiverice
post Apr 19 2021, 11:25 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(adamhzm90 @ Apr 19 2021, 11:05 AM)
heart says almera

brain says vios

new city burukkk
dude, this 3 sentence sums up my thought 100%

im actually worry bout the nissan after sales, toyota after sales is as good and honda, well lets just say when the time to book service always need to be 2 or 3 weeks advance book( had a honda in my parent home)
bristlebb
post Apr 19 2021, 11:25 AM

575 posts

almari ftw
zerorating
post Apr 19 2021, 11:26 AM

Miskin Adab
976 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Apr 19 2021, 10:57 AM)
why foreman will angry? they make parts easily accessible (most of the piping were on top of the engine), thats why looks messy.
empire
post Apr 19 2021, 11:29 AM

2,549 posts

Stay away from NISSAN cars. I learnt it the hard way. NISSAN's engineering is nowhere close to Toyota's. Almera's resale value is the worst among the 3 cars too.

Buy a VIOS la if you really want reliability.
ssmui
post Apr 19 2021, 11:29 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(iverice @ Apr 19 2021, 11:25 AM)

im actually worry bout the nissan after sales, toyota after sales is as good and honda, well lets just say when the time to book service always need to be 2 or 3 weeks advance book( had a honda in my parent home)
Ya ya
Get Vios for peace of mind

zerorating
post Apr 19 2021, 11:35 AM

Miskin Adab
976 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Apr 19 2021, 11:29 AM)
Stay away from NISSAN cars. I learnt it the hard way. NISSAN's engineering is nowhere close to Toyota's. Almera's resale value is the worst among the 3 cars too.

Buy a VIOS la if you really want reliability.
but nissan have more experience making high performance car, even toyota outsource engineering effort from bmw to make new supra, while for GT86 or the upcoming GR86 it is mostly subaru stuff smile.gif

This post has been edited by zerorating: Apr 19 2021, 11:36 AM
dickybird
post Apr 19 2021, 11:35 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(otai_g @ Apr 19 2021, 11:14 AM)
why?
look sport can eat one ah?
empire
post Apr 19 2021, 11:36 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Apr 19 2021, 11:35 AM)
but nissan have more experience making high performance car, even toyota outsource engineering effort from bmw to make new supra  smile.gif
Really bodoh statement! TS asked for a Supra is it?
dickybird
post Apr 19 2021, 11:38 AM

2,093 posts

but nissan have more experience making high performance car, even toyota outsource engineering effort from bmw to make new supra, while for GT86 or the upcoming GR86 it is mostly subaru stuff  smile.gif
they also engineer the jatco shit cvts
haha
and they also did that sucky le mans front engine turkey.
toyota LMP1 hybrid actually won Le Mans.
celica GT4 world rally winner.
so what nissan sportscar engineering you talking about?

This post has been edited by dickybird: Apr 19 2021, 11:39 AM
zerorating
post Apr 19 2021, 11:40 AM

Miskin Adab
976 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Apr 19 2021, 11:36 AM)
Really bodoh statement! TS asked for a Supra is it?
because the engineering work made on the high performance stuff can be bring to normal consumer stuff.
you compared la 2nr-fe and hr10det, multiple generation different when it come to technology.

ya ya we know jetco cvt sucks

This post has been edited by zerorating: Apr 19 2021, 11:42 AM
Capt. Marble
post Apr 19 2021, 11:44 AM

222 posts

Price wise and segment lebih kurang the same, Buy whichever convenient for you to service and most importantly which one you feel better and want to drive in.

From the creators of fairlady and godzilla...

This post has been edited by Capt. Marble: Apr 19 2021, 11:45 AM
JoeK
post Apr 19 2021, 11:45 AM

1,099 posts

almera looks the best
vios got full adas

why you dont want buy pelodua ativa?
heihei
post Apr 19 2021, 11:47 AM

208 posts

online all rave about almera being the best new contender
but owning one ??

see the sales report then u know lor
almera vios city all new gen / facelift
but u got see how many almera on the road ??
vios n city is plentiful

almera have great design but not so great track record, their lousy cvt is one of the worst cvt u can get on market beside punch LOL
asdkeat
post Apr 19 2021, 11:47 AM

90 posts

my frenz hav almera as company car, after 7 year that speed langsung x boleh, even have do all maintenance, also samething, for new almera not sure will become back same issue or not
TSiverice
post Apr 19 2021, 11:50 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(JoeK @ Apr 19 2021, 11:45 AM)
why you dont want buy pelodua ativa?
eyeing for sedan, so Ativa is not currently on the list
heihei
post Apr 19 2021, 11:51 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Apr 19 2021, 11:40 AM)
because the engineering work made on the high performance stuff can be bring to normal consumer stuff.
you compared la 2nr-fe and hr10det, multiple generation different when it come to technology.

ya ya we know jetco cvt sucks
yaya hr10det is more recent but where got more tech beside the turbo brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

2nr can serve u without issue for few hundred k km but can the 3 cylinder do the same ?
the mounting, the turbo, the famous jatco cvt all is a time bomb
if i were to spend so much on a 1.0T , why not just get a x50 when x50 offer much more power yet same worried down the road whistling.gif whistling.gif
saigetsu
post Apr 19 2021, 11:53 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(adriankan @ Apr 19 2021, 10:45 AM)
for me vios really tak boleh lah, i cannot tahan how tight and unpractical the space is in the car, the shoulder length is too tight (literally shoulder to shoulder for the driver and front passenger), and not much space around the driver to put stuff. arm rest also is placed weirdly, its protruding at the back, and you cant really rest your arm on it.

on a sidenote i went to pauline event yesterday and enquire almera also, actually alot of gooding deals for it now, for almera now got:

sales tax exemption + 2k discount for middle & high spec (low spec is 6k off lol) + 3k additional discount if you trade in your old car directly with them + 5.5k worth of free accessories (the urban package i think) + 3 year free service.

so if you want almera now is good time to buy, got ready stock as well.
bro shoulder to shoulder is a segment problem. go for c segment if you want wider car for shoulder room. city is the widest 1745mm vios 1730mm. 1.5 cm different not sure that is significant.

cdspins
post Apr 19 2021, 11:53 AM

2,714 posts

Have you test drive all 3 types?
otai_g
post Apr 19 2021, 11:55 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Apr 19 2021, 11:35 AM)
why?
can. if u want.
i am no problem if u want to eat them.
jianh
post Apr 19 2021, 11:55 AM

What custom title???
920 posts

in the mid 2010s Almera is the go-to choice for freshie just entering the workforce around Klang Valley area. Pgi mana2 tgk bf-gf around oso one of them sure driving an Almera.
faizal87
post Apr 19 2021, 11:57 AM

piko piko pong pong
1,384 posts

almera got turbo
but ratltling sound is true
jianh
post Apr 19 2021, 11:58 AM

What custom title???
920 posts

but nissan have more experience making high performance car, even toyota outsource engineering effort from bmw to make new supra, while for GT86 or the upcoming GR86 it is mostly subaru stuff  smile.gif
Since u compare an everyday car bersamaan a brand's flagship sports car
Is an Almera designed and built from the same manufacturing line as a GT-R?

legit question.
zerorating
post Apr 19 2021, 11:59 AM

Miskin Adab
976 posts

QUOTE(heihei @ Apr 19 2021, 11:51 AM)
yaya hr10det is more recent but where got more tech beside the turbo  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif

2nr can serve u without issue for few hundred k km but can the 3 cylinder do the same ?
the mounting, the turbo, the famous jatco cvt all is a time bomb
if i were to spend so much on a 1.0T , why not just get a x50 when x50 offer much more power yet same worried down the road  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
well, daihatsu design 3 cylinder engine is very reliable wat. not really sure if other manufacturer came give something close to that.

okay for technology, i got it wrong, hr10det dont have vc-turbo or direct injection.

This post has been edited by zerorating: Apr 19 2021, 12:04 PM
zerorating
post Apr 19 2021, 12:03 PM

Miskin Adab
976 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Apr 19 2021, 11:58 AM)
Since u compare an everyday car bersamaan a brand's flagship sports car
Is an Almera designed and built from the same manufacturing line as a GT-R?

legit question.
no, but research material/design and manufacturing technique can be shared across multiple engineering team, it just whether they can drop the manufacturing cost or make it more reliable or not.
zero5177
post Apr 19 2021, 12:03 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

Fellow /k will tell u Tan Chong is the problem.
adriankan
post Apr 19 2021, 12:05 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Apr 19 2021, 11:53 AM)
bro shoulder to shoulder is a segment problem. go for c segment if you want wider car for shoulder room. city is the widest 1745mm vios 1730mm. 1.5 cm different not sure that is significant.
i am aware of that but what i mean by the vios being tight is more of how the interior is packaged. city and almera does it miles better and is in the acceptable range as a b segment but the vios' interior packaging for some reason doesnt do it for me, cause dimension wise they are on par with the other competitors but things are abit too tight inside from my personal experience

This post has been edited by adriankan: Apr 19 2021, 12:05 PM
bereev
post Apr 19 2021, 12:07 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Apr 19 2021, 11:26 AM)
why foreman will angry? they make parts easily accessible (most of the piping were on top of the engine), thats why looks messy.
piping kacau he put his head to see bottom , most outside workshop formen are lazy to put car to lift up some has only limited lifting facility , have to jack car up and check at bottom.
jibpek
post Apr 19 2021, 12:07 PM

708 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Apr 19 2021, 12:03 PM)
Tan Chong cannot be to aggressive. Otherwise the M will not be happy.
heihei
post Apr 19 2021, 12:12 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Apr 19 2021, 11:53 AM)
hah, those spec sheet will target people like u
interior shoulder room data is the more important and will not be disclose
exterior width is misleading at its best

C segment like altis look big on data but infact super small even the mazda 3 is wider inside icon_idea.gif
maraippo
post Apr 19 2021, 12:13 PM

~PoPoPoPoPo~
1,165 posts

Why not consider perodua bezza?

Its a sedan and is as reliable as toyota

Parts is cheap too.
bereev
post Apr 19 2021, 12:17 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Apr 19 2021, 12:03 PM)
UMW lagi big problem
gift TV as HUD while other country slim display
heihei
post Apr 19 2021, 12:21 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(adriankan @ Apr 19 2021, 12:05 PM)
i am aware of that but what i mean by the vios being tight is more of how the interior is packaged. city and almera does it miles better and is in the acceptable range as a b segment but the vios' interior packaging for some reason doesnt do it for me, cause dimension wise they are on par with the other competitors but things are abit too tight inside from my personal experience
they dont understand one
like x50 claim 1800 mm width , sit inside its not even wider than city inside
exterior width is tipu kuat as most manufacturer is using the width to do styling instead giving more interior space

heihei
post Apr 19 2021, 12:23 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Apr 19 2021, 12:17 PM)
UMW lagi big problem
gift TV as HUD while other country slim display
actually is toyota issue rather than umw issue

many country suffer the same fate as us, getting the big ugly crt tv instead of the european/us model which get those normal slim screen
adamhzm90
post Apr 19 2021, 12:23 PM

1,389 posts

QUOTE(iverice @ Apr 19 2021, 11:25 AM)

so join fb group of almera, get some info on it's realiability, fc etc..

then make ur decision
empire
post Apr 19 2021, 12:32 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(maraippo @ Apr 19 2021, 12:13 PM)
Why not consider perodua bezza?

Its a sedan and is as reliable as toyota

Parts is cheap too.
Bezza is a class lower. Bumpy car. Runs out of breath after 110kmh too and sounds so loud rclxms.gif
jianh
post Apr 19 2021, 12:40 PM

What custom title???
920 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Apr 19 2021, 12:03 PM)
no, but research material/design and manufacturing technique can be shared across multiple engineering team, it just whether they can drop the manufacturing cost or make it more reliable or not.
yeah makes sense it can be shared. So has it been shared?
Maria Takagi
post Apr 19 2021, 12:56 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Apr 19 2021, 11:18 AM)
Wait for 2021 MC2 Persona. But only buy it if they get rid of the stupid penumbuk CVT
P1 own by China co

you think Persona won't change from Penumbuk CVT also own by China co ?

clockpulses
post Apr 19 2021, 12:59 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(Maria Takagi @ Apr 19 2021, 12:56 PM)
P1 own by China co

you think Persona won't change from Penumbuk CVT also own by China co ?
Punch not from Belgium?
MrBlackie33
post Apr 19 2021, 01:06 PM

Shhhhhhh
834 posts

almera for the looks
vios for the reliability and affordability
city for the brands
Bill888
post Apr 19 2021, 01:12 PM

Even my old Nissan sentra n16 can beat them all.
dickybird
post Apr 19 2021, 01:28 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(otai_g @ Apr 19 2021, 11:55 AM)
can. if u want.
i am no problem if u want to eat them.
Same old chassis as previous.
Pauline shootout betweem the 3 showed it to be lousiest of the 3.
So sporty tyres look, best to be eaten.
Haha
Coz it ain't good for nothing else.
ry8128
post Apr 19 2021, 01:31 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,648 posts

Why not ativa? Full safety features
adriankan
post Apr 19 2021, 01:36 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(heihei @ Apr 19 2021, 12:21 PM)
they dont understand one
like x50 claim 1800 mm width , sit inside its not even wider than city inside
exterior width is tipu kuat as most manufacturer is using the width to do styling instead giving more interior space
I'm surprised so many consumers don't understand or take note of these things. The most popular common cars like myvi and vios, though good and reliable they are fundamentally worst cars compared to competitors if you look at it from a day to day practical perspective. I mean that in terms of giving you the comfort and enough spaces to put your daily things like your water bottles or keys or whatnot.

Or I'm just the kind that is quite picky and ocd idk
treblecase
post Apr 19 2021, 01:48 PM

IHI
779 posts

Top up buy civic la
RGRaj
post Apr 19 2021, 01:51 PM

560 posts

Mazda 2
bamkai
post Apr 19 2021, 02:05 PM

167 posts

1.0 turbo like city? Good torque for overtake despite low top speed iinm
Maria Takagi
post Apr 19 2021, 02:11 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Apr 19 2021, 12:59 PM)
Punch not from Belgium?
Thought fr holland ?

But i know china bought over
bereev
post Apr 19 2021, 03:03 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(bamkai @ Apr 19 2021, 02:05 PM)
1.0 turbo like city? Good torque for overtake despite low top speed iinm
city not 1.0 and no turbo not 3 cyclinder
City this time use back DOHC Vtech
jackingtrade
post Apr 19 2021, 04:36 PM

city look like saga la
mixedice
post Apr 19 2021, 04:37 PM

205 posts

myvi je
King of the road
even Fortuner lose to myvi
dumay
post Apr 19 2021, 04:39 PM

40 posts

test drove almera at the pauline ace event yesterday .. nvh gooding, better than x50, x50 even 50-60kmh got wind noise already.. handling wise also better as it is a sedan ..
shinchan^^
post Apr 19 2021, 04:40 PM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Apr 19 2021, 01:31 PM)
Why not ativa? Full safety features
only the highest spec worth getting though
kucingrimau
post Apr 19 2021, 06:31 PM

197 posts

Using Almera VL for few years already. So far, the only major repair involve replacement of air-cond evaporator leaking. At that time compared space and ease of egress (rear passenger) between Vios, Almera and City. Almera offered the best on both counts. The only thing I found wanting is the body roll. Taken both Almera and Vios thru the highway exit into Senai. The road is curved and got speed strips. Vios provided best cornering and precise steering control, while Almera I had to slow down a bit. Tips: if you chose Almera, go easy on it until 40k km. It's fine to speed even before that but sometimes you feel geram because the engine responded mildly. After 40k km, the engine will become more garang (just a tiny bit more hehe).
arrowhead7372
post Apr 19 2021, 07:15 PM

Noob
1,917 posts

Owner of the old almera as well. Bought it when launched 2013.

Using till today. Steady car. Only issues were wheel bearing which I claimed warranty from Nissan, and Air cond which can be fixed anywhere.

Touch wood. No major issues till today.

Big leg room for passengers. Big boot for my shit. No complaints. Definitely not a sports car so don't drive like one.

This post has been edited by arrowhead7372: Apr 19 2021, 07:15 PM
KineticKill
post Apr 19 2021, 07:24 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Apr 19 2021, 04:35 AM)
why?
Can eat siham
clockpulses
post Apr 19 2021, 07:32 PM

386 posts

Almera win the vote but i only saw Almera twice (i think same car). Meanwhile City and Vios bersepah. Real proof you can't trust the internet biggrin.gif
roybreaker
post Apr 19 2021, 07:33 PM

183 posts

I did test drive the Almera when my friend wanted to buy new car.

I liked it. The throttle response is good.

shirohamada
post Apr 19 2021, 07:34 PM

944 posts

Depending on how much clothes you have
misaka
post Apr 19 2021, 07:35 PM

452 posts

Topkek gear box
hirano
post Apr 19 2021, 07:36 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

No myvi. How to vote?!
DarkNite
post Apr 19 2021, 07:36 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

almera looks the best
vios got full adas

Almari is the worst of the lot.
So many problems.
And Tan Chong = Tai Chi Grand Master for warranty.

You no need to trust me, just join the owners club on FB can liao to get 1st hand info.
Mrsaitama
post Apr 19 2021, 07:55 PM

353 posts

Nissan = gearbox problem, worse than proton.
dickybird
post Apr 19 2021, 08:01 PM

2,093 posts

For 60k, better buy a used Volvo v60.
6942nole
post Apr 19 2021, 08:06 PM

346 posts

wait for EV, bro.....

ssmui
post Apr 19 2021, 09:40 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(6942nole @ Apr 19 2021, 08:06 PM)
wait for EV, bro.....
I think TS needs a car now, among the 3 -- City , Almera, Vios.

Can't wait for EV, or any u-turn biggrin.gif
6942nole
post Apr 20 2021, 12:23 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(ssmui @ Apr 19 2021, 09:40 PM)
I think TS needs a car now, among the 3 -- City , Almera, Vios.

Can't wait for EV, or any u-turn  biggrin.gif
then get a cheap car, tahan first and wait for an EV biggrin.gif
heavensea
post Apr 20 2021, 01:20 AM

9,616 posts

No, rather top up buy lowest spec civic
Thanks me later.
heihei
post Apr 20 2021, 04:12 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(adriankan @ Apr 19 2021, 01:36 PM)
I'm surprised so many consumers don't understand or take note of these things. The most popular common cars like myvi and vios, though good and reliable they are fundamentally worst cars compared to competitors if you look at it from a day to day practical perspective. I mean that in terms of giving you the comfort and enough spaces to put your daily things like your water bottles or keys or whatnot.

Or I'm just the kind that is quite picky and ocd idk
blindly read exterior data and assume interior space would be big kut, like mazda car, exterior is huge, interior is 1 seg below whatever it position

yes myvi is seriously flaw on the suspension tuning n throttle department
gen3 myvi interior width definitely bigger than vios and having more storage space for loose item

in toyota family, a car with proper center console start from Camry, Even altis also dont deserve a proper center console
while competitor c seg already come with huge center console like the one in civic mega_shok.gif
LowKeras
post Apr 20 2021, 05:48 AM

113 posts

U wont go wrong with myvi.
backspace66
post Apr 20 2021, 06:01 AM

2,139 posts

Good luck with Nissan CVT
ssmui
post Apr 20 2021, 08:39 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(heihei @ Apr 20 2021, 04:12 AM)

in toyota family, a car with proper center console start from Camry, Even altis also dont deserve a proper center console
while competitor c seg already come with huge center console like the one in civic  mega_shok.gif
Current Civic has big center console ? That's good 👍
raywong81
post Apr 20 2021, 08:52 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(Mrsaitama @ Apr 19 2021, 07:55 PM)
Nissan = gearbox problem, worse than proton.
My previous gen actually did changed a whole new gearbox.... paid around 10k... Nissan bear half of their cost as "GOODWILL". My ass.... barely 5 years old and the gearbox kong... (only 3 years warranty that time).
doublecool
post Apr 20 2021, 10:28 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(achong09 @ Apr 19 2021, 10:47 AM)
i driving almera 2017 make.. i dont see any aircon issue also... so far i like nissan car aircon very cold enough.... i did regular maint of my car via nissan service center.. i rather change ori parts then sent outside dont know what parts they give... anyway almera new version with turbo so tempting but my car i bought in 2019 still new leh.. so now change also not worth it...  cry.gif  cry.gif  tempting...  doh.gif
probably they fix it in the later years, mine was 2013 and the aircond kaput around 17-18. i think there's a hole at the cooling coil but sc never bother to really fix it, i think they just add in cooling gas.
adriankan
post Apr 20 2021, 05:17 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(heihei @ Apr 20 2021, 04:12 AM)
blindly read exterior data and assume interior space would be big kut, like mazda car, exterior is huge, interior is 1 seg below whatever it position

yes myvi is seriously flaw on the suspension tuning n throttle department
gen3 myvi interior width definitely bigger than vios and having more storage space for loose item

while competitor c seg already come with huge center console like the one in civic  mega_shok.gif
yup, i really dont know or understand how perodua can come to the conclusion that the current suspension tuning if considered the optimal one to go for since they always like to say things like "tuned for malaysian roads", have they even tested the car around PJ/KL area with all the shitty roads and bumps?

as a city car, myvi is so fundamentally flawed since the car does not respond well to KL road conditions, and as you say throttle so lembik, most of the time you cant get up to speed to keep to speed with other cars around you as quick as them (personal experience), this is unlike gen 2 myvi which can keep up.

i also notice something no one mentioned, is that the steering on gen 3 myvi is very stiff, like almost no power steering kind, its actually noticeable in slow speed areas like shops where you need to quickly park. my conclusion is that they tuned it to be stiff so that the steering wheel doesnt float so easily when on highway, because driving it on highway at 110KM the steering wheel does feel sturdy, so essentially perodua knows many users travel outstation in this myvi so made it this way.

but this begs the question then of the myvi supposedly being a reliable city car but doesnt really do city car tasks well at all.

i also agree that toyota centre console is just unacceptable, their b segment centre consoles really nonexistent with weirdly designed compartments

This post has been edited by adriankan: Apr 20 2021, 05:19 PM
Heroicage
post Apr 20 2021, 05:29 PM

265 posts

TS, do you really need ADAS?...

Are you using handphone while driving?.

Otherwise, just get a cheap car to go A-Z. Almera segment is meant for affordability, and just to know...Nissan has lower resale value, compare to Toyota and Honda.

Gearbox problems are usually either...factory mechanical failure or you don't know how to drive CVT,.....even other Honda/Toyota got gearbox issues in their cars...

DenshaOtoko
post Jul 27 2021, 11:35 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(blmse92 @ Apr 19 2021, 11:07 AM)
Ada H ada Awek.
Ada BMW ada mistress.
As for me,... Ada pickup truck ada wife😊
cintamani83
post Jul 27 2021, 11:45 AM

177 posts

almera

pros:
- looks
- space

cons:
- no resale value cause is nissan + TC
- use renault gearbox notorious for long life
- overheat

fr an ex nissan driver
duperam
post Jul 27 2021, 11:47 AM

33 posts

Get City RS. Feel almost like an electric car.
asphiroth
post Jul 27 2021, 11:48 AM

200 posts

necro-ed
new in IT
post Jul 27 2021, 11:56 AM

378 posts

Car with good resale value, are worth to buy.

The others, doesn't matter. Unless you are race track driver, all car drives the same.
andrewhtf
post Jul 27 2021, 11:59 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Heroicage @ Apr 20 2021, 05:29 PM)
TS, do you really need ADAS?...

Are you using handphone while driving?.

Otherwise, just get a cheap car to go A-Z. Almera segment is meant for affordability, and just to know...Nissan has lower resale value, compare to Toyota and Honda.

Gearbox problems are usually either...factory mechanical failure or you don't know how to drive CVT,.....even other Honda/Toyota got gearbox issues in their cars...
CVT got special driving method punya?
archonixm
post Jul 27 2021, 12:06 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(reed90 @ Apr 19 2021, 10:24 AM)
want resale value go buy yamaha 125zr la, wtf you buy any car also will have shit value. Minimum you lose 5k.

I bought my bike RM4500 10 years ago, sell at RM4500 last year. Nice or not?
otai_g
post Jul 27 2021, 12:09 PM

623 posts

new almera got turbocharger with 16inch sport rim.
vios got? city got?

p/s: not all city got turbo.

conclusion almera win.
Gamer88
post Jul 27 2021, 12:14 PM

52 posts

underpowered, should have been 1.3 tebu
spacelion
post Jul 27 2021, 12:24 PM

Ada Liu
1,692 posts

Almera

Last time 50k special price also no one buy

Heroicage
post Jul 29 2021, 11:09 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jul 27 2021, 11:59 AM)
CVT got special driving method punya?
yes. google for it, might surprise you.

andrewhtf
post Jul 29 2021, 11:31 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Heroicage @ Jul 29 2021, 11:09 AM)
yes. google for it, might surprise you.
i seriously never knew. i thought it's just like normal auto only. pedal to the metal and let the tranny do the job.
andrewhtf
post Jul 29 2021, 11:32 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(archonixm @ Jul 27 2021, 12:06 PM)
want resale value go buy yamaha 125zr la, wtf you buy any car also will have shit value. Minimum you lose 5k.

I bought my bike RM4500 10 years ago, sell at RM4500 last year. Nice or not?
still lose to RXZ
Heroicage
post Jul 29 2021, 11:34 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jul 29 2021, 11:31 AM)
i seriously never knew. i thought it's just like normal auto only. pedal to the metal and let the tranny do the job.
you think i troll issit?...

do google...u get fast simple this. See also the Do/Don'ts.

https://www.carwale.com/features/how-to-eff...-cvt-car-46283/

SUSskyblu3
post Jul 29 2021, 11:35 AM

157 posts

Is this so important criteria when you buy car?

adriankan
post Jul 29 2021, 11:36 AM

78 posts

almera is a very underrated choice in b segment market, the interior is very mature and elegant and the drive feels nice too. tbh a few good strong marketing campaigns and this car can be a best seller.

This post has been edited by adriankan: Jul 29 2021, 11:37 AM
chiafoo
post Jul 29 2021, 11:37 AM

450 posts

U can c on the road got how many ppl drive to verify izit good buy . So far from lunching till now , i only meet 1 on road .
andrewhtf
post Jul 29 2021, 11:43 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Heroicage @ Jul 29 2021, 11:34 AM)
you think i troll issit?...

do google...u get fast simple this. See also the Do/Don'ts.

https://www.carwale.com/features/how-to-eff...-cvt-car-46283/
my reply is after i googled lah

thats why i said i seriously unaware of it
furrybun
post Jul 29 2021, 11:49 AM

54 posts

New Almera handsome, easily out-handsome it's competitors. But driving experience-wise I heard that it is slow, although I haven't tried it myself.

As for the person who said foreman will love it because all the piping is on top for easy access....

Can tell us how many hoses need to be removed just to change spark plugs?

christ14
post Jul 29 2021, 11:57 AM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(furrybun @ Jul 29 2021, 11:49 AM)
New Almera handsome, easily out-handsome it's competitors. But driving experience-wise I heard that it is slow, although I haven't tried it myself.

As for the person who said foreman will love it because all the piping is on top for easy access....

Can tell us how many hoses need to be removed just to change spark plugs?

spark plug need change every month? hmm.gif
tmd
post Jul 29 2021, 12:07 PM

25 posts

zero5177
post Jul 29 2021, 12:12 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(tmd @ Jul 29 2021, 12:07 PM)

Ini ah pek because newer tech are "Complicated" to him that he hardly understand so he say no gud.

Even his beloved Toyota Dynamic Force already running with electric water pump which he hate the most.

I feel he is more like those ah pek who can't catch up with car tech and just simply calling everything new rubbish.
archonixm
post Jul 29 2021, 01:23 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jul 29 2021, 11:32 AM)
still lose to RXZ
yeah, 75k but maybe fake lol, this one from my own experience and verified lol, and that also actually its a insurance coverage(stolen), market price was 6000-7000. rugi me. bangwall.gif
CarroTT
post Jul 29 2021, 01:27 PM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Jul 29 2021, 11:57 AM)
Nowadays all new car 100k interval.... he must be super high mileage driver to change every month...
pgsiemkia
post Jul 29 2021, 01:31 PM

473 posts

Onli problem but most comfy with zero gravity seats, no back pain after long journeys or jams. Engine tebu and cheaper road tax than the rest. May buy after mco ends, good for zipping around town, lazy to bring heavy GLC to drive to market, shops to tapau.

furrybun
post Jul 29 2021, 02:21 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Jul 29 2021, 11:57 AM)
QUOTE(CarroTT @ Jul 29 2021, 01:27 PM)
Nowadays all new car 100k interval.... he must be super high mileage driver to change every month...
That's just an example to illustrate the poor engine bay packaging.

Point is any repair or maintenance beyond oil change or battery replacement will potentially require dismantling half a dozen hoses, just to access it. I use spark plug replacement because a 10 minute routine maintenance job in other cars will become a 1-2 hours job on the Almera.

You did read I just puji the car handsome, right? I kutuk the engine packaging doesn't mean it's a bad car, no need to mati2 defend.

christ14
post Jul 29 2021, 02:22 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(CarroTT @ Jul 29 2021, 01:27 PM)
not that i didnt know, i was merely making a sarcastic remark like as if you need to remove all those pipings/cables etc every month just to change spark plug lol

since you dont do it often theres no worry if all of the routing are that messy on top of the engine console.gif
plouffle0789
post Aug 9 2021, 12:36 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(otai_g @ Apr 19 2021, 10:52 AM)

what else u want?

Any engine or gear box repair problem for almera???

Normally new car have some issue
plouffle0789
post Aug 9 2021, 12:37 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(spacelion @ Jul 27 2021, 12:24 PM)
Almera

Last time 50k special price also no one buy
Do you means 1.0 version 2020 one???
plouffle0789
post Aug 9 2021, 12:38 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(adriankan @ Jul 29 2021, 11:36 AM)
almera is a very underrated choice in b segment market, the interior is very mature and elegant and the drive feels nice too. tbh a few good strong marketing campaigns and this car can be a best seller.
Any repair problem???
plouffle0789
post Aug 9 2021, 12:38 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 19 2021, 10:35 AM)
old one has a/c problem
Problem???
adriankan
post Aug 9 2021, 01:10 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 9 2021, 12:38 PM)
Any repair problem???
so far didnt hear anything.. but should be no issue gua since tan choong got free few years service also if not mistaken. at most maybe need wait abit long for parts only if got any issue.
MR_alien
post Aug 9 2021, 03:03 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 9 2021, 12:38 PM)
Problem???
unreliable
not sure if they fixed it though

but the new almera..u got more problem to deal with than a/c
plouffle0789
post Aug 9 2021, 06:29 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Aug 9 2021, 03:03 PM)
unreliable
not sure if they fixed it though

but the new almera..u got more problem to deal with than a/c
Air con noisy???

plouffle0789
post Aug 9 2021, 06:31 PM

1,837 posts

QUOTE(furrybun @ Jul 29 2021, 02:21 PM)
That's just an example to illustrate the poor engine bay packaging.

Point is any repair or maintenance beyond oil change or battery replacement will potentially require dismantling half a dozen hoses, just to access it. I use spark plug replacement because a 10 minute routine maintenance job in other cars will become a 1-2 hours job on the Almera.

You did read I just puji the car handsome, right? I kutuk the engine packaging doesn't mean it's a bad car, no need to mati2 defend.
How about the change the oil filter?
Any other problem?
MR_alien
post Aug 9 2021, 06:32 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 9 2021, 06:29 PM)
Air con noisy???
very fast become not cold, breakdown very fast...if not wrong around 3 years old car already got owner complain
StrikeQUAN
post Aug 10 2021, 11:01 AM

108 posts

1.0+turbo = almost 1.5cc...
katijar
post Aug 10 2021, 11:11 AM

2,294 posts

Buy the car you like

Or buy the car others like?
dickybird
post Aug 10 2021, 11:23 AM

2,093 posts

Got friend driving the previous Almera, her check engine light Comes on almost monthly, something to do with the sensor, TEH SC fix like no fix.
New almera is just a skin job, and a small displacement turbo, well that tech is old now and we have learned, you can’t have great Fc and power at the same time, and it will wear out faster.
post Dec 10 2024, 12:24 PM

If you're looking for a balance between functionality and reliability, the Honda City is a great choice. For value-conscious buyers who prioritize reliability, the Toyota Vios wins. If fuel economy and technology are most important to you, the Nissan Almera is the way to go.

0.0777sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:25 AM