High Quality Mechanical Pencil and Polymer Lead

flagstaff
post Apr 21 2021, 02:46 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Apr 21 2021, 02:19 PM)
I originally posted this thread on the Hobby and Collectible section but it was moved to Kopitiam by the moderator.

Kuru Toga Roulette is a good pencil. Surprisingly the cheap Buncho 2B leads work well on this pencil too. Will explore the higher quality leads next time but don't think will spend much money on expensive leads.
Appreciate your review. It was very comprehensive and well done. Should tie it up (complete it) with a review on 2B/4B STEIN leads as well, comparing it to the benchmark (0.5 2B buncho).
flagstaff
post Apr 21 2021, 09:41 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(synical @ Apr 19 2021, 03:24 PM)
I've had a few Kuru Toga over the years, but the ones I still hang on to are the High Grade and the Rubber Grip (the clipless one). Hated the standard one that you can find in local bookstores now, and also the Roulette
Why did you hate the roulette? Was thinking of getting a Kuru Toga. What's the diff btwn the pipe slide, advance vs roulette?
flagstaff
post Apr 21 2021, 11:01 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Apr 21 2021, 08:33 PM)
Thanks. I do not have the Pentel Ain Stein leads as the seller didn't have 0.5mm 2B for sale. Only the Ain Stein 0.2mm and 0.4mm 2B are available.

Will try the Ain Stein 0.5mm 2B once the stock is available. At the meantime, the Buncho 0.5mm 2B works well enough for me. Not sure what to expect with Ain Stein 0.5mm 2B.
I would expect STEIN to be:
1) less breakage
2) smoother writing

And if I have to choose one, I'd also get the 4B stein rather than the 2B stein, because it should also be darker too (for the same price). But, that's just me. I have tried 8B pencil before (for drawing).

Also had a rotring mechanical about 2 decades back. I believe it was a green and brown colour with a metal clip. It lasted ages given the abuse. Apart from its durability, nothing fancy that I could recall. Had their pen/fineliner too. Nothing much to recall there either. But, I was young and probably didn't notice much. Had the Parker mech too... nothing special there either.

Anyway, the roulette is metal and has some heft to it right? Why are you getting the advance?

flagstaff
post Apr 21 2021, 11:21 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Solar Calendar @ Apr 21 2021, 10:18 PM)
I have never seen such a high interest discussion on a very mundane subject like mechanical pencils before. Good for you. I prefer fountain pens.
Tried them LAMYs, and Pilots, nothing expensive. Works great with nice cursive writing. My default ink was Pilot Blue Black. Never really got hooked on it though. Too much trouble for daily use. For heavy usage, the ink drains too quickly, then you have to go through the hassle of refilling, cleaning the nib, don't spill, etc. Have to watch out for the paper quality too, and also watch out for pausing on paper causing blotting. Have also experienced and seen people with fountain pen (FP) borrowing pens due to ink ran out.

Eventually, gel pens are easier. That said, FP is more of a brush stroke, no pressure. Pros and cons there too... bad on carbon copies, gentle on the hand. FP are less likely to go missing too (the cheaper ones), but, be prepared for people asking for it as a keepsake/souvenir. I think the ladies have something with the LAMYs. Anyway, people tend to remember the FP person.
flagstaff
post Apr 22 2021, 12:21 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(Solar Calendar @ Apr 21 2021, 11:49 PM)
Why they still use fountain pens if so bad? So many decades but the technology haven't improve. But i still see a number of people using fountain pens too
Please don't get me wrong. I was merely pointing out the pros and cons from my limited experience. I wasn't bashing FP. I like them, but, it's just not for me/my usage. Maybe more suitable for a different people/usage.

It is what I would categorize as the finer things in life. You get to a certain stage of your life and have the luxury to appreciate and enjoy those finer details. It is somewhat quite similar to that of a quartz vs automatic watch. One is better than the other at timekeeping.

I am not sure about the technology in FP and if any improvement can be made. I have yet to try a FP in a varying pressure environment either, heard that it will leak?

All in all, not my cup of tea doesn't mean it is not yours or others. Don't overlook the pros of FP too.
flagstaff
post Apr 22 2021, 11:29 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(teckyuan @ Apr 22 2021, 10:51 PM)
thanks for the post. now i know i am not the only person who like mechanical pencil
My Lamy mechanical pencil at hometown atm...

Which one u reach for the most?

0.0262sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:55 AM