Advice for New Monitor, <non-gaming, normal usage>

TSstudentsurvey
post Apr 18 2021, 12:57 AM, updated 5y ago

212 posts

Hey guys,

Recently my eyes are starting to strain from staring into my small laptop screen and I have been saving up some funds to buy a new monitor, not much, between 500-600 (have a little more buffer as well, depending on recommendation). I wanted to ask for opinion as this is my first time buying and using a monitor (previously my job was pretty mobile, so i always rely on my laptop). A few questions:

1) I'm using for work and also to watch shows (usually 1080p & blueray quality). Hence, is 60hz enough or should i get 144hz?
2) Built-in speaker - should I get one that has it or can I get one without and just buy an external speaker and plug it into the screen to compensate?
3) Panel type & size - Should I go for IPS or VA? What size should I get?
4) Most important question - what's everyone's recommendation with my budget

I know is a buttload of question but thank you all! Trying to get the answers here and if need be only drop by an IT shop. Trying to not go to a commercial store due to covid rclxms.gif

Thanks!
likabaws
post Apr 18 2021, 02:07 AM

61 posts

1) 60hz is good enough for general use, 144hz if you do game on high FPS
2) Built in speaker usually doesn't sound good, would be better to get a set of external speaker or headset for audio
3) If 1080p better go with 24 inch and below, 27 inch for 1080p does not look great imo (personally experience, they look blurry since everything is scaled up, but do take into account how close the monitor will be to you)
4) I would try and get a 24 inch Dell IPS monitor, I have the Dell S2421HN as a second monitor and it looks pretty good. Also you can't go wrong with Dell displays.
HalseyFrangipane
post Apr 18 2021, 02:41 AM

504 posts

1) 60hz is enough.
2) Built-in speaker quality is terrible, unless it doesn't bother you.
3) I prefer IPS over everything else. 24 inch for 1080p, 27 inch for 1440p.
4) Go for whatever's cheap and has the best deal as of purchase. You can get 1 for 400-500. Search for 24 inch IPS on Shopee/Lazada. Can't go wrong with any of these brands (Dell, Acer, Viewsonic, AOC).
Andrewtst
post Apr 18 2021, 10:30 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,779 posts

1) 60hz is enough for working and movie include Blu-ray.

2) Get external speaker.

3) IPS panel, 1080p for 24” or 1440p for 27”.

4) LG or Dell.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Apr 18 2021, 10:32 AM
TSstudentsurvey
post Apr 18 2021, 03:39 PM

212 posts

Thank you sifus for the recommendation!! Gonna start hunting for some monitors now =)
CyberKewl
post Apr 18 2021, 03:50 PM

2,900 posts

if you can up your budget a bit, i'm using this dell monitor - really good. IPS and the adjustments are great (non-joystick type) - most new monitors recently use the fiddly joystick type which is really annoying:

https://shopee.com.my/search/?keyword=SE2719HR

RM700
TSstudentsurvey
post Apr 18 2021, 06:09 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Apr 18 2021, 03:50 PM)
if you can up your budget a bit, i'm using this dell monitor - really good. IPS and the adjustments are great (non-joystick type) - most new monitors recently use the fiddly joystick type which is really annoying:

https://shopee.com.my/search/?keyword=SE2719HR

RM700
Thank you for the recommendation, will look for similar version but for 24" cause most of my shows are 1080p.
Haha, now looking through to see if I need any other bells and whistles such as the type of usb port and also the connection, vga or hdmi and etc..
Really helpful with everyone's comments.
Andrewtst
post Apr 18 2021, 11:09 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,779 posts

QUOTE(studentsurvey @ Apr 18 2021, 06:09 PM)
Thank you for the recommendation, will look for similar version but for 24" cause most of my shows are 1080p.
Haha, now looking through to see if I need any other bells and whistles such as the type of usb port and also the connection, vga or hdmi and etc..
Really helpful with everyone's comments.
You may consider this, within your budget and very good and colour pre-calibration - RM 579 - LG 24MK600 - 24” 1080p IPS 75hz & Freesync support.

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 11 2021, 12:09 AM)
LG 24MK600 - I bought at RM 579 from Harvey Norman.
This monitor is very value but yet it give outstanding performance. I was shock as the output color look so nice and very comparable with my others LG monitor.

It is written color calibrated and I believe it do so, the box came with report of it meet certain color calibration pass.

Beside this, I can said it was totally free of light bleeding, great viewing angle, great uniformity, very slim bezel, the slimmest among my others LG monitor. You also get 75hz, 5ms & Freesync support in this 24" 1080p IPS monitor.

The only cons probably due to it limitation movement of the stand, you basically only can stir a bit up and down only.
You cannot move up or down, or even left or right.

Based on it price and performance, I am going to give this monitor 9/10.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Apr 18 2021, 11:11 PM
BryanTARUC P
post Apr 20 2021, 05:15 PM

Probation
17 posts

Based on what you want I think this is pretty good, I order one previously been treating me well

https://shopee.com.my/Acer-ED272A-75Hz-4ms-...8870.5627603787

TSstudentsurvey
post Apr 21 2021, 07:15 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(BryanTARUC @ Apr 20 2021, 05:15 PM)
Based on what you want I think this is pretty good, I order one previously been treating me well

Will check it out! Thanks.
Kairyu
post Apr 22 2021, 05:22 PM

226 posts

Yess! I'm using the same as BryanTAC too! So far so good tbh. https://shopee.com.my/Acer-ED272A-75Hz-4ms-...8870.5627603787

Now offering free shipping don't miss out! thumbup.gif
sheerwin
post May 1 2021, 09:50 AM

85 posts

go for acer ed272a if u r going for lg 24mk600, slightly cheaper n more value
cmgan72
post May 1 2021, 10:03 AM

Daisyoix PC
1,340 posts

QUOTE(BryanTARUC @ Apr 20 2021, 05:15 PM)

this monitor quite a good choice, so far acer product has been serving me well
TSstudentsurvey
post May 1 2021, 06:38 PM

212 posts

Hello all, thanks for the reply!
I was thinking to get a secondhand Dell P2419H for its availability to adjust. Or do you guys think that acer ED272A is way better?
myway1985
post May 1 2021, 06:39 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(studentsurvey @ May 1 2021, 06:38 PM)
Hello all, thanks for the reply!
I was thinking to get a secondhand Dell P2419H for its availability to adjust. Or do you guys think that acer ED272A is way better?
p2419H with 3yr warranty
RM619
TSstudentsurvey
post May 1 2021, 06:42 PM

212 posts

Yea, and the acer is about 659 in shopee.. so wanted to know is there a huge difference to both =p
myway1985
post May 1 2021, 06:44 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(studentsurvey @ May 1 2021, 06:42 PM)
Yea, and the acer is about 659 in shopee.. so wanted to know is there a huge difference to both =p
acer ed cant adjust... so if u wan ergonimic then is no no

0.0233sec    1.20    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:18 AM